Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice for a mate please

• 03-03-2009 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

First off Ill come clean and admit Im a boards user under a different name. Ive setup this account to post this question as I suspect that some people I know may know my normal username and may be able to put two and two together from some of the rest of this tho its not common knowledge.

I called over to my friends this evening on the way home from work and was told a rather strange tale of his weekend. He asked me to post this to see if any useful advice may come of it.

Basically he and a gang of his mates were in a nightclub over the weekend. He and one mate left and were a couple of hundred yards from the place when they were set on by three bouncers. He got a bit of a battering - was held on the ground by one while being kicked in the back by the other at one stage. This was as a result of something else in the club but not violence. He has no memory of anything from before he walked out the door until later. His mate is the one with the memories.

Anyway the guards arrived part way through this and put them in the car and had a chat with the bouncers. They were brought to the station and put in the cells for a few hours. At the point of them being released his memories come back some as hed seemingly slept while there. Their stuff like phone and watches had been taken off them so they were given that back and invited to sign what he assumes was some sort of property book. He was starting to come round a bit and started to try and read this and though he cant remember any of it he and his mate do both remember being clearly told that they didnt need to read it and there was mention of putting him back in the cell. Anyway after a few minutes the guards just told them to get out and his mate definitely didnt sign the book and they both reckon he didnt either.

Now hes worried that there is a nasty surprise around the corner. Is there any way to find out is mainly what hes wondering. They dont know the names of any of the guards. Also the guards never mentioned the incident that led to the bouncers coming after them.

Hes happy to drop it at that if they are though I reckon hes mad given the way it unfolded. None of them are hurt as theyre both tough little nuts and all they want is for it to go away. They both freely admit they were in the wrong earlier and consider the rest enough of a punishment. How long would something like this take to come up?

What do ppl here think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

jhnnymyr wrote: »
    Now hes worried that there is a nasty surprise around the corner. Is there any way to find out is mainly what hes wondering. They dont know the names of any of the guards. Also the guards never mentioned the incident that led to the bouncers coming after them.

Hes happy to drop it at that if they are though I reckon hes mad given the way it unfolded. None of them are hurt as theyre both tough little nuts and all they want is for it to go away. They both freely admit they were in the wrong earlier and consider the rest enough of a punishment. How long would something like this take to come up?

What do ppl here think?

I dont understand - from what you have written, why would your friends be in trouble? Surely it is them that should be taking matters further, not the guards. I'm afraid unless you give a less one-sided version of events, there is very little scope for discussion here....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 jhnnymyr

I'm not deliberatly being onesided but its what I was told. One problem with giving more detail is that it makes things more obvious to anyone else who was in the area. Im not even sure of all the details of what happened in the club only that it was something to do with the swiping of drink. I do know they were not asked to leave or put out but someone mustve twigged just after they left.

The main thing he is wondering about is if there is a potential for charges here or can he safely stop worrying and move on. Hes never been in trouble in his life and this has rattled him.

I and most of the rest of the lads who were there seem to be of the opinion that nothing will come of it and they were only held by the guards cos they were pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

No offence intended but the account you have posted is quite badly written so I can't understand it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

OP we cant give an informed opinion without a somewhat clear and credible story. This thing of your mate cant remember but then suddenly he can and his mate remembers everything etc etc. Sorry but it seems to be a bit of a made up story.

If they genuinely cant remember everything then they mustve been fairly drunk so any accounts of the night could be fairly skewed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Tell your friend to write to the Superintendent in the Garda station, asking why your friend was arrested. Ask for the legal and factual basis underlying the arrest. There should be a custody record of your friend if he was detained in the Garda station. Ring up first to find out the name of the Super and send in the letter by registered post.

If your friend is seeking compensation on grounds of a false arrest, then perhaps he should speak to a solicitor. However, if he merely wants to know why he was arrested, then the above method should suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 jhnnymyr

Im sorry if its not clear. His memory is gone since he left the club to later in the station. His mate has quite a good memory of the night but was still very drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

jhnnymyr wrote: »
    What do ppl here think?

I am also confused by your post. It lacks in everything. I would, at this stage, go by #6 & request a reason for the apparent detention.

All should be recorded on the custody sheet/officers notes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭pansoul

I suppose the best advice in these kinds of situations is to tell your friends to get pissed again and forget all about it. :)

Seriously though, it sounds like a complete nothing-story to me. Best to just mark it down as experience and hopefully as a result of such mature reflection your friends can contribute a little more to society than crying into their pillows and stealing drinks in a club. Hopefully anyway. :)