Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

angry car buyer

• 23-03-2009 11:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

ok so the story is last week i was buying a car from a garage, i was trading in my old car. the car was the same year just a bigger version of the car i have and i was paying a €1000. i paid €200.00 deposit and was told they would ring me a few days later when the car was ready. They were taking a small dint out of the car. so i was hoping to collect the car on saturday was ringing and ringing to find out what the story was because i had heard nothing... so many phone calls later after been fobbed off, (hes out on a test drive hes on a call etc) i find out that the car is gone...the garage never owned it in the first place they somehow ended up with it after another garage went bust! and the righful owners have now taken it back! so im just wondering if there is anyone i can complain to, to make sure this does not happen to someone else. a few days later i would have had the car and it would have been taken off me and id be left with no car at all!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Did you get your deposit back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

sounds to me like the gardai would be interested to hear your story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

was it a dealer near dublin Airport by any chance? heard of a simialr story to this before but the person just got there deposit back and didnt bring it any further.

Nothing worse than getting your hopes up to be dashed like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 emlou87

luckily i did get my depost back, i have rang the guards and his reply was basically...what do you want me to do that it was between myself and the garage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 emlou87

yes they have 2 garages..one is at the airport, i was buying from the other garage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

rocknchef wrote: »

Nothing worse than getting your hopes up to be dashed like that.

It would have been worse if he had actually paid in full for the car, only for the finance house to come looking for it a few days/weeks later.

Its possibly just some sort of mix-up, but this garage knew the op had paid a deposit and was going to come looking for the car. Why would they not just call the op and explain the situation ? Nobody likes to see business's go bust, but in the current climate its going to happen. Hopefully, the first to the wall will be those who think 'customer service' and 'customer relations' are dirty words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

emlou87 wrote: »
    luckily i did get my depost back, i have rang the guards and his reply was basically...what do you want me to do that it was between myself and the garage

What did you want him/her to do? Its a civil matter no Law has been broken so its not his problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭CuppaCocoa

Uh oh, not the small car lot past the XXXXX by any chance? :eek:

MODEDIT:
    Let's not identify or name the place please, otherwise boards could get into trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

hobochris wrote: »
    What did you want him/her to do? Its a civil matter no Law has been broken so its not his problem.

Selling stuff that doesn't belong to you and that you have no right to sell is not against the law? Since when?

Sounds to me like the gardai simply couldn't be arsed to do something about it, but that doesn't mean that they have no case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

At least report the incident to http://www.simi.ie/showcontent.asp?SubsectionID=54

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

To be honest, it sounds like the garage did, well, part of their job, the important one. They done a finance check, found the car was under finance and ssent it to the finance compnay, rather than have a customer purchase the car and have it taken by the bank. The only thing the garage done wrong, that I can see, is not telling the OP the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Magnus wrote: »

Ha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

if its the same lot they are great at making up storys. they probaly sold it to a higher paying customer with no trade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

emlou87 wrote: »
    ok so the story is last week i was buying a car from a garage, i was trading in my old car. the car was the same year just a bigger version of the car i have and i was paying a €1000. i paid €200.00 deposit and was told they would ring me a few days later when the car was ready. They were taking a small dint out of the car. so i was hoping to collect the car on saturday was ringing and ringing to find out what the story was because i had heard nothing... so many phone calls later after been fobbed off, (hes out on a test drive hes on a call etc) i find out that the car is gone...the garage never owned it in the first place they somehow ended up with it after another garage went bust! and the righful owners have now taken it back! so im just wondering if there is anyone i can complain to, to make sure this does not happen to someone else. a few days later i would have had the car and it would have been taken off me and id be left with no car at all!!:mad:

something like that is a bitch, but it does go to show, make sure that any car you are buying you do a car check, to see if its stolen, finance owed, possible insurance claims, then check make sure the garage has all the correct documents to show that they should be in possession of the car, i.e the VLC, which is only handed over to the garage when it is sold to them.
    before you hand over any cash.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

peasant wrote: »
    Selling stuff that doesn't belong to you and that you have no right to sell is not against the law? Since when?

Sounds to me like the gardai simply couldn't be arsed to do something about it, but that doesn't mean that they have no case.
    The car never changed hands & the op got his money back. its not theft as you suggested. at the time the dealer's may been acting in the interests of the third party, the third party changed there mind. the dealer returned the cash.

Deals fall through all the time(not just with cars but with other businesses aswell), should the gardai be involved every time this happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Mr.Diagnostic

Its not possible to comment without knowing the full details but I have seen a few cases where one dealer gives a car to another dealer to sell. This means the first dealer makes the second dealer his agent and as such the second dealer has the right to sell it.
    In such a case the law in question is civil rather than criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I'd say they sold the car making a bigger profit than they were going to and you god a fob story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

sounds to me like the gardai would be interested to hear your story

Nothing to do with the Guards. He got his deposit back. Who is to say it wasn't a genuine mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Placing a deposit on a car is nearly as good as buying it, You have provided consideration for a contract and the garage has broken the contract. Even if no 'physical signed contract' existed, through the dealings the garage and the OP had, a contract had occurred and the garage broke it

KUNTZ:p

At the end of the day though all your entitled to is an apology and your deposit back...
    TBH i think you should be happy you got your deposit back quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Hogzy wrote: »
    Placing a deposit on a car is nearly as good as buying it, You have provided consideration for a contract and the garage has broken the contract. Even if no 'physical signed contract' existed, through the dealings the garage and the OP had, a contract had occurred and the garage broke it

So, go legal and get the car and then in a few months a finance company call to your door and say that is our car thank you very much. You go bakc to the dealers and find they gone bang!! So your left with no car and a loss for a few grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

So, go legal and get the car and then in a few months a finance company call to your door and say that is our car thank you very much. You go bakc to the dealers and find they gone bang!! So your left with no car and a loss for a few grand.

Read the SECOND LAST LINE in my post!!!
    All he was entitled to was his deposit back!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 bi

If a customer puts a deposit on a car and then pulls out of a deal can the dealer go legal,or does it just work the other way around ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Im aware there are a number of routes in the UK to check if a car has been an insurance write off/damaged or has finance on it.

How do you check for Insurance damage/history eg write off/major damage or for finance here? is there a website with information contributed by all insurance companies?? sounds like a pipe dream but I'd like to hold out hope there is something???

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

bi wrote: »
    If a customer puts a deposit on a car and then pulls out of a deal can the dealer go legal,or does it just work the other way around ?

No, but the deposit might not be refundable.