Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think the "wheel" on Winning streak is rigged to prevent big payouts?

• 07-03-2009 6:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭

I saw a bit of Winning Streak (is it still called that?) a wee while ago and the guy who got to spin the wheel won a large amount (100,000 grand I think). I was shocked as I'd never seen a person win that much on it before. Normally if it looks like the ball is going to land on 250,000 or 500,000 it appears to defy gravity and land on a much smaller amount.

So does anybody else think that the people in charge of the gameshow somehow control the amount that is won on the wheel? I always wonder if magnets are somehow involved...or else if the metal things that the ball lands on vibrate or something when theres a high chance of a big payout. After all, it would make sense for RTE to try to avoid having to payout 500,000 when 25,000 would suffice without anybody the wiser, no!? That kind of money isnt chickenfeed like!!!

is the wheel on winning street rigged in your opinion? 33 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    60% 20 votes
    Atari "maybe so" Jaguar
    39% 13 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I think you may be on to something. Rumour has it that Derek Mooney was sacked because he stumbled across this dirty little secret of RTÉ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

After all, it would make sense for RTE to try to avoid having to payout...

The national lottery sells the Winning Streak ticket so I'd imagine the money belongs to the National Lottery, not RTE!

Why exactly would RTE be putting up prizemoney if they don't get ticket sales?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

mikemac wrote: »
    Why exactly would RTE be putting up prizemoney if they don't get ticket sales?

Because they're stupid!! :cool:

EDIT: You're not Mike Murphy are you!?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Because they're stupid!! :cool:

EDIT: You're not Mike Murphy are you!?

I think we can see who the stupid one is. Isn't there another guy around who is always claiming the lotto is rigged? Search for his threads you'll love them.

In fairness at least he claims they are rigged by the lottery themselves, he doesn't think a third party is doing it to save them money that they don't pay out anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The wheel is definetley anti-culchie. You never see a slimey bogger from Kerry do well on the wheel (Insert inuendo here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

I saw a bit of Winning Streak (is it still called that?)

So you just caught a bit of show you didn't know the name of.
    Normally if it looks like

???

jhegarty wrote: »
    So you just caught a bit of show you didn't know the name of.

???

I used to watch it when I was like 10 and it was called winning streak then, sigh!!!

Right seriuosly everyone, shut the fukk up. To be honest, yous were meant to just agree with me, all you gombeen ****ehawks "aw, what are ya on about the lotto pays out"...fukk off.
    Fair enough the lotto pays it out, are yous happy?
    Oh yeah, if anyone tries to make a remark like "yes i am happy" it means you're an unimaginative ghey bastard. And it dosent have to be that exact comment but any comment that tries to get the upper hand on me.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Right seriuosly everyone, shut the fukk up. To be honest, yous were meant to just agree with me, all you gombeen ****ehawks "aw, what are ya on about the lotto pays out"...fukk off.
    Oh yeah, if anyone tries to make a remark like "yes i am happy" it means you're an unimaginative ghey bastard. And it dosent have to be that exact comment but any comment that tries to get the upper hand on me.

Are you not happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Yes I am happy :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

Awww ... you're funny :) Rant some more please!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Someone isn't happy that they were not picked to appear on the show...

aoibhebree wrote: »
    Awww ... you're funny :) Rant some more please!!

Everyone, to the thunderdome!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭HAPPYGIRL

Yes I am happy :pac:

No you're not, i am. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Yes, I think it's rigged.
    copacetic wrote: »
    Isn't there another guy around who is always claiming the lotto is rigged? Search for his threads you'll love them.
    Brian Nolan? He was funny for about 2 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

HAPPYGIRL wrote: »
    No you're not, i am. :cool:
    Only cause I made you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

I've been telling people about the magnets for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Ya its definately rigged it has to be. Its rigged to a bearing at the back of the wheel to allow it to spin around.:D:D thut thut:D:D:D

kerash wrote: »
    I've been telling people about the magnets for years.
    In fairness, Id say people knew about magnets long before you started telling them :)

-Phuqer- wrote: »
    More ranting please :)

I would but I'd say I'm on thin ice after the last outburst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

In fairness, Id say people knew about magnets long before you started telling them :)
    Good, I'm glad. They really are to blame for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

You dont need magnets, just weights in the right places on the wheel. Weighted dice work on the same idea: if you want a 1 to show up more often you add weight to the opposite side of the die. The biggest payoffs would be on the lightest parts of the wheel so that when the wheel tries to rest on them, gravity kicks in and moves it onto another piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Ah, gravity. Is there nothing it can't do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

LOL. You have made me very happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

I normally say mad things like that when i on the bulmers for a few hours and log onto a forum. Where you drinking my bulmers? If you don't drink then maye you should start!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I would but I'd say I'm on thin ice after the last outburst!

The ice is well and truly broken.