Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gunner Airsoft

• 05-03-2009 7:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭

Im looking to order a sniper from Gunner Airsoft.

Has anyone had any dealings with these?
    Will there be any problems with customs when it gets here?

Any help would be much appreciated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Many of their rifles are over our legal limit, be careful when ordering to ensure it's below 1J (328fps with .20g bb). Should the rifle be over the limit, under no circumstances order it. It will be classed as a firearm and, should customs inspect it (they will) and deem it necessary to send to the Garda Ballistics labs (it happens quite a bit), the rifle will be destroyed and you could face charges for importation of an illegal firearm.
    In other words, it's not worth the risk.
    If it is over the limit, enquire with one of the Irish retailers about getting a downgraded version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Necron99

Gunner offer a free downgrade service with all Airsoft guns shipped to Ireland, they can take a while to process (downgrade) but once its done the shipment process with TnT is nice and fast.

Just put down that due to Irish law can they downgrade it in the special request / comment section of the order process.

Just bought a SL8 from them myself 2 weeks ago. Only took half a day to clear customs for me as I said in an earlier post must have caught them on a happy day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I was under the impression that Gunner had ceased doing downgrades due to them being a bit, well, sloppy? I know RSOV stopped doing them but I thought Gunner had too.
    Good to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

If the order costs more than 120 Euro, including the shipping costs (Which it pretty much is guaranteed to be, if your ordering a rifle). You will have to pay roughly 25% of that total cost to customs.

Then there is a chance TNT or whoever is delivering it will charge you a service charge. Which will be 30-40 squid.

If it gets stopped by customs, it may take a few weeks to get the gun from them. That is only if it was downgraded successfully.

If after all of this you still think its worth it, go for it. I have imported a few guns from Hong Kong (Just pistols). Gunner Airsoft have a good track history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭moggser

Necron99 wrote: »
    Gunner offer a free downgrade service with all Airsoft guns shipped to Ireland, they can take a while to process (downgrade) but once its done the shipment process with TnT is nice and fast.

Just put down that due to Irish law can they downgrade it in the special request / comment section of the order process.

Just bought a SL8 from them myself 2 weeks ago. Only took half a day to clear customs for me as I said in an earlier post must have caught them on a happy day.

not all downgrades from there are free
    and are usually a sugar job done to it as dex say's
    when they do it for free its normally they butcher the spring amd all sorts
    sure i paid for a upgrade / downgrade when i say that i mean new shims gearbox work and stuff to make it fire at 320fps when i got it i thought it was lame i gave it to richie and he opened it and found shims losely around the gear box spare ones like and the spring was in half which explained the lame performance from it but the quality of they stuff put in was godd but the workmanship was far from good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭moggser

-PornStar- wrote: »
    If the order costs more than 120 Euro, including the shipping costs (Which it pretty much is guaranteed to be, if your ordering a rifle). You will have to pay roughly 25% of that total cost to customs.

Then there is a chance TNT or whoever is delivering it will charge you a service charge. Which will be 30-40 squid.

you dont pay twice
    when you order something from Gunner you pay for the item/s and then delivery on top which is normally tnt then when it gets here you pay tnt vat which is 21.5% plus a % freight charge mixed in with it which they collect for the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Made a 360 USD order there about a month ago. Once it shipped took like 5 days. It was delayed as they downgraded the sig and marked the box. Went through customs in a flsh, no problems:) They do cut the air nozzle which is a quick and effective way of doing it, but it means you'll need to buy a new spring and nozzle. With a sniper though, as they have metal nozzles, and the spring is easy to change, I'd say thats what they'd do. Jacky is really helpfull, drop her an email, should get a response within 48hrs. We had an item damaged in transport(they packed it into another box, in a way that was exposed), and they shipped a new one post haste:)

BTW, not all downgrades are free, you have to pay for items like the JG G36C.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭stephenshields2

****e, i nearly forgot about the whole legal limit being 320FPS or thereabouts.

I want a cheap sniper, but i dont think i want to run the risk of getting guards involved, or shelling out a load of cash to customs!! :rolleyes:

Thanks for all the help and info lads!!