Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird lady in NUIG canteen

• 14-03-2009 12:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭

Read a thread here a few weeks ago about weird eccentric people who live in Galway city, knew a lot of them but didn't know the one they were saying walks around the Nuig canteen cleaning up tables.
    OMG, imagine my shock when she walked up to my table during the week and started to clean it up
    I didn't know what was going on for a few minutes and then i had a flashback to the thread I had been reading!!!!!!!!!!!!
    In fairness she is harmless tho,

Does anyone know anything about her like her name and is she actually a student?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

I know exactly who you are talking about. I have no idea what her story is though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 partridge2k

am surprised MCD didn't shut you down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭daveywavey08

She lived right across from me in Forster Court last year, she has OCD. Used to go out cleaning the leaves every second day and was obsessed with keeping the footpaths clean, etc. My housemate took a good video of her with his phone I'll try dig it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭daveywavey08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Ha, brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Cole

Brilliant? Ridiculing a person who has obvious mental health problems and posting a video on youtube to humiliate and allow more idiots to laugh at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Huh, so she actually does only have that one outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Cole wrote: »
    Brilliant? Ridiculing a person who has obvious mental health problems and posting a video on youtube to humiliate and allow more idiots to laugh at her.

Hey cole,
    I wasn't laughing at her, I was just curious to know her story i.e was she a student or does she have any connection to the college. I would never laugh at a person who has any type of mental illness!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Cole

My comments were not directed at you personally fluffyorganic1, but at those who think its entertaining to mock a vulnerable person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

K.D. #2

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Cole wrote: »
    My comments were not directed at you personally fluffyorganic1, but at those who think its entertaining to mock a vulnerable person.

Yeah that stuff is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭tenacious-me

This will sound ridiculous, but last year, my friend was in her class, and she took a liking to him, much to his dismay. Anyway, 'Crazy Pirate Hooker' as we call her, told him her life story, which goes as follows:
    She was living in Australia, and had a windsurfing boyfriend who was in a fatal windsurfing-related accident. On his deathbed, he told her to pursue her dream of getting an Arts degree in Ireland, and here she is! Tidying our canteen and providing harmless entertainment for all around! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭RichCRX

I have further information on this person but I am most definately not gonna share it with ye or anyone else,a person life is their own business.This thread seems to be a grave mockery of a person which is not acceptable and indeed not funny in any circumstances.It is even worse that she has a mental illness.

Define "weird" anyway...maybe she thinks ye are all weird.So would ye grow up a bit and let people live their life they want to. Maybe a simple appreciation to her cleaning your tables or maybe have a chat with her once and a while rather going on an internet forum and talking about her,might help your conscious.

I really hope this thread gets closed as its an invasion of another persons privacy with her even knowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I agree completely.OCD isnt funny.i have it and I sometimes get slagged over it.I think its unbeleivable that people would do that.It really makes me sick that you can post a video of this poor woman and you ridicule her.Do you know how hard it is to have an illness like that?This womans condition seems to be very serious and it really sickens me that people can laugh at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭Killer_banana

Does anyone know the story behind the guy who wears a beanie and a northface jacket and walks around doing hand gestures and talking to himself? I'm not going to ridicule him, just wondering because he looks homeless but always has money for food and cigarettes and acts "normal" when guards are around. I've always wondered if he's secretly just an average guy who cut himself off from society or something.