Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most embarassing shot ever

• 24-03-2009 10:03AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭

played stackstown yesterday and put a ball into the carpark
    managed to hit a few cars without breaking any windows thankfully
    some old timer was walking by at the time but my humiliation went unnoticed, or else he was just being polite
    think my ball ended up somewhere up by the front door of the reception
    my mate insisted that i play it but surely it was out of bounds at that stage?
    so i just dropped one on the fairway about 100 yards down and kept a low profile from that point onwards

feel free to share some cringeworthy moments here please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

conno16 wrote: »
    played stackstown yesterday and put a ball into the carpark
    managed to hit a few cars without breaking any windows thankfully
    some old timer was walking by at the time but my humiliation went unnoticed, or else he was just being polite
    think my ball ended up somewhere up by the front door of the reception
    my mate insisted that i play it but surely it was out of bounds at that stage?
    so i just dropped one on the fairway about 100 yards down and kept a low profile from that point onwards

feel free to share some cringeworthy moments here please
    Starting this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

yeah i need some comfort in the knowledge that one of ye has put a ball through the clubhouse or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Nah its just you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I've never hit a bad shot in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

My mate hit the helicopter in City West :eek:

bogmanfan wrote: »
    My mate hit the helicopter in City West :eek:

thats what i'm talking about..

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

A few years back I bladed a pitching wedge clean over the single storey clubhouse and over the road on Ballina's 18th. I had an audience too. Fortunately the other side of the road was a field. Today, the clubhouse is two storeys and the field is a housing estate.

I played with a guy in the UK at a pro-am who was announced onto the tee and then fresh-aired. Twice.

http://golfcoursesireland.blogspot.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Was with a guy in Citywest when he put a ball through a window in the hotel playing the 7th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I played in a match play tournament in St Andrews about 6 years ago. Really well run event with your name slotted onto the big leaderboard and an microphone announcer on the first tee. I was top of the draw and my name was called as I tee'd up the ball. I was going with a 1 iron off the short par 4 opener of the New Course. Snap hooked it so far it made it onto the next golf-course over (which I think might have been the Road Hole!! Maybe Graeme will know...). What really makes it cringeworthy though is that someone took a picture of me as I was over the ball about to hit the shot - it arrived in the mail to me in Dublin some days later... the BASTARDS ;)

I double-tapped a lob wedge on the last hole of the final round of the Captain's prize playing a flop shot from a shyte downhill lie. Thankfully won by a shot.

I know a guy who pull-hooked a shot off the last in Courtown during Open Week into a full car-park and broke his own windshield ;)

My Dad played in the Mercedes thing a few times where they invite all the guys who bought new cars that year to play (you can imagine what the overall worth of the carark is that day) and yes, he sculled one into the carpark but somehow hit nothing!

My own nightmare was in Wexford GC.

Playing 18 I blocked my drive in the trees on the right. I had about40yds to go through and saw a gap. Sitting on a fluffy pine needle lie i punched a 3 wood hard to hard through and did it fly, straight into the big window overlooking the green. Window is plate glass I think so it did not break.

The worst thing was the noise inside the clubhouse on impact.

There was and old guy sitting there putting pint to lip on impact, most of it went down his front.

Acouple of pints later and several apologies we were mates!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

I played in a match play tournament in St Andrews about 6 years ago. Really well run event with your name slotted onto the big leaderboard and an microphone announcer on the first tee. I was top of the draw and my name was called as I tee'd up the ball. I was going with a 1 iron off the short par 4 opener of the New Course. Snap hooked it so far it made it onto the next golf-course over (which I think might have been the Road Hole!! Maybe Graeme will know...). What really makes it cringeworthy though is that someone took a picture of me as I was over the ball about to hit the shot - it arrived in the mail to me in Dublin some days later... the BASTARDS ;)

C'mon show us the picture!!!

I know a guy who pull-hooked a shot off the last in Courtown during Open Week into a full car-park and broke his own windshield ;)

Brilliant. LOL.
    My Dad played in the Mercedes thing a few times where they invite all the guys who bought new cars that year to play (you can imagine what the overall worth of the carark is that day) and yes, he sculled one into the carpark but somehow hit nothing!

LMAO ... oh for a picture of EVERYONE'S faces as they followed that shot!!!

Myksyk wrote: »
    C'mon show us the picture!!!

It was back in the days of actual photographs Im afraid. It's on my wall at home, might try snap it with my phone and see if it turns out.

:D think it could've been the second on the old course you went on to Sheet...

Graeme1982 wrote: »

Haha, either way, I'm Old Tom Morris turned in his grave a little ;)

thegen wrote: »
    I had about40yds to go through and saw a gap. Sitting on a fluffy pine needle lie i punched a 3 wood hard ...

I'm kinda presuming that '40yds' is a typo ... otherwise the phrase "what were you thinking?" applies!

Mine was on the first tee (where else?) at one of the club's medals. Usual audience of Saturday morning members. Got completely under a drive and hit it vertically, landing about 30 yds from the tee on the right near the trees. Proceeded to hit quite a decent second strike but smashed into a tree directly in front of me which sent the ball BEHIND me and now about 20 yds from the first tee. Only plus I guess was that it was a cold morning and the searing heat of my blushing was casting a nice warmth on the assembled masses!!

No not a typo, you and full of confidence I could pull it off!!! I did get it through, but it kept going. That was about 15yrs ago!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

On a stag in Spain and playing Torrequebrada in three 4 balls.

One of the lads I hadn't met before spent the entire morning talking about all the lessons he'd been getting, the competitions he'd been winning and the new TaylorMade R7 driver the misses got him for his birthday.

He was in the first group to tee off and there was quite an audience at the tee box. He whipped out the driver and took up his stance. No one had seen him play before but he looked extremely confident.

The backswing looked quite calm and controlled but he went to murder the ball on the downswing. Not only did he miss the ball completely, he lost his footing, span around 360 degrees, the club was launched at an upward angle towards a palm tree and fell flat on his face.

It was the funniest thing I've ever witnessed in my life. He turned out to be a complete knob so I didn't really have any sympathy for him.

You've been framed would have paid a fortune for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Danow247

Not really the most embarrassing shot persay but i knocked myself out before.

Was in the rough on the left of the 3rd in Forrest Little. There were like small staked trees at the time. Had a nice lie and tried to smack a 3 wood up. Went straight into the staked tree in front of me and back off my forehead. Woke up about 45seconds later didnt know where i was haha! Luckily no one around because it was in the evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

playing the 18th hole at St Andrews last year, drove to the left which is pretty much up the first hole fairway and had 60 or so yards in, took out my newly purchased lob wedge (don’t ask I know I should have hit a bump and run) and skulled the ball so hard it shot across the green without bouncing on the green and nearly broke the window of the shop to the right of the 18th which is behind a small railing and small road running parallel to the 18th. Lots of people watching and laughing and a guy who picked up my ball on the small road beside the shop wouldn’t even throw it back he went around the corner laughing..........I felt like a jackass and looked like one too, what an endearing memory to have of the Old Course lol

I'm sure there's a joke about fore and head in there somewhere, but i'm not going to...

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    ... and a guy who picked up my ball on the small road beside the shop wouldn’t even throw it back he went around the corner laughing...

LMAO!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 zalm

Graeme1982 wrote: »

Defo sounds like the 2nd!

Like L.O.F.T, my memory is of the 18th on the Old Course at St.Andrews. Playing the final of the Family Foursomes, 3 up at the turn and with a small crowd gathering from about the 16th myself and the old man had manged to blow it [OOB on 16, on the road on 17] to be 1 down on the 18th tee. After a decent drive from myself, old man leaves me short of the Valley of Sin and needing to hole or at least get close to have any chance....good few members and even the local press are out to watch the conclusion. Needless to say, as a fresh faced teenager I bottled it and walloped it through the Valley of Sin and watched it veer way left, power off the green and trundle off towards the 1st tee....

Needless to say lost by 2 holes and then had to endure a pic the next day in the Citizen of me fighting back the tears....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Playing the par 5 9th hole at Slieve Russell in Cavan about a year ago and i drove my ball into the rough on the right of the fairway. When i found my ball and was choosing what club to use i noticed a few greenskeepers up at the green using leaf blowers to get the leaves off the green. Anyways, they were a mile away and the wind was in my face so i got out the 5 wood and decide that even if i hit it full out ill still be 50 yards or so short of the green. So i crack this 5 wood as good as ive ever hit it, but i cant see the ball in the air. I had a feeling it was good and straight so i fix my gaze to just short of the green. Next thing i see the ball hit the tube of the leafblower one of the greenkeepers is using. It hit it full ball and didnt even bouce. The lad jumped a mile in the air. I couldnt apologise enough when i got up to the green and thank god it didnt hit him. I learned my lesson that day and i always wait for the green to clear even if im 300 yards away from it. I always used to wait for the green to clear by the way its just that day i got it into my head that the green was too far away to reach. I was wrong.:o

theres a lesson there for all of us thunder
    take note fellow golf fanatics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

See crude depiction attached.

You wouldn't have thought it was possible. Pulled out a 3 wood (for safety) on a windy day and skied it off the toe so high it actually cleared the bushes 90 degrees to the right of the tee box (about 10 feet away) cleared the green of the previous hole and the wind took care of the rest.

Needless to say I didn't even look for it :o

• Subscribers Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

thegen wrote: »
    Was with a guy in Citywest when he put a ball through a window in the hotel playing the 7th.

I put a ball on the roof there once, but it's pretty easy to hit it on the 7th, have hit the hotel behind the green on 18th too.

Have hundreds of similar one, quite a few close one on holes that have car parks behind them, often just over the green. Played with a guy who hit into the car park at stackstown too, it's not far to the right of a fairway there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭spiderdan

not on a golf course but I shanked a 7 iron waaaay off to the right with a wicked slice about 150yards and it landed on court no 1 of the local tennis club which happened to be hosting the senior doubles final with a 200 plus crowd watching. It took 2 bounces on the court and bounced into a field behind miraculously missing all 4 old timers who were playing. Me n my mate were straight down on the ground tryin not to be seen. Made our escape 20mins later- we were both members!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

hit 3 clubhouses
    2 hooks,1 slice hard to pick a winner!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭george67

i had a buried lie in the ruff on the left of the green while playing the 18th in arklow a couple of months ago. i had about 40 yards to pin i could barely see the ball, anyway a big hack later and i'm watching in terror as the ball sails over the green lands on the path and bounces straight onto the first windscreen it could find , a BMW of course no damage done thankfully except to my pride .:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Big Red Stick

Several years ago playing with a mate with a seriously high h/cap, miserable mucky cold wet day, he's hitting a seven iron approach. He digs the club in behind the ball, loses grip and leaves the club perfectly upright stuck in the ground behind the ball while he continues his graceful arc with nothing in his hands. He actually posed while looking down at the club in disbelief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭hotspur147

played mount juliet with my society a few years back and was having a total 'mare.coming to the end of the round and i was teeing off on either the 16th or 17th.topped my drive and the ball hit the the ladies tee marker straight in the face,bounced back,missed me by an inch and landed in the bushes behind me.i could'nt be bothered going back for it so i just walked off and scratched the hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

soundsham wrote: »
    hit 3 clubhouses

With one shot?!;)

Not the worst shot I ever hit, but the most embarassing I ever hit was on the final hole of an inter club comp when I was a junior. It was 2-2 overall, so it hinged on our game. We were one down going down the last. I dunked it in the water from about 140 yards out. Not a shank, but a REALLY poor shot. Everybody was looking and I just wanted to crawl under a rock and die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ridonkulous

Barton Shield. New Headfort Golf Club. First hole, second shot into the green with a four iron and I chunk it. The ball moved about 6 inches and that was only because of the size of the divot I made. We were playing against an Irish International who I knew relatively well at the time and he let out a bit of a laugh and I just started pissing myself. Fooook it, it happens to the best of them every now and then. Took me 7 or 8 eights holes to recover from it though. We nearly pipped them too I think. Ah well.

Oh I should also point out that I hadn't been playing golf seriously (or at all) for about 2 years at this stage and spent the entire week practising trying to get some rhythm going. Needless to say I didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Managed to thin a greenside buker shot and hit some old boy in the ass on the next tee box. No major damage done and apology accepted.

One week later, my buddy, who was with me the week before, hit a tree full on, ball went 90 degrees left and hit the same old boy in the leg on the same tee box. We were a hole ahead of him this time.

Apology didn't go down as well the second time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Put a ball into the carpark in Killeen one day that almost went into the door of the Pro Shop. Pro also happened to be looking out the window and very sportingly strolled out to give me some stick!

Morto...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Last year, Lower Nine in the new Dun Laoghaire. Playing quite a nice round and coming up the par 5 18th in nice shape. Had a lob wedge into the green which I decided to belt the bejasus out of (in order for it to stop inches from the pin which was on the back of the green dont you know).

Anyway none of the above happened. Caught the ball halfway up and shot it arrow like at the main window of the restaurant which was the behind the green. The bang was historic and actually the ball rebounded back to the green. The member I was playing with ruefully commented that in the unlikely event anyone was in the restaurant the defibbrilators would be use.....

And yes I missed the putt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Three come to mind.

The first two were on the last hole of my home course.

It's a long and difficult par 4 especially in the winter.

Both were quite reasonable drives but it was windy and winter so I needed a full 5 wood to the green.

On the first one I struck the ball beautifully and it was heading towards the green. However once the ball got above the tree level the wind caught it and took it left and left and further left. The ball thuded onto the clubhouse roof above somebody's head.

The next one was even better.

Once again I needed a full 5 wood and hit it perfectly. The ball headed straight for the flag and then sailed right over the top and over the out of bounds and clattered into the car park. Luckily it bounced between cars and carried on without hitting anything.

The last one was also a 5 wood. It was the first time I'd played the course so I wasn't sure about my yardages. We came to a 170 yard par 3 and I took out a 5 iron. My playing partners all looked at me and they took 3 woods. There were tall trees behind and so I thought they must have made the hole seem shorter than it was (and maybe the yardage was wrong). So I changed to my 5 wood and hit a corker. I watched as it sailed over the flag and over the green and over the tall trees and bounded off down another fairway. I was then faced with an almost impossible shot back with a 9 iron I think. I ended up with a bogey but it was embarassing hitting the 9 iron - the guys on the other hole hadn't a clue what hole I'd come from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Par72

Best leave that 5 wood in the bag Stockdam, it's seems to get you into a lot of trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,562 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I could write a book about the bad shots that I had.

Although at time not funny but is now. I do remember hitting a preist with golfball when I was about 14 years old I had a bit of slice on it and it ended up going on the other fairway.

It was blind shot so could not see if anybody was there although I did shout fore

However when I got up there to see where my ball was there was a priest giving me the big how dare you stare at me I got some pasting for it from him

Must say nobody liked him as preist anyway:D

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

There's a common theme here of not getting much of a break off people you hit it near.
    I mean as far as I'm concerned if you give a good shout and aren't trying something dangerous in the first place then I wouldn't be taking much in the way of guff from people.
    Let he who has never hit a wayard shot throw the first stone !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,562 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

alxmorgan wrote: »
    There's a common theme here of not getting much of a break off people you hit it near.
    I mean as far as I'm concerned if you give a good shout and aren't trying something dangerous in the first place then I wouldn't be taking much in the way of guff from people.
    Let he who has never hit a wayard shot throw the first stone !!

agree with that.

I have been hit twice on the course from golf ball but in fairness it was pure accident on the players part and good shout went out thats all you can do...

Even the best hit poor shots from time to time

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭joanmul

My husband told me one about this fellow playing the 18th at Old Conna a good few years ago when the proshop was facing onto the 18th. He hit a shot that crashed through the proshop window and came to rest on the counter. Yer man was a bit of a messer and when he went in to the proshop he said to the young lad (who didn't know him), very seriously, to clear everything out of the way, that he had to hit this ball! The young lad looked at him stunned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

3 times into car park in kilcoole, once in stackstown. hit myself once on forehead with an attempted lob wedge shot in torrequebrada. three shanks on 18th at kilcoole in club matchplay after coming from 3 down with 4 to play. its still a great game though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Was playing in Lake View Golf Club in Hua Hin last year with a mate of mine who doesn't play very much.

We were invited out by the brother of a member of my club who has a place out there to play in an ex-pats society and we got paired with this Swedish pr1ck who was shite and thought he was the cheese.

My mate and him were winding each other up all throught the round, until we got to this par 3 on the back 9 with a lake from tee to green.

My mate gets up with his 5 iron and, like every other shot he's hit so far, trys to send it in to the next parish.. except this time the club flies out of his hand and lands about 50 yards into the lake with a splash..:D

Myself, the Swede and the caddies all simultaneously pissed ourselves laughing, while he just stood there confused, wondering what to do..

I told him to ask the caddy to go swimming but he wouldn't;)

When we got inside they asked him for 2000baht (about €40), and he told them to fook off, there was no grip on the club (which there wasn't, he's left-handed and they only had one set, which was ancient) and if they wanted it they could go swimming for it.

In the end he gave them 1000baht and said he was glad he made them go out and buy a new set of left handed clubs for rental.

I still reckon they're renting the same set having retrieved the iron from the lake bed:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I dont play that often and have had a few bad ones. I was playing in La Cala recently and hit my drive off the 11th (I think). Hit it sweet, but was lined up a bit to the right. It hit the upright that held the netting to protect the apartments being built on the right and landed behind the tee box. :o

Another time in Esker Hills, one of the lads on the 1st tried to murder his drive and sliced it. The ball ended up in the wheel arch of the buggy. Was one of the funniest shots ive ever seen.