Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tubridy Tonight - Find the Chair

• 14-03-2009 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭

Ryan Tubridy should be ashamed of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Dancing around with a chair, like the big eejit that he is, hiding it on some blindfolded girls while his "house band" play some hideous music.

You wouldn't see Wossy doing the like of it.

And this is prime Saturday night entertainment????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Leaderbored

pipsqueak wrote: »
    why?

Because now we know that not only is the original stuff he comes out with exceptionally poor, but also the stuff that he steals from American daytime chatshows is of a particularly low standard too.

http://www.bcc.ie/

here ya go so , knock yourself out!!!

Because now we know that not only is the original stuff he comes out with exceptionally poor, but also the stuff that he steals from American daytime chatshows is of a particularly low standard too.

so someone else came up with musical chairs before rte??:eek: the dirty feckers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Leaderbored

To be fair, everyone has ideas before Rté. It's just in this case, Rte lifted the "Chat show host plays Blindfolded musical chairs for the audiences amusement" idea wholesale, in it's entirety, without a word of thanks or credit to the people who had exactly the same idea, last year.

So as a riposte, I'd be more inclined to use

http://ellen.warnerbros.com/show/respond/?PlugID=10

tell them about the plagiarism, and ask them to forward my comments to their legal team.

Credit where credit is due, Ryan....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭ManofMunster

it was pretty embarrassing alright. so did she win something? it wasn't altogether clear.

anyway, at least we have someone on now who once met johnny cash so she must be famous. right?

blonde wan had nice baps tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

not much worse then the kate eating last week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

Stealing material from TV3 daytime chat shows is pretty barrel-scraping, all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

its hardly stealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Tubridy Tonite - A.K.A - When the Ventriloquist's puppet goes bad VII

- And yes; I am aware that my TV license funds the process of talentless tw@ts imitating overseas talent ad nauseum while showcasing the type of talent usually associated with violent-young-offender criminality and spelling mistakes in toilet cubicle graffiti.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

its hardly stealing

Fair enough.

"Borrowing a specifically tailored television idea devised by another person for performance on another show in its entirety , then performing it in the exact same manner without reference or credit shortly after said show has begun it's new run on Ireland's poorest channel's daytime schedule is pretty barrel-scraping, all the same."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Absolutely pathetic, like 10 year olds at a birthday party. Hopefully next week they will tie up tubridy like a piñata and beat the fluck out of him with baseball bats.

Even Colm and Jim Jim would have been embarrassed by this game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

amdublin wrote: »
    Ryan Tubridy should be ashamed of himself.

Yes he should. But not for any one thing in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

its hardly stealing

It's hardly completely coincidental either.

His "researchers" have taken an idea (and tellingly, didn't even have the grace to change the item a little bit from the original chat show they "borrowed" it from) without giving any credit to its source whatsoever.

Poor form.

To be honest, I hope they're sued (or at least threatened). It might teach them to earn Ryan his ridiculous wage packet by generating original entertainment ideas instead of letting him coin it in by simply ok-ing the wholesale plagiarism of American Daytime television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I think he should drop this audience game slot from his show, it's embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Jesus wept.
    The whole bloody show is embarassing. Do RTÉ understand the concept of prime time weekend viewing? They seem to fill their slots with piss poor rehashes, sponsored game shows and and a re-run of the 6.01 news. It really really pains me to hand over 160 quid to be rewarded with this utter sh*t.

it's 160 quid? jesus, i'm glad i don't pay it.

can't afford it anyway what with having to dole out 70 a month for sky, 20 a month for setanta and 20 a month for setanta in my da's house (so i can watch the magner's when i visit at weekends).

tubridy's a muppet. not quite in the 'pat the plank' class just yet but he's showing potential.

I'm sure you've already done the sums and worked out that for your own viewing alone, that comes out as €1080 per annum (€1320 inc your father's) you're handing over to private companies...I find it strange that someone would begrudge paying ~15% of that to our national broadcaster for even their basic (and arguably piss poor) service.
    Not judging you or anything and if you can get away with it then I can't say I blame you.
    I'd like to point out that I have nothing against the TV license (no more than any other tax) per se...it's the way in which the money is spent that irks me so...as I've said on other threads on this issue I'd sooner pay the UK license fee, where at least their is a quality return on the charge (and no ads into the bargain).

As for Kenny? I've always thought that the man wasn't right for the job...he's a different person on the radio and is actually good at what he does....but put him in the LLS studio, roll the credits and it's cringeworthy from start to finish.
    Tubridy isn't even any good on the radio (in fact hes probably worse than he is on the TV ) and as has been mooted already on this thread, the show's format owes an awful lot to certain US chat shows.
    All my own opinion of course. There are people out there who love both of them....but then there are people out there who voted fianna fáil...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Aidric wrote: »
    I think he should drop this audience game slot from his show, it's embarrassing.

Since the first time he had the audience game I thought this. Ryan is comfortable in front of a live camera and just goes around terrorizing people in the audience who have never been on TV before, and then forces them into playing his idiotic and very embarrassing games.

tbh i am considering contacting an post and paying my way on the licence front. if only so i can preach from a slightly steadier pulpit when denouncing those rich sheisters who have been screwing our country for the past decade by either not paying their taxes or more overt forms of robbing the country blind.

but i do feel rte take lads who are genuinely good on radio and automatically assume they deserve their own prime time tv talk show. even pat's fine on radio; researches his topics by and large and conducts decent interviews. stick him on tv and put a clown like pete doherty on the sofa across from him and he ends up bumbling like the nerd in school who wants to be one of the cool kids but gets eaten alive coz he'll be the awkward geek. and if you can be made to look like an awkward geek by pete doherty, there's something seriously wrong.

plank, tubridy, g ryan should all be left on de wireless and kept off my tv screen. i'm off to anpost.ie to become a fully fledged paid-up member of society.

i would recommend setanta though;)

i'm off to anpost.ie to become a fully fledged paid-up member of society.

There's one born every minute :P

Wertz wrote: »
    I'm sure you've already done the sums and worked out that for your own viewing alone, that comes out as €1080 per annum (€1320 inc your father's) you're handing over to private companies...I find it strange that someone would begrudge paying ~15% of that to our national broadcaster for even their basic (and arguably piss poor) service.

Yes it makes no sense that yer man would pay 1320 for something he actually wants, yet begrudge paying 160 for something he doesn't.

But you can't have one without the other; it's like insuring your car without taxing it and then complaining when the cops seize your car.
    An awful lot of the money paid to sky/setanta goes on to line the pockets of premiership players and various other sporting professionals...but if you want to watch the games exclusively you pay it or shut up.
    ...oh and there's plenty of sh*te that gets pumped down the staellite and cable channels that few people want to watch, yet they still pay the package cost for the stuff they want to watch...don't for a minute try and tell me that there isn't some facet of RTÉ's output be it TV or radio that either you or the other poster don't avail of regularly.

I sound like I'm sticking up for the license fee here and that isn't the case really...but I have to do a double take on the mentality that willingly races to pay a grand plus a year to private companies, but will dodge a smaller compulsory fee, whilst moaning about the quality of the output...is it the "being told what to do" that people have a problem with?
    As mentioned earlier, my main gripe with the fee isn't the actual paying...it's where the money ultimately gets spent...

Wertz wrote: »
    don't for a minute try and tell me that there isn't some facet of RTÉ's output be it TV or radio that either you or the other poster don't avail of regularly.

Eh, why can't I tell you that? I honestly do not intentionally listen/watch anything on RTE radio or tv. Absolutely nothing.

WRT the money I don't think people have any objection with paying a licence to cover telecom infrastructure/maintainance in this county but where the crux comes is the notion that our hard earned money is being used to line the pockets of idiots like Kenny/Ryan/Tubridy and produce 24/7 home garbage and the rest to import shows we could see elsewhere.

I suggest there should be 2x fees. One to pay for the facility of tv/radio in this country. This should be paid for by everybody who has a tv (without complaint) and be used only to maintain the infrastructure. Another optional fee could be charged for those who actually wish to keep the deadweight of RTE afloat for another year.

it's more the living in an apartment where a flatmate leaves taking his tv license with him and no one else being arsed to rush to the post office that sees us currently licenseless. on the other hand, we know that if we stop the direct debit on sky or setanta, those will be cut off. it's the largely consequence-free nature of not having a license combined with a 'shur i'll pay that tomorrow' mentality that sees us (currently) in breach of the license laws.

as for the car license/tax comparison, not sure it's entirely analagous. firstly, i doubt the cops, or anybody, is going to seize my tv. and were the tv license police to come along and take my set away, i wouldn't be on here bemoaning my misfortune.

what i am moaning about is ryan tubridy and his ilk who shouldn't be let near a tv camera, never mind have their own prime time shows.

right i'll get that license now. well, maybe tomorrow ;)

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Eh, why can't I tell you that? I honestly do not intentionally listen/watch anything on RTE radio or tv. Absolutely nothing.

WRT the money I don't think people have any objection with paying a licence to cover telecom infrastructure/maintainance in this county but where the crux comes is the notion that our hard earned money is being used to line the pockets of idiots like Kenny/Ryan/Tubridy and produce 24/7 home garbage and the rest to import shows we could see elsewhere.

I suggest there should be 2x fees. One to pay for the facility of tv/radio in this country. This should be paid for by everybody who has a tv (without complaint) and be used only to maintain the infrastructure. Another optional fee could be charged for those who actually wish to keep the deadweight of RTE afloat for another year.

Alright but you'd be the exception to the rule or at very most be in a small minority in that regard...personally I only do news/CA or sports with RTÉ because TBH it's about all they can do well, and is about all of their outpout that is of relevance to me personally.

I agree fully with your other two paragraphs. I said years ago that if RTÉ supposedly does such quality programming and output in general, as it claims then they should be well capable of survivng in the real world without the license revenue...it would probably mean the amputation of several "big" names and the axing of pet projects...small sacrifice really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Since the first time he had the audience game I thought this. Ryan is comfortable in front of a live camera and just goes around terrorizing people in the audience who have never been on TV before, and then forces them into playing his idiotic and very embarrassing games.

And he always picks out moderately pretty women in their 20s - is this his fetish? To make women do his bidding on TV?

994 wrote: »
    And he always picks out moderately pretty women in their 20s - is this his fetish?

It's most blokes fetish.