Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'How is my driving?' Tel...

• 13-03-2009 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭

I'm sure lots of us have seen these 'how is my driving' stickers on the back of trucks and lorries. But how about a phone number for the people we see driving while on the mobile or doing other things that distract them from concentrating on driving safely?

The number of people I still see driving while on the phone is amazing!! Not to mention ones that I've seen putting on make up and reading maps etc is quite 'I don't believe it!'.

Would you phone if there was a number?

I WOULD!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

kleefarr wrote: »
    I'm sure lots of us have seen these 'how is my driving' stickers on the back of trucks and lorries. But how about a phone number for the people we see driving while on the mobile or doing other things that distract them from concentrating on driving safely?

The number of people I still see driving while on the phone is amazing!! Not to mention ones that I've seen putting on make up and reading maps etc is quite 'I don't believe it!'.

I WOULD!!!

It is all well and good for commercial vehicles but when it comes to reporting normal drivers it is just hearsay. Let the guards do that job, you should just concentrate on the road in front of you and not on other drivers bad habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,136 ✭✭✭✭L1011

NRA Trafficwatch, has existed for quite some time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Fortunately I am so aware of what is going on around me, whether I'm driving or not, to notice these things. As to let 'let the guards do their jobs'. I think the more help they get the better! :D

MYOB wrote: »
    NRA Trafficwatch, has existed for quite some time...

Ah,what is this you speak of? Not heard much of this.

Never seen the great big hoardings along N roads?

1890 205 805. The police WILL follow up on any reports here but as its usually a one witness situation if it goes to court it'll generally fail. However it usually gives enough of a fright to the reported driver...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

The amount of silly things I see people do on the roads shocks me. For one day, just one day i'd love to be an under-cover Traffic Corp, giving people fines/points for the things I see (which break the rules of the road, not just what I think is right or wrong)

Now don't get me wrong, i'm not a Nazi and i'm probably by far not the best driver on the road, but i'm talking about things like

* On the phone while driving
    * Not indicating
    * Pulling out infront of you at roundabouts
    * Hogging the overtaking lane on dual-carrageway
    * Breaking red lights

The list goes on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

you might regret reporting something like this

could cause you a lot more trouble than its worth

you dont know who youre dealing with, could be quite dangerous

just let it go

woop wrote: »

just let it go

The kind of defeatist attitude that sums up our "great" little country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BillyGoatGruff

More of a realist attitude I would say. Maybe if the system was less complicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

woop wrote: »

just let it go

FFS , grow a set of balls would you. And if you're a woman, go out and buy some. :mad:

This sort of attitude is whats wrong with Ireland.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

More of a realist attitude I would say. Maybe if the system was less complicated.

It comes across as more of a fear attitude, don't report him he could be a scumbag and come after you... :rolleyes:

Yes that comment sounds like that your right. But I genuinely think that if I saw someone doing something illegal on the road it wouldn't be worth my time ringing this number reporting him/her, going to court as a witness.ect ect ect. Maybe that's a lazy attitude to have. Beside these people aren't criminals, they are just bad drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

I had a courier van cut me off when he was merging on the N11 at Arklow south. Rang the 'How's my driving?' number and the driver answered on his mobile. Had a good laugh with yer man over it! He said it wasn't the first time and he'd been meaning to take the sticker off of the van!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Beside these people aren't criminals, they are just bad drivers.

bad drivers that could kill other people

yes i think a confidental ph-line would be a good idea might keep people on there toes, cause the amount of people using their mobile phones while driving is just taking the piss.. its getting beyond a joke

BTW the thing that really gets me is...unrestrained children either in the back or front seats..whoever lets their children do this should be arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Yes that comment sounds like that your right. But I genuinely think that if I saw someone doing something illegal on the road it wouldn't be worth my time ringing this number reporting him/her, going to court as a witness.ect ect ect. Maybe that's a lazy attitude to have. Beside these people aren't criminals, they are just bad drivers.

All that generally happens is the Gardaí give them a call to say that a little birdie told them they were driving badly and to cut it out. Unless they were doing something particularly serious, in which case grow a pair of balls.

I see your point. Could you not disagree with me in a polite manner though. That's what's wrong with this country. Manners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

bad drivers that could kill other people

Oh won't someone PLeeeaassseee Think of the Children!!

I've reported dangerous driving before. But not to trafficwatch. I called 999. It was a 4x4 driving at 80mph+ repeatedly swerving from the left to right lane on the M50, including onto the grass. Thats worth reporting. I also called them for a driver staggering pissed from his van at a petrol station forecourt, getting his tayto on the way home from the nightclub. Imminent loss of life. That's what emergency services are for.
    In both cases, the gardai were there almost immediately, and I'm sure bad things happened to the drivers.

Somebody not indicating, driving in a bus lane, breaking an amber-to-red light, mobile phones, kids on seats etc. Not worth Garda time imho.
    -Unless they're already doing it. Which is what traffic patrols, checkpoints etc are for.

In the meantime, just treat somebody on a mobile phone etc as a threat. Drive more defensively near them etc. Other than that it has nothing to do with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

The only solution for bad driving is tougher laws, get caught on the phone €5000 fine and 5 years off the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

The only solution for bad driving is tougher laws, get caught on the phone €5000 fine and 5 years off the road

Yeah that's the only solution. Well done. :rolleyes:

I think we should also whip people for loitering, hang people for jaywalking, and torture people who don't pay their TV licences. That way we will all do what we are told, and we will live in a better society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭conlonbmw

JohnCleary wrote: »
    The amount of silly things I see people do on the roads shocks me. For one day, just one day i'd love to be an under-cover Traffic Corp, giving people fines/points for the things I see (which break the rules of the road, not just what I think is right or wrong)

Now don't get me wrong, i'm not a Nazi and i'm probably by far not the best driver on the road, but i'm talking about things like

* On the phone while driving
    * Not indicating
    * Pulling out infront of you at roundabouts
    * Hogging the overtaking lane on dual-carrageway
    * Breaking red lights

The list goes on!

Good point but the garda would then be spending 2/3 of his day processing the charges for the offences, and the other 4 days in the week sitting outside a court room.

I agree, no one in their right mind (incl gardai) would challenge some of the cars around my area.

We are all complete hypocrites when it comes right down to it. Can anyone on this forum honestly say they have never broken any law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 creme-egg

I WOULD!!!

get a life and learn to mind ur own business!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

creme-egg wrote: »

+1 can't stand this modern snitching attitude a lot of (mostly city-dwelling) folk are carrying around with them. you get this sort of carry on when places and roads start getting crowded. an excellent example of this would be holland where nobody can mind their own ****ing business and are constantly looking to dig up dirt on the neighbour in the hope that he will eventually move out.

they get very protective of their little space in the city or on the road and get this mentality that they are somehow superior to the guy on the phone / 4k over the limit, etc. and that by squealing on him they are using the letter of the law to get him off the road or at least make his life a bit harder than their own.

i much prefer the old system where everyone hates the government & want it to stop intruding in peoples lives rather than people using the government to make life hard for people they don't approve of

creme-egg wrote: »

I have got a life and I do mine my own business thanks!

That's why when I out in the car with my family or other people, I'm always on the look out for things or drivers that could kill you due to not paying attention to what is going on around them.

Live long and prosper!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 hayyman

I have got a life and I do mine my own business thanks!

That's why when I out in the car with my family or other people, I'm always on the look out for things or drivers that could kill you due to not paying attention to what is going on around them.

Live long and prosper!!

If you have never broken any law when driving the you should complain,

but if you have then get back on you high horse and leave you car at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

towel401 wrote: »
    +1 can't stand this modern snitching attitude a lot of (mostly city-dwelling) folk are carrying around with them. you get this sort of carry on when places and roads start getting crowded. an excellent example of this would be holland where nobody can mind their own ****ing business and are constantly looking to dig up dirt on the neighbour in the hope that he will eventually move out.

they get very protective of their little space in the city or on the road and get this mentality that they are somehow superior to the guy on the phone / 4k over the limit, etc. and that by squealing on him they are using the letter of the law to get him off the road or at least make his life a bit harder than their own.

i much prefer the old system where everyone hates the government & want it to stop intruding in peoples lives rather than people using the government to make life hard for people they don't approve of

in all fairness my last post was taking the piss in a round a bout way
    I was trying to deter people from this sorta snitching attitude

people should really get on with theyre lives
    if this is the worst thats happening to them/is whats on theyre minds they have it pretty good

and someone telling me to grow a pair simply because of my defeatist post should seriously