Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I need your opinion guys... On a car my sister is buying. !

• 09-03-2009 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭

Hi Lads,
    My sister is getting a car tomo...

Linky : http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/1.4-SPOR/200908191911216/advert

They are giving her no discount ! on it... I have looked on carzone and Seen the same year and less miles for under €11 grand... and that is before asking for a discount... She has been approved finance with them if this makes any difference...

She is trading in a 03 corsa and is getting a measly €2100 for it and has on 32 k miles on it ...

I am livid here writing this as she should easily getting a discount or am I wrong... Opions and advice greatfully appreciated my 4 wheeled Commrades .:D

What do you think she should get off???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

d-don wrote: »
    Hi Lads,
    My sister is getting a car tomo...

Linky : http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/1.4-SPOR/200908191911216/advert

They are giving her no discount ! on it... I have looked on carzone and Seen the same year and less miles for under €11 grand... and that is before asking for a discount... She has been approved finance with them if this makes any difference...

She is trading in a 03 corsa and is getting a measly €2100 for it and has on 32 k miles on it ...

I am livid here writing this as she should easily getting a discount or am I wrong... Opions and advice greatfully appreciated my 4 wheeled Commrades .:D

thats a crappy trade in price...really is lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

if no money has changed hands.........lock her in the room tomorrow.

Barking. Barking mad I tell ya.

1.4 Golf is a particularly ****e engine too, btw.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

You're right. That is one lousy deal she'd be getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

what a gick colour for a Golf Sportline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

lock her in the room tomorrow.

Sell the Corsa privately (for around €4000) and come back to the dealer. Better yet, look for a Golf privately. That'll learn 'em.

Edit: Carzone ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭d-don

mondeo wrote: »
    thats a crappy trade in price...really is lad.

I know.. dealers are selling them for like 5 half k... mad

galwaytt wrote: »
    if no money has changed hands.........lock her in the room tomorrow.

Barking. Barking mad I tell ya.

1.4 Golf is a particularly ****e engine too, btw.

I'm off down there to the delaers in the morning to listen to his sales bull first hand... Little does he know I used to train people how to sell ;) And trust me I will tell him how his way of trying to sell to my sister etc is a joke.... ;)

colm_mcm wrote: »

Different folks different strokes n all that... if thats the colour she likes then god speed I say

Confab wrote: »

Sell the Corsa privately (for around €4000) and come back to the dealer. Better yet, look for a Golf privately. That'll learn 'em.

Edit: Carzone ftw

She aint got cash lying around and banks are tightening their belts so private lending firms etc like through garages are only approving.... dirt I know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

colm_mcm wrote: »

Harsh! My GTI is same colour. The pics there don't do it much justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Has she placed a deposit or signed anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

I know.. dealers are selling them for like 5 half k... mad

Ehh ... they might be asking 5500 but not getting it I'd say. Local Opel main dealer (not known for bargains) sold a low miles one last December for 4300. However I do agree it's worth more than 2100. I'd have expected 3500-4000 on a trade-in.

Per earlier poster, Golf 1.4 very over-rated car. Not the most reliable. The ma has 05 one from new, approx 35k kms, has been in for problems a few times. Next car will be a boringly reliable Yaris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Your sister is getting robbed big style.

A clean 03 Corsa with 32k miles is quite sellable, you will get someone to take it for around 3k or so cash i'd say if its in good nick and has nct, bit of road tax etc.

That Golf wouldn't pull out of bed, horribily under-powerd and totally over priced.You would get a diesel 06 or 07 Golf with all the extra's like Dsg gearbox for the price he wants for that weedy little 1.4 in the UK.

Your sister is going to put herself in debt ( crazy in these times for nearly everyone bar a few ) for a car thats no better than the one she has now, heck i'd say the corsa is more reliable :D

All they are is A to B cars!!!

Spending on one of them should only be done, when the current one has been run into the ground.The corsa she has now is practically new!

Does she even drive much?

Its all or nothing imo, you'd either buy a proper Golf or you dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Jaysus, tell her run a mile!

Much better value to be had out there, both on retail and trade in. Although, the corsa isn't worth 5k, nor no where near it, but €1200 is a bit stupid.

Tell her shop else where. If she is taking out finance, it could be worth her while looking at 08 demo's Mk5's the Irish dealers and flooded with. Just a suggestion, but I'd say for 5k more on the retail, (and maybe a better trade in) she could move up to a 07/08. Depends on what she wants to spend, of course.

Lock her in tomorrow anyways.

(I Like the Grey colour too btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

Tony Broke wrote: »
    You would get a diesel 06 or 07 Golf with all the extra's like Dsg gearbox for the price he wants for that weedy little 1.4 in the UK.

A 06 or 07 Golf TDi DSG imported for 11,000 euro ??? I doubt it, unless you go very high mileage. Have you checked the UK prices lately ? A good 07 would cost 9k sterling or more. You might land a 06 TDi manual for that price.

Cheapest 06 DSG on the web in UK with under 60k miles is a 1.9SE with 45k at 7800. VRT is an unreal 4577. Total is 13,850. (exch rate 0.89, expenses 500 euro). That's a 06 on a 55 plate. Next cheapest is over 9k.

You ain't getting no 06 DSG for 11k euro !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

lifer_sean wrote: »
    A 06 or 07 Golf TDi DSG imported for 11,000 euro ??? I doubt it, unless you go very high mileage. Have you checked the UK prices lately ? A good 07 would cost 9k sterling or more. You might land a 06 TDi manual for that price.

Cheapest 06 DSG on the web in UK with under 60k miles is a 1.9SE with 45k at 7800. VRT is an unreal 4577. Total is 13,850. (exch rate 0.89, expenses 500 euro). That's a 06 on a 55 plate. Next cheapest is over 9k.

You ain't getting no 06 DSG for 11k euro !!!!

Thought they had better engines than that, 162g emissions is similar to the modern petrols.I gave a quick glance at cargiant ( who are expensive enough ) and they had a list of 06's with normal milage for around 7.5k.Didnt think it would cost so much to import, look at a Focus OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

They really do have some cheek.....:rolleyes: And add to the fact that 1.4 litre Golf's and Foci are just about the most unsellable cars at the moment as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

;) :cool: :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

A third fan of the grey colour here, makes a change from all the black and silver Golfs herding about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

A third fan of the grey colour here, makes a change from all the black and silver Golfs herding about.

Its blue graphite actually:P

Serious rip off there. If she tries at least for a couple of weeks to sell her own car privately - It will need to be priced to reflect the market at the mo - she'd do a lot better buying a similar car in the UK. Especially as they reckon the euro and sterling will reach parity soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 CapnMark

Let us know how you get on at the dealers. Car looks poor value but im not that knowledgable about Golfs. Does she really need a new car right now or can she wait until she has offloaded the corsa?

EPM wrote: »
    Its blue graphite actually:P

Ah! So it is. I had an arguement with someone recently over this. It's blue...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Ah! So it is. I had an arguement with someone recently over this. It's blue...:cool:

Same here... its one of those colours that looks different depending on how sunny and how clean the car itself is! It's very much a sparkly "denim" blue on a sunshine day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Kartale

The trade in price for Corsa is enough, remember they are a crappy 3 cylinder engine. OP has n't said what colour corsa is, and if it is a 3 door, thay are sale proof. AFAIK that colour for Golf is very popular.
    Put yourself in dealer shoes , what car would you prefer to sell on forecourt. Replace a popular Golf with a Corsa ? or hang on looking for a better deal ? Agolf will always sell can't say the same about corsa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Kartale wrote: »
    ... remember they are a crappy 3 cylinder engine.

....on the other hand, that's one less coil to fail.....;) :)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭mumof2

Yet I wouldn't get a golf if I had a corsa - (which i once had).......She should keep it or get a better price!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Shockingly bad deal. Dealer must think all his birthdays have come at once. Keep the Corsa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭gav86

In fairness there are some good deals to be got up the north, mate of mine got a 2007 audi A4 1.9 for 10kstg which works out at under 11kEUR and all brought in for c15kEUR. With the difference in stg and euro as well as the fact that 2nd hand cars are going for nothing it is a good time to be buyin

Kartale wrote: »
    The trade in price for Corsa is enough, remember they are a crappy 3 cylinder engine. OP has n't said what colour corsa is, and if it is a 3 door, thay are sale proof. AFAIK that colour for Golf is very popular.
    Put yourself in dealer shoes , what car would you prefer to sell on forecourt. Replace a popular Golf with a Corsa ? or hang on looking for a better deal ? Agolf will always sell can't say the same about corsa

I'd rather have another 9k in my pocket and a car that is easy sell. So yes, I'd rather the Corsa.

So what did happen OP??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

She should be able to do better than that. I like the colour ,all a matter of taste really.

options

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/TDI/200848191055199/advert

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Auris-Van/STRATA-D/200842190510346/advert

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/FLEXI-FU/200904191598183/advert

I think that any of these would be a better option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

She should be able to do better than that. I like the colour ,all a matter of taste really.

options

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/TDI/200848191055199/advert

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Auris-Van/STRATA-D/200842190510346/advert

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/FLEXI-FU/200904191598183/advert

I think that any of these would be a better option

What's with the 2 vans :confused: The OP's sister wants a car not a van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭carface

mumof2 wrote: »
    So what did happen OP??

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Hey lads sorry for the late reply been up to me diddies in work etc.... Well I went in on Monday morning a few days ago to have a nice chat with the sales man and 10 mins later A shouting match insued and squaring up to each other :D I kid you not ...Mad story... He started it too...

More info please!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

I presume she did'nt shop around and wanted a Golf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Hey lads sorry for the late reply been up to me diddies in work etc.... Well I went in on Monday morning a few days ago to have a nice chat with the sales man and 10 mins later A shouting match insued and squaring up to each other :D I kid you not ...Mad story... He started it too...
    You can't just leave it at that! Who won? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 00D911

+ 1, tell us what happened and what was the outcome ??? Did she buy the car ????

OH Don't leave us in suspense!! What really happened - I take it your sis still ownes a corsa??!! Who won the shouting match??:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

She has been approved finance with them if this makes any difference...
    What if she gets the finance elsewhere?

Does the garage have to pay the finance company a commission?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Your man in there is ... for use of a better word - ignorant pig.

Hi guys sorry was away doin car stuff... My arse she took the car... the guy had the balls to ring her up at lunch time to see if she still wanted it and my sister said (after you speaking to my brother like that not a chance :D ....I found him very ignorant and he thought he was some massiah of the car trade.... I stayed cool but he was getting worse :D Then when he got confrontational I stood my ground and gave as good as I got,.... No way will someone speak to me like that especially when I am in essance a customer... Some balls.. Hope it stays un sold.. He tried the I know that car game etc etc trying to put me down. I stopped him and said well so do I and your not a specialist your a specific salesman! :p that didn't go down well especially when I told him I trained people like him how to sell... I told him I re searched the market etc etc and was not a fair price what so ever... He seen a weakness in my sister about cars as she knows sweet f all about them and tried to take full advantage of it... Everyone I talk to from a local shop to business I deal with in the area have heard the story because I told them and to let them know about the dirt service I received...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

This is an interesting thing im thinking of here, and i dont think anyone else mentioned it.

When you complain about your sister not getting any discount on the car OP, did she ask for it?

If she did, then i think she has saved herself alot of money by not buying that car.

If she didnt ask, is it up to the dealer to offer a discount?

Just looking for opinions on that point, and lads? Lets try not start an argument....:rolleyes:;)

She did ask for money off but he seen her as a soft touch basically..... which didn't go down well with me.. Sure on every car I have had... I get money off.. whether a few hundred or two grand...

This is an interesting thing im thinking of here, and i dont think anyone else mentioned it.

When you complain about your sister not getting any discount on the car OP, did she ask for it?

If she did, then i think she has saved herself alot of money by not buying that car.

If she didnt ask, is it up to the dealer to offer a discount?

Just looking for opinions on that point, and lads? Lets try not start an argument....:rolleyes:;)

I guess that's one of the arguments for open-book pricing, poor negotiators get worse pricing than good negotiators.
    Whether that's fair or not is a whole other can of worms...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭cloudy day

I know absolutely diidly zip about cars boys ..... I'm a woman ....... tractors and Plant are what do it for me.

I'd never go into debt for a car though. Waste of cash, totally.And way too risky given current climate. Especially finance cos it's way dearer. at least with a credit union loan you pay off part / part. And ya can get the payment protection if ya lose the job.

I bought a run around last year 98 Nissan Primera. perfect condition, low mileage, all electrics blah blah ... € 1,200. A real dinger.

Wanted a mitsubishi pajero but would of cost too much tearing in and out to work.
    ( working on it though )

Friend of mine bought a car recently in England off E bay - rated sellers. Cheap enough, especially with sterling low, and cheap to clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭carface

She did ask for money off but he seen her as a soft touch basically..... which didn't go down well with me.. Sure on every car I have had... I get money off.. whether a few hundred or two grand...

d-don mate, I am trying hard to side with you on this story but you seem intent on telling this story they way you want it heard. what was the cost to change???? Did your sister ask for a straight deal price??? Or a trade in price with her own car and then asked for money off??? To arrive at a 2.1k trade allowance as opposed to round figure of 2k seems strange.
    03 corsas have been sold in main opels dealers around dublin with warranty etc. for less than 4k regardless of your research(carzone i presume) so to expect 5.5k trade in allowance from a discounted vehicle is not realistic.
    So without posting" Cost to change" details you come across as little more than a hot head brother on an major ego trip. Did you invite the garage (you felt free to name and attempt to shame) to come on hear and post their side of things in your nice chat.
    all the best

ps. not having a go but better details = better advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 bi

slander could get you(d don) and boards in trouble,as you are holding a trial without jury and maybe not dislosing all the facts ? Are you openly admitting to yor slander campaign?

What's the slander regarding? Dealer offered a different deal to a novice negotiator than they did to an expert one. Hardly news there.

Everything else relates to how the OP thinks this is unfair, and how he's fought his sister's corner.

I don't see anything defamatory towards this dealer, am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

bi wrote: »
    slander could get you(d don) and boards in trouble

How can it be slander if it is not directed at a named person or business?

You sign up to boards.ie to post this nonsense?

Nevermind, don't answer those. We're done here. Closed.