Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Rás Luimní " Classic #1

• 22-03-2009 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭

Any results from Limerick yet?

It's probably the biggest road race on the Irish calendar so far this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭King Kelly

Neil Delahaye (Usher IRC) wins on his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

I was racing in it!!! First year as junior so I can't remember the names of winners but I've some pictures if ye want to try and identify people...hopefully they'll have results and pictures up on Irish cycling sometime soon. It was a great race altogether, I'll get back to you when the results are posted cause I think I was in the top 6 Juniors :D

Well Done! Standard seems to be higher in all the categories this year as well.

Just looking at the combined race results on Irish Cycling. Am I right in saying the first five were vets? (opr should I say supervets).

King Kelly wrote: »
    Well Done! Standard seems to be higher in all the categories this year as well.

THE RESULTS ARE UP HERE

Were you in the race yourself? What I fabulous day I have to admit...around 250 riders competing made for quite a spectacle. It's the biggest race I have competed in yet,and hopefully many more to come. Do you know who I should contact about the results...they said that only 3 Juniors finished at the prize giving but there are 4 listed on the website. I know another junior finished ahead of me in 5th but I am fairly sure I was 6th over the line (and there are prizes for the first 6 in each category). I'm not after the prize or anything, just more curious if anything as to how I actually got on. ;)

King Kelly wrote: »
    Just looking at the combined race results on Irish Cycling. Am I right in saying the first five were vets? (or should I say supervets).

Yep, I think the first 4 or 5 were vets alright! Fair play to them, a tough day's racing for anyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Did the vets get a headstart, I didn't go myself this year, nice race, miserable conditions last year though... I would imagine the vets got a lead because there are too many names which should be up there that aren't, fair play to them if not.

Ballyhoura: are you sure its prizes for first 6 juniors ? Often its only first 3 for juniors depending on the number of entrants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Freddy687

Quigs, No the Vets started with the C's and juniors. It was rolling start of sorts. This year there is a few guys that have turned Vet that would have been B's and A's last year.
    Only survived a one lap with the bunch my self before i was shell out the back.

Interesting, thats a surprise. I am familiar with the vets in question and they are strong riders no doubt. I guess I am surprised though, there are a handful of sharks in the C cat who I thought would have done better today. Unless of course they did the A/B race to help get ready for Gorey or RAS Mumhan. Thats the beauty of cycling though, you just never can tell.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Freddy687 wrote: »
    Quigs, No the Vets started with the C's and juniors. It was rolling start of sorts. This year there is a few guys that have turned Vet that would have been B's and A's last year.
    Only survived a one lap with the bunch my self before i was shell out the back.

Did the women have a seperate race ? Quite interested to see how Siobhan Dervan compared to the men . I'd say she'd mix it with B's at least.
    Good to see her regocnised and actually get some sports council funding this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Freddy687

I know a few of the C's did go in the other race as you say training for the ras mumhan.

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    Ballyhoura: are you sure its prizes for first 6 juniors ? Often its only first 3 for juniors depending on the number of entrants.
    No, I'm 99% sure it was the first 6! This is what it said in the race info and what happened for the other category's. What makes me so sure is this: they said only 3 Juniors finished but a friend of mine went up afterwards and got the fourth place prize (it's like they didn't even know he finished!). The funny thing is on the Irish Cycing results page, he is not one of the top four listed. Maybe if I had been confident enough to investigate it further at the time, I might have got a prize! Is it too late to look into it now? Or would it look a bit greedy...I'm just curious as to what place I actually finished in.

It's my first year as a Junior and I am really delighted with how I got on. I was with the main pack comfortably until this fool pulled out in front of me and sent me tumbling into a ditch. I got up but had been dropped immediately. I finished 1st in the small group of dropped riders...my first time ever sprinting in a race. It was a bit of fun more than anything else! :p Hopefully in my next three years as Junior I will see improvements, as I only really started training seriously in the last few months. I've a Junior test day on Sunday in the Alsaa sports complex, Dublin Airport. Does anyone know anything more about this (like what time it's on or how long it takes? Also, is it difficult to find?) Thanks in advance ;) Cheers!

Call up the organiser. If you are due a prize you may as well claim it - would have been better to do it at the time though - don't be shy about these things ! You win a prize at a bike race then you have damn well earned it. Often these things get confused especially if the bunches are fragmented, they could have thought ye were stragglers from another section..

Not sure what the junior testing is. In general though for the track team they stick you and your bike on this thing which replaces your back wheel (kind of kind a turbo trainer with a huge fanwheel on it), they then let you warm up and then measure your sustained power over 4 minutes. They usually divide that by weight and measure you by that number, they will also look at your height etc... to see if you should be identified as future potential talent. Not sure if its the same for the road.

Don't let the 4 minutes thing make you think its easy though, if indeed thats the test they give you. You will be very surprised at how long 4 minutes is at flat out pace !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Jaysus - yer man Philip Lavery seems to be going very well this year. Been up there in pretty much every race.

Great prospect for the future. Assumedly he'll be on the u-23s for the worlds this year.

Aye Lavery is flying at the minute, he trained with us at the weekends during the winter, very impressive, decent bloke too (he is in college down here in Waterford, his family is from down here), talking to him a few weeks ago, he is off to a team in Northern France in the summer after his exams. He won a big race last year in Belgium during a stint with the rabobank junior/feeder team.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    Aye Lavery is flying at the minute, he trained with us at the weekends during the winter, very impressive, decent bloke too (he is in college down here in Waterford, his family is from down here), talking to him a few weeks ago, he is off to a team in Northern France in the summer after his exams. He won a big race last year in Belgium during a stint with the rabobank junior/feeder team.

Bit of a issue with the fact that he got no sports council funding. IMO he deserves it, this sort of thing really annoys me esp after Ciaran Power's shameful treatment.
    We could have a good team for the U-23's this year , Dan martin turns 23 in August unfortunately though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭biker_joe

Lavery is a full timer ! It's great to see him doing well, his Dad was good rider in his day and his Brother won a few races as an A too a few years back ... showing me age !!!

But I am a senior 2 getting back into racing, and Cycling Ireland or the any of the race organisers start us at the same time as the A's and the full timers or else give us 30sec to 3mins over 60km or more ... a bit of a joke ... and not
    really what you would call competitive cycling, especialy competing against guys are doing it for a so called living !!!

Roll on this weekend where there is separate B race ! .........

Hi Biker, the brother was indeed a handy rider, shame about his crash a couple of years ago, it looks like it has finished him for now, we are hoping to see him get back on a bike, but haven't heard much about it for a while. Fingers crossed.

B races are few and far between sadly, you could always apply for your C license if you have been away a while - although give me a B race anyday, sure they are longer, but the risk of death by fred is vastly reduced.

I did n't hear about his crash ? what happened ? racing or training ??

oh yea the B bunch any day ... I don't how how you'd hold yer nerves in a C bunch ! crazy sh1t !!

Biker Joe

I can't remember what happened to him now, it was about 2 years ago, but I do recall it being very bad indeed. The good news, I think he might race this weekend. In my club colors...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Colmhayden76

I know that CI want to do somthing about the fact the combined fields are fairly massive at the moment and the racing is baised twords the Vets. Unfortunatly due to the race organisers not knowing how many people from each catogry and also time constraints we are haveing increasingly bigger fields for Combined races.

If you think Limerick was bad, The Gorey 2 day has already got 200 riders pre booked!!

Hey Colm
    I did n't ride Limerick, normally Gorey is restricted to 180 places, with a usual 10% no show on the day, so roughly about 160 racing in the last few years... well I rode in 2007 ....

I was surprised to see the start list this with 200, seems like a big number ....
    but I reckon if there any lads on here that were racing in the 90's that bunchs were much bigger !

Biker Joe