Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI Recruitment

• 15-03-2009 3:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭

http://www.jobs.ie/ApplyForJob.aspx?Id=920878
    We would particularly welcome applications for these posts from Roman Catholics

We all know about the recent news up the North, how would ya feel about going for a job there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Wouldn't bother me, if I really wanted a career path in a police force, I would still apply for the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Saibh wrote: »
    Wouldn't bother me, if I really wanted a career path in a police force, I would still apply for the job.

Same here, it wouldn't bother me in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Ha ha, sounds like penis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

My brother would kill me but wouldn't bother me really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

I'd be up for the challenge. Obviously it would be a tough and demanding job but it would also be extremely interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Nothing like cleaning the mean streets of Lurgan to earn a crust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 mrtaylor1981

Does anyone know of people from the Republic joining ? Has their ever been figures released ?

I don't know about figures released, but I've two friends who've joined and I've recently toyed around with the idea too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If I wasn't working, wouldn't count it out - and to be honest, the more others would try to "persuade" me out of it, the more stubborn I'd be just to to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

No problem joining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭CSC

I have heard about lots of people from the south joining - I would be quite interested in seeing the official numbers.
    I do believe it would be quite risky though as dissident republicans would like to kill a southern (catholic) to prove a point i.e they are not sectarian. I would also have concerns about some of the officers you would be working with as I have read a lot recently about various cases of RUC collusion with loyalists and while I know the PSNI are not the RUC there are a huge number of members who were in the RUC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Never mind that. Anyone still willing to deliver pizzas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Ha ha, sounds like penis.

Was the name originally going to be Northern Ireland Police Service (aka NIPS)? Or was that just a rumour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Whats wrong with delivering Pizza's?

I'd much rather be delivering them than making them TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

thebman wrote: »
    Whats wrong with delivering Pizza's?

I'd much rather be delivering them than making them TBH.

Woosh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 GazeeboBrown

Thanks for the heads up, Volvoboy.

Been reading all the websites material for the past hour, now I'm writing up the form.

thebman - 2 pizza delivery guys were shot during the shootings in the British Army barracks last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

A true Irishman could not and should not serve the Queen's forces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I'd be afraid of my sh!te to tell you the truth... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I believe in a 32 county republic and I'd have no problem joining.

The PSNI is grand by me, it's not the B specials or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

A true Irishman could not and should not serve the Queen's forces.

I believe the PSNI swear an oath to uphold the law and not directly to the Queen.

Correct and right.

They are still a representative of British rule on the island of Ireland, something i don't agree with. Therefore i would not be able to join them,never in a million years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

Would people not rather join the Gardai than the PSNI?

PCros wrote: »

I'm guessing the same reason people join the British army over the Irish:
    more recruitment, more chance to see action.
    Or something along those lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

They are still a representative of British rule on the island of Ireland, something i don't agree with. Therefore i would not be able to join them,never in a million years.

Ah you don't much about the PSNI, do you???

The island of Ireland should be one country in my view, therefore i believe it should have one police force.

Because of the illegal invasion of Ireland by British forces hundreds of years ago this is not the case, with the PSNI policing the section of Ireland that successive British governments refused to give up down through the years.

It would be against my beliefs to join such a force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

So, the PSNI see more action than the Gardai?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Without dissing the Gardai, there is definitely a greater personal danger for a PSNI constable.
    The island of Ireland should be one country in my view, therefore i believe it should have one police force.

Because of the illegal invasion of Ireland by British forces hundreds of years ago this is not the case, with the PSNI policing the section of Ireland that successive British governments refused to give up down through the years.

Well, you can stay on your barstool mate. Both the Republic and N. Ireland operate under democracy. If they didn't want the PSNI, it wouldn't be there.

Democracy is great like that. It gives the extremos a voice - but it thankfully carries little weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

They might, but the title of this thread is about joining the PSNI, not the Gardai

eroo wrote: »
    So, the PSNI see more action than the Gardai?:rolleyes:

Given the state of the North right now?
    Yep

Yes, but only for Apache Pizza - then I could shoot back with my bow & arrows!..

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

You thinking about going for it Mairt? I saw that you put your name in for PO on another thread.

sunnyjim wrote: »
    You thinking about going for it Mairt? I saw that you put your name in for PO on another thread.

I've applied for the Prison Service and have given serious consideration to the PSNI too. I passed the PO's interviews the last time I applied, but the class was starting a little early (I was six months off my twenty one years service in the D.F. and wasn't about to chuck my FREE PUBLIC SERVICE PENSION away).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Given the state of the North right now?
    Yep

The North isn't 'in a state'. A small group of criminals carrying out two opportunistic attacks doesn't plunge the North into a warzone.

Mairt wrote: »
    I've applied for the Prison Service and have given serious consideration to the PSNI too...

All the best with that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

It's truly sickening that these pyschos are targeting Catholics in the PSNI so that they'd leave and it will turn back into the RUC, in their effing dreams, twil never happen.
    Fair play to Mairt and other Southern folk joining, the more the better i say! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Dammit, still no Yawn smilie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Not in a million years, nothing to do with present climate in the north or stupidly believing that i'd be serving the queen or unpatriotic to the republic. No the reason is i lived in the North for a good few years and having seen the ****e they have to put up with, i just couldn't do it.
    The garda have a tough job but the PNSI is a lot tougher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

R0ot wrote: »
    My brother would kill me but wouldn't bother me really.

In the real IRA is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Thanks for the heads up, Volvoboy.

Been reading all the websites material for the past hour, now I'm writing up the form.

thebman - 2 pizza delivery guys were shot during the shootings in the British Army barracks last week.

*face palm* I knew that happened and everything, WTH is wrong with me :o

Tom65 wrote: »
    Was the name originally going to be Northern Ireland Police Service (aka NIPS)? Or was that just a rumour?

Truth can sometimes be stranger than fiction. I once worked for an organisation that created a "Business Unit Manager" and then ensured that they had regular meetings ;)
    edit forgot to mention that they posted the meetings on the notice board

"BUMs Meeting 10:00 -11:30"

Better pension!

eroo wrote: »
    The North isn't 'in a state'. A small group of criminals carrying out two opportunistic attacks doesn't plunge the North into a warzone.

Oh good lord....
    I never said it was in a warzone. But feel free to continue putting words in my mouth. Given that dissident republicans are carrying out attacks, it is still more likely dangerous than down here.

The North does have more problems than we would down here. The North is more urbanised than Éire, as such you are more likely to see some action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

More action, opportunities maybe.