Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flying with Cheese

• 13-03-2009 4:48pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭

Look the list of forbidinen items for a ryan air flight in cabins baggage and nowhere does it say cheese is forbiden

Except the French police in France who control the stuff in your bag wont let you take it in cabin luggage

http://www.ryanair.com/site/EN/faqs.php?sect=bag&quest=prohibiteditems&xtmc=cabin%20baggage&xtcr=37

Reproduced for legitimate eductional purposes

ryanair wrote:

What items are prohibited from being carried in the Cabin of the aircraft?

Passengers are not permitted to carry the following articles into the security restricted area and the cabin of an aircraft: Guns, Firearms & Weapons; any object capable, or appearing capable, of discharging a projectile or causing injury, including: All firearms (pistols, revolvers, rifles, shotguns, etc.) Replica and imitation firearms, Component parts of firearms (excluding telescopic sighting devices & sights), air pistols, rifles and pellet guns. Signal flare pistols, Starter pistols, Toy guns of all types,ball bearing guns, industrial bolt and nail guns, cross bows, catapults, harpoon and spear guns, Animal humane killers, stun or shocking devices, e.g. cattle prods, ballistic conducted energy weapons (laser), lighters shaped like a firearm.

Pointed/edged Weapons & Sharp Objects; pointed or bladed articles capable of causing injury, including axes & hatchets, arrows and darts, crampons (grappling iron, hooked bar of iron, or plate with iron spikes used in mountaineering), harpoons & spears, ice axes & ice picks, ice skates, lockable or flick knives with blades of any length, knives, including ceremonial, religious and hunting knives, made of metal or any other material strong enough to be used as a potential weapon, meat cleavers, machetes, open razors and blades (excluding safety or disposable razors with blades enclosed in cartridge), sabres, swords and swordsticks, scalpels, scissors with blades of any length, ski and walking/hiking poles, throwing stars, tradesman's tools that have the potential to be used as a pointed or edged weapon, e.g. drills and drill bits, box cutters, utility knives, all saws, screwdrivers, crowbars, hammers, pliers, wrenches/spanners, blow torches.

Blunt Instruments: any blunt instrument capable of causing injury, including baseball and softball bats, clubs or batons – rigid or flexible – e.g. billy clubs, blackjacks (truncheon of leather covered lead with flexible shaft), night sticks & batons, cricket bats, golf clubs, hockey and hurley sticks, lacrosse sticks, kayak and canoe paddles, skateboards, billiard, snooker and pool cues, fishing rods, martial arts equipment, e.g. knuckle dusters, clubs, coshes, rice flails, num-chucks, kubatons, kubasaunts.

Explosives and flammable substances; any explosive or highly combustible substance which poses a risk to the health of passengers and crew or the security/safety of aircraft or property, including ammunition, blasting caps, detonators & fuses, explosives and explosive devices, replica or imitation explosive material or devices, mines & other explosive military store, grenades of all types.gas & gas containers, e.g. butane, propane, acetylene, oxygen – in large volume, fireworks, flares in any form and other pyrotechnics (including party poppers and toy caps), non safety matches, smoke generating canisters or cartridges, flammable liquid fuel, e.g. petrol/gasoline, diesel, lighter fluid, alcohol, ethanol, aerosol spray paint, turpentine & paint thinner, alcoholic beverages exceeding 70% by volume (140% proof)

Chemical and Toxic Substances; any chemical or toxic substances which pose a risk to the health of passengers and crew or the security/ safety of aircraft or property, including: acids and alkalis, e.g. spillable "wet" batteries, corrosive or bleaching substances – e.g. mercury, chlorine, disabling or incapacitating sprays – e.g. mace, pepper spray, tear gas, radioactive material – e.g. medicinal or commercial isotopes, poisons, infectious or biological hazardous material – e.g. infected blood, bacteria and viruses, material capable of spontaneous ignition or combustion, fire extinguishers (excepting as authorised by fire protocols and as aircraft emergency equipment)

Guns, firearms, ammunition and weapons (including replica items), paints, Christmas crackers, items with internal combustion engines such as chainsaws, model aircraft, lawnmowers, etc., may not be carried in any baggage (whether checked or unchecked)

now show me where it says cheese is fobiden

So I have a few Cambert cheese in my hand baggage .Feckers saw it on the X ray machine and opened the bag .Poxy gestapo airport police they said it had to go with baggage in the hold .My problem the baggage in the hold was on the max weight limit stuffed with drink i should say and was already checked in and the flight was due to go fairly soon .So I said give me a pack of the cheese and stuffed my face with it to show them that it really was cheese and not some new wheapon or new way to do a 911 event .Nothing doing still had to bin the other packs of cheese

I am mad as hell as the cheese cost me money .There was a time to throw French cheese in the bin would get you arrested.Now the French airport police dont even blink as good french food is binned .So much for the free market of europe.Now of course expect ryan air to make a cheeese rule to keep the poxy french airport police happy .

Although I like to fly for food shopping flying is a disaster .Next time I go in a car on a ship to the UK and then to Spain and fill the boot with Spanish cheese which is also guite nice and just as cheap

Cheese and many foods like salamis is so costly in ROI I can pay those car ship costs and greatly subsidize my holiday costs with buying most everthing food and drink wise while away on holidays unless it bloddy France

Derry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭FOGOFUNK

Man, your rrrrrrrrrrrrreal drunk!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

FOGOFUNK wrote: »
    Man, your rrrrrrrrrrrrreal drunk!

pissed with the French cheese police is not the same as drunk

Anyway the drink is all for my partner who travelled with me and like her drinks and she had her case in the hold full with drink with her carry on also full with new french dresses .Me cuase I dont drink opted to get some cheese.

So the law is stacked against non drinkers who smuggle in and eat cheese :pac:

But next time I figure I know three places to hide 3 salamis sausages two out front so I am doubly well hung and one where the light dont shine :D

Derry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Dunno why you're having a go at French airport police, they can do what they like, it's their country they're policing. You should be havin a go at Ryanair for not telling you that Cheese is prohibited in French airports, and ask them for a refund.

Jim236 wrote: »
    Dunno why you're having a go at French airport police, they can do what they like, it's their country they're policing. You should be havin a go at Ryanair for not telling you that Cheese is prohibited in French airports, and ask them for a refund.

Well fair fair Ryan Air doesnt do airport policing they do airplane tickets .Not that I am a big fan of them and only my partner paid me the ticket prices ~€70 euros each return (but tickets themselfs were only ~$1 euro each each way ??? so other crap made tickets pricy) so that we could bump up the few days shopping trip load factor .

I spent twenty minutes getting every bag exactly on the wieight limit as the excees costs to go over would cost €100 euros and wipe out the shopping saving for the jouney to France.Much better in the old days when one could easily be 50% overweight .My preference was Spain where I never so far ever got problems.Only that in general I never had problems from the French but each time seemed to getting more iffy moree checking everything more sweating would they let you pass and I had the feeling that this run wouldnt pan out so well .
    So I checked all the rules online for Ryan air like I do if i fly aerlingus as the rules keep changing and saw the way was clear so went and bought the cheese.Glad I didnt for weight reasons get the Salami.

Anyway The French airport police might think that they can do what they want but as the word get out that they are cheese stealers and probably salmi robbers and who knows what else rules they invent to rob the peoples more people for shopping trips will find ways to circumvent them with flights to other more profitable locations like Spain or post the shopping home if it not perishables. ( I often do post for forgien shopping so as to not get caught for excess baggage weight.Its just Camambert cheese doesn't post so good.)

Ah well Spain trip weeekend for Barcellona booked now for May to top up the drinks cabinet.Also Spanish postal rates are not to bad below 20KG compared to excess baggage prices

Then organise a June or July car trip on the ships to Uk and then to Spain and really fill the car up.

France is now off my shopping list period as the only thing that they had for me was Camambert cheese and if I cant get that no point to go there .

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Foggy43

Isn't there a restriction on bringing dairy products in to Ireland or did that only apply during the Foot and Mouth epidemic.

Foggy43 wrote: »
    Isn't there a restriction on bringing dairy products in to Ireland or did that only apply during the Foot and Mouth epidemic.

If Camambert cheese is for 250 grams €1 euro in France and its like cheapest in Dunnes $1.90 or €1.70 in Lidl and often a lot more like $2.50 euros plus then they can feck themselfs they got to catch me smuggling .

If there is a foot and mouth issue in the future I would wait for the crisis to clear before smuggling again .

Anyway its the same cheese that comes on a truck from france but they charge us wayu too much for it.In fact you can in theory fly to France with Ryan Air fill your 15KG in the hold case with some 14KG of camabert and probably still save money over the shops here

However the filling of the case with 14KG of €10 euros type bottles of wine what often cost €25 euro here in ROI is often more interesting in finacial saving .

I have a mate who does Italy a lot and recones he saves a fortune on Italian wine with one or two day return flights to Italy but it helps he is Italian with wine trade conections in Italy.

Food is still very marginal on aircraft with the low weight limits they give for baggage but works BRILL with the boot and roof box filled of the car what my Italian friends do every few months .:D

Derry

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Blessed are the cheesemakers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

Or you could just buy local and save the environment and help stimulate the local economy again :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

jt123456 wrote: »
    Or you could just buy local and save the environment and help stimulate the local economy again :p:D

Of course Camembert by definition isn't local....

No but Dubliners is and goes great with anything.:)

jt123456 wrote: »

On yer bike .Last year I could buy cheedar cheese for ~€5 euros a kilo from supervalue and LIDL and sometimes Dunnes .
    Then overnight in feb 2008 all the shops the cheapest for cheese was ~€6.50 in all those rip off shops .Now if that isnt a in your face cartel move to rip my face then where the hell is the competion authority.

Now how could they all choose to increase prices by a ~25% extra and all of them at the same time .
    YOU might be happy to get your face ripped but I refuse to let these feckers rip me off

So I made a rule I would never ever ever buy cheese in ROI until the price was back down to ~€5 euros a kilo or I would only buy it outside the state when the price was below ~€5 euros a kilo

As a result I have been able to keep my deep freeze chock a block with cheeese from all over europe with differnt flights I have to do be it work or pleasure and often it cost ~€4 euros a kilo a lot less than the rip off republic

As for the enviorement crap the same cheese comes in on trucks and planes and ships and get sold here so its the same polution .

The stimulate the local economy seems that NI is so stimulated that 40% of all booze in ROI comes from that region.

Ben Dunne himself said on RTE radio go north to buy or elsewhere and when the rip off republic figures they cant screw us then they will reduce thier prices

I still like to fly and would always find other things to buy in EU region if the prices for drink and food no longer made it interesting to buy food abroad so if the ROI makes it prices a lot better then I will buy in the ROI

TESCO yesterday for cloths now does £ andd € are the same or equal so looks like the prices for cloths are starting to drop.I am perfectly happy to come back from Spain with real leather jackets or other special goods they make instead for cheese or wine but only when the economics are the right way to make that possible

Seems to me for a avaition section not much knowlege exists here how to get around the French airport police .Sorta hoping there was some rule that could be quoted in these situations but seems that doesnt look like the case.Maybe next time I should quote the IATA rules or the EU freedom of movement of goods whatever

Derry

derry wrote: »
    Seems to me for a avaition section not much knowlege exists here how to get around the French airport police .Sorta hoping there was some rule that could be quoted in these situations but seems that doesnt look like the case.Maybe next time I should quote the IATA rules or the EU freedom of movement of goods whatever

Derry

ffs would ya ever go and get a bit of cop on. Even when there is someone to blame(Ryanair), you've got your head so far up your arse you can't actually see that. Maybe when you come out of that anti-French rant you've got yourself locked in, you might wake up to the fact that if there is a ban on carrying cheese in French airports and its not in the list of prohibited goods on Ryanair's website(which you said yourself you used in basing your decision to buy cheese in France), then it's Ryanair's fault.

Don't get me wrong, if I was in your position I'd be pissed off at the French airport police as well, but if you're gonna blame anyone at least blame the right people, i.e. Ryanair.

Oh and as for quoting IATA and 'EU freedom of movement goods whatever'(whatever that is:rolleyes:) to the French, you'll only make yourself look like a fool. IATA don't make any laws, they're just an international body representing airlines and airports that make reccommendations to international governments on aviation law, its the governments themselves that make the law and in this case the French decided to ban passengers from carrying cheese in the aircraft cabin. And they're not breaking the EU freedom of movement laws either as you're still able to carry the cheese in the hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

There's no rule that will save you that we can give you to quote. I think its pretty simple. If you want to bring loads of cheese around, stick it in your hold bag and be prepared to pay extra if you go over the weight limit. If you dont want to pay extra, dont buy all the cheese or drink or get a different airline. The airport cops are doing their job and have been told the rules, hence they're passing them on to you. Its a simple rule and im my mind doesnt make them anything like gestapo.

You're paying what is in reality a tiny amount of money for an airline flight, probably way cheaper the a train/car journey. It holds to reason that Ryanair or any other airline. will always make their money from all these extra charges for weight so you're just gunna have to pay it and get on with it if you want to lug food and drink around Europe.

Be thankfull you live in an area where cheap flights are at all available and that you have the option to go buy luxuries if you feel like it. A lot of people in the world cant right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

To dreg this one back up from the grave for the sake of clarifying matters (as no-one else seems to have) the ban is only on soft cheeses.

It is because they are considered to be part liquid and as you know liquids over 100ml are not allowed as carry on. No joke. It seems to be a particularly French interpretation. You would have been allowed bring on a hard cheese.

http://www.travelagentcentral.com/air-travel/paris-bans-soft-cheese-carry-luggage