Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Tax

• 20-03-2009 9:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Quick question.

I have not paid car tax since say November. I don't particularly want to pay the back tax on the 4 months which will come in at around €300. Would it be possible to transfer the ownership of the car to my wife but I still drive the car and avoid paying the back tax and just get my wif to tax it as her new car?

just athought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Just go to local garda station with the form that says your vehicle is off the road and get them to sign it. I've done this many times...never asked any questions, if you are asked just say you were away travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Just fill out the bottom of the form to say the car was off the road for the time period. The gaurds will sign it no bother. They seldom ask any questions, and if they do fill them with lies as they never ask for proof. Saves the hardship pf transfering the car

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Just fill out a form saying it was off the road and get a guard to stamp it.

Oh and just sit here and wait for all the people who are about to go mad at all of us who have told you to do the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

You can transfer ownership, but it will put an extra owner on the car. Or you could do what Farls says, and hope that your car hasn't appeared on the system (say for speeding/parking) during the period which you declared in writing to the Gardai that it was off the road.

Anan1 wrote: »
    You can transfer ownership, but it will put an extra owner on the car. Or you could do what Farls says, and hope that your car hasn't appeared on the system (say for speeding/parking) during the period which you declared in writing to the Gardai that it was off the road.

Unless your really unlucky I don't think this is ever checked. I normally call in and just say 'car was off the road for x months could you stamp it?' stamped and signed then with no look ups or questions.

Farls wrote: »
    Unless your really unlucky I don't think this is ever checked. I normally call in and just say 'car was off the road for x months could you stamp it?' stamped and signed then with no look ups or questions.
    The Gardai generally won't check when they're stamping the form, but the car is then entered on the system as having been declared off the road for that period. That's all well and good as long as nothing ever arises to prove that the OP made a fraudulent declaration. In which case the OP would be, quite rightly, screwed.

I didn't know that now...definitely something to keep in mind there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Last time I was getting a company van signed off the road, the guard was telling some young lad that they check anything over 3 months. Which he did and won't sign the car off as it had been logged on the pulse system. That was in Clondalkin station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 simonbyrneno.4

I recently bought a new car and the change of ownership only came through today but i don't have the old tax disc so i don't know when the tax expired on the car all i know is that it needs to be taxed. What do i do for filling out the form saying the car has been off the road. I don't know how long the tax has been expired on the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I recently bought a new car and the change of ownership only came through today but i don't have the old tax disc so i don't know when the tax expired on the car all i know is that it needs to be taxed. What do i do for filling out the form saying the car has been off the road. I don't know how long the tax has been expired on the car.

Call the motor tax office and they will do a check on the car reg and tell you when it was last taxed. You will then just declare it off the road from that time. But as far as I know, with the new log book in your name, thats all you need, you dont need to fill out a form. The period of no tax is not your concern as the new owner, although the gardai may tell you otherwise, this is not true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭gillo_100

I like to express my thanks to all of you for restoring my faith that despite all the corruption we hear about from all those greedy rich bankers that most people are in fact decent honest citezens.

Shame on you all, its due to that kind of mentality that not only our country but also half the world is experiencing the current economic crisis. Do you not realise you aren't getting one over on any sort of big brother you are simply stealing from me and any other honest tax paying citizens.

I sincerly hope that you will go pay the full ammount that you are due to pay and that if you don't that you are caught out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

gillo_100 wrote: »
    I like to express my thanks to all of you for restoring my faith that despite all the corruption we hear about from all those greedy rich bankers that most people are in fact decent honest citezens.

Shame on you all, its due to that kind of mentality that not only our country but also half the world is experiencing the current economic crisis. Do you not realise you aren't getting one over on any sort of big brother you are simply stealing from me and any other honest tax paying citizens.

I sincerly hope that you will go pay the full ammount that you are due to pay and that if you don't that you are caught out

I was waiting for a post like this

The op never said if the car was on the road or not in that period.

Put away the jump to conclusions mat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Myggel

craichoe wrote: »
    I was waiting for a post like this

The op never said if the car was on the road or not in that period.

Put away the jump to conclusions mat.

He didn't qualify it with a reason why so I think it's not unreasonable to assume the car was not off the road.

I agree with gillo, it's around €60 for the 3 months is it?

Come on folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

Myggel wrote: »
    He didn't qualify it with a reason why so I think it's not unreasonable to assume the car was not off the road.

I agree with gillo, it's around €60 for the 3 months is it?

Come on folks.

he said 300 for 3months, like my tax its way to expensive

60 euro if you drive a tiny engine sized car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭gillo_100

Even if the OP did genuinely have the car off the road, I 'm sure some of the other posters aren't so honest.
    Just go to local garda station with the form that says your vehicle is off the road and get them to sign it. I've done this many times...never asked any questions, if you are asked just say you were away travelling.

In terms of how much its 25 per month for a 1 litre, 60 per month for a 2 litre and keeps increasing. No matter how much the fact still remains that this is stealing.

Would people be so soft on someone who stole a computer from a public hospital because it ammounts to the same thing.

Even if the OP did genuinely have the car off the road, I 'm sure some of the other posters aren't so honest.

In terms of how much its 25 per month for a 1 litre, 60 per month for a 2 litre and keeps increasing. No matter how much the fact still remains that this is stealing.

Would people be so soft on someone who stole a computer from a public hospital because it ammounts to the same thing.

Troll alert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Oh the irony.

Troll alert.
    gillo's actually right, it does amount to the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Jaysus will ya ever climb down from your high horse

Gallant_JJ wrote: »
    Ah, that old 70s chestnut. Wake up and smell the 21st century, tax fraud is stealing from the people of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

If you have been escaping it away since November why tax the car now? The fine is only 80 euro and you do not get penalty points so it is cheaper to pay the fine if caught and even then it will get bogged down so much in our shambles of a legal system and the cost of recovering the €80 will be more than the fine.

Why should anyone even bother paying tax when all we get is more tax and the worst government ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭rgunning

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Why should anyone even bother paying tax when all we get is more tax and the worst government ever.

Brilliant. Attitudes like that will have us out of this crisis in a jiffy.

I was going to pay for my petrol today, but actually, maybe I'll just drive off after filling up without paying. What's the point? It just keeps getting more expensive and the oil companies do nothing for us anyway.

If you have been escaping it away since November why tax the car now? The fine is only 80 euro and you do not get penalty points so it is cheaper to pay the fine if caught and even then it will get bogged down so much in our shambles of a legal system and the cost of recovering the €80 will be more than the fine.

Because your car gets lifted if your caught, so you then have to pay for the tow truck, storage fee, a taxi home and the fine.

Same as driving on NI/UK reg...nothing like having your vehicle 100% and being able to drive where you want and not be worrying if theres a check point around every corner etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bopsy

The tax system is flawed. Why should someone who drives once a day for 2-3 miles pay the same amount of tax on a car that is driven all day. Car tax should be based on mileage covered not just a blanket tax because it has a certain sized engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 wheeliebin

Most peoples car taxes are about 300 euro. If your unlucky to buy a cheap 5 litre engine car well hey say its off the road and get it signed but the gardai. Its not new, people have been doing this for years in good times and bad. The car tax system is a mess and its this system that has contributed to ruining the industry at the moment.

The industry's a mess because it relied on people changing their car practically every year and now people aren't willing to do that. People aren't stopping buying new cars because they're too tight to pay motor tax, if anything high motor tax on an old large engine car would encourage someone to buy a new lower tax model rather than discourage. If they did something about VRT, that would be a different story.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Gallant_JJ wrote: »
    He has a point. By endorsing tax evasion, you remove your right to bitch about the bankers, state of the roads, state of the health service, etc.
    You as part of the electorate elected them!
    bopsy wrote: »
    The tax system is flawed. Why should someone who drives once a day for 2-3 miles pay the same amount of tax on a car that is driven all day. Car tax should be based on mileage covered not just a blanket tax because it has a certain sized engine.
    A flawed tax system is still a tax system. If you want change then discuss it with your elected representatives when they come knocking in the coming weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 wheeliebin

Sorry STARK i should have meant to say all car taxes road tax vat and VRT.
    I completely agree with you. We are the second cheapest country in europe to purchase a brand new car minus the taxes. Would you be in favour of no road tax disc but a progressive taxation policy on Diesel/petrol. More you drive you use and spend.
    Its still criminal to think pre january 2008 that you could have a peugeot 207 diesel 2.0HDI and i could have one a month yonger and pay 104euro tax while you would have to fork out for a 2000cc engine 0f 539euro. This is why people feel cheated by the tax system and have no problems in getting the gardai to sign off a couple of months off the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭artielange

post_old.gif Yesterday, 14:22 #19 Anan1
    blue_star_3.gif

Adverts | Friends

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Farls viewpost.gif
    Troll alert.

user_online.gifreport.gif quote.gif

is the same thing and amounts to same thing is huge difference
    and by the way there not the same thing

artielange wrote: »
    post_old.gif Yesterday, 14:22 #19 Anan1
    blue_star_3.gif

Adverts | Friends

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Farls viewpost.gif
    Troll alert.

user_online.gifreport.gif quote.gif

is the same thing and amounts to same thing is huge difference
    and by the way there not the same thing
    Perhaps you could explain the difference between stealing from the public and stealing from the public for us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Christ lads its not like they hide the tax rates from ye.
    patrickc wrote:
    he said 300 for 3months, like my tax its way to expensive
    Its something you should consider when buying a car, if you can't afford it then buy a smaller/less C02 producing car.
    bopsy wrote:
    Why should someone who drives once a day for 2-3 miles pay the same amount of tax on a car that is driven all day
    If you only drive 2-3 mile a day, don't buy a car. Simple.

I don't mind if ye don't pay your taxes but not paying and then bitching about xyz just pisses me off.

You know what you're buying. You know what you'll be paying to tax it. You still decide to buy it.
    So suck it up. Yes, its a s**t system but its your decision what you buy so get a f**king grip.

The industry's messed up because most people have finally gotten sense IMO.

Perhaps you could explain the difference between stealing from the public and stealing from the public for us?

Someone works for the bank takes home some office suppies every once in awhile.

Someone robs the bank.

Amount to the same thing....stealing.... but not the same thing.

Would you not agree?

Someone robs the bank.

Would you not agree?
    ?? The only difference is the amount stolen.

The other difference would also be the amount of jail time you get.

So as you yourself say there is a difference, would'nt it have been easier just saying yes to my question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

peanuthead wrote: »
    Call the motor tax office and they will do a check on the car reg and tell you when it was last taxed. You will then just declare it off the road from that time. But as far as I know, with the new log book in your name, thats all you need, you dont need to fill out a form. The period of no tax is not your concern as the new owner, although the gardai may tell you otherwise, this is not true

Can you expand on this a bit? I always thought that if you bought a car that the tax was out on, it was your responsibilty to bring it up to date, either through paying the arrears or declaring it off the road? Can you just show the logbook and the change in ownership date and tax it going forward then?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

wyndham wrote: »
    Can you expand on this a bit? I always thought that if you bought a car that the tax was out on, it was your responsibilty to bring it up to date, either through paying the arrears or declaring it off the road? Can you just show the logbook and the change in ownership date and tax it going forward then?
    You are responsible for taxing the car as and from the month in which you bought the car - not before! It is the responsibility of the seller to ensure that the car is taxed up to date up to the sale (if they haven't taxed it for the month of the sale then the responsibility lies with the buyer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bopsy

Paid the car tax today. It was just a question.

Some of you people really do need to relax a little. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone and all that, there is not one of you on this website who has not thought about how to save money at the expense of the state even if not entirely legal.

Changing the alloys or radio on a car before it is sent to be VRT'd?
    Getting wrong change in a shop and not giving it back.
    Speeding and not getting caught.
    Everytime you shop up north you are taking away from the exchequer, you are not breaking the law but you are not paying tax into the coffers

Everybody is doing it in there own little way, get off your high horses.

B

OP get it signed off the road. I have often done it I always miss a few months between taxing a car and get it signed off each time with no problem.

On the topic of getting caught out, A friend of mine hadn't taxed his car for months after registering it and was stopped at a check point(in a different county to where he lives) now you would imagine there was no way of avoiding the back tax of 6months+. Next morning he went into his local garda station got the car signed off the road and taxed it from that day, payed the fine for no tax the following week and never heard a word about the back tax. Saved a nice bit of money for being a chancer.

EDIT: Actually I'm wrong he had the car signed off the road a day or two before he was stopped as he planned to tax it, then went in the day after getting caught and taxed it (using the off the road declaration) and avoided the back tax he was told he would have to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

I've heard of someone going into the gardai claiming the car was off the road but the garda came back and said his car was on the system and get out of there before he he did him for making a false declaration ??
    Maybe the Garda knows these are mostly false declerations, has seen loads and is getting pissed off signing them?had a bad day?or the info really is there on the system?

On the other hand
    I've written off small amounts, couple of months few times. So you run the risk of getting nabbed,

but its a far cry to say its the same as stealing a computer from a hospital, the amount of waste in the Govt is criminal a few quid here or there wont change that, so while I agree with not making small gains for personal benefit, the combined amount will never come close to the money squandered/lost through poor planning the same.

If the system was more well organised/developed it would reduce inequity high mileage users would pay more than low mileage users, but then people would say thats directed against the less well off as eg they have to move to WestMeath or wherever (not citing Westmeath just an example) as they cant afford a house in Dublin so are now doubly penalised.

On another similar point, what are all these cameras that are around Dublin (south at least) loads of these cameras in groups of two or three on main roads in the last year and half pointed at all lanes, in and out of Dublin south anyway.
    Anyone know if these are connected up? are they for a future conjestion plan/tax avoidance checking??

bopsy wrote:

Not speeding...

I for one always hand back change if I know I'm given the wrong change in the shop, so don't be throwing those accusations around. Not everyone is dishonest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

bopsy wrote: »
    Paid the car tax today. It was just a question.

Some of you people really do need to relax a little. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone and all that, there is not one of you on this website who has not thought about how to save money at the expense of the state even if not entirely legal.

Everytime you shop up north you are taking away from the exchequer, you are not breaking the law but you are not paying tax into the coffers

Everybody is doing it in there own little way, get off your high horses.

B

Never did the first one, never had a car go through VRT.
    Even if it's a euro I say something, it's automatic.
    I do my best not to speed if it's an 80km/h road I do 80km/h sometimes I will go a bit above but when I realise I slow down.
    Never when shopping up north.

So I will say that there is a difference between avoiding paying motor tax and taking money/ objects from a public service. One is active steeling one is inactive. Not paying tax seems to be the lazy ass way of steeling.

Someone robs the bank.

Would you not agree?

Also you are using quite flawed logic. Steeling office supplies what a few bic pens maybe a stapler conpared to a load of money from the bank using most likely violent means. Compared to the other example of not paying about €300 to steeling a most likely crap(suppose depends on the hospital) computer. I think the price would be near enough the same. I bought a laptop, 3in1 printer, bag for the laptop, mouse and 1gb memory stick for €400/500.

What is the big deal about paying tax? I just don't get it and to me the system is fine but then again I decided to buy a cheap car so my tax is about €160 a year, I knew I needed something cheep so that's what I got.

Just to clarify my position on this, I agree with Anan1 that it is fraud. But there is different severity to take into account here.

Anyway there was a simple question asked and the answer was given. I said 'Troll alert' not because I disagreed with gillo's comment but because that was his second post and it was obviously to start this exact agruement. One that will always be divided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

Jesus christ, some bunch of goody-two-shoes.

Overall I am against doing anything for selfish gain and against the greater good, now I have on occasion I let a couple of months pass on my motor tax but not frequently, so I hardly think that compares to the massive waste that govt depts are unaware they are even throwing away, or banks who fleece us by that amount many times over.
    Or the money lost from people taking tax advantages here/abroad who can well afford to not have that money.

I do believe the motor tax system should highlight/red flag persistent offenders of the motor tax thing and find out by clarification with the Gardai if it is possibly genuine, if the process was more difficult, ie my car was off the road for repairs then bring in the receipts, if its genuine you'll not have to pay the tax. But to compare it to outright theft, I dont think that really holds up myself.

Perhaps if the motor tax was taken as partially through an annual flat fee to cover administration and minimum usage but partially through fuel to account for low/high mileage users. I know people will go mental, I dont want fuel to go up either but the increase could be negligible if you think half your motor tax was spread over a year divided by all those litres of petrol/diesel you then would be paying only your fair share??

I dont steal, I wouldnt take paper from work, its not worth it??! I dont want to be treated or looked upon as a criminal for that, Im not saying Im a saint, if I came across a wodge of money I'd hold onto it and keep my ears peeled, maybe it fell out of a drug dealers pocket or a politicians briefcase lol ok kidding

On principle, I wont shop up the North, I don't think the petrol/qs/time is worth it. I think the Govt should consider the loss and reduce the VAT to benefit people here/make it less attractive/worthwhile.
    Will I buy the odd item abroad, yes, do I think people should spend hundreds nay thousands abroad, NO I dont. even if the govt are tits and are screwing the system, that mentality will be only shooting us in the foot.

I think we have to take a balanced approach, So 30 or 40 saved on tax once or twice in my opinion is not as bad as its made to sound.
    All time, every renewal maybe then.

Orla K wrote: »
    Never did the first one, never had a car go through VRT.

Also you are using quite flawed logic. Steeling office supplies what a few bic pens maybe a stapler conpared to a load of money from the bank using most likely violent means. Compared to the other example of not paying about €300 to steeling a most likely crap(suppose depends on the hospital) computer. I think the price would be near enough the same. I bought a laptop, 3in1 printer, bag for the laptop, mouse and 1gb memory stick for €400/500.

What is the big deal about paying tax? I just don't get it and to me the system is fine but then again I decided to buy a cheap car so my tax is about €160 a year, I knew I needed something cheep so that's what I got.

I know you think its flawed logic but let me ask you this ,someone does'nt pay their car tax(400/500euro) is that the same as someone stealing your laptop. All I am saying is yes its stealing but you can't compare the two and either can the Garda.

Your right it isnt a big deal. But I would say the system is flawed.

Well €400/500 thats a different story not paying that in motor tax and getting away with it?
    That kinda is stealing from the system, Im talking 40 or 50 or maybe a hundred at most, if everyone took 400 thats a lot
    I wouldnt take a stapler, well there were none to take but I'd just buy one:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I know you think its flawed logic but let me ask you this ,someone does'nt pay their car tax(400/500euro) is that the same as someone stealing your laptop. All I am saying is yes its stealing but you can't compare the two and either can the Garda.

Your right it isnt a big deal. But I would say the system is flawed.

I didn't mean my laptop, I was just comparing the amount the op is planning on not paying to a computer which another person already mentioned. It works out about the same.

Orla K wrote: »
    I didn't mean my laptop, I was just comparing the amount the op is planning on not paying to a computer which another person already mentioned. It works out about the same.

My mistake now I get it thanks.