Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister Cullen lives to fight another day; Gardai search for helicopter door

• 03-03-2009 9:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/cullen-scare-as-chopper-door-blows-off-in-midair-1659046.html
    TOURISM Minister Martin Cullen was at the centre of a mid-air drama yesterday after the door blew off the Air Corps helicopter he was travelling in.

An inquiry was under way last night after the incident, which happened 500ft over Killarney National Park.

The helicopter was forced into an emergency landing after the dramatic incident but there were no injuries to the three crew members and two passengers on board at the time.

The AW 139 utility helicopter Mr Cullen was using is one of a batch of six delivered to the Air Corps at a cost of €75m, and was only handed over by the manufacturers last July.

Yesterday it was being used to ferry Mr Cullen and one of his officials around.

Manned by three crew members, it carried the former transport minister from his native Waterford to Killarney yesterday morning for the Irish Hotels' Federation conference. It had been due to bring him back to Dublin afterwards but, just three minutes after take- off, the door fell off.

"At 3.30pm an Air Corps AW 139 helicopter carrying Tourism Minister Martin Cullen plus one of his officials made a precautionary landing at the helicopter pad at Killarney Golf & Fishing Club," a Defence Forces spokesman said.

"This followed the loss -- at a height of 500ft -- of the port main door of the helicopter approximately three minutes after take off from Killarney racecourse."/QUOTE]

Shall we add that door to the cost of the e-voting machines Martin? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

RATM wrote: »

Shall we add that door to the cost of the e-voting machines Martin? :D
    I don't know, can you use it to vote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Welcome to yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

He should be done for littering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

RATM wrote: »
    Killarney Golf & Fishing Club, Killarney racecourse.

Looks like a normal Minister day outing when they are not in the Dail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

"This followed the loss -- at a height of 500ft -- of the port main door of the helicopter approximately three minutes after take off from Killarney racecourse."

What the article fails to mention is that Mary Hearney was in the helicopter and had leaned up against the door to rest after consuming a small child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

That fecker is always in a helicopter, isn't he?
    What the article fails to mention is that Mary Hearney was in the helicopter and had leaned up against the door to rest after consuming a small child.

Is Mary a big woman? Is that the joke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 mealone42

asdasd wrote: »
    That fecker is always in a helicopter, isn't he?

Is Mary a big woman? Is that the joke?

I know a fat ugly woman that would be sacred if she was in India that once used OUR PLANE to ferry her and her fat arse over tio the west so she could open a new bar for her friend. Is that the same Mary? Is he the same one whose husband was the boss of FAS once upon a time? Is he the same Mary who obnce in waterford had a small pain in her chest or something like that and was brought straight past the waiting masses in Ardkeen Hospital to get special bovine treatment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

mealone42 wrote: »
    I know a fat ugly woman that would be sacred if she was in India that once used OUR PLANE to ferry her and her fat arse over tio the west so she could open a new bar for her friend. Is that the same Mary? Is he the same one whose husband was the boss of FAS once upon a time? Is he the same Mary who obnce in waterford had a small pain in her chest or something like that and was brought straight past the waiting masses in Ardkeen Hospital to get special bovine treatment?

eh I think you're talking about Senator Mary White FF - so many Mary's knockin round these days...

cheek of someone with a suspected heart condition gettin rushed past kids who fell off their bicycles :p

sickens me though if what you say about the helicopter trip is true - sure I remember reading in the irish times before about ministers state cars, the ministers fly from dublin, and the state cars race over to wherever they're going, shannon airport etc, to take them the rest of the way from the airport, why not drive the whole way and save the expense of the flight FFS or get a taxi from the airport... came up in the scandals about all the ministers drivers breaking speed limits, especially when the ministers arent even in the cars, beggars belief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 mealone42

Tails142 wrote: »
    eh I think you're talking about Senator Mary White FF - so many Mary's knockin round these days...

cheek of someone with a suspected heart condition gettin rushed past kids who fell off their bicycles :p

sickens me though if what you say about the helicopter trip is true - sure I remember reading in the irish times before about ministers state cars, the ministers fly from dublin, and the state cars race over to wherever they're going, shannon airport etc, to take them the rest of the way from the airport, why not drive the whole way and save the expense of the flight FFS or get a taxi from the airport... came up in the scandals about all the ministers drivers breaking speed limits, especially when the ministers arent even in the cars, beggars belief
    Eh no Mary White's hubby was never in Fas. Strange that you would think that!! She is not like a hippo , unlike that other fat cow. There were two local citizens who had heart conditions on that day that the bovine was rushed past them. It turned out to be obesity that was her problem or maybe it was a bad Fas hairdo that was wrong. Could not be her concience. Anyway surely the people need to rise up and rebel against that shower of gangsters. I suspect that already there are groups that will organise revolts and demand that these b******s are made to account to US.:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Tails142 wrote: »

If your company gives you a car for your private use you have to pay tax on it as a benefit in kind. Government ministers need to start being taxed the same way as everyone else -- perhaps then they'd think twice about commandeering a €60,000 car/€75m helicopter/€40k a year Garda chauffeur for every fishing trip or funeral.