Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Daytime-Dancing

• 04-03-2009 6:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭

New Day Club this Sunday @ Cafe Urbano I.F.S.C.

gview?thid=11fceb6f8169461c&attid=0.1&a=bi&docid=919a71bd0d2cfe333e488151abdfff4d%7C9cbae35e7567eaf5db96f9d60a04c085&chan=EQAAAGCOjKk%2BPnT0IrWBsDCxmljDbCtoeBI%2FPDSC8%2FcwcBQz&pagenumber=1&w=1012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

I can't see this picture because of this stone age computer in work. What's happening in Cafe Urbano on Sundays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

I can't see this picture because of this stone age computer in work. What's happening in Cafe Urbano on Sundays?

Its a new weekly Sunday club that my mate and a couple of us are doing.
    Theres nothing going on in Dublin @ the mo with regards to good tunes during the day @ the weekend so we hope this fills that gap.

Try come along.

Sounds good. I live in the IFSC so I'll definitely try to get along to this. What's the style with it, music, times etc??

Its been called off till next Sunday. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

just as a matter of interest, who's djing at it?

is it crowd gonna be the old out on the liffey / slatterys / claddagh ring crew?

Táck wrote: »
    just as a matter of interest, who's djing at it?

is it crowd gonna be the old out on the liffey / slatterys / claddagh ring crew?

I think invariably these kind of things would attract that "crew"as you put it but we are trying to start something fresh so hopefully it will be better than previous day clubs. Also the venue are providing their own security so we think this will minimise any undesireables!!! Having said that I had many a great Sat or Sun in Slatterys. Its all about the tunes IMO and if you can create a good vibe with the music you create a good atmosphere. Im one of the Djs that will be playing to answer your question.

and will you have johnny nolan or skinny playing...ever?

i too did have some savage and i mean savage days in slatterys more so then the liffey and definetly more so then the claddagh. remember a few faces, sure there all over the sunday world most weeks. their won scurity is a good thing...i remember being in the liffey and then going to slatterys and the ame bouncers were there and then onto the claddagh.

nothing wrong with this crowd really for me, i jsut know for a fact i wont be able to persuade any of the sunday sessioners in my house to leave and go in, and if i manage once, they wont go again, regardless of the music

Táck wrote: »
    and will you have johnny nolan or skinny playing...ever?

i too did have some savage and i mean savage days in slatterys more so then the liffey and definetly more so then the claddagh. remember a few faces, sure there all over the sunday world most weeks. their won scurity is a good thing...i remember being in the liffey and then going to slatterys and the ame bouncers were there and then onto the claddagh.

nothing wrong with this crowd really for me, i jsut know for a fact i wont be able to persuade any of the sunday sessioners in my house to leave and go in, and if i manage once, they wont go again, regardless of the music

You'll probably know me so!! ;)

Nah Skinny and John Nolan aren't involved. Just me and a couple of mates.Come in and have a goo anyway. Would like to get some feedback regardless.

First Gig this Sunday.

Really looking forward to it.

Hopefully some of yee can make it. ;)

gview?a=v&attid=0.1&thid=11fceb6f8169461c&mt=application%2Fpdf&pli=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

What times? Free in? What kinda tunes we talking?

Simona1986 wrote: »
    What times? Free in? What kinda tunes we talking?

Starting at half 12. Well I play house music. Don't like sub genrelising as I suppose I play a few different types. The other 2 lads the same.
    My theory on music is it should make ya wanna dance your arse off and make you happy hopefully thats what my set does! :P

who are the other two lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

I love in the IFSC too!

IF the music policy of this new club isn't a big ball of cheesy bollix I'll deffo be heading in to make an appearance.

Hey promoter do you have any mixes of yours floating around the net?

Cheers, Giles

Nah nothing up Giles.
    The other 2 lads are friends.
    Having listened to one of your mixes before Giles I dont know if you would be into it. Come along anyway. Im on from half 1 to 3. I shall be one of the first djs to play so Im not gona be banging as I have to think of the other lads. I play a bit of vocal house amongs other things so I know thats what a lot off yee call "Cheese".

Anyway hopefully it ill be a good day and we can keep it going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

Nah nothing up Giles.
    The other 2 lads are friends.
    Having listened to one of your mixes before Giles I dont know if you would be into it. Come along anyway. Im on from half 1 to 3. I shall be one of the first djs to play so Im not gona be banging as I have to think of the other lads. I play a bit of vocal house amongs other things so I know thats what a lot off yee call "Cheese".

Anyway hopefully it ill be a good day and we can keep it going.

I might well check it out if I'm in an able state!

Called off again lads!!!! :mad:

The venue is flooded and wont be right by tomorrow.

The Gods are conspiring against us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭SYLT

Is it 18's yeh?

Booze served?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Sounds interesting. Just cause its viocal house doesn't mean its cheese..
    Any more info on it?

Of course its 18s.
    Yeh and there is a bar in there.
    No more info on it really Zascar.
    Its a bit of a learning curve for us, its the 1st time my mate with help from us has ever tried doing our own thing. So hopefully all goes to plan on Sunday, 3rd time lucky and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

If im out and about ill try make it in;)

ps- jaysus lads it's well for youse being able to afford to live in the IFSC giving the present circumstances:D

jonny68 wrote: »
    If im out and about ill try make it in;)

ps- jaysus lads it's well for youse being able to afford to live in the IFSC giving the present circumstances:D

Try your best man, should be good.
    Defo going ahead this weekend!!!
    3rd time lucky and all that. :o

Yeah will do man,by the way is there a cover charge or is it free?

jonny68 wrote: »
    Yeah will do man,by the way is there a cover charge or is it free?
    #

Im nearly sure its free in.
    Ill confirm that though.
    Tell you tomorrow.

How did this go Yesterday??? Couldn't make it as I was working.

Went very well.

Good turnout for the 1st gig.

Try come along next weekend.

Great venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

Live near enough to the venue and was in spar yesterday around 6 and heard some good tuneage..would of stook my head in the door if i knew what it was.May pop in some week,best of luck with it.

sorry never made it, i was at a house party Sat nite and was the worse for wear after being on the sauce all day for the Rugby and Boxing so went straight home Sun morning and didn't get out of the bed until that evening:o wil defo pop in again.

Thanks for the positive comments lads.
    Hopefully it lasts.
    We had a great time on Sunday.
    Long may it continue.

Hope to see you again this Sunday for more fun and frolics!!!
    :P

Mr Al Keegan will be guesting this week.

Great turnout last week.

Hopefully we keep the momentum.

12:30 to 8 o'clock.

€5 at the door.

See You there!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 orangen

Is this gonna be on Easter Sunday too?

Yeah its on next week aswell.

Should be a good 1.

Try make it.