Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HorseGuards Parade, London 18/3/09

• 19-03-2009 8:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭

Just a few from a visit to London yesterday, they were bringing in the Horses at 4pm.

DSCF0182.jpg

DSCF0187.jpg

DSCF0189.jpg

DSCF0185.jpg

DSCF0190-1.jpg

DSCF0191.jpg

Kind Regards,

Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

so that's how you got to see the queen then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Being to HorseGuards parade on rememberence sunday a few times .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

so that's how you got to see the queen then :)

Shut Up! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

(last pic) Eyes front that man in the middle! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Duffers

If you want a giggle, go and see these guys on boxing day....
    all of them fecked with hangovers except the Rupert, hanging out and falling asleep on their horses, funny as f*ck
    ................boxing Day 2006!!!!
    F*cking horses had better dressing than you Life Guards!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭TomRooney

im sure there are better things to do in a city like London than looking a pompous gang of red coats poncing around in there rediculous regalia, unless you have a fetish for that sort of thing.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Yeah...but it kills ten minutes while you wait for the pubs to open. ;)

TomRooney wrote: »
    im sure there are better things to do in a city like London than looking a pompous gang of red coats poncing around in there rediculous regalia, unless you have a fetish for that sort of thing.:rolleyes:

Have you ever been? Its a bit of a Tourist thing watching the changing of the Guards etc and nice to watch, its historical. Would you say somehing different if it was the Swiss or the Greeks i was watching?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭lazybhoy

The Life Guards started off asthe bodyguards of Charles II, it was their ancestors who Cromwell destroyed at Drogheda. Patrick Sarsfied Earl of Lucan, republican hero and ancestor of Lord Lucan served with them.

Its called living history. Do you have the same opinion of Russian or French ceremonial mounted regiments ?

Although watching the Irish Guards trooping the colour or changing the Guard is better as a spectacle.

Ive seen quite a few ceremonial units perform from armies around the world inc the band of the French Foreign Legion, Russian mounted regiments etc, my favs are the US Marines Drill display team and RAF regiments Queens colour squadron.

The Edinburgh tattoo is worth a look its v entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Out of interest,if something did kick of will they come at you with swords drawn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭lazybhoy

Out of interest,if something did kick of will they come at you with swords drawn?

No they have emergency buzzers which bring out senior NCOs, theres also armed cops close by.

There other role is as an armoured unit, but it also have farriers, saddlers, tailors etc to do with the mounted side.

Most of their horses are bought in the republic, I wont say where due to the nutter factor.

They look much better without the redcoats

http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/customs/questions/royal/lifeguard.jpg

Many moons past there was an Irish Life guard regiment.

lazybhoy wrote: »

Many moons past there was an Irish Life guard regiment.

Interestingly there were alot of monuments to the fallen Irish, with Battalion names/Regiments on them etc il get pics the next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

A lot of these boys have done a few tours of Iraq and don't stand for much bulls**t... Bu feel free to give it a try..;)

Also, I'm one of the armed cops close by, if you do plan on mugging them off, let us know and I'll get an ambulance running... :D

Guardsman and the Tourist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I got talking to a few of those horse mounted, red coat boys on my last vist to horsegaurds parade .Was very amused when one answered with a very broad Dublin accent .

It's true, you cant go anywere ......

A lot of these boys have done a few tours of Iraq and don't stand for much bulls**t... Bu feel free to give it a try..;)

They were swamped by Yanks after 4pm and there were only 2 of them on Duty then.
    Also, I'm one of the armed cops close by, if you do plan on mugging them off, let us know and I'll get an ambulance running... :D

Pints when we go over next time methinks!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭Leadership

unless you have a fetish for that sort of thing.:rolleyes:

When the Royal Engineers celebrated its 200 year anniversary apparently it was an honour for me to be selected to be a member of the honour guard at the palace. Well 6 weeks of drill at the guards depot soon put that to bed but we were soon rewarded once the guard started :cool:

People do have a fetish for these lads, after a typical day time stag at one of the side entrances I would end up with a small collection of phone numbers placed in my trousers by tourists and "camp slags". I had a very productive time indeed for a few weeks! If a "hot" girl walked near we would come to attention and swap stag points and whisper to them for their number.

Ah the good old days!