Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big star's wages question.

• 09-03-2009 8:13pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭

How do the BIG stars' salaries work? Take G. Ryan for e.g. and let's say that he earns 550,000k p.a. Does that go into his pocket alone or does he have to pay his production team etc. out of that.
    Is the money for him or his company that work on the show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭djsupreme

The money is paid to his company. I have seen these companies operating in radio - generally there are three directors - the star, his partner, and often a solicitor or someone. There aren't usually any staff aside from the presenter. However, there would be accountants and solicitors fees paid by the company.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

And how about the regular contributors such as Fiona Looney and how about his producers and researchers? Would they all come out of his 550,000 salary?
    I'm not picking on Ryan but just using him as example as he's paid big and has a fairly regular crew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

I wonder does Mooney put up the grand a day for 'Mooney's money'?:p

humberklog wrote: »
    And how about the regular contributors such as Fiona Looney and how about his producers and researchers? Would they all come out of his 550,000 salary?

To the best of my knowledge, the fee paid to Gerry Ryan's company would only cover the cost of having the on-air talent.... as in Gerry Ryan. All other costs (contributors, producers, researchers, broadcast assistants etc) are covered by RTE. So you can only imagine the REAL cost of the G Ryan show.

djsupreme wrote: »
    To the best of my knowledge, the fee paid to Gerry Ryan's company would only cover the cost of having the on-air talent.... as in Gerry Ryan. All other costs (contributors, producers, researchers, broadcast assistants etc) are covered by RTE. So you can only imagine the REAL cost of the G Ryan show.
    Right...really. I was half giving him the benefit of doubt. So he only has accountant, solicitor and maybe P.A.? Stuff any self employed person would have (I'm one myself).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

I'm not picking on Ryan but just using him as example as he's paid big and has a fairly regular crew.

I've heard Fiona Looney, on the show a couple of times, complaining about having not been paid by "RTE" yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

G Ryan is taking a pay cut.Did you hear the long soul searching speech!!!!!!!I think he was told to either take the cut or ur off the air.I cant take all that dribble seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

holly1 wrote: »
    G Ryan is taking a pay cut.Did you hear the long soul searching speech!!!!!!!I think he was told to either take the cut or ur off the air.I cant take all that dribble seriously.

All that was missing was the slow, meaningful music in the background and then a big drum crescendo as he FINALLY announced right at the end that he WOULD, in fact, be taking his paycut. All hail G Ryan :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭mcscrub

All that was missing was the slow, meaningful music in the background and then a big drum crescendo as he FINALLY announced right at the end that he WOULD, in fact, be taking his paycut. All hail G Ryan :rolleyes:

There is one thing that annoys me about the whole Gerry Ryan debacle. Firstly I do think that he's over paid.....but I feel that everybody has the right to try and fight getting their wages cut. There was a lot of bad press towards him for not accepting a cut straight away. But the question I ask is how many of you would accept a cut without a fight?

I know we all have to fight this economic crisis and alot of us have unions on our sides, but at the same time we all probably feel that we deserve what we earn and hence deserve not to get cut.

I say fair play to Gerry Ryan for attempting to fight for his corner. Again I feel he's over paid (and not by any means a great presenter) but he was only looking out for himself, and imo there's nothing wrong with that.

EDIT: Maybe this should be in the Gerry Ryan start to 2009 page - I'll leave it up to the moderator to decide!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Gerry is not just over paid, he is grossly over paid. His logic for self-justifing this was bogus, especially considering RTEs current financial situation. His stance was one of pure arrogance. As for his climb down speech, words fail me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

mcscrub wrote: »
    EDIT: Maybe this should be in the Gerry Ryan start to 2009 page - I'll leave it up to the moderator to decide!!

I'm starting to think it might be an idea for a general presenters thread for Gerry/Ray/Tom/Pat K etc. One for each. Not sure would it work or piss people off tho. Any opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What people would it piss off?

The presenters or the posters?

Good idea imho.

What people would it piss off?

The presenters or the posters?

Good idea imho.

the posters - too many stickys? although that said, wouldn't have to sticky them I'd say, we pretty much have those threads already..

Das Royatt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭akaredtop

Before he decided to take the pay cut he spoke to his family and friends. He agonised over it. What? Over taking a small bit off a salary that is over 15 times the avg ind wage.What a sick pr**k.You would swear he was giving away one of his kidneys.Does he value money this much.When he eventually gets that coronary he will have to leave it after him anyway. His descendants won't be long p***ing it down the drain.The sooner the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭GSF

akaredtop wrote: »
    Before he decided to take the pay cut he spoke to his family and friends. He agonised over it. What? Over taking a small bit off a salary that is over 15 times the avg ind wage.
    He consulted the Pope, the Dali Lama and Nelso Mandela as well apparently. :D

mcscrub wrote: »
    There is one thing that annoys me about the whole Gerry Ryan debacle. Firstly I do think that he's over paid.....but I feel that everybody has the right to try and fight getting their wages cut. There was a lot of bad press towards him for not accepting a cut straight away. But the question I ask is how many of you would accept a cut without a fight?

I know we all have to fight this economic crisis and alot of us have unions on our sides, but at the same time we all probably feel that we deserve what we earn and hence deserve not to get cut.

I say fair play to Gerry Ryan for attempting to fight for his corner. Again I feel he's over paid (and not by any means a great presenter) but he was only looking out for himself, and imo there's nothing wrong with that.

Boll*cks. I'm not disagreeing with your general point....but.... if EVERY single one of your colleagues agreed on a pay cut to save jobs in the company (jobs of people on the average wage), then it's time to make a move. In fact, I feel if you're the last one, it says an awful lot about you.

you could have made the point without the "boll*cks" - just saying. It makes the forum that bit nicer, ok? thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I don't know, boll*cks is entirely justified for use in any topic to do with fathead Ryan.

maybe, but but if you say "b0llocks" then someone else will say "HOW DARE HE call my opinion b0llocks" and we get a tit-for-tat until someone likes me comes in and starts infracting and banning. And everybody hates that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭mcscrub

How dare you say my opinion is.... only messing.

I understand what you're writing and I definitely see your point. He would be a bigger man if he just agreed with the cut straight away, all I'm saying is that at this stage people are perfectly within their rights to look after number 1 (ie. themselves).

People don't have to be happy about accepting a cut, and I certainly think that people have the right to try not to get one.

I completely agree that alot of these people are just plain greedy. And I also agree that he's not worth the money he gets paid.

I guess the question it always comes back to is this. If 2fm replaced Gerry Ryan with a relative unknown, how many people would just continue to listen anyway? My guess would be 70%. I would say that that figure would increase if GR didn't get a similar timeslot on one of the other nationals - no way they'd pay him as much tho.

I'm not being cranky here but my original query was out of interest to how stars' salaries work out. I was only using Ryan as an easy example. Does anyone know for sure that all that money goes into their pockets? Or have they got running costs for to produce the show that has to come out of that money? That was the original point anyhow.

On a by the by I was at a book launch last night that G. Ryan also attended. It was free booze all evening...he was happy out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭akaredtop

I'm not being cranky here but my original query was out of interest to how stars' salaries work out. I was only using Ryan as an easy example. Does anyone know for sure that all that money goes into their pockets? Or have they got running costs for to produce the show that has to come out of that money? That was the original point anyhow.

On a by the by I was at a book launch last night that G. Ryan also attended. It was free booze all evening...he was happy out.

Keep drinking Gerry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

It goes to show how much out of touch he is with the ordinary Joe/Josephine Soap on the street. The vast majority of us can only dream about earning the sort of money he does. In fact, I think it's safe to say that his 10% pay cut is more than what most of us earn in a year.

I just wonder what would happen if RTE knocked more than the fifty-odd grand off his pay packet? What could he do? Leave? I have my doubts. Would a national independent like Newstalk or Today FM be able to afford his massive wages? If not, where else could he go?

The same, by the way, goes for other RTE presenters.

Well said Humber.When I saw that question I said to myself, great, we might get a definitive answer now as there seems to be loads of so called experts around here.

What do we get, waffle, that's what we get.

As I see it,these gooks are on a contract and have made themselves into a Company for tax purposes only.
    I would imagine RTE pay all the expenses for putting on the show and perhaps the presenters have some input into the team they want, but that's about it as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

tbh wrote: »
    I guess the question it always comes back to is this. If 2fm replaced Gerry Ryan with a relative unknown, how many people would just continue to listen anyway? My guess would be 70%. I would say that that figure would increase if GR didn't get a similar timeslot on one of the other nationals - no way they'd pay him as much tho.

Look at what happened when Ian Dempsey left, 2fm spent 10 years looking for a replacement breakfast host.

But it would be nice to see a new presenter regardless of the how many of the audience moved with Ryan.