Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Congratulations and Welcome

• 02-03-2009 11:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭

Hi All,
    I'm sorry for stealing your thunder guys, Mark espically.

On behalf of Raheny Shamrock A.C I would like to welcome Boards A.C to the Athletics Ireland Family.
    Looking forward to the team battles folks.

Regards
    Dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Thanks very much, its excellent news and a big thank you to Peckham and Shels4ever for getting us this far. Onwards and upwards. :D
    I should also mention a big thanks to Pat Hooper, new chairman of the Dublin county board who helped get this passed, a man def on the same page as the rest of us ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

Fair play to ye, and the best of luck.

[Now where do I get my 'associate membership' and training t-shirt? ]

aburke wrote: »
    Fair play to ye, and the best of luck.

[Now where do I get my 'associate membership' and training t-shirt? ]

I have had to hold off on singlets in case of a colour clash but there sitting in the printers as I speak awaiting my orders :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

DaveH wrote: »
    Hi All,

On behalf of Raheny Shamrock A.C I would like to welcome Boards A.C to the Athletics Ireland Family.
    Looking forward to the team battles folks.

Regards
    Dave
    Thanks Dave :) and thanks to Raheny A.C and other clubs who were very supportive of the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭Peckham

We were wondering after the meeting last night how best to announce this significant step for Boards AC, so no better person to announce it than the one who made the process very easy for us.

Hopefully won't be too long before we see Boards AC singlets racing against the other clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Well done lads, would have been so easy to let this fall away, so great work. When do you start training for the Dublin novice xc on last Sunday in September (usually)? 6k at Magazine fort (usually).

Or National League. Who's up for the pole vault?:eek:

And none of this 'I'm running the Berlin marathon that day'. Club before self, club before self :D.

Well done again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

On behalf of myself and Meath County Board I am delighted to welcome you all to the fold of the Athletic Association of Ireland.

When I first came across this proposal I was doubtful that you would manage to gain affiliation. I can only imagine the amount of behind-the-scenes work that had to be done to get you to this stage.

<Pause for self-serving bit> Now that you are an affiliated club why not make your first public appearance at the Fr. Murphy AC 5 Mile Road Race at 2pm on St. Patrick's Day, in Ballivor Co. Meath (my own club's event). This is Leg 1 of Meath Athletics Open Road Race League and is also the Meath Road Race Championships<self-serving bit over>

Good luck in all your endeavours, its a great day for athletics in general when any new club is formed.

Meathcountysec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

DaveH wrote: »
    Hi All,

You are a spoilsport, stealing the guys thunder like that. Suppose you want to get in first with something after the beating your boys took on Sunday, gwan the Black and Amber:D:D:D

What colour are the vests lads?

Tingle wrote: »

What colour are the vests lads?

There a dark blue with boards ac in white across the front. All we've been asked to though is put a sash type thing across it or maybe print the boards ac on the back aswell.

Well done lads, would have been so easy to let this fall away, so great work. When do you start training for the Dublin novice xc on last Sunday in September (usually)? 6k at Magazine fort (usually).

Or National League. Who's up for the pole vault?:eek:

And none of this 'I'm running the Berlin marathon that day'. Club before self, club before self :D.

Well done again.
    Started a year ago for that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

well done lads.

When I first heard of this idea I didn't think you would get AAI affiliation or would find it very difficult to do so. Fair play to all those who helped you out behind the scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭blind_hurler

That's great news and well done on all the hard work put in behind the scenes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Great work guys, and great persistence...
    Looking forward to donning the 'blue and white'. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Great work Lads. You're an inspiration to the rest of us, with all your work behind the scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

Congratulations lads and fair play on all the hard work to get us this far. I can't wait to put on the Boards AC singlet. Fantastic work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

RESULT! Great work lads, exciting times ahead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Well done lads. Great to see this come to fruition. Heres to lots of success down the road (track, field etc.).

shels4ever wrote: »
    Started a year ago for that ;)

You should be fairly handy at the pole vault at this stage so :p

Now that you are a 'rival club', ignore anything I've previously written. The only way to train for running is by watching lots of television and maybe occasionally walking. The best diet for maximum performance is fish and chips. The heavier you are, the faster you run. Alcohol is very good for peak performance.

You should be fairly handy at the pole vault at this stage so :p
    Well my coach from years ago called me the worst high jumper he'd ever seen even for a 1500m runner. Still had fun finding that out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Now that you are a 'rival club', ignore anything I've previously written. The only way to train for running is by watching lots of television and maybe occasionally walking. The best diet for maximum performance is fish and chips. The heavier you are, the faster you run. Alcohol is very good for peak performance.

Lads, this is the true spirit of Irish athletics, too late to get out now :p

Good work from all those who made it happen, well done on getting it up and running so quickly, hope the high work ethic continues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

. The best diet for maximum performance is fish and chips. .

Boards AC Role Model

Alf's staple diet was fish and chips wrapped in newspaper

Tingle wrote: »
    Boards AC Role Model

Alf's staple diet was fish and chips wrapped in newspaper

That's where I've been going wrong - I've been eating mine off a plate!!! Sunday morning while queuing for the shuttle bus to Ballycotton alongside the chip van (why do they put it there?:confused:) I'll be putting that right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Thats super stuff lads, well done.

Running seems to be on a real high at the moment and this should just add to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Congrats and well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Great achievement and exciting times for all of us who are not affiliated to any athletics club.

What shall the conditions for membership be?

Cost of membership?

When can we get the singlet?

Won't it be exciting when, lining up for a race, you look across and you will spot another runner wearing the same singlet as you. A nod of recognition will be shared and a chat after the race.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Great news, well done to Woddle for have the original daft idea and everyone else who made it happen.

eliwallach wrote: »
    Won't it be exciting when, lining up for a race, you look across and you will spot another runner wearing the same singlet as you. A nod of recognition will be shared and a chat after the race.

But there'll be no runner in the race you'll want to beat more ;).

Nothing more amusing than when you're racing the hell off your team mate and the crowd seeing the same singlets shout 'Good teamwork' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭Peckham

All of Eliwallach's questions are yet to be answered. We will be having a committee meeting shortly to decide on next steps and will come back to all interested members with a proposal.

The cost of membership will need to be at a level whereby we cover three key costs:
    1) Cost of singlet
    2) Cost of AAI membership (20 euro per athlete)
    3) Cost of AAI affiliation (150 euro for the club, split amongst all members)

But there'll be no runner in the race you'll want to beat more ;).

Nothing more amusing than when you're racing the hell off your team mate and the crowd seeing the same singlets shout 'Good teamwork' :pac:
    Exactly .. Now more people then ever will want to beat woddle... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

AAI membership is €10.00 for juveniles and €15.00 for seniors

Leinster affiliation is €25.00 per club

You'll also need to factor in cost of entering teams unless you charge team members for same.

Now the bureaucracy starts.... Who's bright idea was this???? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

Well done guys. :D
    I look forward to signing up as soon as I actually accomplish learning how to run :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Well done to everyone involved in making this happen, there'll be great times a-comin'. Can't wait to run my first race in a Boards AC singlet.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Great news, well done lads for the work behind the scenes to get this going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Stunned at how well you managed to do this. I know we are the countries first "virtual" running club, are we the worlds first?

A huge and heartfelt congrats from me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Well done Woddle once again for the idea and injection of enthusiasm. Congrats to all behind the scenes pushing it. Result :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Gentle reminder that there was supposed to be a "Welcome to Boards AC" post that detailed all you ever wanted to know taht we could stickie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭smcgui

This is brill guys well done! I hope to be a member and also wear the singlet!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Well done to everyone involved.

It always takes a lot of work to get a good idea like this off the ground. Best of luck for future success.