Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Benefit Cheats ??????

• 20-03-2009 10:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭

im not sure if its ok to post this here or different section well here goes

this morning a former polish employee came in to me ( old employer ) with an aplication for making an unemployment claim , basically we let this guy go after 5 years of working because downturn in construction. now he ran up a €4000 credit card bill and wants his insurance now to pay for it because he is unemployed , when he's actually working doing pizza deliveries and has been for 3 years.

now i know he's entitled to some things as everybody is , but we paid out over €7000 for redundancy and wages and holidays due

and he's only paying €100 a month rent , as he has apartment which he's like the head person incharge of the rent and bills , so he has a few there who pretty much pay for his rent too

is it right that he can claim this benifit to pay a €4000 credit card ???????

should i shop him ???

just bugs the lifeout of me , they drain the country dry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Ironbars

Report him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Damn Polish.. everybody get their broomsticks, its shenanigans! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

It is hardly your concern what he does with his unemployment benefit / social welfare money although Im sure threads will be started soon about such an item.

If he is unemployed legitimately and working 15 hours a week or less then he can claim without cheating.

Anyway he now wants something to supplement his living because he has probably been living on his credit card.

At least he does not just run back to Poland and leave the debt here like many others.

EDIT Also on the Insurance part of it. He can only claim insurance from the date he signs on not from the date he was made unemployed. Also the redundancy cover on Insurance does not concern itself with how much redundancy you receive. I used to work as a claims assessor for such an Insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

It doesn't matter that he's polish. If he was Irish, he would still be trying to defraud his insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭DFD

I've a 4 grand credit card bill which i'm struggling to pay off,have agreed to pay €50 a wk but its not even making a dent to the bill.whats this insurance that will pay it off,is it from the social welfare or an insurance firm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Exactly it doesnt matter what race or nationality he is! But i personally wouldnt give a sh*t your doing good unto him just sign it and let him fck off!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Moved from After Hours. I would advise any posters to read the charter here before posting and if the mods think it unsuitable please move it back.
    Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭rkeane

Report him asap, I recently did the same to someone I knew was screwing the system....only worse. He was legitimately working in Ireland for a very short period...not long enough to qualify for social welfare, he then had to stop working for illness reasons. This filipino guy receiving a HSE payment of €1000 a month rent allowance, he was also getting an allowance for himself and his 2 kids. At the same time he was running a logistics company with his new partner. That partner then moved into his taxpayer funded home and they continued to cream the system.

I acted and got a very satisfactory result, I must have saved taxpayers a fortune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

Exactly it doesnt matter what race or nationality he is! But i personally wouldnt give a sh*t your doing good unto him just sign it and let him fck off!
    ?????????

just seems they get alot more than irish people , or maybe irish dont know there full rights etc ....

plus he signed on the dole and had money 10 days later , and i know 4 irish guys signed on the same place a day earlier and have to wait 6 weeks , aparently the foreign people get benefits easier

his wife has a pps number no english and hasnt worked a day over here , she's now in poland and he wants to claim for her

just makes my blood boil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

rkeane wrote: »
    I acted and got a very satisfactory result, I must have saved taxpayers a fortune.

thanks............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Report him.

</thread>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

Acoustic wrote: »
    ?????????

just seems they get alot more than irish people , or maybe irish dont know there full rights etc ....

plus he signed on the dole and had money 10 days later , and i know 4 irish guys signed on the same place a day earlier and have to wait 6 weeks , aparently the foreign people get benefits easier

his wife has a pps number no english and hasnt worked a day over here , she's now in poland and he wants to claim for her

just makes my blood boil

Report Him, and I will tell you why, if Irish people had not taken to tax fraud in the 1980's the public sector cut backs would not have been so great, more jobs could have been created because more money would have been available fast forward to today and EVERBODY agrees that cuts are necessary but the attitude is that’s grand but I am not taking a cut, where is the money going to come from?,

the very same people will lecture the government because cancer vaccine are not available for young girls - then take a cut and the money will be there, we do not have a bottomless pit of money for social welfare

polish people are not that badly looked after in my experience they have got paid well the same rate as the Irish person (I know because I paid them)if they spent it tough its not the responsible of the Irish tax payer to foot the bill, if he has worked he is entitled to whatever benefits are accruing under the system, like an Irish person no more no less. The more we turn a blind eye to fraud the bigger the problem will be because in the end WE are paying for it in reduced services etc.

You got to hand it to the poles some neck, no shame we owe them their statutory entitlements same as an Irish person thats it stop taking Ireland and the Irish for a ride

I can understand why this gets you annoyed, my older brother had a business employed Irish and originally polish workers, before the they officially joined the EU, to get to the point he having worked in the US knew what it was like as a foreign worker so really looked after these lads in return they screwed him big time take take take that all they seem to do

whether Irish or polish nobody should get what they are not entitled to full stop. Its good to know my elderly father who has worked all his life can't get a medical card and money is being pissed away like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

SWL wrote: »
    Report Him, and I will tell you why, if Irish people had not taken to tax fraud in the 1980's the public sector cut backs would not have been so great, more jobs could have been created because more money would have been available fast forward to today and EVERBODY agrees that cuts are necessary but the attitude is that’s grand but I am not taking a cut, where is the money going to come from?,

the very same people will lecture the government because cancer vaccine are not available for young girls - then take a cut and the money will be there, we do not have a bottomless pit of money for social welfare

polish people are not that badly looked after in my experience they have got paid well the same rate as the Irish person (I know because I paid them)if they spent it tough its not the responsible of the Irish tax payer to foot the bill, if he has worked he is entitled to whatever benefits are accruing under the system, like an Irish person no more no less. The more we turn a blind eye to fraud the bigger the problem will be because in the end WE are paying for it in reduced services etc.

You got to hand it to the poles some neck, no shame we owe them their statutory entitlements same as an Irish person thats it stop taking Ireland and the Irish for a ride

I can understand why this gets you annoyed, my older brother had a business employed Irish and originally polish workers, before the they officially joined the EU, to get to the point he having worked in the US knew what it was like as a foreign worker so really looked after these lads in return they screwed him big time take take take that all they seem to do

whether Irish or polish nobody should get what they are not entitled to full stop. Its good to know my elderly father who has worked all his life can't get a medical card and money is being pissed away like this

and he wants to become a taxi driver and even had the neck to ask can he bring his gps system into a test ( tosser )

call me racist or whatever , maybe its the irish government for allowing these things to get out of hand or many loop holes

but there bleeding this country dry and its because of that id say alot of people hate them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 fifibibi

if he got redundancy then the dole should not let him sign on for a few weeks, unless he never told them...

fifibibi wrote: »
    if he got redundancy then the dole should not let him sign on for a few weeks, unless he never told them...
    he's entitled to sign on and collect unemployment benefit as long as he paid stamps no matter what amount of redundancy he got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

DFD wrote: »
    he's entitled to sign on and collect unemployment benefit as long as he paid stamps no matter what amount of redundancy he got.

Nope

http://www.welfare.ie/EN/Policy/Legislation/Statutory%20Instruments/Pages/si43_07.aspx

The 15 hours work allowed is also rubbish. He may work casually if he is reporting it to the exchange and they are docking him for it. (No more than 3 days work per week, with complications, but that's basically it)

Otherwise he's scamming.

didn't realise that,i suppose if you get 30 odd grand in redundancy a wait of 9 weeks or so isn't going to bother you that much,if i got that much i'd be gone to koh samui or somewhere like that for a few months to get over the loss of the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Acoustic wrote: »
    im not sure if its ok to post this here or different section well here goes

this morning a former polish employee came in to me ( old employer ) with an aplication for making an unemployment claim , basically we let this guy go after 5 years of working because downturn in construction. now he ran up a €4000 credit card bill and wants his insurance now to pay for it because he is unemployed , when he's actually working doing pizza deliveries and has been for 3 years.

now i know he's entitled to some things as everybody is , but we paid out over €7000 for redundancy and wages and holidays due

and he's only paying €100 a month rent , as he has apartment which he's like the head person incharge of the rent and bills , so he has a few there who pretty much pay for his rent too

is it right that he can claim this benifit to pay a €4000 credit card ???????

should i shop him ???

just bugs the lifeout of me , they drain the country dry

REPORT HIM
    Almost €500 million was saved in 2008 in the welfare crackdown! I would urge anyone thinking of reporting a fraudster to do so, you can do so annonomously too!

You can use the details I will be posting, or contact your local SW Office.

Contact Details:

By email: central.control@welfare.ie

By phone: (01) 704 3000, ask for Central Control Section or
    (071) 9672648

By Post: Central Control Division, Shannon Lodge, Carrick-on-Shannon, Co Leitrim

This is a list of all offices and addresses/phone numbers :
    http://www.welfare.ie/EN/ContactUs/P...x#localoffices