Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The legend of Chun Li.....

• 03-03-2009 6:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭

*sighs*

has anyone seen this yet? as a huge fan of the game from its early beginnings, this movie did more damage than good to anyone who played it...
    Since when was Bison Irish?...since when did Vega get his ass kicked so easily?

Where did Gen come from?....nothing was explained, NOTHING!....the house at the end?...who's was that?...she had no job...
    Yes, I know its only a movie but come on! has there ever been a great adaptation of a game ever?....the original street fighter was worse than this, I'll give it that much, and maybe the market or demand isnt there to put the millions into a game and get a good director to create a movie out of it, as it was evident this Director was of a very poor skill level. To top it off Chris Klein?...wtf? he was trying to sound like Jack bauer or something, his acting scenes were just.....just terrible...

did anyone else think this was a flop?

[SMod Edit: Don't spoil it for others]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Seriosuly, Bison was Irish in the film? dear god.

And isn't Chun Li supposed to be Chinese, not an american actress from Smallville.
    Who did Moon Bloodgood play in it? Hope a film like this dosent destroy her career already, im quite the fan :P.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

A grand total of 0% on Rotten Tomatoes apparently :pac:
    Looks pretty dreadful. But Hollywood will continue to taint our favourite games no matter what classics are vandalised in the process.

It is a sad state of affairs when Silent Hill is probably the closest they've come to nailing down a film adaptation. Storytelling was pretty weak, but at least the director seemed to understand what the appeal of the game was (for the first half at least, then it went a little mad).

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Forget Silent Hill. You want a truly great adaptation of a game? Street Fighter II: The Animated Movie is that film. The story was decent, the visuals were great, the voice acting was suitable, and the fights were fantastic. Slight downside was the inclusion of a needless Chun Li "woops, are those my boobs?" scene for the hentai fanboys, but other than that it was undiluted awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

+1 on Street Fighter II the animated film. It is an exceptionally epic version of the street fighter saga and the only one I ever watch. I rented it once a month or so when I was younger and I finally bought my own copy last year. I definitely recommend you check this out if you are a street fighter fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Fysh wrote: »
    Chun Li "woops, are those my boobs?" scene for the hentai fanboys,

The boobs have since been cut out. My copy doesn't have it and a friend I know who also has the DVD reports the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

Teddi wrote: »
    *sighs*

has anyone seen this yet? as a huge fan of the game from its early beginnings, this movie did more damage than good to anyone who played it...

Since when was Bison Irish?...since when did Vega get his ass kicked so easily?

Where did Gen come from?....nothing was explained, NOTHING!....the house at the end?...who's was that?...she had no job...

Yes, I know its only a movie but come on! has there ever been a great adaptation of a game ever?....the original street fighter was worse than this, I'll give it that much, and maybe the market or demand isnt there to put the millions into a game and get a good director to create a movie out of it, as it was evident this Director was of a very poor skill level. To top it off Chris Klein?...wtf? he was trying to sound like Jack bauer or something, his acting scenes were just.....just terrible...

did anyone else think this was a flop?

Would you like to tell people how it ended too. Use spoiler tags mate, it doesn't bother me I don't want to see the film but i'm sure there is a person out there who will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

Corholio wrote: »
    And isn't Chun Li supposed to be Chinese, not an american actress from Smallville.

Canadian. And since when does an actors nationality matter when they're playing a part? There was a guy on another film forum giving out that Sean Penn won the Oscar for playing a gay man in Milk when he isn't gay himself in real life. It just baffles the mind :confused:

And OP edit your post to include spoiler tags. You just ruined character and plot information. Thanks for that for a film I was looking forward to going to see
    even though I knew it would be terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Teddi

apologies over the spoiler part guys , I wasnt thinking..

Brimmy: I saved you nearly 2 hours of your life, you should be thanking me! :D

I think I saw the animated version of street fighter, though Im not sure it was the one available for children as nearly every line had f*** you , you a**hole etc etc...that rocked!...

speaking of which, that new Hulk Vs. animated double movie looks promising :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Teddi wrote: »
    I think I saw the animated version of street fighter, though Im not sure it was the one available for children as nearly every line had f*** you , you a**hole etc etc...that rocked!...

I'm pretty sure that's the one, it was rated 15 I think. Great film though, and the soundtrack was pretty good too as I remember - great music for the fight sequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Brimmy wrote: »
    Canadian. And since when does an actors nationality matter when they're playing a part? There was a guy on another film forum giving out that Sean Penn won the Oscar for playing a gay man in Milk when he isn't gay himself in real life. It just baffles the mind :confused:

And OP edit your post to include spoiler tags. You just ruined character and plot information. Thanks for that for a film I was looking forward to going to see
    even though I knew it would be terrible

Potato. Potatoe.

Ah but lets be honest, she's Chinese in the game. They could have at least kept the look of Chun Li, nationality dosent really matter then. At least in the first Street Fighter they weren't too far off with a lot of the characters.

Imagine Michael Collins played by Forest Whitaker instead of Liam Neeson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

You're mixing up completly different races... And personal I wouldn't mind if they applied queer theory to any film as long as the actors were good at the part. See Synecdoche when it comes out to illustrate my point :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Valmont wrote: »
    The boobs have since been cut out. My copy doesn't have it and a friend I know who also has the DVD reports the same.

Mine has the pointless boobs scene in it. I heard that they were supposed to be in the Japanese version only, but they show up in the English one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

It is a sad state of affairs when Silent Hill is probably the closest they've come to nailing down a film adaptation.

Mortal Kombat anyone? Best IMO. Lets just pretend there wasn't a sequel....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Mortal Kombat anyone? Best IMO. Lets just pretend there wasn't a sequel....:p

True enough that was a good adaptation or maybe it was just the fact I was so young when the film came out.

Wonder if the remake will ever see the light of day.

Mortal Kombat? Are you kidding me? "It's not about death, but life"? And Raiden the vengeful thunder god suddenly gets relegated to some twit who sits around doing nothing except letting his eyeballs flare occasionally? It was bloody awful at the time, and the only thing that made it look ok at the time was the even worse quality of the Street Fighter live action film.

No, thank you. I'll stick to my original choice, I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Mortal Kombat had one thing the Street Fighter movie critically lacked... fight scenes!

Galvasean wrote: »
    Mortal Kombat had one thing the Street Fighter movie critically lacked... fight scenes!

Oh yeah, but they both still sucked fat donkey cock. Especially in comparison to the Street Fighter animated movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

The Street Fighter animated movie is AWESOME!

Has anyone seen the Street Fighter Alpha animated movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭paulieeye

went to see this last night..OMG wat a pile of shiite
    Bison is suppsed to be Oirish..but he's a baby with no parents in Bangkok..where did the diddle-idle accent come from..are we genetically imprinted with it??
    Gen must be some sort of Ken/Chinese hybrid, useless

and finally Chris Klein..unbelivable bad

up there with the Guru as the worst ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

Overblood wrote: »
    The Street Fighter animated movie is AWESOME!

Has anyone seen the Street Fighter Alpha animated movie?

The Alpha movie has better animation, that's about it. It's not nearly as entertaining!

I know it's terrible, but I still wanna see Legend of Chun Li. Is is only on limited release here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

Street Fighter animated was and still is miles ahead of any other video game movie. I remember getting it on vhs for my birthday or christmas years ago. Still have it. Waiting to pick it up on dvd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Its proper sh1te..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

Fysh wrote: »
    Forget Silent Hill. You want a truly great adaptation of a game? Street Fighter II: The Animated Movie is that film. The story was decent, the visuals were great, the voice acting was suitable, and the fights were fantastic. Slight downside was the inclusion of a needless Chun Li "woops, are those my boobs?" scene for the hentai fanboys, but other than that it was undiluted awesome.

not talking about animation, FILMS, real life video for pedantic ones.
    So silent hill..... thats just one exception the the pattern, still a pattern.
    Anyone remember mario bros *sigh* and the mortal kombats..