Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My son is bad at sports, other fathers being rude

• 01-03-2009 8:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Moved from Ireland to the States with my family some years back. This weekend was the tryout for "little League" which is a baseball club for little kids. Our son tried out.

Everyone gets to play. The tryouts are so they can see the skill level of each boy and make sure the teams are balanced.

Thing is, he's really, really bad at it. He has no experience while all of the other kids have loads. He can barely catch the ball forget about hitting the ball. It's not like I can help him. My husband, who is English, knows nothing about baseball either. Neither of us are great athletes.

Some of the fathers there are insanely intense..By the way they carry on, you would think their sons were trying out for major league professional baseball. When my son was trying out I could see them rolling their eyes. I even heard one mumble that he hopes my son doesn't end up on his son's team.

My son says he really likes baseball and wants to do it. I'm afraid that he's going to be humiliated. He's so far behind the other boys who have been playing since they could barely hold a baseball bat. The other kids seem good natured enough, it's the fathers I'm worried about. I don't know if I can bear listening to them every weekend moaning about how my son is dragging the team down.

He was happy after the tryout and was oblivious to what was being said..I'm not sure how long that will last. He's such sweet, good natured boy, telling the other kids "Good job!" when their turn was done. Broke my heart!

I wish we had never signed up (and paid $200!) I thought, being Little League, it would just be a FUN thing. I imagined it would be a great way for my son to socialize and get some fresh air and excercise. I had no idea they would all be taking it so seriously.

What to do? I don't care about the $200 anymore..I just don't want my son to be hurt. On the other hand I don't want to be overprotective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I'm fairly clueless at this sort of stuff as i've never been into sports. Maybe practising with him outside of little league. Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭gowayouttadat

Unfortunately this is common in all countries and nearly all sports. It's happened both my brothers, they were very tall as young kids and had no coordination, whereas the girls in the family were very good at sports. There's not much you can do. The main thing is your son is enjoying it. I'd suggest making sure you're there for all the trainings and matches just to make sure you know what's going on. Leave your son do it as long as it's making him happy. If he starts looking unhappy then you can ask him if he wants to stop playing.

You can't do anything about these other fathers. They exist every where.

And as the other poster said practice with your son as much as possible. Just throw a few balls to him in the garden and get him used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Some parents are really crazy when it comes to kids sports. It's ridiculous. The thing about it is, kids go through phases of trying stuff out. They usually give up after a few months. I played violin for a while, I did ballet, irish dancing, tennis, gymnastics etc. I didn't do any of them for too long.

Your son will probably get bored of baseball soon but, if he doesn't, then all you can do is be supportive and be there for him. It's one thing for kids to hurt his feelings but parents should know better. Maybe you should have a word with the coach about the situation. I always felt that parents who get "too involved" should be put in some sort of cage and kept as far away from the pitch/court as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Happens everywhere.

If American kids came here and signed up to soccer teams or GAA teams I'd guarantee there would be people on the sidelines berating them and telling them they were ruining the team.

I'd say these dads in little league probably critize the coach for not playing their son who is clearly the most talented!! :rolleyes:
    Next time you are there, watch if the coach is getting grief.

Ultimately if your son enjoys it that's the main thing. But ask the coach for drills ye can practice at home. Any decent coach would be happen to do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Zippitydoo

Baseball's an easy enough sport to pick up. Catching the ball is just a matter of getting used to it- so get yourself or your husband a mit and spend some time in the garden with him. He'll be able to catch in no time, hitting is something that will come with time possibly but catching the ball is the main issue as regards embarrasment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Carlotta

Moved from Ireland to the States with my family some years back. This weekend was the tryout for "little League" which is a baseball club for little kids. Our son tried out.

Everyone gets to play. The tryouts are so they can see the skill level of each boy and make sure the teams are balanced.

Thing is, he's really, really bad at it. He has no experience while all of the other kids have loads. He can barely catch the ball forget about hitting the ball. It's not like I can help him. My husband, who is English, knows nothing about baseball either. Neither of us are great athletes.

Some of the fathers there are insanely intense..By the way they carry on, you would think their sons were trying out for major league professional baseball. When my son was trying out I could see them rolling their eyes. I even heard one mumble that he hopes my son doesn't end up on his son's team.

My son says he really likes baseball and wants to do it. I'm afraid that he's going to be humiliated. He's so far behind the other boys who have been playing since they could barely hold a baseball bat. The other kids seem good natured enough, it's the fathers I'm worried about. I don't know if I can bear listening to them every weekend moaning about how my son is dragging the team down.

He was happy after the tryout and was oblivious to what was being said..I'm not sure how long that will last. He's such sweet, good natured boy, telling the other kids "Good job!" when their turn was done. Broke my heart!

I wish we had never signed up (and paid $200!) I thought, being Little League, it would just be a FUN thing. I imagined it would be a great way for my son to socialize and get some fresh air and excercise. I had no idea they would all be taking it so seriously.

What to do? I don't care about the $200 anymore..I just don't want my son to be hurt. On the other hand I don't want to be overprotective.

Americans take this competitive over stupid things crap to a new level. Not sure what help you can get on boards.ie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Just Playing

Patience, and just love your child and what he is enjoying :)

Don't get involved with the other stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Practise makes perfect.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Zippitydoo wrote: »
    Baseball's an easy enough sport to pick up. Catching the ball is just a matter of getting used to it- so get yourself or your husband a mit and spend some time in the garden with him. He'll be able to catch in no time, hitting is something that will come with time possibly but catching the ball is the main issue as regards embarrasment :)

Exactly what I was thinking. You can practice catching at home. Hitting too actually, as with little league you don't need to be throwing fast balls.

Let him have as much fun as he wants. If the other dads are still rolling their eyes, let them. If it gets real bad, speak to the coach on the quiet. If he's a reasonable guy he'll let it be known that ott put downs won't be tolerated.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

agree with some of the above, it's tough on kids who aren't natural but most can be reasonably good with a bit of practise, especially in a sport like baseball which is all about hand eye work rather than a lot of athletic ability.

Get out the backyard with him and play a bit of catch every night, he'll either get better or get bored with it. It's all about keeping his eyes glued on the ball to begin with and not closing them at impact of catch/hit. Once he gets to the level where he isn't an actual liability the other parents won't notice him. Imo it's a decent life lesson that if you want to take part in a certain activity you may have to work hard to reach the level required to enjoy it. So don't give up on him just because he wasn't good straight away.

You can also try having words to any parent who says anything like you mentioned above, these people are normally quick to shut up when confronted. This could at least mean he won't hear what they say about his skills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭lizzyd66

Could you explain the situation to the coach or a friendly other parent and get some tips from them about how you can help your son pick up the skills? You probably were focussing in on the ultra loud mega competitive parents where as there are probably the same number of level headed ones around. I had a similarish experience with my ds with GAA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

This is something I had to deal with when I was in your childs shoes myself :) It's a case of people taking it way too seriously when infact sports I thought were meant to be fun for children anyway. If he wants to keep doing it, if he ever feels discouraged, be there to pick him up, and if he doesn't listen to him and learn more about him to find out what his real interests are.

Hope all goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

You say this was for try outs for the league. Maybe there are different levels. In ireland for example in gaa there are a,b and sometimes c teams. Everyone gets to play at their own level. Maybe he will end up with kids of a not to disimiliar standard. Also I assume he is around the 8-9 year old mark. Some of the kids i have seen in Gaa were well below average at that age but now at 15/16 are on county development teams. As long as he sticks at it and is happy he will do all right. Also i know it is easy to say but ignore the parents and concentrate on the coach. Any decent coach/manager/trainer will concentrate on all the kids. it is a team game after all......

Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Let him out, let him play! He'll be having fun and you'll be proud of him for doing it!!

And if any of those other parents say anything, kick them in the nuts/imply they're gay/imply their sons are gay or just a good old fashioned tell them to stop living their dreams through their kids cuz they're so pathetic.

Screw that, it's just sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Welcome to the sad state of childrens sports as far as I know it. Basically, half the parents take it insanely seriously and want the best, most competitive team possible, and then the other half want the 'everybody gets a turn, everybody gets a trophy' style of play. One would think it would naturally evolve into two different leagues - one competitive, one not, but I'm not sure it has. I think this is why my parents skipped team sports and enrolled as all in the swim team as kids ;)

Yes, def practice with your son as many have suggested. Also, look around at other clubs in the area (and ask around to other parents most importantly, ones with like philosophies) and see if there's one that's more non-competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Who cares what the parents think? I was rubbish at hurling post national school but stuck with it for the team aspect because I liked hanging out with my friends and that.
    Could even hear remarks being said when I was given a go in a game but I enjoyed myself and had good fun. Wouldnt trade it for the anything.

If he likes it, dont deny him the chance of playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭greenteaicedtea

I am not surprised this is in the States, in Canada we have "hockey moms" parents who holler from the stands and there's been violence etc.

If the child is not hearing the comments, let it continue, except sit where you can't hear the other parents discussing. Or maybe sit nearby them and carry on conversation like you are friends, maybe they will back off when they realize you are human as well? And pick their brains about the rules of baseball, if they are such big experts :)

I'm going to echo another poster, try to find a less competitive league next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Best thing to do is encourage him. Get 2 mits and every day, spend 20 mins playing catch with him. He won't be long gaining ground. You don't have to be atlethic to play catch :)

Maybe talk to the coach and see if he wouldn't mind spending a bit of extra time with your kid. I'm sure there'd be no problem if you explain the situation. Hopefully he sticks with it. It's a shame to see potential wasted due to not being given a chance. Best of luck to you and your son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Carlotta wrote: »
    Americans take this competitive over stupid things crap to a new level. Not sure what help you can get on boards.ie!

...and no one in Europe does ? You should really cop on with your generalisations.

It's amazing what you can learn about yourself when you are actually competitive at this age. It can build a fire in the belly of a kid that can last a lifetime.

What has to happen is that this needs to be a learning experince for kids. You have to work with them and set up little 'moral victories' along the way. You have to build up the childs confidence, and show them through working at the problem you can eventually succeed.

I was a very late bloomer coupled with the fact that my father worked three jobs, so he wasn't able to work with me until I was a little older, I took it upon myself to try and improve. It worked for me on multiple levels. I became an All Star in baseball. I was already a swimmer and turned this work ethic towards my time in the pool. I set school records, and then went on to set city records. Eventually, moving into coaching where I had teams playing for National Championships.

Kid's need to be able to believe in themselves. It is one of the most crucial aspects of being a parent. If you can't help him, then try to find other kids/parents that can.

The game itself is meaningless. Learning at an early age to 'work hard' to improve is everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

I can relate!

I picked up baseball when I was 9, couldn't hit the ball, struggled to catch the ball. I was never conscious of any negativity because of it. Having spent the summer working on it - at my own behest I might add! If your son enjoys it and has the facilities, he'll work at it.

End of season I stole home from first to qualify the team, at the bottom of the 7th (I think it was 7 innings), for the provincial final (Canada - so equivalent of state).

Anyway, that final ended in tears, but I still have the memories (and the jersey!) So give your son the support he wants to improve and he will.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Tell him that its up to him whether he wants to play or not. Unfortunately its the parents who take these things seriously at this age, not the kids really. If you hear an American grumbling when he see's your son play remind him that these are kids and that he should get a fooking life. Also comment on his nations obscene obesity rate. If he's fat that might annoy him no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

The way to improve at sport is to get your technique right. This requires good coaching. Maybe he's holding the bat wrong, maybe there's some tips to improve his hand - eye co-ordination.

Thing is, in Ireland we are useless at coaching. The emphasis is on winning and being passionate.

I would go to youtube and try to understand the sport a bit more. Then get some coaching tips (again from de web) and try to impart the knowledge onto your child.

I went for loads of Tennis lessons when I was young. I had a technique problem and my coach couldn't correct it despite the coach being one of the best tennis players in Ireland. They just weren't a very good coach.

When I played in tournements, my serve was all over the place and it was embarrassing.

I recently played a few games of tennis and found some great technique tips on youtube. All my serves were fine and I played quite well.

There's a lot of science to sport. For example, smaller people usually have a lowe center of gravity so tend to have much more balance. The can do things like serve a tennis ball, or pick up skiing, wind surfing much easier.

I've always been lanky, which means I have to concentrate more on things like that.

I am now a Rugby ref. Occasionally I ref a lot of kids games. You know, straight away what the teams are going to be like based on the quality (or lack thereof) of coaching they are getting.

It's shocking how incompetent some coaches are. They don't think at all, just shout out things like "hit it", "come on"
    a good coach for example rugby coaching tackling would be saying things like

1. Back straight
    2. Focus on hips
    3. Eyes always open
    4. Wrap ball carrier
    5. Bring to ground.

If the kids can't get it. They make them doing it on their knees, then walking, then running.

For catching, you'd be amazed. Some kids can't catch a Rugby ball and the standard coaching drill is for them to have the arms out for the ball before the pass passes it.

This gives the passer a target and it means the catcher is preparing himself for the catch and in theory should only have to move his arms and hands slightly to catch the ball. If he hadn't his hands / arms out he's have to move them a lot more and the chances of him dropping the ball are higher.

A bad coach won't say "hands out" before the passer passes the ball, they'll say "come on jonny" or whatever.
    A good coach would say "hands out Jonny".

So it's all about technique. Most people should be ok at most sports if they understand technique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Denerick wrote: »
    If you hear an American grumbling when he see's your son play remind him that these are kids and that he should get a fooking life. Also comment on his nations obscene obesity rate. If he's fat that might annoy him no end.

You really need to step out of the house once in a while.

Here in Ireland, we are rapidly moving in the same direction. According to a major survey of Irish adults carried out by the Food Safety Promotion Board in 2000, over 20% of men were found to be obese. In 1990 this figure was just 8%. In women, the rate of obesity was found to be 16%, up from 13%.

However, the highest prevalence of obesity in any group was in women over the age of 50, at almost 30%. More recently, a small consumer survey into the diet and lifestyle of Irish people, found that 51% of men and 32% of women are overweight.

'This survey provides a very important insight into how inactive we have become as a nation. Furthermore people are not aware of the level at which obesity begins for themselves and it is clear that a lot of people who think they are slightly overweight, are in fact obese', said Dr Donal O'Shea, consultant endocrinologist at St Vincent's University Hospital, Dublin.

In fact, the study found that 41% of men over the age of 50 do not take any physical exercise whatsoever. Of men over the age of 25, 18% watch, on average, between 16 and 20 hours of television a week, compared to 8% of women.

This could partly explain why being overweight or obese is more common in Irish men than women. Alcohol intake in this country may also contribute to the problem. Of those who watch 20 hours or more of television a week, 33% said they did not engage in physical activity as they do not have the time!

There are two different issues in play here.

1) some of the other parents are 'living through their kids'. I have seen this phenomena up close first hand in my dealings with kids over the years.

2) teaching the child to work through adversity.

The first issue, you aren't going to have to worry about. Parents like this chase their kids from the sports by wearing them out over time. These kids really are victims in a bent ego trip that is being forced on them by their parents.

The second issue is critical and it transends whatever sport the child is involved in. You can do wonders for a child's self esteem if you can send time with him/her and help them work their way through these moments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭Locamon

Sounds like your son is a good sport. Give him lots of support and ideal if his dad is there alongside the other fathers. Once people know each other they are less likely to single out their own. May be an issue in training but on game day there could be some dissent if he makes a mistake but the ire will be usually directed at the ref, opposition and the coach. The latter will move him out of harms way if he is not playing up to scratch. Some ball time between father and son would be ideal and I have seen the worst sporting fathers become the best coaches to their sons -all they really need is support.
    The big thing is he is enjoying it and wants to succeed very important that you don't undermine his determination and confidence in himself and with time he should develop.
    If after a time things are not improving, but I suspect they will, make sure you introduce him to other activities where he can succeed. When he is old enough he will pick the activities where he enjoys himself the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Folks, can we keep it civil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Just re: his inability to hit the ball - Baseball is very difficult to pick up if you haven't done it before. Hand/eye coordination is obviously vital and the bat is very thin so there is very little margin for error.

The good news though is that hand/eye coordination is easily improved. What I would suggest is go out to your back garden and throw him some balls to hit, except use a tennis ball and tennis racquet instead.

The head of the tennis racquet is quite big in comparison to the bat so the chances of him missing are immediately reduced. Let him get a feel for making contact with a ball and judging when the right time to swing is. He'll gradually get more confidence and after a while he can move on to the baseball bat and ball.

I wouldn't worry about the fathers too much. There are as many arseholes on the sidelines of soccer and GAA pitches in Ireland so it's a universal thing. Just think about how great it'll be when your son improves and is hitting homers every week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

I took part in sports quite a lot when i was younger, for me it was swimming, competed with some friends on a national level. Thankfully my parents just let me do whatever made me happy, drove me to swimming galas etc but never made me do it if i didn't want to.

But some of my friends parents were your typical pushy parents, living vicariously through their children. One would yell and yell at his children if they decided that they didn't want to train for longer than an hour one day and wanted to splash around in the pool with the rest of us.

Sometimes the coach would have to become involved and ask him to go out and cool off. I never really understood why he got so annoyed until I overheard some of the other parents talking about him. He himself was a sportsman, but in an entirely different sport but then had to finish with that as it is a 'young persons sport' or whatever. They thought that he was trying to push his own children to achieve the kind of status that he has always wanted and never got. They did btw.

I gave up swimming once i became more involved in secondary school, i found other sports i liked and decided that i preferred swimming as a past time, not a competitive sport. The same man asked my mom how she could just let me stop (in front of me, which i found a bit rude tbh) and my mom said that she just wanted me to be happy. He seemed quite disgusted with her answer.

Eventually, one of his children had a breakdown, basically burned out. Was training four hours a day everyday except sundays which is a lot to ask from someone who has to deal with school and school work. He still tried to push him back into swimming but thankfully the coach refused to take him back as he was worried about the boy.

Sorry for the long post but what i was trying to say in a really long way :) was that there are people like this everywhere and the only thing you can do is do your best for your son. He may never be one of the baseball greats, but make sure he has happy memories from being on a team. I know that i have some great memories, which i wouldn't have had without my mom and dads help and support. Also, be careful of these pushy dad types, they can be quite bullying towards other parents too if you get on their bad side. Best of luck with everything :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Passenger

Why don't you try and persuade the little fella to pursue another sport, American Football, Soccer, etc.? Something that isn't as demanding on a novice and more easily adapted to.

One can imagine it's pretty difficult being a kid and being barely big enough to handle a Bat to have to adapt to a sport populated by to those over-competitive gits.

All the best. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Just encourage the little guy, if he really enjoys it he'll get better anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Its very easy and painless to take him out to the yard to play Catch. A little home practice time would help him out quite a lot. To play baseball you dont even need to pick up a bat, or for that matter be able to hit. He can play outfield or infield and never have to worry about using the Bat. The simplest thing you need to be able to do is 1) Catch and 2) Throw.

Most importantly, if he wants to do it you need to let him do it, and encourage him. If he's excited about it, it will be no big push to bring him out to the yard to throw the ball around for a while. On a side note all it takes is hand-eye coordination and it leaves your mouth and ears free to spend some quality time.
    Americans take this competitive over stupid things crap to a new level.
    Slightly off topic but I think you'll find Euro Footie fans to be the more outrageous and violent bunch - causing mass rioting and all that. Ultimately its in our nature, but thats a humanities issue.
    You can also try having words to any parent who says anything like you mentioned above, these people are normally quick to shut up when confronted. This could at least mean he won't hear what they say about his skills.

Indeed. Next time you spot a parent with an opinion, approach them about it. Perhaps they would like to give your son some extra help with their infinite wisdom? That, and im guessing you havent done much meet and greet with other parents yet. Sometimes it does a lot of good for everyone to get to know eachother: The New Kid always gets funny looks. It also wouldn't hurt too much for them to be aware, as you said, that your boy didnt come out of the hospital with a baseball in his pram.

Everybody's a critic and mark me he'll run into this problem his entire life, we all do. In the long run it does him no good to shield him from too much. Better to encourage him and reinforce him. How he reacts to criticism now will be how he reacts to criticism his entire life: will he keep trying to better himself or will he give up when challenged?

Zippitydoo wrote: »

Could not have said it better, Get your adult neighbours to show you how to throw the ball it's a good way to learn and interact with your neighbours

But practice makes perfect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭MCMLXXXIII

Have you thought about [soccer]? You mentioned that you and your spouse know nothing of baseball...is there any other sport where you have more experience? If baseball isn't "it," then there are plenty of other leagues for kids.

If not, send him to baseball-summer camp...he will learn quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

its fairly simple if they are crossing the line tell them that if you ever hear them say something insulting about your son again particularly when he is in ear shot there will be reprocussions

people tend to say things without thinking if you point out that its wrong and you will not stand for it they will more than likely stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

Let him play what he wants, as long as he's enjoying himself, it doesn't really matter. He'll improve if he keeps playing it and enjoying himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭cherrypicker555

Bring him to the park, practice hitting and catching the ball.....build his confidence......its not rocket science.

Its all about hand eye co ordination, tell him not to take his eye off the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

OP, how about you look at getting your son into a tee-ball league for this year, so he can come to grips with the basics, and move into the little league again next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭fcleere

i'd say your little fella would pick up catching a ball in about an hour! i got my nephew of 3 to catch nd kick a football in 20 mins.
    practice with him and make it enjoyable and encourage him all the time,it will make him want to play more often.
    little pointers like, keep your eye on the ball etc.

If your sone enjoys the game that is a great sign. The more he likes it he will definately want to improve.

My son plays just to play. he doesnt want to practice and does not really enjoy the game. Explain to the coach that he needs extra help. He will catch on quicker than you think.

One important note, you or someone must play catch with him everyday to build up his arm strength. This is also quality time that you can have with your son. Dont worry about how good or bad he is, as long as he is having fun is what its all aout. Practice takes care of the rest. Good luck and have fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Firstly, I think it's great that your son wants to learn to play baseball, and I hope you let him. My brother played little league baseball every year growing up and now his sons do the same on a little league team he coaches.
    So a few pointers. As you know, baseball is a really popular sport in America, and there will always be a set of parents who take it way too seriously. You see them at virtually every little league game, embarrassing themself and their children. Most of the other parents roll their eyes and wish they'd just shut up. What I'm trying to say is, avoiding the "bad" parents is impossible, but you'll also find parents who just want their kids to have fun too and will provide you with support.
    Also, do some research into the leagues and teams in your area. My area always had more than one baseball league, some more competitive, some just for fun. Talk to the coaches and see if there's one who shares your view. My brother abhors nasty, over-competitive parents (he coaches the little ones - 6-7 years old - and he still gets them), and he's very focused on making sure everyone has fun and gets a chance to play and learn the game. Winning is way down on his list of priorities. If you find a coach who's priorites match yours, it will be a better experience for both you and your child.
    And finally, like others have said, practice with him! Go out and throw the ball around, help him bat, or take him to a batting cage where he can practice, if you're not comfortable throwing a pitch. Maybe if you live in an area where a baseball team plays or trains, take him to a game or two.
    It can be a really fun sport. Don't let a few zealous parents stand in your son's way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭cufroige

Thing is, he's really, really bad at it.

My son says he really likes baseball and wants to do it. I'm afraid that he's going to be humiliated.

What ASSHOLES!!! I lived in the US so I know what you're talking about...makes me so angry...it's actually bullying!!

I would try to speak to other mothers or some team 'head' about that...arseholes!!!

It IS suppose to be fun..

These asshole parents are responsible for so much pain & hurt caused by the effects of their attitude towards their childrens achievements...It's LITTLE LEAGUE for F's sake!! I would be so so mad...

Your son will be humiliated... I don't know if I would pull him out, it may upset him also. Maybe try to find a more supportive team environment for your child to engage in sports with his peers. You are not being overprotective... The poor kid is encouraging his teammates & doing his best. I dont blame you for feeling your heart break for him.

when I was young I was sh1te at sports and we lived beside a HUGE family who has enough kids to have their own team!! They were horribly bullyish and it was never 'fun' playing with them. I always felt very insecure & intimidated in their sporting company.. I mostly watched from the sidelines after finding that out!

I was always good at creative pursuits. I enjoyed drama, art and music. Music and drama but especially music is a really great environment to grow up & develop in. It is supportive & openminded, encouraging..

If your child is interested in music (which they all are) if he shows some musical ability why not see if there's some club or school or marching band he can play in?

The most important thing is to work on developing his self esteem..

It will better equip him for life as there will always be arseholes who roll their eyes!!!

Arseholes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

mikemac wrote: »
    Happens everywhere.

If American kids came here and signed up to soccer teams or GAA teams I'd guarantee there would be people on the sidelines berating them and telling them they were ruining the team.

Do you think? I'm English, dunno how much it differs, but I think we tend to be a bit deferential/respectful to the yanks. They bow to no-one and are cocksure.

OP, you sound to be honest like the kind of sensitive soul(not in a derogatory way) that shoulnd't have moved to the US.

If the idea is that the teams are well balanced then why would they be compaining?
    If they reckon their kids are such hot shots they wont be on the same team as your son,so why would it make a difference to them.

Maybe you should get your husband to practice with him catching and batting,it cant be that hard.Eye hand coordination can be trained.20 minutes a night with his dad would make the world of difference,after 3 months of this he would be much improved.

Anyway persuade him out of baseball,thats for kids who couldnt hack it at american football :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

My experience was little league in Canada, not the US. Basically, yes, it's dog eat dog. A lot of competitive white-collar fathers live vicariously through their kid's sports success BUT - the kids are mostly oblivious to it. Your son isn't likely to be humiliated by the other kids, but you're the one who could feel bullied by the other parents.

Keep your game face on at all times - bright, breezy, cheery, taking nothing seriously, celebrating the good hits, encouraging 'better luck next time' on the misses.

(My favourite little league quote - one of the moms who sat on the sidelines used to randomly crow out to her other, smaller kids who would fight and tussle while their older brother played on the field. She'd be chatting to the other mothers, disinterested, while her husband was feverishly shouting encouragement from the sidelines at the older boy. Every so often she'd call out to the younger two to break up some row.

"Andrew, give Brook the ball."

"Andrew, leave Brook's dolly alone."

"Brook, don't roll in the grass in your summer dress sweetie."

"Brook, you can't eat both of those, give one to your brother"

and my all time favourite:

"ANDREW! Stop biting Brook!")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Practise makes perfect.
    Thats it exactly. As long as the little man is happy it doesnt matter