Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Library Rant!

• 11-03-2009 2:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭

How do you get immature, bebo-surfing first years to shut the fcuk up in the library? Asking them to be quiet apparently doesn't work. I'm trying to do research for an essay and they are just insistent on talking (well, switching between that and whispering, mainly talking though) CONSTANTLY.

Any ideas? :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

taddle on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Meh... that would involve leaving my seat and my many many books... Oh wonderful, another friend has just joined them... Maybe I should take one of the silence signs off the wall and throw it at them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

STarted a thread on moodle awhile ago called 'Let's fix the library -suggestions go here'

https://moodle.nuim.ie/mod/forum/view.php?id=6897

Got a little over 100 posts, most of them taken down :) So forty-something left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Meh... that would involve leaving my seat and my many many books... Oh wonderful, another friend has just joined them... Maybe I should take one of the silence signs off the wall and throw it at them...

Jaysus, grow a pair and confront them!

It happened to me once. As unlikely as it sounds, I was in the reading room (many years before I was able to scorn from my office), with the same genero****es you described, I walked over and calmy, but loudly enough to embarrass them (which it will) asked them to be quiet.

And it worked!

The key is this:

You need to make it a reasonably lengthy, well constructed spiel - they wont respond to a simple 'stfu', but will be shamed by a public outing in a quiet setting - it wont have happened to them before.

Also, the contrasting silence and rationale of your argument will have eveyone within earshot silently cheering.

Do it, get up now!!!!!

NOW!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

I've only been in the library twice so I can't really rant :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I had the spiel all done up in my head about how the group study area is downstairs etc etc but then three lads at the next table started whooping and laughing and two more girls started chatting and eating crisps and all so I just left and went to the reading room, where there actually was silence.

I did mention it to the librarian on the way out and said that there was a serious problem with the tables on the 2nd floor/3rd floor (the top one whatever you want to call it) and she needed to go upstairs and sort something out. Tbh, I didnt see the point in confronting the girls who were the original source of the problem whilst everyone else was chatting away. There's a group study area downstairs for a reason... :mad:

actually banquo I ranted on that thread on moodle aswell about noise in the library- people (and I'm sorry but it is mainly first years) seem to view it as just another place to socialise and it's the most irritating thing in the world... It really is. There's a time and a place for having the craic and there's a time when people actually have to get work done. Motormouths just need to stfu and cop on...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

They should make this image into tablecloths and use them on every table in the library:

big_cup_of_STFU.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

You should lick your fingers and then make some sort of creepy gesture like rubbing a nipple or something. If you're a guy that is. If you're a girl you probably find that suggestion offensive