Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vampire Weekend?

• 03-03-2009 8:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

Anyone listen to Vampire Weekend? They're an NY indie band, and they're unbelievably good. A-Punk, their most popular song, is undeniably catchy, but they've so much more on their eponymous first album, like Cape
    Cod Kwassa Kwassa
    with its African inspired twang.
    If you haven't already, look 'em up! http://www.last.fm/music/Vampire+Weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

love them, saw them live last year and they were brilliant.
    cape cod kwassa kwassa is a great song!
    at the moment i'm going through a bit of a walcott phase, it's a great song, love the whole album

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,031 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

andyh87 wrote: »
    Anyone listen to Vampire Weekend? They're an NY indie band, and they're unbelievably good. A-Punk, their most popular song, is undeniably catchy, but they've so much more on their eponymous first album, like Cape
    Cod Kwassa Kwassa
    with its African inspired twang.
    If you haven't already, look 'em up! http://www.last.fm/music/Vampire+Weekend
    Been listening to them since 2007. I'm actually the one who uploaded the pic in that link :D

This is one of the songs off their upcoming album, I LOVE it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 srmnm

Yep! Love'm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭I-like-eggs,mmm

Love them! :-)
    Campus and A-Punk are great!

One(Blake's got a new face)...not so much..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

that riff in white sky is awesomeness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

One(Blake's got a new face)...not so much..

Yeah. Album's grand. That song is truly awful though. Really!! Don't know what they were thinking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

I had the pleasure of supporting them last year, they're good lads. Prefer their stuff live ... I think that Blakes got a new face song comes alive with the crowd singing, otherwise I'm not a fan of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 andyh87

I had the pleasure of supporting them last year, they're good lads. Prefer their stuff live ... I think that Blakes got a new face song comes alive with the crowd singing, otherwise I'm not a fan of it.

Supported them? That's mental, what band you in?

My favourite Vampire Weekend song at the moment has to be Ottoman (it's on the soundtrack of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist):
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrTrpYKchfU

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 Langer Dan

Like the album, pretty done with it at this stage though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭cheekay

excellent band.i saw them live and thought they were brilliant.oxford common and a punk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

No

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Yep. They're a quality band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 marzabar

yah, epic band!

Know if they're playing Ireland anytime soon again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 nylon

I wonder how long they'll last, but their stuff is ridiculously catchy. Puts a spring in my step when it comes on the auld personal stereo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Aridstarling

Never understood the hype to be honest. Not a bad band but they don't exactly set my world alight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭paddyb125

In my top five albums of last year!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

the album is actually perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It's actually not. Average at best, and even that's pushing it.

Like MGMT they'll disappear as quick as they appeared.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    It's actually not. Average at best, and even that's pushing it.

Like MGMT they'll disappear as quick as they appeared.

I think MGMT have a far bigger appeal and a greater chance of survival.
    MGMT's album is much more original and I'd certainly rate it far above Vampire Weekend's one. Which probably is, while catchy and mildly original, fairly average in my opinion.

It's very hard to gauge how a band's second album will fare or what direction they'll take. Some bands, like Radiohead, Interpol, Muse etc produce stunning second albums which maintain or even improve on the quality of the first. However others like Snow Patrol, Feeder, have their albums decrease in quality over time. Often to conform with the needs of the mainstream listening public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,791 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I think their album is absolute quality. I wouldn't agree that MGMT's stuff is more original at all. Besides Time to Pretend there isn't really much on that album that hasn't been done before.

Vampire Weekend have several songs that made me smile simply by virtue of the fact that they were "different". Mansard Roof, M79, Kids Don't Stand a Chance would be a face. Even One is fairly unique (whether you like it or not is another matter tbf).

Anyone know when the second album is out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

MGMT's album is far from perfect. it's been said before it only half of it is actually good. vampire weekend's album is perfect. keeps you engaged the whole way through, it flows perfectly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Diamond007

Ye i really like them too :D

MGMT's album is far from perfect. it's been said before it only half of it is actually good. vampire weekend's album is perfect. keeps you engaged the whole way through, it flows perfectly

Eh. That's your opinion. If you think VW's album is perfect then I think MGMT's album is perect. It flows perfectly IN MY OPINION. I don't think VW's album flows to be honest..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

I reckon even Vampire Weekend wouldn't call their album perfect. When you see them live and then listen to the album, it just feels a bit dead. I haven't read any interviews, but I wouldn't be surprised if they were less than happy but put it down to first album. It's all a learning process. I reckon if the 2nd album can capture the live energy and flow then it'll be a keeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Hmm, I only listened to the album twice I think, and I have to say I'm pretty unimpressed... I wasn't that into the singles which were rammed down my throat on a daily basis in work! Feckin' music in work has ruined many a good song for me, but I don't think VW fit into that catagory!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I've had a few listens to this now and I'm fairly impressed. There's some great chill-out tunes in there that can put you in a good mood. "Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa" and "Walcott" are both excellent. I think they've got a raw deal with mainstream coverage in that they've been completely overshadowed by MGMT (who are inferior in my opinion). Haven't managed to see them live yet but I've heard that they were fairly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Alan Noir

It's alright. They're a flash in the pan though.

I think it's a symptom of the bar being so low with regards to alternative music these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I really hate them apart from M79 which is a ****ing awesome song. Like and 18th century ballroom song clashed with indie. Was very dissapointed that the rest of the album didn't sound like that

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Jesus i can't stand these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭insinkerator

I dont actively hate them.

For me they are like the Delorentos. OK when you listen to them, but instantly forgettable. Which for me, makes it bad music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭chris d

I like this band.

The album is really good. Concise. Mature. Catchy. Original.
    There is no fat to be trimmed.

I like peter gabriel's cover of cape cod with hot chip/fat chip? what's that bands name?

But yeah, go go Vampire Weekend.