Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any goalies on here?

• 23-03-2009 2:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭

Any tips on how to improve your kickout?
    I have been out injured for over a year and cam e back a few months ago but after lots of practice I'm still about 15-20 yards short of where I want to be putting the ball.
    Anyone got any techniques etc that they use or any help at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I played a lot of my career in goal and kicking was a huge issue for me for a long time. but now I can hit midfield against a mild wind and the 65 with a good wind at my back :)

what helped for me was all about a repeatable technique. the most important elements for this were

1. same run up every time - for me that's 7 long steps back and one to the left
    2. eyes on the ball- always watch the ball
    3. follow through - just like golf
    4. keep relaxed if you try and put power into the kick you loose coordination and are likely to slice or hook it
    5. I try and imagine the ball is much much lighter than it is this stops me from trying to blast it
    6. speed .. I have worked on increasing leg speed ..while still trying to keep it smooth
    7. cutting across the ball .. I find I get a extra 10 yards against the wind when I cut across the ball ( kinda like a drop kick when you want to hit a daisy cutter )
    8. body position. I also find that I need to keep my body almost over the ball when I kick - Stephen cluxton leans back but when I do that the ball goes about 30 yards and too high
    9. a good kicking tee.. I like the ones with the bristles .. a jimmyrigged training cone will reduce the kick distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Basically, all of what Alany said! Also, it helps to have a spot on the ball to focus on. What I used to do (I'm only playing hurling at the minute) was place the ball so that the O'Neills logo was at the bottom facing me (ie. the spot where I wanted to make contact with) and never took my eyes off it.

Technique is hugely important but so is the strength of your quads and hamstrings. If you're going to the gym, I can't recommend heavy squats enough. For a quick fix, you could also try playing with hard-toe rugby boots. It'll add another 10-15 yards to your kickout instantly and I've seen a few intercounty keepers use them, particularly before the introduction of the kicking-tee. They are quite heavy though and horrible to train in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

weights. only way to improve kickout

squats, deadlifts, lunges, leg raises, etc

http://www.exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html

its not all about leg power guys ,, yes its importand espically if your defence are **** cause you will be kicking 25-30 kicks

but I think Technique, skill, strenght and concentration en equal measure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

if i were you i'd concentrate on consistency rather than distance! if your regurlarly hittin 50-55 yards, and getting direction then your players will know where the ball is going to land and you'll also be able to pick out players easier than blasting it!

we once beat the reigning county champions, with a sub keeper who couldn't kick the ball.....our corner back caught two kick-outs that day ;)

eventually you may get your distance back, but then again whats the point kickin the ball 70 yards, to their 6 foot 10 midfielder!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

cheers for the advice lads.
    What would ye be squatting- to give me a target to aim for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭mal_1

Pity this thread hadn't been started last week; got thrown into goals on Sunday for the first time in 'fifteen years'. Junior B match with 2 goalie missing with hamstring injuries.

Found the kickout the most difficult part and especially working with tie. i.e. because as you have a tie, its expected to get consistency and length.

After 15-18 kick outs, It was all about the technique and strangely I was going back to techniques I was using in the pre- kicking frees out of the hands days, like having the valve to the top, O'Neills lettering facing me. and with that the run-up or approach started to fall into place.
    Would agree with Alany that been relaxed and not driving it, got the best kickouts. In driving it I tended to top it or catch the tie.

PS anyone know what what year the free kick was changed from ground to hand.

cheers for the advice lads.
    What would ye be squatting- to give me a target to aim for

Whatever you can for 3 sets of 5 reps, while maintaining good form. Bodyweight would be a good target to aim for first and you can up it from there. Are you already doing weights as part of your training?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

deadlifts more than squats i'd say. leg raises

kicking is hard on the hamstrings.

a proper kickout tee. lots of practice. finding the sweet spot on your boot to get maximum distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

An Citeog wrote: »
    Whatever you can for 3 sets of 5 reps, while maintaining good form. Bodyweight would be a good target to aim for first and you can up it from there. Are you already doing weights as part of your training?

I'd do leg weights about once a week- but need to up it alright and start pushing myself a bit harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

if you are set on doing leg strengthening then make sure to do a lot of stretching to go with!

hamstring & quads tend to shorten and tighten when overused so the first time you sprint off the line to collect a ball you don't wanna hear a rip, dp ya!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭RentDayBlues

Looking for some advice - am going to have to play in goals again, after a long break! Like learning to ride a bike again except I seem to keep falling off!

Want to get good gloves, can anyone make any recommendations? These look good http://www.oneills.com/files/shop/viewbuynow.php?PR=216&CID=5&SCID=10&x=129&y=89

yep I use them - they are perfect. what a lot of keepers seem to forget is that handpassing is still important and big soccer style goalie gloves are not suitable for that.
    at lest I dont find them suitable..too cumbersom

Those gloves are excellent and if you can keep the grips nice and damp on a dry day they will last a bit longer

Alany, thanks for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Wear rugby boots and two pairs of socks- honest.

Helpful

Looking for some advice - am going to have to play in goals again, after a long break! Like learning to ride a bike again except I seem to keep falling off!

Want to get good gloves, can anyone make any recommendations? These look good http://www.oneills.com/files/shop/viewbuynow.php?PR=216&CID=5&SCID=10&x=129&y=89
    Alany wrote: »
    yep I use them - they are perfect. what a lot of keepers seem to forget is that handpassing is still important and big soccer style goalie gloves are not suitable for that.
    at lest I dont find them suitable..too cumbersom

Those gloves are excellent and if you can keep the grips nice and damp on a dry day they will last a bit longer

I really don't agree! Those gloves are great for playing outfield but in goal, I've always found the more padded gloves to be better. I've never had a problem handpassing with keeper gloves either.

Anyway, try and get your hands on a pair of Selsport gloves. Best keeper's gloves around imo.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

As regards the squats, if you have not used them in training before, start by using no weights, and making sure you have the technique right. If you get the technique right, you will no have injury, if you start straight into squats with weights without ensuring that you have the right technique, you will get injured.

I'm a keeper myself and I find the soccer gloves grand, have a pair of adidas ones that I find brilliant.

As for the kickouts, have a set routine and don't try to hit it at a maximum force, you'll top it. i think the scientific data for rugby kickers say that they should kick the ball about two thirds the way down, and watching the technique of other keepers, their leg comes quite high in the follow through