Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accident 2 alloys damaged

• 21-03-2009 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭

Hey all
    Had an accident coming off the M50 onto the N7 exitlast night.
    Drifted of the right hand side of the road and hit the cement curb with the front and rear right side tyre's.

Got home with the help of mine and my brothers spare tyres.

Now brought the alloys to a garage today and he said the fecked and I need to get them repiared.

So my questions are:

How much does this usually cost baring in mind they need 2 new tyres,

Do I need to get 2 new spares ( one for me and one for my brother) now that I ve driven from Dublin to portlaosie on them?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

With regard to the cost of replacing the damaged ones, it will be several hundred but as you didn't tell us what they are, we cannot be exact.
    As for needing new spares, did you damage the ones you put on the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I'd also get a 4 wheel alignment done after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

kbannon wrote: »
    With regard to the cost of replacing the damaged ones, it will be several hundred but as you didn't tell us what they are, we cannot be exact.
    As for needing new spares, did you damage the ones you put on the car?

There 16" Nissan Almera alloys.
    Didnt damage the spares at all but do they not have a limit as to how far they can go or is it the speed thay can be driven at?

I ll get the alignment done alright.

Space saver spares (those shíte narrow yokes) can be used up to about 50 or 80km/h - it should say it on the rim. As long as the tread is above the legal limit then you are fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would consider a new set of alloys with tyres in your situation. (specially if they cannot be repaired). Dont go down the road of paying nissan huge money for 2 wheels to match yours (assuming you currently have original wheels on)
    New sets of wheels and tyres can be had for very small money. They will not be nissan wheels but perfectly good all the same. I would have a check done on suspension & alignment too due to the accident.

You could also sell the 2 good old wheels to the guy on here who had 2 almera wheels stolen a few weeks ago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,113 ✭✭✭✭L1011

If they're repairable, Collins Engineering in Bray charge about 50 quid a go and do a decent enough job. You could also look for the same alloys in a scrappers, its a common enough car.

Are the spares doughnuts or full size?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

kbannon wrote: »
    Space saver spares (those shíte narrow yokes) can be used up to about 50 or 80km/h - it should say it on the rim. As long as the tread is above the legal limit then you are fine.

Here was me worried they were going to blow out after 80 Km :D

I was in Halford s a while ago and couldn't believe the price of alloys with new tyres and all, will look into that.

Tried scappers for spares no joy so far will see what the repair is like and go from there!

Thanks lads for your advice, accident cut the heart out of me!!! :confused:
    But my Da picked up 2 spare wheels for 70 euro today to get me around until I get sorted.

I was in Halford s a while ago and couldn't believe the price of alloys with new tyres and all, will look into that.
    Apart from the fact that they may not fit your car (tyre size, etc as well as wheel offset, etc. I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for!
    Personally, I would not expect too much from a relatively inexpensive set of wheels and tyres!