Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travel/Subsitance Rates Reduced

• 09-03-2009 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭

So it starts.

All travel and subsitance rates have been reduced backdated to 5th March. Seems the government skipped all type of industrial relations aswell and just implemented it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Have they reduced the actual level or just the ammount in the pot to pay out for a year, just asking cause people have told me both versions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Iv heard all sub rates are reduced by 25%, thats 25 in every 100, thats a lot out of the sub every month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Actual level reduced. Its around 25% alright

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

That's across the Public Service.

I'd imagine there will be more cuts in these sort of non-pay allowances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

How much is this per month, for the average public service worker? On top of the pension levy it seems a little harsh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    How much is this per month, for the average public service worker? On top of the pension levy it seems a little harsh...

Actually going on the basis of anything I've had or seen in the last six months, almost nothing, as most sub has already disappeared :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

The fact that the paperwprk involved in getting paid is a beaurocratic quagmire that would make the movie Brazil look straightforward, puts a lot of members off claiming money (me included).

I shudder when I think of the money I haven't claimed because Bridge/Bridy/Bernie (there's one in every District Office - it's in the code - same as priests housekeepers) will send it back because I haven't filled the form out in ink extracted from a portugese man o'war.

Why can't this all be automated? The man hours saved would be huge. Ultimately it all comes from the same purse. There's another free one, minister - fill your boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

What about claims for the last few months, will they be paid at the old rate or new rate?

Well Mr Cowen put his hand in my pay check this week and took the dreaded pension levy and apparently this week is only half of what its going to be every week from now on....... oh and the 25% reduction in sub rates,
    and there's a strong possibility that our rent allowance will be reduced next..................
    Anybody know where i can get a part time job. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

timmywex wrote: »
    So it starts.

All travel and subsitance rates have been reduced backdated to 5th March. Seems the government skipped all type of industrial relations aswell and just implemented it!

We've been hit in the Defence Forces too.

Ye hit for 25% aswell Mairt,
    Are the sub rates in PDF same as AGS.... i presume they are, well maybe apart from the overnight

Anybody know where i can get a part time job. :D

You have one!

Well Mr Cowen put his hand in my pay check this week and took the dreaded pension levy and apparently this week is only half of what its going to be every week from now on/quote]

As far as I'm aware thats as much as will be taken from us each week, thats the 59% we pay with the government paying the tax % of it, although it will of course be much more when we get our "big cheque" if we can call it that as everything we earn can be levied:mad:.

Mairt wrote: »
    We've been hit in the Defence Forces too.
    But . . . .ye're . . . . . .soldiers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Bound to happen and not a surprise really. Its a more realistic and fairer way of reducing costs than the pension levy imho.

Teachers are going out, civil servants have gone and are going again. How much further will the gra allow is to be pushed?

Are the numbers being batted around about the number of applications for retirement in AGS correct? I've heard figures of up to 1500, ca anyone confirm. Also in recent Fianna Fail Party meeting on the 12th Taoiseach has said gratuity won't be touched now or in the future.

Every person i know that is on or around 30 years service say their going,
    I know a lad that was down on retirement course and he said nearly everyone down on it was from his phase....... thats a big change, usually most phases would have a lot of people tha twould stay on for maybe 35 years.

I think there will be a massive fall in garda and sergeant ranks.

There are only 100 people in the phase in the college at the moment..... that won't even nearly cover retirements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

Every person i know that is on or around 30 years service say their going,
    I know a lad that was down on retirement course and he said nearly everyone down on it was from his phase....... thats a big change, usually most phases would have a lot of people tha twould stay on for maybe 35 years.

I think there will be a massive fall in garda and sergeant ranks.

There are only 100 people in the phase in the college at the moment..... that won't even nearly cover retirements.

Division im in had 20 in the last phase 2 training class. 3 are going up to it from the current phase 1 group. And this is a major DMR division.
    Numbers on the street are going to fall big time