Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which F1 Races are you going to this year

• 09-03-2009 8:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭

Howdy,

I thought it might be interesting to see who's going to which races this year. Also might be good to get recommendations and thoughts about which races to go to, which to avoid etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Howdy,

I thought it might be interesting to see who's going to which races this year. Also might be good to get recommendations and thoughts about which races to go to, which to avoid etc.

None.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

kaizersoze wrote: »
    None.:(

+1 :(

I am very glad it's back on the BBC again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭tommiejoie

To buck the trend, I'm probably going to go to one...havn't decided which one yet though!

I went to Silverstone for the first time last year. Brilliant experience even though I went on my own, was camping in the cold and damp, got sunburned on Saturday and soaked to the skin on Sunday. But it was good depite all that. See my videos here.

It's a toss up between Silverstone and Monza for me I think. I know Silverstone now so it'll be easier to organise but between the weather and tickets being almost sold out I'm not so sure. But it'll be the last time in Silverstone so... Who knows. Monza would be nice, I'd hope, but I wouldn't like to head off there without a group which is difficult to gather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭mrmac

I'm heading to Barcelona. Friday until Monday morning. I'm going with The Travel Department dot ie travel agents. Decided to use these guys as I'll be travelling on my own, and I could pay-in for the trip since last year! Plus I'm flying out of Belfast, which is handier for me, and I booked it in sterling when the exchange was great :)
    All paid for now, can't wait!

Thinking about going to Donnington next year "on-the-cheap". If anyone else has been there, some advice would be appreciated......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Do you guys use travel agents or anything when booking? Or do you just book the flights, accomodation and tickets etc yourselves?

I'm sort of at the point now where I don't want to stay in hostels or camp anymore so I'd probably be a hotel of some sort for me if I was going anywhere. I don't know if there's any of the races with good transport links to local accomodation etc.

When I was in Australia a few years ago I went to the grand prix in Melbourne, great experience. Couldn't believe how loud the cars were.

I thought about going to Spa maybe. BTW, why do you think you need a group if you are heading to Monza?

BTW, why do you think you need a group if you are heading to Monza?

It would just be more fun with a group, I was also thinking of making a week of it, dirve along the Med and that. Going on your own is OK though, I met some cool people in Silverstone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭BoardsRanger

Do you guys use travel agents or anything when booking? Or do you just book the flights, accomodation and tickets etc yourselves?

I'm sort of at the point now where I don't want to stay in hostels or camp anymore so I'd probably be a hotel of some sort for me if I was going anywhere. I don't know if there's any of the races with good transport links to local accomodation etc.

When I was in Australia a few years ago I went to the grand prix in Melbourne, great experience. Couldn't believe how loud the cars were.

I thought about going to Spa maybe. BTW, why do you think you need a group if you are heading to Monza?

I'be been to both the Spa and Melbourne races. By far, Melbourne was a much better experience and alot cheaper too(well, once your out there)!
    However, my first ever sight of a moving F1 car was at eau rouge and was blown away by it. Spa is one of the greatest circuits out there, but just dont expect the experience, atmosphere etc. to be as good as melbourne.
    Another point to note is that Spa circuit is some distance from any major towns and although transport is good enough, you might want to keep this in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭dor83

I'm going to Melbourne as my visa for NZ runs out next month so I figured I'd head over for the race. I might also try to head to another this year, maybe Brazil coz I might be in South America at the time.

I've been to Montreal, Brazil, Monza and Singapore, all were great experiences for different reasons but I would recommend Montreal as the best because the atmosphere around the city was amazing and the track is very accessible because there is a metro station on the island, right next to the entrance. Monza is very easy to get to as well because the train goes from central station in Milan and is free on race day and cheap other days, I was there in 2007 and even managed to make it back into Milan to see Italy v France on the saturday night after quali. Singapore was amazing because it was at night and its is a nice place to stay, the only problem I had was with the tickets which were in the Bay Grandstand. I would recommend that anybody going there avoid these tickets because they are actually worse that the general admission tickets because of the position they are in. Brazil was by far the worst for spectators but I loved it because it was Schumachers last race and straight after the race we went to Rio, which I would recommend rather than staying in Sao Paolo.

Hope this helps a few people and any tips for Oz would be appreciated too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

Howdy,

Errr, none:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Robur

Howdy,

Silverstone. From Thu morning to Mon morning. Small tent nearby circuit as always, sitting at Stove.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

mrmac wrote: »
    I'm heading to Barcelona. Friday until Monday morning. I'm going with The Travel Department dot ie travel agents. Decided to use these guys as I'll be travelling on my own, and I could pay-in for the trip since last year! Plus I'm flying out of Belfast, which is handier for me, and I booked it in sterling when the exchange was great :)
    All paid for now, can't wait!

Thinking about going to Donnington next year "on-the-cheap". If anyone else has been there, some advice would be appreciated......

I've been to Donnington for the BTCC. The circuit is very close to the East Midlands Airport which would be handy for flights. However there is no significant accomodation centres nearby, and the roads from the M1 motorway to and around the track are very similar to those "country lane" types that used to feed into Silverstone. I would imaging that unless those roads are significantly upgraded before the race then any going to it will face apocalyptic traffic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Istanbul baby! Booked 2 weeks ago. Was there last year, its great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭stakey

I'm going to be in Singapore the same week as the grand prix, so just waiting for the tickets to go on sale now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Iridium

I've been to two races in the last two years - Montreal and Hockenheim. And they were both swiftly removed from the calendar afterwards. I don't think I should go to any more!

Dor83, I went to the Australian Grand Prix back in 2003. I stayed in a hostel in St Kilda. I forget it's name but it's not the main one in St Kilda that most people seem to stay in, it was just up the road. St Kilda is very close to the track and there was an entrance about a 10 minute walk from where I was staying.

I don't know what the weather forecast is like but I'd definitely recommend buying sun cream. When I was there the forecast wasn't that good so I didn't bring any, but on the Thursday it was really warm and I got a bit too much sun :)

Also surprisingly, it was raining for the GP itself so if there's a decent chance of rain, maybe some sort of light rain coat or something might be good.

As for the circuit itself, it's so much bigger than I expected it to be in that walking it seems to take ages, or just getting from one side to the other. I don't know what type of tickets you have, but if you have General Admission tickets like I did, then I'd advise going to a location where there's a big TV screen that you can see. For Qualifying I think I was at the Clark Chicane. There's kind of a hill there for general admission tickets and a big screen at the other side of the track. At least there was when I was there.

For the race I was just past the Jones chicane on that straight before the next corner, again there was a big screen so I could see what was going on when the cars weren't whizzing past.

I'd also recommend ear plugs. Don't worry, even with them in you will wonder are they making any difference, the cars are that loud. I'd also maybe bring a wee fold up chair or something if you have general admission tickets. It can get a bit tiring standing around.

I had weekend tickets the year I went which meant I could go for all 4 days of the event. The first day it wasnt as crowded and I did still get to see an F1 car as they had some sort of time event between an F1 car and a sports car. I still remember hearing the F1 car come down the straight towards the corner, it sounded like a 747. And that was just one car! :)

If you have got your tickets there's a good chance a wee guide came with them that shows you where things are around the track (tv screens, toilets, displays, food etc). That's what I used to figure out where to go (where the TV screens were) as I'm pretty sure it shows you on the wee guide.

Can't think of anything else, hope some of it was helpful.

Enjoy the race and don't streak across the track :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭rameire

Istanbul baby! Booked 2 weeks ago. Was there last year, its great!

Who did you book with? I'm looking to go to this one but have no idea how to go about booking the trip? Any help would be great!

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭rua1972

I'd also recommend ear plugs. Don't worry, even with them in you will wonder are they making any difference, the cars are that loud.

Ear plugs are great. I was at Monza 2006 and heard the cars go by on there way to the startgrid. I was glad to put in my earplugs after the start of the race. F1 cars are loud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Hoping to get to one...Just wanted to ask for pearls of wisdom - is it better to get an all-inclusive package or book things like flights, hotel, tickets seperately? Also, what sites would ye recommend?

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Silver-Tiger

Dor83, I went to the Australian Grand Prix back in 2003. I stayed in a hostel in St Kilda. I forget it's name but it's not the main one in St Kilda that most people seem to stay in, it was just up the road. St Kilda is very close to the track and there was an entrance about a 10 minute walk from where I was staying.

I don't know what the weather forecast is like but I'd definitely recommend buying sun cream. When I was there the forecast wasn't that good so I didn't bring any, but on the Thursday it was really warm and I got a bit too much sun :)

Also surprisingly, it was raining for the GP itself so if there's a decent chance of rain, maybe some sort of light rain coat or something might be good.

As for the circuit itself, it's so much bigger than I expected it to be in that walking it seems to take ages, or just getting from one side to the other. I don't know what type of tickets you have, but if you have General Admission tickets like I did, then I'd advise going to a location where there's a big TV screen that you can see. For Qualifying I think I was at the Clark Chicane. There's kind of a hill there for general admission tickets and a big screen at the other side of the track. At least there was when I was there.

For the race I was just past the Jones chicane on that straight before the next corner, again there was a big screen so I could see what was going on when the cars weren't whizzing past.

I'd also recommend ear plugs. Don't worry, even with them in you will wonder are they making any difference, the cars are that loud. I'd also maybe bring a wee fold up chair or something if you have general admission tickets. It can get a bit tiring standing around.

I had weekend tickets the year I went which meant I could go for all 4 days of the event. The first day it wasnt as crowded and I did still get to see an F1 car as they had some sort of time event between an F1 car and a sports car. I still remember hearing the F1 car come down the straight towards the corner, it sounded like a 747. And that was just one car! :)

If you have got your tickets there's a good chance a wee guide came with them that shows you where things are around the track (tv screens, toilets, displays, food etc). That's what I used to figure out where to go (where the TV screens were) as I'm pretty sure it shows you on the wee guide.

Can't think of anything else, hope some of it was helpful.

Enjoy the race and don't streak across the track :D
    Thanks for the tips. I'm goin on sunday. 100 dollars(53 euro) for general admission. Is there better value out there. I'm living in an apartment on st kilda road. Albert park is right behind me. 2 min walk. Its only another 75 dollars for admission from thursday. So i'll prob get that. Walked along the track last week. Can't wait for it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

None sadly. Went to Monaco in 06 and it was absolutely electric. Stayed in Nice for a few days either side of the weekend, lovely place. I'd go back in a flash. It was amazing sitting just feet away from the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I used to regularly go to Hockenheim, it was good being a regular because you were able to get better seats each year. I used to get the tickets direct from Hockenheim and every year they would send out an offer of a pre-reserved ticket before the general sale. First time I was there Eddie Irvine won and Frentzen was third in the Jordan so that was a great weekend. But it got boring in mid 2000's and I stopped going. I enjoyed today's race, this season looks very promising. Probably start looking into races for later in the year, pity that Hockenheim is no longer on the calendar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭shamrock321

I was at Hockenheim in 2006, Schumachers last German GP!

In 2007 I was in Monza, the weekend was a disaster thanks to the travel department, so last year we decided to DIY it and booked Spa and it was much cheaper including a rental car and accomidation on 20 mins from the race track.

We have booked Nurburgring for July going on the Thursdy evening and back Monday night, tickets were booked and arrived 3 days later super quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭dor83

In 2007 I was in Monza, the weekend was a disaster thanks to the travel department, so last year we decided to DIY it and booked Spa and it was much cheaper including a rental car and accomidation on 20 mins from the race track.

I went to Monza with the travel department that year too and have to say it was the worst experience I've ever had at a GP, I was on the package that included the San Marino MotoGP. I had traveled with them before and been happy but after that I will never use them again, there was no organization at all and the choice of hotels was just stupidity. I have organized my trips myself ever since and it always works out quite a lot cheaper if you book in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Fletch123

We're heading to Valencia for the European Grand Prix. Just booked our flights and hotel- have to do it early before the prices get crazy.

Went to Monza in 2006 and it was brilliant. We stayed in Bergamo for very cheap, had a great time and it was really handy for getting to Monza- just a tip!

Fletch123 wrote: »
    Went to Monza in 2006 and it was brilliant. We stayed in Bergamo for very cheap, had a great time and it was really handy for getting to Monza- just a tip!

I'm considering Monza now; can you tell me more about where you stayed over there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭enzo7

always went to silverstone as a kid up until 99 swore would never go there again am a huge schumacher fan, took a break in 2000 den started going to monza its fantastic love it no one does f1 like the italians never forget 2003 standing under the podium getting sprayed by schumachers champagne they were the days!! havnt been in a few yrs (kids, schuey leaving) would love to go this yr and back to monza i looks like been a great season. we always did diy trips alot cheaper than the travel agents. just book flights to milan stay anywhere close enough to cental staion once you arrive at monza station they are free schuttle buses to the track. book race tickets and hav a great wkend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭manta356

Goin to Monaco,this'll be my third time.Always book my own flights,stay in nice (plenty hotels at reasonable prices).Train to Monaco takes about 20 mins,run very regularly.
    I book my tickets through ACM Monaco direct.Always a great atmosphere,we didnt have tickets for qualifying last year,but there are big screens in most bars with the sound of the cars in background

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Valencia again, last year it was great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

thinking of going to spa...

hotels in brussels are cheep at the mo.. but im thinking of the fancy seats at Eau-Rouge.. at 550 a pop :S.... but if your going to spa ya might aswell get the good seats..

anyone know about transport? is there trains to spa? how much are they? should i stay around the circut?

also anyone else going as id prob be on me own....

Afatbollix, I was in Spa last year, youll be lost without a rental car if you are going alone! If you do get a car try and stay in Malmedy, feck all there but great for access to Spa. We stayed there last year paid €800 for 4 people for 3 nights not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭smooch71

I've been to Silverstone 3 times, best year was 2007 where Massa started from the back. We were at the end of the Hangar Straight and it was awsome seeing him pass someone on nearly every lap.

Went to Barcelona last year with the Travel Deparment. Great atmosphere, especially when Alonso appears but not much positive to say about it other than that. Poor selection of food, extortionate prices for drink etc. Silverstones much better.

Hoping to go to Monza this year. Can anyone helo with suggestions for accomodation?

Camped twice in S'stone and loved it so I'm open to that.

Been looking into Spa myself and it seems slightly difficult to get to. There are some places still available to stay, but the best quote I've got is 600 euro for 4 nights but thats only for 1 person. The place is 8km away from the circuit and there's no public transport they said, other than taxi. I wouldn't be interested in hiring a car either so that makes things more difficult.

Am going to keep looking anyway and see what comes up.

hiya been to both silverstone and monza down through the years, havent been to silverstone since 1999 would never go back there horrible experience (im a schuey fan) but b4 that i luved going there my dad took us every yr when we were kids. started going to monza after than stayed in milan a couple of time just go the train from central station think it was free on race day which took bout 15min once you reach monza station there is free shuttle buses to the track, the atmosphere there is incrediable!! another time we stayed in bergamo (ryanair fly there) and got the train up from there so thats another option. monza is brill would love to go back this yr but with the way ferrari are going at the moment might be better of waiting till nxt season.

Folks speaking from expierece if you are going to Spa, then stay in Malmedy, I stayed there last year with 3 others and it was perfect, as long as you have a rental car and a st nav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 taquilla

Last Year I was in Monaco, Spa, and Hockenheim which I was dissapointed (comparing to Monaco and Belgium).
    This year I'm going to GP Monaco again and to Spa (3rd. time) and I think to go to Monza.

About going to Spa I suggest to go to Germany to Frankfurt-Hahn with Ryanair which is 100 miles from Spa - where You can get with no speed limits on Autobahn (up to 160MPH with S-klasse MB last Year:))))))). There are some beutifull places to stay in Germany for really low cost 20-30€ ppn.
    The place is 15 miles from Frankfurt-Hahn airport and 85 from Spa.
    Have a look:
    http://www.mosel-reisefuehrer.de/

which is the nearest airport to spa? and also which is the easiest ryanair airport? frankfurt hahn doesnt sound too bad a trip actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭smooch71

enzo7 wrote: »
    which is the nearest airport to spa? and also which is the easiest ryanair airport? frankfurt hahn doesnt sound too bad a trip actually

I'm flying into Brussels Airport (not Charleroi) with Aer Lingus

It's about and hour and a half drive apparently.

Staying in a pre-erected tent with camp beds etc with a place called Campingf1. It's pricey but includes breakfast, evening barbeque and coach transfers to and from the track. Need to hire a car to get there though but I don't want to have to drive to the track each day incase I fancy a few scoops. Which is very likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 taquilla

Hi Guys !
    Just lucky arrived back (Mon evening - f..king ash cloud) from GP Monaco.

Red team
    FERRARI.jpg

Monaco by night
    mc3.jpg

Fernando Alonso - got the autograph - YEAH !!!
    ALONSO.jpg

Ferrari in Pit
    mc5.jpg

Ruuuun Robert ! Ruuuuun !!!
    mc4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 jujamax

Any plans for Monza?

jujamax wrote: »
    Any plans for Monza?

Just finished booking everything. Left it a little late to get stuff organised so it worked out pretty expensive (flights) but can't wait now!

Is anyone else here going?

Have yet to book a hotel for Milan. Any ideas?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Been looking into Spa myself and it seems slightly difficult to get to. There are some places still available to stay, but the best quote I've got is 600 euro for 4 nights but thats only for 1 person. The place is 8km away from the circuit and there's no public transport they said, other than taxi. I wouldn't be interested in hiring a car either so that makes things more difficult.

Am going to keep looking anyway and see what comes up.

Im going to Spa this year. Went to Spa two seasons ago as well. Not that difficult to get to really! This year I havent looked into booking flights or accomadation yet but I have bought my tickets to the Grand Prix. Last Time we stayed in Aachen in Germany and just got the two local trains to near Spa where a free bus picked us up and left us off at the track.

You have to get up early in the moring but its worth it. I know some people stay in Liege. All the buses to and from the track on the days of the race and practice are free! I must get down to investigate again how to get there for this years race. Eau rouge for me again.

I previously went to Spa as I said and to the Hungarian and Italian Grand Prixs but for me the Belgian and Brazilian Gps are the greatest tracks of them all. Spa has its microclimate so bring a jumper and wet gear.

jujamax wrote: »
    Have yet to book a hotel for Milan. Any ideas?:)

I've decided to go with campingf1.com. I've stayed with them a couple of times before, at Silverstone, and they do a decent job with a marquee set up offering food, and bar and nightly entertainment (although it can be a bit cabaret!). It's a fair bit cheeper than getting a hotel, but it depends on what youre looking for.

I'm booked to go to Spa and Monza. I'm flying into Bergamo and staying there for the Italian race. I stayed in Milan last year and it was nice but the Aer Lingus flights were working out about 100 euro more this time. I also wouldn't mind trying Bergamo to see what it's like too.

Same here, flying with O'Leary... Have yet to book a place to stay. Got bus ticket to Central Station (return) so may look online for hotels in Milan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I'm booked to go to Spa and Monza. I'm flying into Bergamo and staying there for the Italian race. I stayed in Milan last year and it was nice but the Aer Lingus flights were working out about 100 euro more this time. I also wouldn't mind trying Bergamo to see what it's like too.

When we went to Monza we stayed in Bergamo. Its a nice town with a modern centre and an old town on top of a hill. A train ride from there will get you to Monza (or at least it did in 2004).