Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Found money - who has the right to claim it??

• 14-03-2009 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭

I found money on the floor of my loca Tesco, near the tills. The previous customer tried to argue it could be hers. I gave it to the staff member nearest me, and in my haste left without leaving any contact details etc. the previous customer made sure she left all hers....

Who is entitled to the money if it is not claimed.
    Do Tesco just get to keep it.... EVERY LITTLE HELPS!!!
    What should I have done... and no, I did not consider putting it in my pocket and saying nothing. Someone who lost it may need it even more than I do.
    Advice appreciated. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

We all learned as kids... finders keepers!

That's how I go about my day anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

If noone claims it for what... a year and a day I think it is - they'll contact that person who left their details.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

We all learned as kids... finders keepers!

That's how I go about my day anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Should of went straight in your back pocket, better then being in tescos pocket.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

You've seen the last of that money,m'lad.
    You should've pocketed it quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Well... I remember once when I was young and was walking past a chipper and I noticed 20 Pound on the ground. I ran in and went YOINK!!! legged it back out and was delighted with myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

balliali wrote: »
    Someone who lost it may need it even more than I do.

You're probably right. You'd have to be rich to be thinking like that in the first place.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭conlonbmw

We had a guy in court over 50 quid on the floor of car tax office. He picked it up off the floor and went to leave and was detained by porters and arrested and charged with theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

conlonbmw wrote: »
    We had a guy in court over 50 quid on the floor of car tax office. He picked it up off the floor and went to leave and was detained by porters and arrested and charged with theft.

Who is we? Who did he steal it from? What was the resulting outcome of the trial?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

If he got done for theft he must have had the worst lawyer in Ireland.

You're probably right. You'd have to be rich to be thinking like that in the first place.:D

From my 28 years experience with the wealthy and the not so wealthy, its more likely for a rich person 'NOT' to think like this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

From my 28 years experience with the wealthy and the not so wealthy, its more likely for a rich person 'NOT' to think like this!

As they have a love for money? Makes sense I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭conlonbmw

Who is we? Who did he steal it from? What was the resulting outcome of the trial?

He did not take it from anyone, it was on the floor of the office. Its still theft.

Fine and DPOA, poor guy was black so he didn't really have a hope.

ClioV6 wrote: »
    If he got done for theft he must have had the worst lawyer in Ireland.

Or maybe the best, its possible he murdered someone, and during the altercation the victims purse/wallet fell to the ground and the monies oin question was then later retrieved by the culprit...

Highly unlikely though, about as likely as being arrested for picking up money off the ground, by a security guard who has the same powers of arrest as any other citizen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

found 150 quid in Boots once, and in my youthful naiveity I turned it in, leaving my name and phone number . I got home and told my man and she said "Jaysus why did you give it in you eejit!?"

I now operate by a "finders keepers" policy, unless it's in a wallet or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

He did not take it from anyone, it was on the floor of the office. Its still theft.

"A person shall be guilty of theft if he dishonestly appropriates property belonging to another with the intention of permanently depriving the other of it."

did he look really shifty when he was picking it up? :pac:

In New York City's dublins war on crime, the worst criminal offenders are pursued by the detectives of the Major Case Squad. These are their stories...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

I found two cheques the other day, one worth €50 and the other worth nearly €700.. I was good and rang the bank and arranged to have them posted back. I did leave my name and number though...

Edit: I should point out they were both signed on the back with the same name as who they were made out to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

I tough you were supposed to hand it in at the garda station ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

Right, so let me get this straight, the porters saw the €50 on the ground, decided to leave it there but watch it until someone came along and picked it up so they could "detain" him... you know what, I smell bull****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

In my experience I've found money twice. 50 euro on the road and 150 outside the post office. Kept it both times. Because I'm worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I think the thing we all want to know is - how much did you waste find, OP?