Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heart says "Yes!", head says "hmm, I don't know.."

• 03-03-2009 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭

Hi folks,

Well this is my situation. Currently drive an 01 Astra 1.4 Hatchback and have been getting itchy feet now for a while.

Being a daily surfer of carzone and adverts, I have a fair idea of what I do and don't like. So this leads me to a dilemma - the Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 T-spark. I don't know what it is, but this car just seems a hell of a lot nicer than many of its rivals both inside and out, and has ranked higher on reliability and other important categories in the Driver Power 2008 Survey (http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/driver_power_2008/archive/?group=category) than my current motor.

Now I know that their reputation is'nt fantastic (so could the alfa bashers please press the 'back' button on the top left) but it should fare well as long as its looked after.

The model in question is a 2003 reg, with 75k on the clock, timing belt replaced around the 50k mark, 5 doors, red - all for around €5,000.

What would you do?

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time,

Cul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I think it's too dear. I'd start looking for a low-mileage 156 that had been absolutely babied and only serviced by either TI Autos or Alasta - you should be able to buy such a car for €5,000 these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's too expensive, and then belts and pump will probably need to be done again soon too. Check the suspension and anti roll bar bushes and wishbones.

If there's no service history then forget about it. If there is a history, make sure there's an NCT... and don't just look at the disc, look at the cert to see how near or far it was from failing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

is all about how the car has been looked after prior to yu buying it. Obviously you will look after it like a baby, but who's to say what previous owners have done to or with it.
    if i were you,
    i would buy one from a SIMI dealer, with a warranty, minimum 3 months.
    Therefore you know it will be fully serviced before purchase.
    also as the lads said above, something with a service history and lower mileage.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/147/1.6-5DR/200908191915220/advert

Here's one from a dealer with low mileage, its an 05 for €5895.
    I'd imagine they'll give you few pound for your own also!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,474 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

whycliff wrote: »
    is all about how the car has been looked after prior to yu buying it. Obviously you will look after it like a baby, but who's to say what previous owners have done to or with it.
    if i were you,
    i would buy one from a SIMI dealer, with a warranty, minimum 3 months.
    Therefore you know it will be fully serviced before purchase.
    also as the lads said above, something with a service history and lower mileage.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/147/1.6-5DR/200908191915220/advert

Here's one from a dealer with low mileage, its an 05 for €5895.
    I'd imagine they'll give you few pound for your own also!!!

its an 03, and most simi dealer warrantys arent worth the paper they write them on :D

take a trip up north, VRT is f all on these cars http://atsearch.autotrader.co.uk/ni/cars_popup.jsp?id=200910329822233

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭siralfalot

Anan1 wrote: »
    I think it's too dear. I'd start looking for a low-mileage 156 that had been absolutely babied and only serviced by either TI Autos or Alasta - you should be able to buy such a car for €5,000 these days.

it might not have the low milage, but the diesels are well able for the milage, and they're far far more reliable and economical than the petrols

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=2778349

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

cul-2008 wrote: »
    Hi folks,

Well this is my situation. Currently drive an 01 Astra 1.4 Hatchback and have been getting itchy feet now for a while.

Being a daily surfer of carzone and adverts, I have a fair idea of what I do and don't like. So this leads me to a dilemma - the Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 T-spark. I don't know what it is, but this car just seems a hell of a lot nicer than many of its rivals both inside and out, and has ranked higher on reliability and other important categories in the Driver Power 2008 Survey (http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/driver_power_2008/archive/?group=category) than my current motor.

Now I know that their reputation is'nt fantastic (so could the alfa bashers please press the 'back' button on the top left) but it should fare well as long as its looked after.

The model in question is a 2003 reg, with 75k on the clock, timing belt replaced around the 50k mark, 5 doors, red - all for around €5,000.

What would you do?

Thanks for your time,

Cul.

Timing belt will need to be changed again in 6k miles. Also the price is probably a bit on the high side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

steve06 wrote: »
    take a trip up north, VRT is f all on these cars http://atsearch.autotrader.co.uk/ni/cars_popup.jsp?id=200910329822233

VRT is actually plenty on these cars, the 1.6 TS engine produces around 195 co2's IIRC. Puts it into the 32% bracket I think.

siralfalot wrote: »
    it might not have the low milage, but the diesels are well able for the milage, and they're far far more reliable and economical than the petrols

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=2778349

Sure, but I see little point in an Alfa without either the 2.0TS or the 3.0V6 under the hood.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I would think you will get a lower mileage car for that price. That one will need its timing belt done shortly...

In general the 147 is a great car & you are right, the interior is fantastic & it is a joy to own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Lovely car but 2003 with 75k will need a timing belt almost immediately (3 years or 36k) is the interval. Make sure they change the tensioners too if they do it for ya. Suspension will no doubt need attention at this stage too. Check front anti roll bar and wishbones. Also rear transverse arms can wear. Id be shocked if it didnt have or need a few bits replaced at this stage. Front suspension work can be expensive. Allow around 4-500 for the ARB and 6-700 if all the wishbones need replacing (1000 if your going main dealer).

Another thing to do it check the gear change between 1st and 2nd and especially 2nd and 3rd at high revs. Should be smooth.

Very important oil was always checked weekly and listen for any knocking from the bottom end of the engine. Run run run if you hear any. Other than that they;re smashing. But the older ones can be got very cheap mainly because lots of work may need to be done.

VRT is €2828 - this can be argued as the car isn't worth the 8840 that they say it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Keep saving and get a proper Alfa.

Its totally pointless going from a perfectly running Astra, to a slightly punchier 147.Its gonna cost you a small fortune for what is a fairly basic motor and bottom of the barrel Alfa wise.My advice would be get 8 or 9k together and get a good Alfa.

If you put in a good bit of work and you will get one of these in a few months in the UK for under 10k including vrt and the lot.

tnCB4_1317446_6_1212656.jpg

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1317446

That's not a proper Alfa, this is a proper Alfa http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/899841.htm

Tony Broke wrote: »
    Keep saving and get a proper Alfa.

Its totally pointless going from a perfectly running Astra, to a slightly punchier 147.Its gonna cost you a small fortune for what is a fairly basic motor and bottom of the barrel Alfa wise.My advice would be get 8 or 9k together and get a good Alfa.

If you put in a good bit of work and you will get one of these in a few months in the UK for under 10k including vrt and the lot.

tnCB4_1317446_6_1212656.jpg

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1317446

A 1.9 GT is just a 147 with less space in the back ;) Same basic chassis, heavier body, only 2 doors, same, interior, but the seats are supposed to be comfy.

That's not a proper Alfa, this is a proper Alfa http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/899841.htm

^^^The vrt on that yoke is worth more than the car.Class machine alright, but it would kill me me to give the goverment that much.

Bluefoam wrote: »
    A 1.9 GT is just a 147 with less space in the back ;) Same basic chassis, heavier body, only 2 doors, same, interior, but the seats are supposed to be comfy.

Maybe, still some yoke for under 10k though.Hard to beat it imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 emilyj

I had a 03 from new, kept it for 2 years then had to change it for family reasons. Really great car to drive but not very forgiving on bumpy roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

I'd get the alfa 147 diesel if i was you. Mighty car! you can get them in 150bhp too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Ok a bit of a curve ball

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/147/Lusso/200908191888096/advert

But - if its got a FSH, 3rd belt change and a thorough check is done on the suspension etc (which may have had money spent on it already at that mileage) it's a lot of car for the money.

If kept for a few years it will be worth nothing anyway

you could buy my GTV V6 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭pablosd

they are nice cars, and depends on a model/example on reliability....servicing is dear enuf at authorised dealer, independent spec is the only option, as paddy down the road would not have a equipment to fix more serious issues as u need (alfa-made spanners and keys etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

EPM wrote: »
    Stunning car

Drool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,123 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Anan1 wrote: »

Me too. My best mate just bought himself one of those as a big brother to his 3l V6 GTV :)

Great car, great value for money if you buy a good one and have the right indy lined up. A bit more maintenance than average, but then there is no depreciation to speak of.

but lads the front just isn't that pretty.

@unkel: If your mate wanted a big bro for his 3.0 GTV he should have bought something that could at least outrun it.... like a GTA :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,123 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

but lads the front just isn't that pretty.

Who cares? If we all bought pretty cars (Ferraris, Lamborghinis and Porsches), the world would be a very boring place, wouldn't it? :D:p
    @unkel: If your mate wanted a big bro for his 3.0 GTV he should have bought something that could at least outrun it.... like a GTA :)

Do Alfa do a 166 GTA automatic? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Re: the 147, for a daily driver, the car's poor EuroNCAP rating would put me off it. Going from an Astra to a 147 is a backwards step in terms of crash safety, personally I don't believe in going backwards when changing the car.

Frontal impact driver, Astra
    100px.gif

Frontal impact driver, 147
    100px.gif

Legend
    legend-adultoccupant.gif

unkel wrote: »
    Do Alfa do a 166 GTA automatic? ;)

Haha.... I'm considering that 166 myself now actually, I need another car while mine goes in for repair again - I just don't know if I can do another Alfa!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

Hi folks,

What would you do?

Thanks for your time,

Cul.

buy a AE85 corrolla in from japan... only a 1500cc engine, but chances are its not been raped like its 86 brother...

dont see too many around either...

either that or a passat

the 166 was sold last night lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭cul-2008

wow, never though I'd get this amount of replies! thanks to everyone who took the time to reply, I really appreciate it! :)

RE: the alfa, taking everything into account, it just doenst seem like a viable choice anymore - and I had no idea that the NCAP rating was so bad! :eek:

So I'm stuck with my astra for now, but has anyone got any recommendations as to where to go next? Preferably the car has to be 02 onwards, 1.6 would be ideal, with 1.8 the max I can go for insurance reasons..and its has to be comfortable! I've been searching adverts and carzone for weeks, and cant meet anything to match that description for under 8k...

If anyone has any suggestions, please feel free.

Once again thanks for all the replies - can't beat boards.ie for quality advice :)

Cul.

Preferably the car has to be 02 onwards, 1.6 would be ideal, with 1.8 the max I can go for insurance reasons.

Get ready for the Ford Focus brigade....

Ford Foc..oh right...erm...Octavia anyone? Massive boot:D

Have a look at a Leon 1.6 16 valve. Nice cars, decent build and good specs on Signo's

nyone got any recommendations as to where to go next? Preferably the car has to be 02 onwards, 1.6 would be ideal, with 1.8 the max I can go for insurance reasons..and its has to be comfortable! I've been searching adverts and carzone for weeks, and cant meet anything to match that description for under 8k...

Sounds like an Alfa 147 would fit your requirements :D:pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

Have a look at a Leon 1.6 16 valve. Nice cars, decent build and good specs on Signo's

the leons a nice car, everyone prefares the diesels but the petrols alright..

build quality isnt bad, either is price...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Get the octavia,best decision I ever made,big jump in insurance for me tho. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭LoveDucati2

BTW how much would the road tax have been.

Did you see the Top gear special on Alfa's

Think its about €320

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

BTW how much would the road tax have been.

Did you see the Top gear special on Alfa's

I didnt, and it hasnt been repeated yet on dave