Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

forged letting agreement- benefits?

• 10-03-2009 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭

Hiya, I have a house with my bro and he was away for a year and I had a girl in college come live with me to help with mortgage, bills etc. As she was a friend, initial rent was 380 a month including all bills, internet, everything. This was Sep 06, in Oct 08 rent went up to 450 a month. My bros home and we're all living together which is grand. This girl has a child that is 7 and was born in Ireland but has been living with her parents since he was 2 months old. She has been here. I've found out by living with her that she has been claiming child benefit and family income supplement but I think they've cut it off recently because she couldn't send them a letter from a school or doctor saying that the child is in ireland.

The arrangement we had was very informal, she'd give me cash at the beginning of the month and I'd lodge it to my account and to be honest, I didn't declare anything- didn't know I had to!

Anyways, I found a letting agreement the other day which she had forged my signature on. It seemed to be a legally binding agreement and the rent was down as a deposit of 800 and rent of 800. There is also the signature of her boyfriend at the time as a witness. There's another page as well that has been tippexed and the rent is down as 950 deposit and 950 a month.

Now I don't know if this document has been used or what it could possibly be used for but I can't believe she forged my signature and I'm trying to figure out why. I googled and saw something about a single parent with a child being allowed 950 rent allowance or something like that. Any details that she would need from me like pps etc is all readily available and if she forged my signature on one thing she could have easily done it on something else. At the moment I'm just very suprised.

She gives out about people claiming from the state but she does it herself and seems to know the system very well. She's not the person I thought she was but unfortuantely, finacially, I do need her rent. I'm not sure what to do! And this agreement was mixed in with college books in her room which technically, I shouldn't have been in and so shouldn't have seen. We normally don't mind each other going into each others rooms for bits but I was rooting for a particualr book when I saw it so I'm aware of that.

Can anyone shed some light on this? If she has been using the forged agreement to claim benefits- I'm sure that I could get into trouble for not being registered somewhere.

Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

So,ye both lied,,,hmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yes, but surely someone would query somebody paying 950 euro per month for a houseshare? Nobody pays that.

Unless she was claiming she rented the entire house and you and your brother didn't live there? Is that what happened?