Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a second hand car from a dealer....

• 07-03-2009 12:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭

Having more or less agreed on a price, what extras should i be asking him to throw in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

A house, a catwalk model girlfriend, A goldfish, and ask him could he make it chrstmas everyday...
    Do you not think after agreeing a price that the deal is in actual fact done?

How would you like it if the price was agreed and then when you came to pick up the car, he said no actually i want €500 more there son??
    i mean for fup sake has people lost the run of themselves in this recession???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭newportwex

whycliff wrote: »
    A house, a catwalk model girlfriend, A goldfish, and ask him could he make it chrstmas everyday...
    Do you not think after agreeing a price that the deal is in actual fact done?

How would you like it if the price was agreed and then when you came to pick up the car, he said no actually i want €500 more there son??
    i mean for fup sake has people lost the run of themselves in this recession???

I said more or less agreed, no deal done, am still deciding on whether to take it.

Clown.

sure ask him to throw in what i suggested then..
    What car are you actually buying and how much are you paying.. i supposse thats what it depends on really.
    If your buying something like an 03 Toyota Yaris will 90k on the clock dont expect too much!

sure ask him to throw in what i suggested then..
    What car are you actually buying and how much are you paying.. i supposse thats what it depends on really.
    If your buying something like an 03 Toyota Yaris will 90k on the clock dont expect too much!

You're grand buddy, i'll wait for someone else to reply to the thread, jog on now, good lad.

i apologise for my sarcasim, it sometimes get lost in translation....
    Currently dealers are selling cars at a loss as it is to keep their heads above water, i'd be saying to the salesman you'll do the deal if you throw in x,y or z. Rather than agreeing the price and then saying it.
    or jokingly say, what extra's are you throwing in with that.......Have him suggest some

i apologise for my sarcasim, it sometimes get lost in translation....
    Currently dealers are selling cars at a loss as it is to keep their heads above water, i'd be saying to the salesman you'll do the deal if you throw in x,y or z. Rather than agreeing the price and then saying it.
    or jokingly say, what extra's are you throwing in with that.......Have him suggest some

Grand, Yeah i've haven't agreed an exact price yet, it's my second car and first time buying from a dealer, so i'm not sure what the x, y or z would be!

it's a 05 Focus 1.4 hatch with 35k on the clock.

It's know it's a tough time for dealers but it's a tough time for everyone at the end of the day.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I think it's too late in the process to be looking for extras now.

You should have looked for servicing, motor tax, valet, mats and flaps etc. before going as far as you have on price.

Grand job Henry, thanks.

i agree it is a though time for everyone. No doubt about it.
    this is not sarcasm.
    Your buying one car from a dealer who possibly has a couple hundred cars.That could possibly be a couple hundred problems he has in his front lot. costing him millions. Your only taking away one of those.
    The salesman will want to do the deal. we're all hungry at this satge.
    but dont burst his balls too much. Ask for extra warranty, or road tax.
    Thats what i'd suggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭C Eng

A full tank of fuel is always nice !

C Eng wrote: »
    A full tank of fuel is always nice !

Aye! Thats the kind of sugggestion i was lookin for, just wanted to know what was the norm for a dealer to throw in to make sure i wasn't losing out just because i'm not experienced as other buyers.

Thanks for all suggestion guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BillyGoatGruff

I disagree with this view. I think you negotiate hard on price and when you have them as low as they will go or as close to it as possible, then you say " fine, we have a deal so if you throw in set of mats and give me full tank of juice" ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

I disagree with this view. I think you negotiate hard on price and when you have them as low as they will go or as close to it as possible, then you say " fine, we have a deal so if you throw in set of mats and give me full tank of juice" ect.

a man after my own heart,
    i wonder is why cliff a used car salesman.

Jaysus old boy and billy goat i'm glad ye came along i was startin to feel like the big bad wolf there for a min just for wanting a few little extras thrown in on my new (to me) car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I'd suggest the most common things to ask for are:
    Mudflaps
    Full set of mats
    Full tank of fuel
    Road tax for a year (or less)
    Additional warranty
    Free first service
    Free bluetooth phonekit
    Etc. etc.

It wouldn't be unreasonable to ask for any of those things (not all of them! :D).

You must remember, though, that there's no such thing as a free lunch. If I have a car with €1,000 of discount built in and the customer asks for a free satnav, I'll buy a satnav for €200 and give €800 discount. Same with any of the other requests.

If you negotiate with me and ask for my best price and I eventually agree to €1,000 discount, then you've gotten everything and you're only likely to take the "fun" out of the deal by making me tell you No over and over.

Free stuff costs money.

AudiChris wrote: »
    Mudflaps
    Full set of mats
    Full tank of fuel
    Additional warranty
    Free first service
    Free bluetooth phonekit
    Etc. etc.

It wouldn't be unreasonable to ask for any of those things (not all of them! :D).

You must remember, though, that there's no such thing as a free lunch. If I have a car with €1,000 of discount built in and the customer asks for a free satnav, I'll buy a satnav for €200 and give €800 discount. Same with any of the other requests.

If you negotiate with me and ask for my best price and I eventually agree to €1,000 discount, then you've gotten everything and you're only likely to take the "fun" out of the deal by making me tell you No over and over.

Free stuff costs money.

Great stuff, thanks.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

AudiChris wrote: »
    Mudflaps
    Full set of mats
    Full tank of fuel
    Additional warranty
    Free first service
    Free bluetooth phonekit
    Etc. etc.

Free stuff costs money.

That was my point also. If you are down low price wise, any extras brought in very late in the day become difficult or impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

That was my point also. If you are down low price wise, any extras brought in very late in the day become difficult or impossible.

Yeah, but I got a "thanks" out of my post :p:p:p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I could of sworn I posted in this thread today.

NCT is due on that, make sure it's done. Get a full tank of fuel and make sure it has mats as well and your on the pigs back.