Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin vs Waterford

• 22-03-2009 4:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

Just back from the match, and bloody hell was that frustrating to watch :mad:

First off, without any disrespect to Dublin, we handed the game to them on a plate. 4 points up at half time without ever playing to our best, we easily should've gone on to win the game. But no doubt complacency set into the team and we let them back into it.

Also, even though Dublin have obviously improved immeasurably since I last saw them, I wasn't overly impressed with their performance. Their decision making at times was woeful and they still need to work at some of the basic skills. The only reason they won the game was because they punished our mistakes a lot more than we did with theirs.

Make no mistake, Dalys done a great with them so far. But that performance wouldn't have been enough to beat a team who actually play for the full 70 mins, unlike the first 35 mins like ourselves.

There was one stand out performance though, and that was Waterfords keeper Adrien Power. If any of you guys haven't heard of him, he's extremely highly regarded in the county. Davy Fitz has gone on record to say he's one of the best goalkeeping prospects he's seen in the past 15-20 years, and you can see why with that performance. One penalty save and two incredible saves from goalscoring opportunities; one of which in the first half which was so good both sets of supporters graciously applauded.

If he continues to play like that in the leauge, he could very well replace Clinton Hennessy for the Championship.

Thats us out of the running for the final. Best of luck to the Dubs for the remainder of the year. It'll be a tough ask to reach the final but if they can improve on todays performance theyve got a great chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Was at he game today shouting on Waterford but their shot selection and passing in the 2nd half was very poor. I thought the halftime lead, played with the wind, of a goal wasn't enough. Fair play to Dublin all the same as they took some great scores.

Our players all looked tired and the forwards looked sluggish. You are right to say that our keeper had a great game. I was also very impressed by Maher who played well at half back.

Its a few months to the Limerick game but we need the games left in the league to get sharper - much sharper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

:p:p:p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

:p:p:p:p:p
    + :p

Great win for Dublin. Wasn't at it unfortunately so can't comment but it's great for the team to get used to winning. Maybe this year we can make confidence gained in the league count come the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Davy Fitz has blamed himself for the defeat somewhat as he brought the lads to the Dunne fight last night. Probably not the best preparation for the game. Dublin lying in 2nd place now in the league, had them at 18-1 to come in the top 2 of the league so i may have a nice aul payday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Davy Fitz has blamed himself for the defeat somewhat as he brought the lads to the Dunne fight last night. Probably not the best preparation for the game. Dublin lying in 2nd place now in the league, had them at 18-1 to come in the top 2 of the league so i may have a nice aul payday

Clare, Tipp and KK left to play. They will need 2 wins to make the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I think Dublin Hurling are the pride of Dublin GAA tonight anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Daysha wrote: »
    I gotta say, we've given ourselves a great chance of reaching the league final now. I'll be fairly confident of victory over Dublin in three weeks. Following that is Galway at home who we can definitely beat, then we travel to Limerick, again very winnable. Then we finish it off with a trip to Cork to relegate the Rebels :pac:

Obviously Kilkenny v Tipp in 3 weeks will be a big match, but Tipp can definitely win, They've been pretty impressive in the league so far.

wow Daysha, you've been way off the mark in recent weeks don't you agree? (linky)
    Stunning demolition of the residents of 'The Home of Hurling :rolleyes: ' by the Cats yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Declan30

Dublin should have 8 pts by now .As they had limerick all but beaten justm missed very handy frees that day.
    Think Dublin are not getting the respect.
    Looks odds on now that clare will go to Divison 2. When everyone taught it would be Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

wow Daysha, you've been way off the mark in recent weeks don't you agree? (linky)
    Stunning demolition of the residents of 'The Home of Hurling :rolleyes: ' by the Cats yesterday.
    In my defense, nobody could have predicted the manner of Kilkennys victory really. Plus nearly everyone in the county thought we'd pull through against Dublin. I can't even remember the last time we lost to them.

I don't know why I even bother with predictions anymore, but its worth a shot...

Dublin will beat Clare but should lose to KK and Tipp, giving them a 4-3 record, which probably won't be enough to reach the final. Kilkenny will probably win the remainder of their games (Dublin, Clare and Cork), putting them in the final. Tipp could slip up against Galway, especially if the Portumna players are back. But if they beat Limerick and Dublin that'll give them 5-2, which should be enough.

The only challenges to them will come from Galway (who need to win all 3 matches against Tipp, Waterford and Clare) and ourselves (only if we beat Galway, Limerick and Cork). If either of those teams don't get 100% records it'll be down to Dublin. But it's still Kilkennys and Tipps to lose.

But sure what the fcuk do I know? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Daysha wrote: »
    we beat Galway, Limerick and Cork).

:eek: Cocky bastard Deise, predicting Waterford will hammer Cork like that, we'll have Hero Murphy at center forward lad, you won't know what hit ye...:p

Orizio wrote: »
    :eek: Cocky bastard Deise, predicting Waterford will hammer Cork like that, we'll have Hero Murphy at center forward lad, you won't know what hit ye...:p

Lol. Well that original prediction I made about the Waterford/Cork match was made before Gerald McCarthy resigned, so you can't really blame me there :)

I'm not sure where the match is on, is it Pairc ui Chaoimh? If it is and you can get a good crowd behind the Rebels then you guys should win. But in general its a bit hopeless trying to make predictions involving a team that goes from beating Kilkenny to losing to Dublin in the space of 2 weeks :rolleyes:

Orizio Banned for a year for personally abusing Daysha.

No only kidding, you are a cocky b'stard for that prediction. Waterford and the Cats are a bit erratic. Although in saying that I think beating Cork in the league is not that much of a stretch.

Im Glad the Dubs got cork before the strike was over !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I hear ya Daysha, the league is a bit all over the shop, a hotbed for experimentation...hopefully when the Championship arrives and the teams settle down the Cats will beat Tipp by more:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

A good win for the Dubs. We'd have to agree with Daysha that the Waterford goalkeeper was their star. If it wasn't for him, we'd have made the Kilkenny/Tipperary game look like a close match. ;) You should have made yourself known to us Daysha, as there were a few boardsies at the game.

Seeing as Waterford beat Kilkenny recently and we then beat Waterford, Dublin can now claim to be the All-Ireland champions. :)

I like your thinking Flukey - and your right Dublin are the best Hurling team of all time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Ah Daysha,dry your eyes mate.Dublin were awesome in terms of fight and teamwork.We have lost games like these before where we should have won but yesterday was a sign that the Dubs are starting to learn how to hang on to narrow leads and win.

In fairness,the national hurling league is where Dublin have flourished over the last few years and we should not be taken for granted.I am pretty accurate in saying that Waterford themselves probably thought the same but Dublin taught them a lesson and they joined Galway and Cork as other victims of complacency and underestimating an ever improving Dublin side.

As for the game itself,Waterford were in their element in the first half and the lead up to the goal was soft but the defense tightened and Ken McGrath and Eoin Kelly were rather quiet than usual.Dublin showed great courage to come back and never let them out of sight.Liam Rushe had a great game but tired in the second half.I think the subbing of Ruairi Treanor was necessary and it paid off.

Adrian Power kept Waterford in the game.He pulled off 3 great saves.He was man of the match for me yesterday but Dublins team effort has to be lauded.Do not be surprised if Dublin beat Tipperary and Clare but sliotar control still seems to be an area where improvement can be made but at least we punished those mistakes Waterford made and that is part and parcel of winning any game,football or hurling.There was a gameplan to make it as hard as possible for Waterford to find a man and move for a score and it paid off.Our midfield totally dominated in the second half and the half backs cleaned up a lot of loose sliotar.

It is hard to believe but Waterford broke themselves to beat Kilkenny and now all that hard work has been undone by a Dublin side waiting in the long grass.A league playoff is not beyond this team.It would have been certain had they beat a Limerick side they should have beat.The game down in Tipperary will be interesting considering that they got mauled by Kilkenny but there is no reason why they shouldn't beat Clare and maybe we might have a repeat of the classic 2007 National Hurling League encounter when Dublin drew with Kilkenny in Parnell Park when Kilkenny got out of jail.

You've got a point BB. I suppose reading over my OP I guess I was a bit hard on Dublin. Ye absolutely deserved to win, and like I said, ye've come on leaps and bounds.

But that doesn't take away from that woeful 2nd half we played. Eoin Kelly was completely isolated up front for much of the last 20 mins and you could see how much it was annoying him. Any time any of our half backs or midfield actually had time with the sliothar was just aimlessly drove it up the field to be easily gathered by the Dublin backs. It just wasn't good enough at times.

You guys absolutely punished us for our mistakes, no doubt about that. But with 4 points extra on the board at HT and seemingly looking good, we just played into your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I agree with Blackbelt and Deise, Dublin are a vastly superior hurling team then Waterford. The Dub lads are much taller, stronger, better looking, nicer smelling and more intelligent as well.

Glad we are all in agreement. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Well done Dublin Hurlers. Over the past few years a massive amount of work has been done in Dublin by very dedicated coach's and it is starting to pay off. There is still a good way to go but hopefully the days of hidings from the big guns are over.

These lads are very dedicated and it might make a few others think before they opt for football.

Is there still a bit of "not taking Dublin seriously"? I feel there is. One or two bad decisions from Dublin players and a few referees have cost them dearly in the last few years. My fear is Referee's will operate a different set of rules for the likes of Dublin and Laois who dont get away with some of the stuff "Big" counties get away with.

Met Anthony Daly recently and was very impressed, hopefully he will stay for few seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

LeoB wrote: »

Is there still a bit of "not taking Dublin seriously"? I feel there is.

Of course there is. Remember only about 3 years ago we got knocked out by Westmeath in the Championship and only this year are regarded as a good team rather than a side with a few great players but not enough to go far in the championship. Unless we beat Antrim by a handy margin I would say Daly would be very disappointed. We have shown great promise and got huge experience from the league but the championship is a completely different affair.