Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Share with couple?

• 19-03-2009 5:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭

I'm a 27 yo guy living alone in a 3 bed duplex. I considered living alone but having given it a couple of months, I decided I need the stimulation of other people.

I put an ad up in the local supermarket and forgot about it. I haven't really given much thought to the whole operation and I'm not that pushed about letting the other room as a matter of urgency.

I got a call from a girl who is looking for somewhere for herself and her boyfriend.
    I haven't given any thought to sharing with more than one other person

Any thoughts?

EDIT: Having said that, I'm great friends with another couple and they're great people as individuals and together. I know they're looking for a different kind of place but maybe I could ask them if they'd consider it??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

From my experience, don't live with a couple. It'd always be the couple against you, two against one. Group dynamics man, it just doesn't work. Even with the best intentions, it's doomed for failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭bobbyjoe

I'd advise against it as well. Did it before, pain in the ass. If they argue (which they will) you are stuck in the middle. Then if they break up one leaves other says they can't afford to pay on their own etc etc.. avoid if you can.
    You don't really want to be watching tv with a couple snuggling on the couch beside you either!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Just no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭iceman777

I'd also advise against it. From living in a house-share with 2 other singles and a couple it went downhill very quickly. The couple always stayed in and never went out, even though they used to be the party animals in college.

Couples seem to turn into the "parents" of the abode and you will soon start feeling like the child if you do not stand up for yourself so if you come home late you'll be conscious of waking them or you must clean up straight away etc.

They also seem to lay down a lot more ground rules. Luckily I am not in the house sharing boat anymore, but if I ever had to go back I would NEVER live with a couple again as it just doesn't work out as they feel like they are in charge.

Maybe it's because they outnumber the single dweller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

iceman777 wrote: »
    Couples seem to turn into the "parents" of the abode and you will soon start feeling like the child if you do not stand up for yourself so if you come home late you'll be conscious of waking them or you must clean up straight away etc.

They also seem to lay down a lot more ground rules.

You're dead right. I'm in a couple & we share with single people & I am very bossy & giving out re noise at night & cleaning up etc. I drag my other 1/2 into being bossy with me.
    Having said that, I'll try & lighten up a bit as I can now see it really annoys singles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭catch88

Mink wrote: »
    You're dead right. I'm in a couple & we share with single people & I am very bossy & giving out re noise at night & cleaning up etc. I drag my other 1/2 into being bossy with me.
    Having said that, I'll try & lighten up a bit as I can now see it really annoys singles.

:D bwah ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

i think you would be better asking the couple you know to would they like to move in,,im sure people have good stories about living with couples,when i did it it was a disaster,you could hear every fight and then the making up:rolleyes:, they seemed to have a routine with the tv so i didnt have a chance,and were always complaining about silly little things,

btw one half of this couple didnt officially live there and i only imagine it being worse if they both paid rent!

bladebrew wrote: »
    you could hear every fight and then the making up:rolleyes:,

You can get this problem with next door neighbours if insulation ain't good. (I live in Tyrrelstown & there's no sound proofing to speak of)
    I've had to call guards on my neighbours as sounded like Mr was killing Mrs.
    But then from time to time they are so loud when they're shagging that you feel you have to leave your own bedroom (I guess it adjoins theirs) so as to give them privacy! I might try having a loudish conversation in my room when it happens again so they know that I can hear pretty much everything. :eek:

Mink wrote: »

Christ I'd hate to live with you.
    Why not move into your own place if it bothers you that much instead of wrecking everyone else's heads?

OP, personally seeing as you're on your own it's probably not the best idea to have a couple move in. Sure throw it up on Daft.ie and you can show the room to several people and pick the one you feel you have the most in common with.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Christ I'd hate to live with you.
    Why not move into your own place if it bothers you that much instead of wrecking everyone else's heads?
    I'm inherently sadistic & love making others miserable :rolleyes:
    At least I admitted it & I'm trying to change my ways. Cheaper than moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Havok1610

I'm actually in a couple living with 2 girls (one has a boyfriend, but he is in a different county).

We're actually the least bossy of the group, and we go out alot more than the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

dude stay away from it

my couple are moving out ( told to leave )

the girl in the relationship is a total ball buster

my other lodger had the od cig in his bedroom ( which i said i was ok ) and just because her bf doesnt like cigs she has numerous rows with my other tennant , when from day 1 i told her and other lodger that they can have the od cig in their room , so he'd doing nothing wrong and she hassles him when im not there

so later when i go home im gonna let rip at her

typical foreign people , one set of rules for them and 1 for us

anyway stay away from it , i'll never have a couple again