Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My first round mock draft

• 11-03-2009 6:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭

After Smiths poor pro day, he'd slip even further down. I had explainations for all the picks done but my comp crashed.

1. Detroit Lions - Matthew Stafford QB (Georgia)
    2. St. Louis Rams - Jason Smith OT (Baylor)
    3. Kansas City Chiefs - Aaron Cuury(Wake Forest)
    4. Seattle Seahawks - Eugene Monroe OT (Virgina)
    5. Cleveland Browns - Brian Orakpo DE (Texas)
    6. Cincinnati Bengals - Michael Oher OT (Mississipi)
    7. Oakland Raiders - BJ Raj DT (Boston)
    8. Jacksonville Jaguars - Michael Crabtree WR, Texas Tech
    9. Green Bay Packers - Everette Brown DE/OLB(florida State)
    10. San Francisco 49ers - Aaron Maybin DE/OLB (Penn state)
    11. Buffalo Bills - Brian Cushing OLB (USC)
    12. Denver Broncos -Tyler Jackson DE (LSU)
    13. Washington Redskins - Michael Johnson DE (Georgia Tech)
    14. New Orleans Saints - Malcolm Jenkins CB/FS (Ohio St.)
    15. Houston Texans - Vontae Davis CB (Illinios)
    16. San Diego Chargers - Ray Maualuga ILB (USC)
    17. New York Jets - Mark Sanchez QB (USC)
    18. Chicago Bears - Darius Heyward-Bay WR (Maryland)
    19. Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Josh Freeman QB (Kansas State)
    20. Detroit Lions (from Dallas) - James Laurinaitis ILB(Ohio State)
    21. Philadelphia Eagles - Brandon Pettigre TE (Oklahoma State)
    22. Minnesota Vikings - Eben Britton OT (Arizona)
    23. New England Patriots - Jeremy Maclin WR, (Missouri)
    24. Atlanta Falcons - Clay Matthews OLB (USC)
    25. Miami Dolphins - Alphonso Smith CB, wake forest
    26. Baltimore Ravens - Kenny Britton WR (Rutgers)
    27. Indianapolis Colts - Peria Jerry Dt ( Mississippi)
    28. Philadelphia Eagles (from Carolina) - Knowshon Moreno (Georgia)
    29. New York Giants - Hakeem Nicks WR (North Carolina)
    30. Tennessee Titans - Percy Harvin Wr (Florida)
    31. Arizona Cardinals - Chris wells RB (Ohio State)
    32. Pittsburgh Steelers - Alex Mac C/OG (California)

lol, thanks to Leslie91 for the much improved format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

im just gonna go with my own thing on this and say....think about the Jaguars not taking an OT in the first round....they signed Tra Thomas and declared that he will be the starting LT for the season...

id strongly consider the Jags other options now...they can either continue with their plans of taking an OT, or the possibility of taking Mark Sanchez or either Beanie Wells or Knowshon Moreno...there is talk that they want to recreate the tandem RB thing that they had going on with Fred Taylor and MJD....(i would love to see Wells and MJD as a combo)...or the possibility of taking Sanchez and grooming him as the successor to Garrard (not so keen on this one)...however i stick by my Mock draft pick and think the Jags should take Rey Maualuga...hes exactly what the Jags need after losing Mike Peterson and would be a perfect defensive general (would give the Jags the best and youngest LB core including Justin Durant and Daryl Smith)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I cant believe I left Michael crabtree off the list. Would Jags take him? With Matt jones getting himself into another mess would it be a need? I personnally think Ray is a bit of reach at 8.

haha i was gonna say something but thought it might have been on purpose lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

1. Detroit Lions - Matthew Stafford QB (Georgia)
    2. St. Louis Rams - Jason Smith OT (Baylor)
    3. Kansas City Chiefs - Aaron Cuury(Wake Forest)
    4. Seattle Seahawks - Eugene Monroe OT (Virgina)
    5. Cleveland Browns - Brian Orakpo DE (Texas)
    6. Cincinnati Bengals - Michael Oher OT (Mississipi)
    7. Oakland Raiders - BJ Raj DT (Boston)
    8. Jacksonville Jaguars - Andre Smith OT (Alabama)
    9. Green Bay Packers - Everette Brown DE/OLB(florida State)
    10. San Francisco 49ers - Aaron Maybin DE/OLB (Penn state)
    11. Buffalo Bills - Brian Cushing OLB (USC)
    12. Denver Broncos -Tyler Jackson DE (LSU)
    13. Washington Redskins - Michael Johnson DE (Georgia Tech)
    14. New Orleans Saints - Malcolm Jenkins CB/FS (Ohio St.)
    15. Houston Texans - Vontae Davis CB (Illinios)
    16. San Diego Chargers - Ray Maualuga ILB (USC)
    17. New York Jets - Mark Sanchez QB (USC)
    18. Chicago Bears - Darius Heyward-Bay WR (Maryland)
    19. Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Josh Freeman QB (Kansas State)
    20. Detroit Lions (from Dallas) - James Laurinaitis ILB(Ohio State)
    21. Philadelphia Eagles - Brandon Pettigre TE (Oklahoma State)
    22. Minnesota Vikings - Eben Britton OT (Arizona)
    23. New England Patriots - Jeremy Maclin WR, (Missouri)
    24. Atlanta Falcons - Clay Matthews OLB (USC)
    25. Miami Dolphins - Alphonso Smith CB, wake forest
    26. Baltimore Ravens - Kenny Britton WR (Rutgers)
    27. Indianapolis Colts - Peria Jerry Dt ( Mississippi)
    28. Philadelphia Eagles (from Carolina) - Knowshon Moreno (Georgia)
    29. New York Giants - Hakeem Nicks WR (North Carolina)
    30. Tennessee Titans - Percy Harvin Wr (Florida)
    31. Arizona Cardinals - Chris wells RB (Ohio State)
    32. Pittsburgh Steelers - Alex Mac C/OG (California)
    =========================================================
    Oh how I love talking draft!!!!!!!!!.

Everyone can have a go, everyone else can agree/disagree, it's great craic... Here's my 2 cents.

(1) OK so u missed on Crabtree.... I reckon he is gone by pick 10. Might not get past Cinci.
    (2) #6 might be a tad early for Oher.
    (3) Maualuga will not be there at #16 and will go before Johnson (G Tech).
    (4) Does Heyward-Bey go before Maclin?, I don't think so.
    (5) The top RB will be gone by #28, probably Moreno.

It worked out well really, Andre smith has just blown his chances of being taken in the first round after his pro-day and with Matt Jones being arrested it seems like an possible destenation. I'll have another look over the Jags situation though.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    (1) OK so u missed on Crabtree.... I reckon he is gone by pick 10. Might not get past Cinci.
    (2) #6 might be a tad early for Oher.
    (3) Maualuga will not be there at #16 and will go before Johnson (G Tech).
    (4) Does Heyward-Bey go before Maclin?, I don't think so.
    (5) The top RB will be gone by #28, probably Moreno.

1. Crabtree is at the jags no, a patch up job. Crabtree just completely slipped my mind, shocked I forgot him. :o
    2. I dont think cicny go WR, They go defense though but Oher is the best OL player there. Hard one to pick.
    3. Possibly, I expect some team to reach for MJ after his pro-day though.
    4. I think a huge upside to Maclin is his potential return abilities, the bears dont need that. I think DHB is the next best choice for them and I dont think any team before will pick Maclin.
    5. I did have him going to Eagles with their 20th, but I cant see any team after them going for a RB. Any suggestions on where he will end up earlier?

I really cant see the Jags taking a risk with Crabtree...too many 1st round picks wasted on receivers over the years....id think possibly 2nd round pick a receiver and then maybe pick up a veteran after the draft...but i really cant see Crabtree going to the Jags....Matt Jones and Reggie Williams have been such busts that i dont think they'll make the mistake again...at least i hope they dont :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Jeez Chucky I sincerely hope your wrong about the Patriots, if we take a WR I want it to be Britton, I really think he is special and I think he could go a lot higher up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

eagle eye wrote: »
    Jeez Chucky I sincerely hope your wrong about the Patriots, if we take a WR I want it to be Britton, I really think he is special and I think he could go a lot higher up.

I honestly cant see us taking a WR not in the first round. Unless we sign a decent pass rusher in the FA I doubt it.

There is nothing to suggest the Pats are going to take a WR over what they actually need. DE, OLB, S, OT, OG then WR. Out of curiosity what makes both of you believe the Pats will take a WR. After trading for Greg Lewis he is most likely to fill the hole left by Gaffneys departure and ideally a development type WR would be needed but not 1st round.

I honestly cant see us taking a WR not in the first round. Unless we sign a decent pass rusher in the FA I doubt it.

There is nothing to suggest the Pats are going to take a WR over what they actually need. DE, OLB, S, OT, OG then WR. Out of curiosity what makes both of you believe the Pats will take a WR. After trading for Greg Lewis he is most likely to fill the hole left by Gaffneys departure and ideally a development type WR would be needed but not 1st round.
    I said if Tallaght, I don't think its very likely at all, my comments were based on Chucky's draft with him having us taking Jeremy Maclin, I was pointing out that I would much prefer Kenny Britton if we were to take a WR.
    When Gaffney left I thought it was gonna go that way but now that we've signed Lewis I am pretty certain we will be addressing our defensive needs with that pick.
    As it stands now I think if we still have the pick come draft time(I'm not ruling out Peppers joining us yet) then I think we will be taking Larry English if he is still available which I doubt, Duke Robinson is a likely candidate I think and if they are both gone we'll probably be taking James Laurinaitus. For me thats the three its between now.
    I still think we are seriously lacking depth at WR and I would love to have the other positions sorted before the draft and leave us picking up Britton who I think is going to be a superstar, he is one of those guys who catches balls when he's being hit and he is a big guy and lethal fast as he showed at the combine. I think we also need to look at running back, I don't like this gambling on older guys that Bill seems happy to do season after season, it came back to bite him in the backside last season when Maroney got crocked, Jordan missed most of the seson and Morris missed games as well.

Lol, I was just thinking after I posted English and Britton sign for the New England Patriots.:pac:

I'll do one for the craic as well. I think offensive tackles and guards are the most pressing need for a lot of teams and I think this will be reflected in the early picks in the draft.

1. Detroit Lions - Matthew Stafford QB (Georgia) They have Culpepper for one more year max and this is the best option for them.
    2. St. Louis Rams - Eugene Monroe OT (Virgina) I think Monroe goes ahead of Smith
    3. Kansas City Chiefs - Jason Smith OT (Baylor) The Chiefs are gonna take a tackle to aid their new QB
    4. Seattle Seahawks - Michael Oher OT (Mississipi) Seahawks also need to improve their OL
    5. Cleveland Browns - Aaron Curry OLB (Wake Forest) A bit lower than most think and a perfect fit fo the Browns
    6. Cincinnati Bengals - Brian Orakpo DE (Texas) Just what they need
    7. Oakland Raiders - Michael Crabtree WR (Texas Tech) Lots of needs but get this guy and if JeMarcus gets time then things will change and fast
    8. Jacksonville Jaguars - BJ Raj DT (Boston) Have more pressing needs but they do need a DT and they can't let this guy pass them by
    9. Green Bay Packers - Everette Brown DE/OLB(florida State) Either him or Maybin will be going to the pack.
    10. San Francisco 49ers - Malcolm Jenkins CB/FS (Ohio St.)

Thats my first ten, finish it tomorrow.

I said if Tallaght, I don't think its very likely at all, my comments were based on Chucky's draft with him having us taking Jeremy Maclin, I was pointing out that I would much prefer Kenny Britton if we were to take a WR.
    When Gaffney left I thought it was gonna go that way but now that we've signed Lewis I am pretty certain we will be addressing our defensive needs with that pick.
    As it stands now I think if we still have the pick come draft time(I'm not ruling out Peppers joining us yet) then I think we will be taking Larry English if he is still available which I doubt, Duke Robinson is a likely candidate I think and if they are both gone we'll probably be taking James Laurinaitus. For me thats the three its between now.
    I still think we are seriously lacking depth at WR and I would love to have the other positions sorted before the draft and leave us picking up Britton who I think is going to be a superstar, he is one of those guys who catches balls when he's being hit and he is a big guy and lethal fast as he showed at the combine. I think we also need to look at running back, I don't like this gambling on older guys that Bill seems happy to do season after season, it came back to bite him in the backside last season when Maroney got crocked, Jordan missed most of the seson and Morris missed games as well.

Lol, I was just thinking after I posted English and Britton sign for the New England Patriots.:pac:
    Kenny Britt right?, outta Rutgers?. I thought you were mixing him up with Eben Britton the tackle from Arizona.

Interesting......... he is the 5th best WR on most boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Kenny Britt right?, outta Rutgers?. I thought you were mixing him up with Eben Britton the tackle from Arizona.

Ya, I was wondering about that aswell.Probably was mixing up Britt and Britton.Britt would more than likely be around for the 2nd round pick aswell, so no reason to take him in the 1st.

5. I did have him going to Eagles with their 20th, but I cant see any team after them going for a RB. Any suggestions on where he will end up earlier?

Even though Denver are in dire need on D they could surprise and pick Moreno or Wells. They are more likely to go RB in the later rounds though. In their system heretofore almost any back can be successful. Having said that McDaniels will be putting his own stamp on the O now.

Same goes for New Orleans, need D but might go RB. Reggie will become the luxury receiving and sometimes RB.

Even my Bolts could go RB bearing in mind we might be looking at LT for only 1 more year. I doubt it though.

The Bucs and Eagles are 2 other possible locations. It is all about value at their picks. Moreno might be the 'BPA' there.

Roll on April 25.

Yeah my mistake there I must be losing it calling him Britton. Thats exactly who I meant. I think he is a very special talent.
    Titan I would be very surprised if he is around for the second round. WR is on a lot of peoples lists of needs and I see him going early than expected.
    Meh Britt, Britton and English, I mean wtf?

8. Jacksonville Jaguars - BJ Raj DT (Boston) Have more pressing needs but they do need a DT and they can't let this guy pass them by

very, very interesting proposition you got there Eagle Eye...it really would not surprise me if the Jags were to take Raji if he's still around by the 8th pick...i can definitely see them going defense now that they'e shored up the OL with Tra Thomas...i really cant see the Jags taking an OL in the first round anymore...more likely Raji, Maualuga or Jenkins if the stick with defense, or either Wells or Moreno (although i think 8th might be a bit high for a RB)

I didnt think OL was as big a need as WR. I dont think the DE/OLB are worth a pick at 23. Duke Robinso n is the most likely choice then at 23. Although trading back is definitly possible. When going through all the picks I can see alot of teams potential trying to trade back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

Sorry dude I know I quoted you but I was referring to both Chucky and leslie having us take a WR. If we take peppers off the FA that might change but again we have more pressing needs. I understood your post 100%.

I didnt think OL was as big a need as WR. I dont think the DE/OLB are worth a pick at 23. Duke Robinso n is the most likely choice then at 23. Although trading back is definitly possible. When going through all the picks I can see alot of teams potential trying to trade back.
    I completely agree with you on Duke Robinson. His stock has certainly risen after his pro day and I really want to say this next bit but I have selected him in the mock draft and I want to see if Tallaght catches on to why else I picked him so I'll not say it yet. :)

kev_s88 wrote: »
    very, very interesting proposition you got there Eagle Eye...it really would not surprise me if the Jags were to take Raji if he's still around by the 8th pick...i can definitely see them going defense now that they'e shored up the OL with Tra Thomas...i really cant see the Jags taking an OL in the first round anymore...more likely Raji, Maualuga or Jenkins if the stick with defense, or either Wells or Moreno (although i think 8th might be a bit high for a RB)
    Yeah I spent a lot of time on them ten picks, and I mean a lottttttt of time. They certainly need somebody at ILB but they need a DT too, and I think they are just too high up the draft to take a Linebacker when youv'e got quality like Raji if he is still available for a position you also badly need to take care of.

This is the first one I've ever done, they alot harder then you'd think. took me the guts of 6+hours and I still left Crabtree out at first.:rolleyes:

well maybe ya shouldve taken 7+ hours to do it lol ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭bobby wade

DHB knows 2 routes apparently & the Bears need someone more pro-ready

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭TheHeadhunter

1. Detroit Lions: Matthew Stafford QB Georgia
    2. St.Louis Rams: Jason Smith OT Baylor
    3. Kansas City Chiefs: Aaron Curry LB Wake Forest
    4. Seattle Seahawks: Eugene Monroe OT Virginia
    5. Cleavland Browns: Brian Orpako LB Texas
    6. Cinncinati Bengals: Andre Smith OT Alabama
    7. Oakland Raiders: Michael Crabtree WR Texas Tech
    8. Jacksonville Jaguars: Jeremy Maclin WR Missouri
    9. Green Bay Packers: Everrete Brown LB Florida State
    10. San Francissco 49ers: Mark Sanchez QB USC
    11. Buffalo Bills: Aaron Maybin DE Penn State
    12. Denver Broncos: BJ Raji DT Boston
    13. Washington Redskins: Tyson Jacks DE LSU
    14. New Orleans Saints: Malcolm Jenkins CB/S Ohio State
    15. Houston Texans: Brian Cushing LB USC
    16. San Diego Chargers: Ray Maualuga LB USC
    17. New York Jets: Percy Harvin WR Florida
    18. Chicago Bears: Darrius Heyward-Bey WR Maryland
    19. Tampa Bay Buccaners: Josh Freeman QB Kansas State
    20. Detroit Lions: Michael Oher OT Ole Miss
    21. Philadelphia Eagles: Brandon Pettigrew TE Oklahoma State
    22. Minnesota Vikings: Eben Britton OT Arizona
    23. New England Patriots: Clint Sintim LB Virginia
    24. Atlanta Falcons: Larry English DE/OLB Northern Illinois
    25. Miami Dolphins: James Laurinaitis LB Ohio State
    26. Baltimore Ravens: Clay Matthews LB USC
    27. Indianapolis Colts: Peria Jerry DT Ole Miss
    28. Philadelphia Eagles: Chris "Beanie" Wells HB Ohio State
    29. New York Giants: Hakeem Nicks WR North Carolina
    30. Tennesee Titans: DJ Moore CB Vanderbilt
    31. Arizona Cardinals: Knowshon Moreno HB Georgia
    32. Pittsburgh Steelers: Alphonso Smith CB Wake Forest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭Sea Devils

Uggh another mock draft that has us taken a QB at number 10. No thanks.

I'll think we'll wait until later on in the draft to address that need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

Okay, scenario: Lions trade out of #1 for Cutler.

Who goes number one?

Lions wont trade out of #1 but if they do then Denver will take Curry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

You wouldn't take Jay Cutler over Matt Stafford?