Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Our Farm in Ireland" how Germany see us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Love the salute on the little kid.

mike65 wrote: »
    Its full of Orish sterotyping yet no-one is up in arms!

What would you prefer, the real Ireland being shown? Sure maybe they could have the family enjoying a day out in dublin, getting pissed on and everyone walking around all mopey and grey. Then they get robbed and have the **** kicked out of them by a load of scumbags for being foreign. Then they go home on the red luas line and are spat on and hassled by groups of knackers kids. So they have to get off and get a taxi where they are treated to a few minutes of racism by one of Dublin's finest.
    They get home to a 3 bed house that cost them 8 million quid, and ponder suicide because they are in 9 million quid worth of negative equity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Myggel

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    What would you prefer, the real Ireland being shown? Sure maybe they could have the family enjoying a day out in dublin, getting pissed on and everyone walking around all mopey and grey. Then they get robbed and have the **** kicked out of them by a load of scumbags for being foreign. Then they go home on the red luas line and are spat on and hassled by groups of knackers kids. So they have to get off and get a taxi where they are treated to a few minutes of racism by one of Dublin's finest.
    They get home to a 3 bed house that cost them 8 million quid, and ponder suicide because they are in 9 million quid worth of negative equity.

Kinda replacing one stereotype with another there. The above has happened to ZERO people I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yer one on the far left is hawt, who cares what the Germans think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The Irish, cos the Irish love to know what the rest of the world thinks of you!

Remember the Eastenders goes Weshtenders shocker? There were questions in the house.

Myggel wrote: »
    Kinda replacing one stereotype with another there. The above has happened to ZERO people I know.

well, replace the word foreign with 'From Dublin' and it's happened to pretty much everyone I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

mikom wrote: »

Fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭EJLL

Rojomcdojo wrote: »

That's pretty much how I view Dublin. Says it all really. I feel sorry for anyone visiting that city. "How much for a pint???"

I like the German optimistic, quaint outlook of Ireland. It would be worse if the programme painted the picture quoted above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Why are they all ducking in that picture - have the flying rocks been photoshopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Why are they all ducking in that picture - have the flying rocks been photoshopped?

Spose so, if you look close enough you can see the trail of dust left by one of them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Hitler youth comes to Ireland , 2009 style .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Oh dear, the 2 women in that pic look like spoons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

DarkJager wrote: »
    Oh dear, the 2 women in that pic look like spoons.
    Perhaps they are looking for the nearest Weatherspoons pub .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭acontadino

its good, some people would have you believe ireland doesnt matter but this shows thye have an interest in us. i dont care about stereotypes. we are a rural country traditionally and i have no problem with this. cool in fact i think. remember the apres match stereotyping of the germans in 2006.

by the way rojom you are some absolute amadan. most people that i have talked to from other parts of europe have had nothing but great things to say about ireland. stop being a tosser.

one thing i dont get though is the article mentions the lisbon treaty, now im pro-eu and would vote yes to lisbon, but if a referendum was held in germany tommorow the treaty would probably be defeated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

how did I miss this little gem. Have to say that German TV is brutal, they have some awful ****e on it (apart from the late night ads). I can only imagine what this is like! Feck it though, I think I'll round up a few of the locals, a crate of beer, bottle of whiskey, and we'll have a shot for every cliché that gets thrown out!

Ah here we go. Not sure if you can see it outside Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭ScabbyLeg

I've seen this a couple of times, I think it's gas! They've literally set up a soap style production, all in German, in some small village!
    A typical scene would be a full German dialogue only to be interrupted by a passing Garda who greets them with a good genuine "howsagoin' sir".

Another scene I remember was the main guy and some lady friend trying to get somewhere by an old rickety motor boat in the middle of the night and in stormy weather, only to have the boat break down in said treacherous conditions. Luckily there's a large hammer at hand, he takes it and cracks the motor one and it springs into life. "Ah" says the girl, "that's what we call The Irish Way!"

Fantastic stuff!
    If RTÉ had any sense they'd be frantically re-dubbing old episodes of Glenroe for the German market!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Sounds like Glenroe for the Germans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,712 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Is the young girl saying "send in ze Panzers und destroy Butlerstown. Next ve take Courtmacsherry und Broad Strand."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭ScabbyLeg

Is the young girl saying "send in ze Panzers und destroy Butlerstown. Next ve take Courtmacsherry und Broad Strand."

jester77 wrote: »

Ah here we go. Not sure if you can see it outside Germany.

Nope, someone will need to youtube it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

No, I wouldn't think she is.
    She looks old enough to understand the difference between funny and shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

Ah in fairness the sheep farmer dosnt seem to have a drinking problem, so they have totally stereotyped Ireland!
    While its does look terrible it can't be as bad as when Heroes came to Cork...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

Nope, someone will need to youtube it.
    I'm watching it grand here.

Especially liked the subtitle "Done some more sole searching?" :D

As for stereotypes, you can hear a sheep bleating as Dr Winter and your one kiss in a field. But it's sunny :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

legendal wrote: »
    As for stereotypes, you can hear a sheep bleating as Dr Winter and your one kiss in a field. But it's sunny :confused:
    Woah, wait, sheep don't bleat when it's sunny?

*mind blown*

11811 wrote: »
    Ah in fairness the sheep farmer dosnt seem to have a drinking problem, so they have totally stereotyped Ireland!

They never said whether that guy ever found his Ipods.

Ah tis working in FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭psicic

I actually was reading about these a few weeks back cause they star Eva Habermann from cult classic Lexx.

The print version of the Times had her in all her sexy shepherdess-ness.

psicic wrote: »
    I actually was reading about these a few weeks back cause they star Eva Habermann from cult classic Lexx.

The print version of the Times had her in all her sexy shepherdess-ness.

I see on IMDB that she plays Erin O'Toole - I wonder if that should be Aryan O'Toole..........................:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

Its full of Orish sterotyping yet no-one is up in arms!

You can say the same for Killinaskully. At least the Germans have the excuse of not being familiar with Ireland (they simply don't know any better), but when our own television producers are still trying to appeal to that outdated "backwards rural yahoos" nostalgia on the part of people who can't accept the changes (good or bad) in our society, it really goes to show just how lame and old-fashioned our TV output remains.

We can't really criticise the Germans for making a show like this if we are still clinging onto the same rolling green hills/Ryan's Daughter/wacky culchies image of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

11811 wrote: »

Argh - I though I'd purged that from my memory. Stage Oirish is one thing, but when supposed siblings have completely different fake accents it really grinds my gears. It's no surprise to me that Caitlín (who they inexplicably pronounced Kate-lynn instead of Kathleen) is really English. Surely the makers could have found some genuine local actress? It's not like yer one did anything that your average Cork drama student couldn't pull off.

And don't get me started on the Guards having firearms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

soupy norman seems a waste now

this is hilarious the dialouge is awful

at one point one 'irish' guy says, what the guy from germany he going to be our doctor, he's not touching me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭MySelf56

Oh come on... :D