Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Matchplay The Semi's!!

• 19-03-2009 7:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭

Folks,

again well done to everyone who played (and especially those who progressed) to this stage. We have the final 12 golfers with 6 playing in the Cup and 6 playing in the Plate. The matches are as follows:

Matches 1-3 Cup
    1) McScull V denisoc16
    2) denisoc16 V Mr CheckRaise
    3) Mr CheckRaise V McScull

Matches 4-6 Cup
    4) Plus 10 V Hallowed
    5) Hallowed V Jabberwocky
    6) Jabberwocky V Plus 10

because each golfer has 2 games to play, matches must be completed by the 20th of April.

Matches in the plate as follows:

Matches 1-3 Plate
    1) 1stuey1 V Blunder
    2) Blunder V WHIP IT!
    3) WHIP IT! V 1stuey1

Matches 4-6 Plate
    4) Licksy V BUACHAILL
    5) BUACHAILL V Poster
    6) Poster V Licksy

Matches to be completed by the 20th.

There are a number of outcomes possible from these combination of matches, so the winner of each group will be determined in the following manner. Points are awarded for each net hole win, with points being deducted for each net hole loss. For example, if 1stuey1 beats Blunder 2&1, 1stuey1 is +2 with Blunder being -1. The person with the highest points total at the end of the matches goes through.

In the event of a draw, the golfer who won the most holes, will be deemed the winner. If those totals are equal, a play-off will be played.

In the event of a cry-off or a no show, the game will be awarded 3&2 to the golfer who made the most effort to get the game played.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Cheers Hobart , fair play for organising all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Thanks Hobs

Now, I'm off to blow the dust off me Seve shortgame video!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭1stuey1

im free this saturday or sunday if whip it or blunder wants to play?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

well if you can make it to Bundoran this weekend then I'll play ya!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hallowed

Free this weekend if Plus10 or Jabberwocky are available at all. Let me know and we'll see if we can arrange something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Hobart wrote: »
    For example, if 1stuey1 beats Blunder 2&1, 1stuey1 is +2 with Blunder being -1.

Hobart, just check this, I reckon Blunder should be -2 here as he has lost the match two down with one hole to play.

I'm assuming this is a typo, as your organisation has been second to none throughout:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Obni

Forgive the intrusion by someone not in the semi-finals, but shouldn't priority
    be given to anyone who wins their two matches?

Say A beats B by 2&1, then A beats C 2&1.
    Scores after two games
    A = +2 +2 = +4
    B = -1
    C = -1

Then C plays B, finds himself 3 up after 9, B throws in the towel and C romps home 6&5.
    A = +2 +2 = +4
    B = -1 - 5 = -6
    C = -1 + 6 = +5

And A, having won both matches loses the group(?)
    Just a suggestion...

(Not to mention the nightmare scenario of A beats B on 18th, close match. Then B destroys C 6&5. Now, A=+1 B=+5 C=-5. C can't be arsed to play A as he needs to win 10&8, gives a walkover, A gets the 3&2 automatic score, finishes group on +4 and loses having had a win and a walkover.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

JCDUB wrote: »
    Hobart, just check this, I reckon Blunder should be -2 here as he has lost the match two down with one hole to play.

I'm assuming this is a typo, as your organisation has been second to none throughout:D

Correct, my mistake
    Obni wrote: »
    Forgive the intrusion by someone not in the semi-finals, but shouldn't priority
    be given to anyone who wins their two matches?

Say A beats B by 2&1, then A beats C 2&1.
    Scores after two games
    A = +2 +2 = +4
    B = -1
    C = -1

Then C plays B, finds himself 3 up after 9, B throws in the towel and C romps home 6&5.
    A = +2 +2 = +4
    B = -1 - 5 = -6
    C = -1 + 6 = +5

And A, having won both matches loses the group(?)
    Just a suggestion...

(Not to mention the nightmare scenario of A beats B on 18th, close match. Then B destroys C 6&5. Now, A=+1 B=+5 C=-5. C can't be arsed to play A as he needs to win 10&8, gives a walkover, A gets the 3&2 automatic score, finishes group on +4 and loses having had a win and a walkover.)

Yea, I thought about that, but I think this format rewards the most consistent golfer, it's not perfect, I know, but it is a 'kind of' 3 way matchplay, and I don't know if the scenario's will play out as you described, with only 3 golfers in each group, but it's possible.

We should look at it again, if the comp is run again, but I do take your point(s).

1stuey1 or WHIP IT,

Any one want to try and get a game this Saturday?

Easter weekend and the weekend after are no good for me. I prob would be able to get out during the week of 13 - 17 of April.

PM me or post on here if ye can do anything.

C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

licksy and poster
    I am around during the week, not so much weekends but let me know when suits u best and i will try work around it. Not fussy where i play either so let me know what suits.

Stuey, Blunder... I should be available Friday if either of you fancy it?

Sorry whip it, just seen your message now. Would yourself or stuey be free on good Friday morning?

Blunder wrote: »
    Sorry whip it, just seen your message now. Would yourself or stuey be free on good Friday morning?

Not free myself Blunder... But most mornings next week should be okay for me.... where are you based? I'm Citywest direction but don't mind travelling to play. within reason.

Poster and Licksy are we gonna get these matches played ??
    We have 10 days!!

Has anyone played their matches ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Here is contender for longest post ever on this forum...

Hallowed and I played our Cup Semi Final this morning in what could only be described as glorious conditions, where I prevailed '1 up' on the 18th. I was a little disappointed at the poor spectator turnout for what was such a huge match, I guess the Masters maybe slightly overshadowed our titanic tussle, but fear not! Here comes a blow for blow depiction of the match as it unfolded for those of you that couldn't make it, courtesy of Reuters!

It became clear on the first tee as Hallowed and the Jabber chatted, that both had a bit of a late night the night before and too much alcohol had been consumed, what with it being holy Thursday and all! So hopes and expectations for good golf were thrown away and the priority was on enjoying the game and the views. Jabber was just giving away 1 stroke, so it was a straight forward shoot out with Hallowed having just 1 stroke on the Index 1 10th hole.

Jabber raced into an early lead, getting up and down for a Par 5 on the 1st, while Hallowed 3 putted from 15 feet, clearly struggling early doors with the pace of the unfamiliar greens.

The 2nd was handed to Jabber practically off the tee, as Halloweds' ball became a toy for the Seals in the Irish Sea on the tough Index 2 Par 4. Jabber played for Bogey knowing that would be enough and it proved to be. 2 up to the Jabber.

On the short Par 4 3rd, Hallowed drove the green leaving himself about 10 feet for Eagle (yes, you heard correct!) while Jabber was just short in one. Another long putt by the Jabber to get up & down for Birdie and Hallowed missed the Eagle putt and tapped in for Birdie. Hole halved in Birdie 3! Real semi final stuff!

A bogey on 4 was enough to win the hole as Hallowed's putter was running cold, with the pace of his putts leaving him up against it, despite being on in regulation. Jabber only +1 Gross at this point so putting it up to his opponent early doors! Jabber 3 up after 4!

The short down hill 5th was halved in clumsy Bogey 5's as we both made a meal of our chips & putts on what should be an easy Par 4 hole. Jabber remains 3 up.

A dreaded shank by Jabber on the 2nd shot into the green on Hole 6 rattled his now soaring confidence. Hallowed on in 2, Jabber bursts his 3rd shot, an attempted flop with the SW about 20 yards over the green proving he is no Phil Mickleson - Hole conceded, Jabber 2 up. (for the record, Hallowed got in for his Par 4)

Some seriously bad club choices by both on the short, 2 tiered Par 3 7th left both players on the top side of the green with the pin at the bottom. Not where you wanna be. Hallowed nudged his ball to the top of the hill, and off it took, rolling rolling all the way into the sand trap at the bottom of the hole! Advantage Jabber who nudges down to 10 feet, misses the putt but takes the spoils on 7 with a bogey 4. Jabber back to 3 up.

Bogey 5's on 8 following a mistaken 9 iron for a 6 iron for Hallowed and the second 'shank' in 2 holes by the Jabber. 8 halved in Bogey 5.

A couple of Par 3's on 9 leaves the match at Jabber 3 up after the front 9. 41 strokes for Jabber and 45 for Hallowed.

Hallowed decides not to look for his 'lucky tee' at the end of the back 9, hoping his luck will turn around for the back 9 and a few putts might actually go in. They stand on the 10th and Hallowed hits his tee shot long and left, over the trees but still with a long shot at making the green. a 3 wood comes up just short of the Hazard before the green, Hallwed still in good shape with a shot on the hole. Jabber drives shorter and left too, off the tee, but not long enough to clear the trees and finds himself stymied, chipping out sideways. A wedge to the side of the green and an up and down aren't enough to save the hole as Hallowed chips on and 2 puttsto win #10. Back to 2 up!

A very solid 2 putt par on the Par 3 11th stops the rot for Hallowed, who now has clawed it back to 1 up! The tension is rising!

Hallowed hands the initiative back to Jabberwocky on 12 with a pulled tee shot OOB left. Having seen Hallowed go OOB, Jabber cannily pulls out the 4 iron and shoves the driver back in the bag. Down the middle but a long way from home. Hallowed cracks a belter for 3 off the tee leaving a wedge in and Jabber is up short in 2 with a well struck 6 iron. This hole is far from over folks! Jabber scutters a weak chip up to the center of the green for 3, Hallowed is thinking Birdie with his second ball, if this goes in for a 5, I could steal this one! He plays in a great chip and it just shaves the hole but doesn's drop, still, a good 6 considering 3 off the tee! Jabber is nervous now and leaves himself a 3½ footer for the win! Jabber steers the ball into the hole for 5, back to 2 up!

The 13th proved to be a crucial hole... the 13th is a tough Index 5 Par 4, has danger left again. Jabber hybrids up long and left, provisional required! Hallowed hits an unusually low tee shot but leaves himself in play, a little left, looking up to the elevated green with a 7 iron. Hallowed plays a sweet 7 iron, comes up just short after looking like it would be stuck to it and rolls back into the trap front left!! Jabber finds the original tee shot sitting pretty and is thinking, "get it all the way up there, take one more than usual and turn the screw..." Jabber's head is up looking at the result before the downswing begins. Result, barely made contact and knocked the ball into the thisck stuff about 10 yards ahead. After a quick look, Jabber declares lost and drops. Plays another woeful shot ends up 5 yards up short of the green in the rough stuff for 5. Hallowed pulls a poor lie in the trap, gets the ball out but it rolls back down to his feet. He curses his last shot but says he has a good lie now at least. He blasts out to 5 feet - great recovery! Hallowed on for 4 and 5 feet away! Jabber knocks a wedge up to 12 feet but wrong side of the hole... still in with a shout! Jabber snakes the downhill 12 footer into the back of the hole for 6, Hallowed misses the 5 footer for Bogey. Hole halved in 6 but the psychological advantage definitely with the Jabber after almost throwing the hole away! Jabber remains 2 up!

Both players on the Par 5 14th in regulation 3, Hallowed wrong side of the hole looking at a 25 footer down hill, Jabber pin high 10 feet away. Hallowed's long birdie putt runs on 15 feet past, Jabber cosies up for the Par 5 leaving Hallowed to make the 15 footer for a half. Hallowed is still berating himself for leaving the putt for the win on the 13th short and decides to give it a good wrap. Bang - into the back of the hol for a Par 5 and a half! The psychological pendulum swings back! Jabber remains 2 up.

On 15, Jabber leaves himself too long with the second shot, uphill and into the wind after a mediocre tee shot. A pulled 5 iron into the trouble short and left. Hallowed comes up just short in 2, chips on, 2 putts for a bogey 5 and with Jabber needing to hole the provisional from the bunker for a half the writing was on the wall for 15. Hallowed takes the hole with a Bogey 5. we are back to Jabber being 1 up!

Identical hybrids off the tee on the short Par 5 16th leaving both players in the same spot, Hallowed on fairway about 180 out, Jabber about 185 just off the fairway. Jabber pulls his favourite 24 degree PING Hybrid out and nails to the center of the green in 2 on the Par 5. Left with a snakey 30 foot downhiller though with pin on the front of this enourmous green! Hallowed creams a 5 iron pin high, just off to the right of the green. Jabber fanices his chances here. Hallowed chips on a little short but nonetheless about 10 feet away for Birdie. Jabber looking at an eagle putt downhill. Jabber tentatively sets the ball in motion but it stops about 13 feet short. Both players walk off with Par 5's, both thinking they could have done better from where they were. Jabber still 1 up!

The picturesque Par 3 17th up next, about 120 yards to the center, water hazard front and trouble everywhere else. The target seems smaller due to the tension now in both players game, coming back towards the clubhouse at this crucial time of the match. Hallowed seems to always have the honour on the tricky holes! Hallowed chokes down an 8 and 3/4 swing, beautiful strike, high handsome, stops about 8 feet from the pin. Take that Jabberwocky! Jabber is in 2 minds. Burst a wedge or a solid 9? Hmm... I need to get this close and my adrenaline is up. Let's wedge it. Jabber strikes it well, just drifting right of the pin, bounces, spins back about 15 feet leaving him about 25 feet away. Advantage Hallowed. Jabber knocks it up to 3 feet, duly conceded by Hallowed with a Birdie chance to bring it back to all square coming down the 18th. Following the success of his aggressive stroke on the 14th, Hallowed curses himself as he leaves it short again! Hole halved in Par 3's - Jabber is Dormie 1!

Wind behind on 18, Hallowed knows now is the time to produce the goods, he fancies getting it all the way up to about 20 yards short with the wind behind - he is thinking PAR! Jabber is just thinking "whatever he gets!". He goes after the tee shot, takes a bit too much mother earth and hooks it short left, looking at about 165 in instead of the 20 he has in mind! In truth, the first bad strike on a tee shot Hallowed has hit all day. Jabber knocks one up long and left leaving himself about 40 yards to go in the rough. Hallowed plays a strong iron shot to the back left of the green. Jabber is looking good at this point. Course management at the forefront of his mind, with a pot bunker between him and the pin, Jabber chickens out and slaps a little punch sand wedge to the back left of the green, just a couple of feet off. Hallowed chips on but a funny connection sees the ball spin off to the left, leaving an uphill chip for Par. Jabber plays a pretty negative, putt from off the green leaving himself 12 feet for Par. Hallowed asks Jabber to take out the pin, a statement of intent! Hallowed just misses left with his chip and takes a 5. Jabber now has 2 putts for the win - he steps up, deliberates, then cosies it up to 2 feet which is generously conceded by Hallowed and Jabber takes the half for the win, 1 up on the 18th!

So that's how it happened... I need a lie down after all that! Best of luck to Hallowed in his other match, he's not out of it yet!!!

This is gonna be short and sweet as I think there were quite a few holes we'd both rather forget !! Great match , up and down all the way , then Denisoc16 was 3 up with 3 to play . I won the next 2 (let Denis tell youse how I won the 16th :) ) and then Denis sank a 15ft putt on the 18th to 1/2 the hole and win the match 1up. Sound bloke , great weather , course was 'nice' , all in all a great way to spend Good Friday .

What a manky day it was for golf, but Jabberwocky prevailed over Plus 10 this morning, 6&4 in the wind and rain...

No massive write up this time, fingers still numb and neither of us were really at our best this morning in tough conditions. Both playing off the same handicap so it was a straight forward shoot-out. Really enjoyed the company and the game despite the weather and we will be playing together again, for sure at some open competitions at Druids Heath, please God.

We were evenly matched from tee to green I would say but it was on the greens where I managed to win the match I think, I had a good day with the putter and Plus 10 by his own admission had an off day with his.

So that's 2 and 0 for me for the semi's but both Hallowed and Plus 10 are still very much in it... hopefully their match will be a cracker........ that is settled on the 18th!! :p - best of luck to both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

mscull wrote: »
    This is gonna be short and sweet as I think there were quite a few holes we'd both rather forget !! Great match , up and down all the way , then Denisoc16 was 3 up with 3 to play . I won the next 2 (let Denis tell youse how I won the 16th :) ) and then Denis sank a 15ft putt on the 18th to 1/2 the hole and win the match 1up. Sound bloke , great weather , course was 'nice' , all in all a great way to spend Good Friday .

Cheers Mscull, was hoping you wouldn't mention the 16th. I was in the greenside bunker in 2 (par 5) and I needed to halve the hole to win the match. The ball was below my feet and had an awkward stance but anyway the ball hit my own bag:eek:. Hole won by Mscull and he had shots on the 17th & 18th. We both had 4s at the 200 yard par 3 17th, so it was up the last!(par 4) Mscull hit a good drive up the fairway. I went right, under a small tree. Mscull hit his second to about 20 yards short of the green but his line was hampered by a tree. I tapped out and hit a 7 iron which came up about 12-13 yards short. Mscull's chip came up short of the green but his second chip gave him a par chance, 17-18 feet. I chipped to about 15 feet. Mscull should have been safe enough with a two putt because my putting was poor all day so he lagged the first to guarantee himself a 6. I had to sink mine to avoid going to extra holes. I wasn't too confident but down she went. I really enjoyed the day and as Mscull said, the course was "nice". One very wierd par 4 with about 3 landing areas:confused:.....dont ask how I did on that one!

Sound lad is Mscull and hopefully we might meet up for a game in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Plus 10

What a manky day it was for golf, but Jabberwocky prevailed over Plus 10 this morning, 6&4 in the wind and rain...

No massive write up this time, fingers still numb and neither of us were really at our best this morning in tough conditions. Both playing off the same handicap so it was a straight forward shoot-out. Really enjoyed the company and the game despite the weather and we will be playing together again, for sure at some open competitions at Druids Heath, please God.

We were evenly matched from tee to green I would say but it was on the greens where I managed to win the match I think, I had a good day with the putter and Plus 10 by his own admission had an off day with his.

So that's 2 and 0 for me for the semi's but both Hallowed and Plus 10 are still very much in it... hopefully their match will be a cracker........ that is settled on the 18th!! :p - best of luck to both of you.

Cheers Jabberwocky - pity I couldn't put up bit more of a fight - hitting the wrong ball on the first was a bad omen!! - see you again on a course sometime soon

I would like to thank Jabberwocky for his hospitality last Friday morning for our match. Wicklow is a beautiful course - not the longest but you do have to hit the ball straight as there are numerous hazards to catch a wayward ball. The scenery on the course is fantastic which makes it a pleasure to play even if not playing well.
    On the day Jabber was the deserved winner. I think the only difference between us on the day was the putting. He could and I couldn't!
    Well done to him. A sound guy and someone who I could play many rounds with as we had a great time on the course.

Thanks again Jabber and hopefully we will meet again soon.

Folks,

I've been asked to extend the deadline by a week. So, the new deadline is the 27th of this month. I know a good number of matches have taken place at this stage, please try your collective best to get the rest completed by this new deadline.

Cheers Hobart , myself and Mr CR are looking like getting out on 23rd in Highfield at 2pm. Best of luck to both but especially me :)

Ya, myself and Mr CheckRaise are playing Sunday next in Castlemartyr @ 11 bells. Will let ye know on Monday how we go. Looking forward to it now!

Best of luck to everyone for the remaining matches...

Hobart, what's the plan for the finals? Just wondering where these will be held or what the general plan will be?

By the way, I am not for one minute assuming I will get there, just curious is all.

I still need to play both my matches so if either of my opponents are available early this Sunday morning (ie, by 9am?) or on Tuesday, let me know...

Thanks lads..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

denis won the battle today in castlemartyr on the 19th. i threw it away really. i was 1 up on the 18th with a serious advantage as it was par 4 475 yards from the back tees which we stupidly played. creamed the drive down well past the 200 yard marker while denis was 210 away. he hit a three wood short. i had about 170 to the front which was perfect for the 8 iron which i just didnt catch well. ended up in the same place as denis. he got up and down while i didnt.

Fair play to denisoc16 as he holed that clutch 7 footer on 18 and then 6 footer for the win on the first playoff hole where many wouldnt had the guts to. hopefully i'll get the old putter goin against mscull on wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Plus 10

Hobart, what's the plan for the finals? Just wondering where these will be held or what the general plan will be?

By the way, I am not for one minute assuming I will get there, just curious is all.

Congrats to Hallowed who prevailed today in the fine weather in Citywest Lakes.

In summary Plus 10 played quite well early on and was 3 up after 4 - not much in it the next 11 holes which left it dormie 3 - Hallowed kicked into top form at this stage and won the final 4 holes with a string of pars and a birdie on the 19th.

Overall an enjoyable morning and will see Hallowed on a course again soon.

Best of luck to Jabberwocky in the final and thanks to Hobart for organising it - it must be said it was well organised and a great success.

denis won the battle today in castlemartyr on the 19th. i threw it away really. i was 1 up on the 18th with a serious advantage as it was par 4 475 yards from the back tees which we stupidly played. creamed the drive down well past the 200 yard marker while denis was 210 away. he hit a three wood short. i had about 170 to the front which was perfect for the 8 iron which i just didnt catch well. ended up in the same place as denis. he got up and down while i didnt.

Fair play to denisoc16 as he holed that clutch 7 footer on 18 and then 6 footer for the win on the first playoff hole where many wouldnt had the guts to. hopefully i'll get the old putter goin against mscull on wednesday.

Well Done Denis . Am I right in thinking that the scores are now as follows ?
    Mr CR : -1
    Mscull : -1
    Denisoc16 : +2

Which , if I'm correct leaves myself and MR CR a chance of progressing with a 4 and 3 win or a tie with a 3 and 2 win on Wednesday/Thursday (MR CR please confirm booking !!)

Cheers again Hobart

Which , if I'm correct leaves myself and MR CR a chance of progressing with a 4 and 3 win or a tie with a 3 and 2 win on Wednesday/Thursday (MR CR please confirm booking !!)

Cheers again Hobart

We probably need a bit of clarification from Hobart on this alright!

Cheers again Hobart
    Correct, to a point. In that if either yourself or Mr CR win 4&3, the winner will go through. However, as Denis has beaten both yourself and Mr CR, in the event of a tie (3&2 win for either of you), Denis will go through.

As per this post I will sponsor the final, which will be played in Carton House/Luttresltown or Castleknock (the choice will be up to the two winners).

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I'm unfortunately going to have to give the walkovers in my matches against Buachaill and poster so their match against each other can be the decider.
    My work is busy now and I am involved in Barton Cup practice and match, Mixed Foresomes practice and match, Provincial Towns caddy... any more golf and I'll be homeless too ;)

Licksy wrote: »
    I'm unfortunately going to have to give the walkovers in my matches against Buachaill and poster so their match against each other can be the decider.
    My work is busy now and I am involved in Barton Cup practice and match, Mixed Foresomes practice and match, Provincial Towns caddy... any more golf and I'll be homeless too ;)

Pfffttt Barton Cup and Home-life more important than d'Boards Matchplay,...priorities!!:D

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I tried to play against Buachaill but that dang dere bum done got himsef a J. O. B.

Licksy wrote: »
    I tried to play against Buachaill but that dang dere bum done got himsef a J. O. B.

I know I just dont know where my priorities have gone either !!:rolleyes:

Semi Final 1 was completed today with Denisoc16 going through (despite not even playing :))
    Myself and MrCheckRaise played in Highfield with both of us needing a 4 and 3/2 win to secure a place in the final . Mr CR went instantly ahead with 2 pars to go 2up for 2 holes , we halved the next 2 , followed by a scratch from me due to lack of local knowledge and a Par from Mr CR to give him 3up thru 6 . It was looking like an upset for Denis was on the cards , but a win/half/win for me on 7/8/9 brought it back to 1up for MrCR at the turn .
    Let him back in with a poor 10th hole for him to go 2up followed by 2 halfs . On the Par 3 13th he had a difficult 2 putt from about 40ft to win the hole and go 3up with 5 to play . At this stage I was now out of contention for a final place , but he was in prime position . However , probably helped by the fact that I couldnt progress , I managed to win the next 3 in a row to bring it back to A/S where it stayed till the end and due to the onset of the rain and the fact that neither of us could qualify for the final , we called it a day.

Cheers to MRCR for the game . Sound bloke , had a bit of craic around the course . Im sure we'll get out again sometime. We both agreed in the end that it would have been harsh for either of us to beat Denis to the final with a 4 hole victory. All in all , wasnt much to seperate us as a Semi final group. With 2 matches finishing A/S and the other seperated by only a single hole.

Cheers Hobart and thanks for all the organising . Maybe next year again ;)

Anybody heard from Poster lately ?? Have heard nothing from him on about playing !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Anybody heard from Poster lately ?? Have heard nothing from him on about playing !!

I heard he was gagged and tied up and being held against his will in the attic of a house in Wicklow town. :D

CLADA wrote: »
    I heard he was gagged and tied up and being held against his will in the attic of a house in Wicklow town. :D

Someone call the Guards I smell fowl play ha ha:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Someone call the Guards I smell fowl play ha ha:P
    The body smelling already, i told you to use the lime :p

I thought you said Lemon, I have been sneezing for weeks:D

Just wondering if Blunder or Stuey were available any (early) morning next week other than Tuesday? Thanks.

Week days are no good for me unfortunately. Unless you can get to Bundoran this weekend it looks like we wont get playing. Haven't seen stuey round the boards lately so dunno what his story is.

Folks,

I have already extended the deadline by 7 days, to this Monday (27th). Do we need to push it out further? From what I can see only 2 rubbers have been completed fully, with the plate matches going by default.

If the matches need to be called, I'll do it (with all due respect to those who can't make it) but I'd rather give those guys who want to play a match, rather than award the match by default.

I will PM the relevant parties, and see if the matches can be played over the next few days. If they can, I'll extend the deadlines, if not, I'll pick the winners from the lads who tried to get the match played the most.

Plus 10 wrote: »
    Congrats to Hallowed who prevailed today in the fine weather in Citywest Lakes.

In summary Plus 10 played quite well early on and was 3 up after 4 - not much in it the next 11 holes which left it dormie 3 - Hallowed kicked into top form at this stage and won the final 4 holes with a string of pars and a birdie on the 19th.

Overall an enjoyable morning and will see Hallowed on a course again soon.

Best of luck to Jabberwocky in the final and thanks to Hobart for organising it - it must be said it was well organised and a great success.

Havent been on since last weekend. Thanks a million for the game Plus10. Had a great time. I seem to have a problem with early morning starts. Went down by 3 in the first few holes in both semi matches. The Lakes is a funny little course with all the Par 3s but enjoyable all the same.
    We flew round the course in a nice little pocket. Great chats, some good holes, some bad holes for both players but a lot of great shots thrown in between the both of us.
    I was pretty lucky in the end, a couple of long putts on the 17th and 19th won it for me in the end.
    Thanks again Plus 10 for the golf and the company.

Jabberwocky - best of luck in the final. As is normal practice I hope you win it as you knocked me out.

Buachaill and Tobinj6 - Thanks again for the games lads. I have to say I had a great time in all my matches in this competition and would play with any of the lads again in the future. Also to BUACHAILL good luck in the Plate - you would be a deserving winner with your game.

Last but very definitely not least thanks a million to Hobart for all the time and effort he has put into this. Much appreciated and I'm already looking forward to 'Boards Matchplay 2010'.

Cheers All.

Hallowed

Blunder, do you think you'll be up this direction on Sunday week for an early-ish tee time?