Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What should I do to this person??!!

• 03-03-2009 2:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭

:mad:
    Was friends with a guy, but then I moved house. Then I started to get calls "I need money please, I don;t know what to do". He got into very bad situations financially 6 months ago, and only now has he bettered himself.
    He made so many promises on what craic we were going to have, so many promises that he will pay me this next week, that next week, I promise you, I promise you, I had to listen to all this ****e. I went to banks, went out of my way completely for this guy so many times in the past year. Even had to go into my savings. So at the moment he owes me E1,570 and I haven;t got a cent back from him. When he finally got back on track in his life again, getting a wage etc, he just stopped answering my calls.
    What should my next move be? Or should I just forget about it, consider it a good deed of mine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Track him down and demand that he starts paying you back.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Unfortunatly you have very little way of really forcing him to give you the money back. If you can confront him in person, asking if he can pay you back before demanding it, you might get a better response. Its easy to ignore someone over the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

IIIII could have ignored him too!! Ages ago!!!! Maybe I should remind him that by text?? He is now obviously ignoring me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Try and meet him face to face and insist he repays you. It is all you can do. If he refuses, you will just have to chalk it down to experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

Did you put any of your agreement in writing by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭raindog.promo

From reading the thread title i would suggest, nothing violent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

you could always ask a solicitor what you can do from that angle. Depending on how important the sum is to you it might be better in the long run to just write it off and stop considering this person. Or, have you considered installments? Its hard to look 1500 euro in the face, but 200 euro per month (with a bit of interest) would have it back before long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Yeah you've got to talk to him in person. If you know where he lives, call round to him and say "Look xxxxx, you konw you owe me money. I went to a lot of trouble to help you out. I'm not expecting it all back in one go, but I am expecting it back."

See what he says to that and deal with it from there. If he continues to ignore you there's not much you can do. You can always keep bugging him for it of course! Hopefully it'll turn out alright for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭dcukhunter

Not much you can do i'm afraid. You can try and meet them in person and try and arrange a payment plan if they are willing. Otherwise unless you have it in writing it's very hard to prove. I have learnt the same lesson over 5+ grand to a few differant "friends" I dont loan out to anyone now its not worth losing friends to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

1. Log off boards
    2. Pick up your phone
    3. Call solicitor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

This is essentially theft. Ring the solictor and track the ****er down. He can pay you back in installments if needs be. Don't let it slide though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A guy owed me an equal sum and would try to avoid paying. I just kept asking and going round his house getting a 50 here and a 100 there (nothing violent of course, he used to be a mate).
    Eventually (after about 2 years) I had all my money back and cut contact altogether.
    Keep pestering him until you have it all back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I know this is not going to be a popular comment...

I was owed a similar sum by a close relative in similar circumstances- they wouldn't pay either when they got back on their feet. It made my blood boil. After a LOOOOONNNGGGG time, I wrote it off and put it down to experience. I played my part by not listening to my common sense. Now everyone in my family knows my relative is a total deadbeat who is essentially a thief and can't be trusted to pay back a fiver.

I've gotten on with my own life and allowed their tragic tale to carry on without me being part of it. My mental health is far more important than the money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭sammyv

Yes, just keep hassling him, calling around, ringing his house (the same way he pestered you in the first place to get the money)
    Let your other friends know, or his family or partner.
    Shame him into giving you the money back.
    Of course he might not be able to give it back to you in the lump sum, but a bit here and there would be better then nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

OP, wish you well but it sounds as if he intimidated you, even bullied you to a degree. People who demand money from people like that, have no self-respect. They are usually leeches/parasites. Have no sense of shame in not paying their way in life or indeed repaying their debts. They abuse the generosity and goodwill of others, because they are too feckless to handle lifes responsibilities for themselves.

Get someone more assertive to chase after your money, but without anything underhand, if you feel he sees you as a soft touch and is always fobbing you off. At the same time, it is a perfect opportunity to show him you are not a pushover and could try to be more assertive yourself. May be he has a chip on his shoulder, thinks the world owes him something. Whatever the outcome, do not let it eat you up inside or take onboard his misery. What goes around, comes around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Loxosceles

LOLOL!!!! OK story time.

Ok, ok. I won't tell you what to do, but I'll tell you how I dealt with what turned out to what was probably a serious scamming situation involving more people than me, who lost far more than I did. This is one hell of a story and most Irish people wouldn't believe I had the cheek to do what I did.

This happened a year ago.

So this guy I knew who was a retiree and songwriter had a really nice little place in Limerick, was really intelligent (retired lecturer) and supposedly knew loads of famous people, bands, etcetera. I got to know him in the social group of a small Kerry town I love to visit, and we hung out, it was great.

So I get a phone call from him a week later and he tells me that his place was broken into and they got 4 guitars, 3 borrowed, plus sound system, in total nearly 8 grand worth of music equipment. I rush to Limerick to provide moral support.

Now given, we knew the same people in the same Kerry town, right, and none of them say anything to me. So of course I think this guy is sound. Next thing I know, he lets the lease run out on his apartment and (in retrospect I should have realised what he was doing) he cornered me into letting him stay with me, I put a time limit like a month on it.

During that time he acts like I'm the savior of his world, and he makes it look like he's making sure that I'll get a portion of his next pension payment in costs. I do eventually get 200 Euro, but at the same time, fifties kept mysteriously disappearing from desk, wallet, handbag...several times. Then one night he calls me having the most amazing temper tantrum I've ever heard coming out of a sixty year old, it was like a four year old kid, literally screaming into the phone and jumping up and down. He said the money machine ate his card and he didn't know what to do, he had to meet someone in town...again, cornering me for support...and I didn't give him any money; I only suggested he go to the bank the next morning and hung up and let him rage.

Finally since he knew by experience that I was hostile to overtly cute hoors back in Di-uh, the same Kerry town, he decided that he needed to go get his passport back in Limerick...of course, I kind of knew he'd stop off in said Kerry town...which I deep down knew was to go on a binge.

Fun time. Things weren't adding up, so I greased the skids.

While he was gone, I made sure to text him repeatedly with caring and gentle suggestions that he just needed to retire in said Kerry town and enjoy all the drink and fun he wanted in the declining sunset of his life, before he ended up in the dirt; I mean, he sure was entitled to enjoy life before he died, which given how old he was, would be sooner rather than later.

He ended up on the binge of his life, and our friends started calling me right and left saying he couldn't be here, he'd kill himself, he was blibbering at 3 AM in the middle of the town's main street, out of his head on drink and god knows what else. Oh darn, who'd have thunk. *chortle*. I suspected he was more of an addict than his 170 IQ was letting on, and I was correct. Addicts are profoundly suggestible...plant the right ego-greasing suggestion to encourage their sickness, trigger subliminal fear of the inevitable end, and -zap-, they're off to destructo-land. It's quite entertaining to watch. But what it did was give me a 100% legit excuse to call his family.

So I email his family in the UK and tell them to come get him, he's seriously ill, and I'm not responsible for him and don't have the proper resources. They get very, very, very upset and call the cousin of this guy who is apparently supposedly a Provo, his family connection in Ireland. This provo's name was summoned forth whenever this little addict wanted to throw his Irish weight around, even though he was a little London college lecturer, and apparently is why everyone in the Kerry town kept their mouths shut when he moved in with me.

So (LOL) I meet this guy, he asks me to apologise to the family for a couple angry things I said (which I do) and then I find out from his cousin that this little scumbag has been telling everyone in Di-uh, town, that I'm a millionaire and I'm going to take care of him for the rest of his life. And, apparently, he's done this before...several times. But the women in question were too embarrassed at even being taken in, and left it at that. Well, welly, welly, welly, well.

LOL. But _then_, also, I find out that 2 years previously, he was accused of stealing like, 10 grand from a local in Kerry who kept her savings in a sock, and he was staying with her, and the money disappeared, and accusations shot through town, and he invoked the name of his Provo cousin to shut everyone up.

Then the cousin asks me, is it true then that he could have taken this money, since he swore on his life that he didn't and we took him at his word? All I said was, it looks like the music equipment, stolen from his apartment added up to a lot, he says all this stuff didn't belong to him but to other musicians, but I found out that absolutely no one trusts him, so it _had_ to have been his because I noticed he didn't inform the owners of the losses. And if it was his, how did he get the money to pay for it on an income that was going down his throat?

So, the network of the cousin went to reopen inquiries in town over the theft, now without any fear on part of locals as to the consequences of accusing our little friend. And our little friend? Told to stay in rehab...indefinitely. And the woman who lost the money? Well, if the network decides that wrong was done, she will obviously get restitution, and I'm not going to wonder if our little friend was asked to leave the country...forever. It would warm the cockles of my evil little heart if this poor woman got her money back.

And I learned that regardless of how psychotic they may be up here, most Provos in Kerry are very nice and decent people. Doesn't mean I'll vote for them, but they're nice.

That's what people who scam me get. Far, far, far worse than they ever could imagine. Take a page out of my book on the proper administration of revenge.

Target -me- for a stupid Yank, mofos.

LOL LOL LOL LOL

lox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Diddler82

The Viper has a debt collection agency now doesnt he?

Would probably be cheaper than a solicitor!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Reflector

"Acquaintance.

1. A person whom we know well enough to borrow from, but not well enough to lend to."

2. A degree of friendship called slight when its object is poor or obscure, and intimate when he is rich or famous. "

I'd say forget about it, but if he gets back in touch tell him you want your money back. What a dick it'll come back to him karma and all that. Move on, he is not a friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Loxosceles wrote: »
    LOLOL!!!! OK story time.

Ok, ok. I won't tell you what to do, but I'll tell you how I dealt with what turned out to what was probably a serious scamming situation involving more people than me, who lost far more than I did. This is one hell of a story and most Irish people wouldn't believe I had the cheek to do what I did.

This happened a year ago.

So this guy I knew who was a retiree and songwriter had a really nice little place in Limerick, was really intelligent (retired lecturer) and supposedly knew loads of famous people, bands, etcetera. I got to know him in the social group of a small Kerry town I love to visit, and we hung out, it was great.

So I get a phone call from him a week later and he tells me that his place was broken into and they got 4 guitars, 3 borrowed, plus sound system, in total nearly 8 grand worth of music equipment. I rush to Limerick to provide moral support.

Now given, we knew the same people in the same Kerry town, right, and none of them say anything to me. So of course I think this guy is sound. Next thing I know, he lets the lease run out on his apartment and (in retrospect I should have realised what he was doing) he cornered me into letting him stay with me, I put a time limit like a month on it.

During that time he acts like I'm the savior of his world, and he makes it look like he's making sure that I'll get a portion of his next pension payment in costs. I do eventually get 200 Euro, but at the same time, fifties kept mysteriously disappearing from desk, wallet, handbag...several times. Then one night he calls me having the most amazing temper tantrum I've ever heard coming out of a sixty year old, it was like a four year old kid, literally screaming into the phone and jumping up and down. He said the money machine ate his card and he didn't know what to do, he had to meet someone in town...again, cornering me for support...and I didn't give him any money; I only suggested he go to the bank the next morning and hung up and let him rage.

Finally since he knew by experience that I was hostile to overtly cute hoors back in Di-uh, the same Kerry town, he decided that he needed to go get his passport back in Limerick...of course, I kind of knew he'd stop off in said Kerry town...which I deep down knew was to go on a binge.

Fun time. Things weren't adding up, so I greased the skids.

While he was gone, I made sure to text him repeatedly with caring and gentle suggestions that he just needed to retire in said Kerry town and enjoy all the drink and fun he wanted in the declining sunset of his life, before he ended up in the dirt; I mean, he sure was entitled to enjoy life before he died, which given how old he was, would be sooner rather than later.

He ended up on the binge of his life, and our friends started calling me right and left saying he couldn't be here, he'd kill himself, he was blibbering at 3 AM in the middle of the town's main street, out of his head on drink and god knows what else. Oh darn, who'd have thunk. *chortle*. I suspected he was more of an addict than his 170 IQ was letting on, and I was correct. Addicts are profoundly suggestible...plant the right ego-greasing suggestion to encourage their sickness, trigger subliminal fear of the inevitable end, and -zap-, they're off to destructo-land. It's quite entertaining to watch. But what it did was give me a 100% legit excuse to call his family.

So I email his family in the UK and tell them to come get him, he's seriously ill, and I'm not responsible for him and don't have the proper resources. They get very, very, very upset and call the cousin of this guy who is apparently supposedly a Provo, his family connection in Ireland. This provo's name was summoned forth whenever this little addict wanted to throw his Irish weight around, even though he was a little London college lecturer, and apparently is why everyone in the Kerry town kept their mouths shut when he moved in with me.

So (LOL) I meet this guy, he asks me to apologise to the family for a couple angry things I said (which I do) and then I find out from his cousin that this little scumbag has been telling everyone in Di-uh, town, that I'm a millionaire and I'm going to take care of him for the rest of his life. And, apparently, he's done this before...several times. But the women in question were too embarrassed at even being taken in, and left it at that. Well, welly, welly, welly, well.

LOL. But _then_, also, I find out that 2 years previously, he was accused of stealing like, 10 grand from a local in Kerry who kept her savings in a sock, and he was staying with her, and the money disappeared, and accusations shot through town, and he invoked the name of his Provo cousin to shut everyone up.

Then the cousin asks me, is it true then that he could have taken this money, since he swore on his life that he didn't and we took him at his word? All I said was, it looks like the music equipment, stolen from his apartment added up to a lot, he says all this stuff didn't belong to him but to other musicians, but I found out that absolutely no one trusts him, so it _had_ to have been his because I noticed he didn't inform the owners of the losses. And if it was his, how did he get the money to pay for it on an income that was going down his throat?

So, the network of the cousin went to reopen inquiries in town over the theft, now without any fear on part of locals as to the consequences of accusing our little friend. And our little friend? Told to stay in rehab...indefinitely. And the woman who lost the money? Well, if the network decides that wrong was done, she will obviously get restitution, and I'm not going to wonder if our little friend was asked to leave the country...forever. It would warm the cockles of my evil little heart if this poor woman got her money back.

And I learned that regardless of how psychotic they may be up here, most Provos in Kerry are very nice and decent people. Doesn't mean I'll vote for them, but they're nice.

That's what people who scam me get. Far, far, far worse than they ever could imagine. Take a page out of my book on the proper administration of revenge.

Target -me- for a stupid Yank, mofos.

LOL LOL LOL LOL

lox.

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

BACK on topic....OP you should definitely do anything within your power to get YOUR money back. Don't give up without a fight. This "friend" took advantage of you and unfortunately there are many people like that in the world. I'm not sure if you have any legal grounds, without any written agreements, but you should definitely seek advice. Also (this probably won't go down very well) but have you any ehhmm "threatening" looking acquaintances who might be able to pay him a visit, just to give him a warning?? I'm not suggesting any violence, just something to put the sh*ts up him a bit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Poloman

I'm sorry but if he is avoiding you then he is obviously not having any intentions of paying you back whatsoever.

The thing is he got himself into a financial mess and you bailed him out. you have to question why you gave him so much money.

After 200 euros I would have said hold on a minute when am I going to get this back and made him sign sort of contract but the fact remains you gave him this moeny, you have no way of proving it so you haven't a leg to stand on legally.

Personally I think he has no respect for you whatsoever and you are better with him out of your life. He certainly isnt a friend thats for damn sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

LOLOL!!!! OK story time.

lox.

Dear god. My eyes are bleeding. Please somebody tell this poster this is PI, not Who Can Tell The Most Boring, Pointless Story. :rolleyes:

OP, hound him. And tell everyone you both know how deceitful and untrustworthy he is. And then let it go, you can do no more than that. As Judge Judy is fond of telling people, it's your own fault for giving him money in the first place. It cost you 1600euro to learn this lesson, remember it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

Does he have a car? If it was me I would say 'You have to pay me my money back. You can even pay in installments as you probably haven't got the lump sum. If you don't I will damage your car to a value of at least what you owe me, probably more as Im not going to be too scientific about it.' The cops could do nothing as just as I couldn't prove he owed me the money he couldn't prove I damaged the car. I'm not suggesting you should do it OP as it mightn't be your thing, but it's the route Id take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

What can I say?? Thanx sooo much for the replies. My mind is really clear now. Perhaps I should shame his whole fekin' nationality aswell- he's not Irish of course. He never asked hardly a thing from me for a long time, and kept close contact - and I was (still am) poor.
    It's feeling more and more like he has robbed me, and if it feels like that I want to run a train over him. Perhaps I will let you know how I get on after I go after him :D
    I have his a/c details and full name, so his address might show up under that if I go into BOI. Otherwise I have a few other contacts that should let me know where he is living. Violence is a rare and last resort with me.

Four-Too wrote: »
    What can I say?? Thanx sooo much for the replies. My mind is really clear now. Perhaps I should shame his whole fekin' nationality aswell- he's not Irish of course. He never asked hardly a thing from me for a long time, and kept close contact - and I was (still am) poor.
    It's feeling more and more like he has robbed me, and if it feels like that I want to run a train over him. Perhaps I will let you know how I get on after I go after him :D
    I have his a/c details and full name, so his address might show up under that if I go into BOI. Otherwise I have a few other contacts that should let me know where he is living. Violence is a rare and last resort with me.

Excellent! There are many many violence-free, legal ways to be deliciously evil and do the right thing at the same time. Good luck.

But DO NOT shame his nationality; even if we are possibly dealing with the same person. That is racism even if you're both whities. I learned that pretty fast here, which I think is silly, but then I'm American and some things I have to accept. *some.*

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

BACK on topic....OP you should definitely do anything within your power to get YOUR money back. Don't give up without a fight. This "friend" took advantage of you and unfortunately there are many people like that in the world. I'm not sure if you have any legal grounds, without any written agreements, but you should definitely seek advice. Also (this probably won't go down very well) but have you any ehhmm "threatening" looking acquaintances who might be able to pay him a visit, just to give him a warning?? I'm not suggesting any violence, just something to put the sh*ts up him a bit :D

I posted the story for the OP, not you. He or she can do with it what they like, and in that vein, it is an on-topic post meant to provide a different point of view on the subject of scammers. If these are advice threads, then the OP can do with my advice what they like, and the attempted dismissal of my advice by others is only good if my post includes illegal or harmful action. It does not. PI is half-advice and half-discussion. Please keep the discussion useful. If some of you think I'm tl;dr, then dr. Everyone is different.

By the way, suggesting that someone go after someone with muscle and intimidation is a very gray area legally. Threatening even by suggestion is still a threat, and can be reported to the Gardaí. That is bad advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I posted the story for the OP, not you. He or she can do with it what they like, and in that vein, it is an on-topic post meant to provide a different point of view on the subject of scammers. If these are advice threads, then the OP can do with my advice what they like, and the attempted dismissal of my advice by others is only good if my post includes illegal or harmful action. It does not. PI is half-advice and half-discussion. Please keep the discussion useful. If some of you think I'm tl;dr, then dr. Everyone is different.

By the way, suggesting that someone go after someone with muscle and intimidation is a very gray area legally. Threatening even by suggestion is still a threat, and can be reported to the Gardaí. That is bad advice.

Yeah you're right, he SHOULD take your advice, which was....ehhh....:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭kaa

Four-Too wrote: »
    :mad:
    Was friends with a guy, but then I moved house. Then I started to get calls "I need money please, I don;t know what to do". He got into very bad situations financially 6 months ago, and only now has he bettered himself.
    He made so many promises on what craic we were going to have, so many promises that he will pay me this next week, that next week, I promise you, I promise you, I had to listen to all this ****e. I went to banks, went out of my way completely for this guy so many times in the past year. Even had to go into my savings. So at the moment he owes me E1,570 and I haven;t got a cent back from him. When he finally got back on track in his life again, getting a wage etc, he just stopped answering my calls.
    What should my next move be? Or should I just forget about it, consider it a good deed of mine?

ya track him down and get the money back at any costs. it's a 1000 euro like.

and the fact that you went to all that trouble to get it.

Yeah you're right, he SHOULD take your advice, which was....ehhh....:confused::confused::confused:

Which was taken in kind, given that I recieved a thanks for it. I did not tell the person directly what to do; I told them what I did in a similar scamming situation and how I handled it. Whether or not you think it's advice is not up to you since the OP obviously found it useful. Case closed. Unless your actual intention is to publicly dismiss my point of view on this forum, in order to bring yourself up in the view of a few other users who think my wordy, Dr.Phil-meets-Bill-Hicks, culturally different form of self-espression to be 'bold'. (Whatever that means.)

Certainly not all users may find my views fit safely within their cultural paradigm, but others, like the OP, did and have done. I prefer intelligent debate to dismissal, because dismissal is inherently ignorant. Dismissal indicates the good old Irish habit of side-taking because someone is being a cheeky boldy bold wagon and is being nailed down for no reason other than sticking up and being different. Give me more respectable reasons and I will consider them. If you think the post is too long, that is up for the OP or a mod to decide. Not you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

1. Log off boards
    2. Pick up your phone
    3. Call solicitor.
    Solicitor's fees will be close to the amount owed, so not much point in that. If you have any written evidence, you should be able to take the case alone. If you just handed him a wad of notes, then give up, there's no way of proving any of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

That is racism even if you're both whities. I learned that pretty fast here, which I think is silly, but then I'm American

Muppet! - do you have that word in America?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Orls81 wrote: »
    Yes, just keep hassling him, calling around, ringing his house (the same way he pestered you in the first place to get the money)
    Let your other friends know, or his family or partner.
    Shame him into giving you the money back.

Of course he might not be able to give it back to you in the lump sum, but a bit here and there would be better then nothing.

Totally agree with this, if everyone he knows thinks he's a scab who can't be trusted he'll try very hard to change their opinion of him. Keep asking him for money, turn up at his out, try to get it back in dribs and drabs. Tell every mutual aquaintance you have what he has done and warn them that he can't be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

my wordy, Dr.Phil-meets-Bill-Hicks, culturally different form of self-espression .

You really liken yourself to Dr Phil and Bill Hicks? Methinks Walter Mitty might be more apt.

Certainly not all users may find my views fit safely within their cultural paradigm, but others, like the OP, did and have done. I prefer intelligent debate to dismissal, because dismissal is inherently ignorant. Dismissal indicates the good old Irish habit of side-taking because someone is being a cheeky boldy bold wagon and is being nailed down for no reason other than sticking up and being different. Give me more respectable reasons and I will consider them. If you think the post is too long, that is up for the OP or a mod to decide. Not you.

What has culture got to do with this? Yeah, you're a yank, we get it. In any culture the OP's problem would be considered akin to theft, so again, what has cultural paradigm got to do with anything?

'the good old Irish habit of side-taking' - coming from an American, that is priceless.

Lox, your post was a meandering ramble, one which I personally feel had little to do with advice and more to do with you jumping on the chance to share an anecdote. I find when replying to PI, succint is best, short and to the point. And less of the Irish/ American crap, it is not relevant.

End 2c.

OP maybe you could tell him you sold the debt on and a different class of person will be collecting on it? Might grease the wheels a bit?

You really liken yourself to Dr Phil and Bill Hicks? Methinks Walter Mitty might be more apt.

What has culture got to do with this? Yeah, you're a yank, we get it. In any culture the OP's problem would be considered akin to theft, so again, what has cultural paradigm got to do with anything?

'the good old Irish habit of side-taking' - coming from an American, that is priceless.

Lox, your post was a meandering ramble, one which I personally feel had little to do with advice and more to do with you jumping on the chance to share an anecdote. I find when replying to PI, succint is best, short and to the point. And less of the Irish/ American crap, it is not relevant.

Fine. Just be aware that I will not do what you tell me to do, and unless what I do is in violation of the charter or rules, will not be altering my views and actions any time soon. Your 2 cents are duly noted and tossed in a charity bin. Insulting me personally will not have any effect on the OP's choices whatsoever. Have a nice day.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Back on topic, final warning.

If you have an issue with a post, use the report post function. DO NOT start arguing on thread.

Loxosceles, try keep your replies on topic.

Mr.David, Read the charter.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Mr.David wrote: »
    Muppet! - do you have that word in America?:p

Banned for 3 days for personal abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

a solicitors letter will cost you around €30 and will frighten him hopefully into paying you back. That is what my buddy did anyhoo....she got every cent back. Learn a lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

Piste wrote: »
    Totally agree with this, if everyone he knows thinks he's a scab who can't be trusted he'll try very hard to change their opinion of him. Keep asking him for money, turn up at his out, try to get it back in dribs and drabs. Tell every mutual aquaintance you have what he has done and warn them that he can't be trusted.

I dont see how trying to embarass him is going to get the money back. Guys who will rip off a friend like this like this dont have much shame to begin with. He's not going to say 'oh he told my friend john that I owe him €1500, I better pay it back so'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

MJOR wrote: »
    ...a solicitors letter will cost you around €30 and will frighten him hopefully into paying you back....

I've heard that said time out of number and the truth is that actually, it might frighten a reasonable person enough to do something. They both know that there's probably no proof of either parties action
    MJOR wrote: »
    ...That is what my buddy did anyhoo....she got every cent back. Learn a lesson....

Fair enough but we don't know how reasonable or unreasonable the OPs 'friend' is. I know my money was gone and there was a bit of shame on me, anyway.