Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sending my shotgun to scotland

• 08-03-2009 2:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭

HI LADS
    just wondering if any of ye know if i could send my shotgun over to scotland to a uncle and get my name on his fire arms certificate to use it over there.as i only use this shotgun when i go too scotland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Ye wuld hae to ask the Scottish Polis Firearms dept on tha one.:)
    ASFIK I know Scotlands firearms laws are totally different to the UK&Wales.Have a look at cyber shooters.com or co.uk?
    They have a pretty good digest on the British Isles shooting laws.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

A couple of years ago I brought two rifles from Scotland to here. I had been quoted over €300 for delivery so I flew Aer Lingus for about €100 and collected them myself.

What you could do is get a visitors shotgun licence from the police in the district where your uncle lives. This would be useful if your are shooting there.

Give your uncle the details of the gun to add to his own licence.

Get an export licence from the Department of Justice here (can be done online and free).

Next time you go to Scotland just take the gun with you. Airports are quite used to firearms in transit and there is no hassle as long as the paperwork is there.

You will need some proof for the Guards that the gun has left the country but your local F.O. or the DOJ will put you right on that