Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ignition Coil gave up again after 8 mths?!!

• 09-03-2009 2:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭

what causes these to give up so quickly - I drive a Skoda Octavia 1.4.........it needs a new converter as a result of all 4 coils giving problems last year - been replaced, but one blew again recently:eek: Not sure if this is a healthy car anymore:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Bad ECU maybe? The ECU in Fiat Punto MK2s has a habit of killing coils unless its replaced; same could apply to other brands. Anyone know if Skoda use Magnetti Marelli ECUs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Just a thought.

I was convinced my ignition coils were gone wonky after having some other work done. At night, you could see a blue glow from between it's chambers so I changed it. It was actually a set of of new spurious leads that were changed not so long ago that got stretched or damaged by the garage who did the other work. Replaced the leads with the old ones and hey presto...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭mumof2

MYOB wrote: »
    Bad ECU maybe? The ECU in Fiat Punto MK2s has a habit of killing coils unless its replaced; same could apply to other brands. Anyone know if Skoda use Magnetti Marelli ECUs?

I found this info........

Skoda

SIMOS - Siemens

Mean anything??

Heres the link to the info.......http://www.revtronic.com/documents/107.html

Ive no comeback with Skoda themselves, and my local guy said some cars just have problems with them.

He's getting a quote for the converter to be replaced, and I might just trade up a few yrs and see what happens.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

mumof2 wrote: »
    what causes these to give up so quickly - I drive a Skoda Octavia 1.4.........it needs a new converter as a result of all 4 coils giving problems last year - been replaced, but one blew again recently:eek: Not sure if this is a healthy car anymore:(

Try the lads on www.briskoda.net

They're way more geared toward Skoda niggles than boards :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

If the coil packs were genuine and bought from a main dealer they will have a 12 month warranty. Simply return them with the invoice for a replacement(s).

How far did you drive the car with the coil pack gone, if you stop straight away there would be very little damage done to the cat. Sounds like you kept going and caused the damage yourself, unburnt fuel entering the cat will ruin it in no time.

Neilw wrote: »
    If the coil packs were genuine and bought from a main dealer they will have a 12 month warranty. Simply return them with the invoice for a replacement(s).

How far did you drive the car with the coil pack gone, if you stop straight away there would be very little damage done to the cat. Sounds like you kept going and caused the damage yourself, unburnt fuel entering the cat will ruin it in no time.

Dealer told me that because I got it replaced locally (not going to drive out to them doing more damage - and cause I had to get to work), that I had no warranty left on it. Being honest with the way they are, I can't see them replacing one for me even if I produce the replacement receipt.

When the first or second coil went (cant remember which) I had to drive about a half an hour to get to the Dealer - don't think theres any way around that - and I suppose thats how the damage was caused. I cannot just stop where I am and expect them to sort it within an hour cause they cant/wont. (and ive got kids waiting in the meantime.......)

:mad::mad:sorry rant over.......I think

craichoe wrote: »
    Try the lads on www.briskoda.net

They're way more geared toward Skoda niggles than boards :)

I've been there, got no help - post unanswered.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

mumof2 wrote: »
    Dealer told me that because I got it replaced locally (not going to drive out to them doing more damage - and cause I had to get to work), that I had no warranty left on it. Being honest with the way they are, I can't see them replacing one for me even if I produce the replacement receipt.

:mad::mad:sorry rant over.......I think

That's just crap by the dealer, if there genuine and you have a receipt they must replace them provided they are less then 12 months old.
    I would contact skoda customer service, get details of the 12 month warranty and go back to them, I feckin hate car dealers, such a shower of gangsters :mad:

Rant over :D

Neilw wrote: »
    That's just crap by the dealer, if there genuine and you have a receipt they must replace them provided they are less then 12 months old.
    I would contact skoda customer service, get details of the 12 month warranty and go back to them, I feckin hate car dealers, such a shower of gangsters :mad:

Rant over :D

I've been onto Skoda Head Office also, but all they can do is get on to the dealer telling them that theres been a complaint, and H.O said I'd have to wait and see if they come back to me with an offer. I'm still waiting.

The killing part is that the dealer is 45 mins away from me, and the next Skoda dealer that I prefer to go to on a fresh foot is 1 1/2 hours drive:(
    So I just don't know what to do, because I'd rather have a dealer replace the Cat Converter tbh.... what do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭bromley52

Ignition coils are a known problem with Skoda. I have a 2002 Skoda Octavia 1.4 petrol and while still under warenty an ignition coil was replaced. Then about 4 years ago in 2005 a coil went again and Skoda replaced all 4 free of charge even though the car was no longer under warenty. I simply took it to my Skoda dealer they looked after it. There was a bad batch of coils installed in Skodas in 2002 and maybe other years.
    I have not had any trouble since.

bromley52 wrote: »
    Ignition coils are a known problem with Skoda. I have a 2002 Skoda Octavia 1.4 petrol and while still under warenty an ignition coil was replaced. Then about 4 years ago in 2005 a coil went again and Skoda replaced all 4 free of charge even though the car was no longer under warenty. I simply took it to my Skoda dealer they looked after it. There was a bad batch of coils installed in Skodas in 2002 and maybe other years.
    I have not had any trouble since.

You obviousely had a 'nice' dealer to solve the problem - ive been told that the dealer ive been dealing with here are a bunch of gangsters so that hasn't helped me, and I certainly wont want to go back to them - but given the distance i might have no choice:mad: