Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British Olympic Stars

• 01-03-2009 5:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭

Heard the results of their fights last night.

Just curious if anyone saw the fights and what they thought?

Really like frankie Gavin and Billy joe Saunders, quality boxers!

As for De Gale, that guys the new audley harrison!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Degale is a clown alright. Good speed but still a clown. Sutherland will wipe the floor with him when Degale gets the guts to fight him. Maloney and warren will keep them apart for a while but its a definate fight with their history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

maxxie wrote: »
    Heard the results of their fights last night.

Just curious if anyone saw the fights and what they thought?

Really like frankie Gavin and Billy joe Saunders, quality boxers!

As for De Gale, that guys the new audley harrison!

The competition was limited - however -

BJ was like a whirlwind when he got in there and tore yer man apart.

Frankie was throwing vicious sweeping left hooks to the body and although he got a bad cut on the nose he stop his opponant late

DeGale - "the maramite kid" - I didnt like it but the pros on Sky seemed to - looked to me like he was still fighting as an amateur, and his overhand right was a joke, it was like he had an electric shock in his glove and when it landed he got a shock are would jump back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

The competition was limited - however -

BJ was like a whirlwind when he got in there and tore yer man apart.

Frankie was throwing vicious sweeping left hooks to the body and although he got a bad cut on the nose he stop his opponant late

DeGale - "the maramite kid" - I didnt like it but the pros on Sky seemed to - looked to me like he was still fighting as an amateur, and his overhand right was a joke, it was like he had an electric shock in his glove and when it landed he got a shock are would jump back.

Ha what a joker! He is an amateur through n through! If he has the bottle to fight sunderland down the line, I can see him being punched from pillar to post!
    Glad to hear that bout the other two, likeable lads with great potential!

Think jefferies was fighting too, :rolleyes: who cares!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭sston

Degale is the new Audley if you ask me. I think Sutherland would destroy him in the pros. I think Degale will fall at the first serious hurdle put in front of him.

Gavin wasn't very impressive either but looked a bit over anxious. Saunders looked the best of the three but very early days yet for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/7917216.stm

That wasn't too hard to find was it?

Fellas, don't mean to be annoying, but at least link your thread so we all
    can relate to the thread. It only makes for a beter forum and easier
    to debate forum. It's in everyones best interest. From now on, I will
    delete threads that aren't linked and will reopen them when a link is included.

All three were fed absolute tomato cans. I know you take it easy first few
    fights, but this was really scrapin' the barrel

walshb wrote: »

I want to hear what genuine boxing fans thought of the fights not a journalists opinion! If I wanted that id go to sky sports or rte etc!

What has that got to do with it. You can still hear our views. Just post links to threads, it allows ALL to participate, not just fans. I don't think I am asking too much here. It's pretty easy to find links to threads.

So, any future threads without links will be deleted. This is the policy across
    boards.ie and I happen to think it's good and I happen to think the boxing forum is TOP notch with top notch guys/gals. Let's try maintain the standards

What has that got to do with it. You can still hear our views. Just post links to threads, it allows ALL to participate, not just fans. I don't think I am asking too much here. It's pretty easy to find links to threads.

So, any future threads without links will be deleted. This is the policy across
    boards.ie and I happen to think it's good and I happen to think the boxing forum is TOP notch with top notch guys/gals. Let's try maintain the standards

fair enough

maxxie wrote: »
    fair enough

Thanks Maxxie; BTW, I am sure some threads will not have links, like the one I posted about the ITV4 doc on Gutteridge next week. I just came across that and posted. I'm fine with this; but stuff in the public domain that does have links and news reports, them I would think should be posted. We all then can chime in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

ooohhhhh, get you queenie! :P

I know Sligo, I'm feelin like a nagging
    wife here...oooh, walshb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Degale will have the hardest time adjusting imo. A lot of fundamentals to relearn. Really needs to get that jab going etc.

I hope he adjusts to it fairly well though as Sutherland-Degale just has to happen down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

I missed Saunders, but saw the other two.

I was impressed with Gavin. He wasn't as flighty as I thought he'd be and was digging in lovely body shots and nice quick combinations. He was possibly trying too hard to impress, but that's often the way with new pros. Overall, quite impressive.

I wasn't impressed with de Gale, but then again I've never been. He's boxing the exact way he did as an amateur and his right hand technique, whether jabbing or hooking or crossing is absolutely brutal. It makes Joe Calzaghe's left look like Sugar Ray's. Sligobhoy put it very well.

I wouldn't write him off yet, as he has athletic ability and elusivness, but it's hard to see him making it to the top level as a pro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

And did you notice the amount of stick he got from his "fans" !!!
    I know he looks crap , but so do the Irish soccer team and we still cheer them on !

Wasnt there a time when fans were proud thru "Thick n' Thin" :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭ah,sure

Warren's bringing all three to Belfast for Rogie's European title fight, probably a rematch with Skelton in a few months.

He had all three banging on about their Irish links as if they are seeking granny-rule call-ups, here..
    http://irish-boxing.com/stories/march09/mar09_british_olympians_rogan.html

So I reckon his next show will be Kings Hall, the rematch, plus the Olympians on tour-possibly against some local talent. I'd love to see Robbie Long/DeGale, maybe the likes of Logan McGuinness or Stephen Ormond for Saunders and Gavin.

Maybe our guys would represent too much of a fast-track yet and Warren wouldn't need big-name opponents for his lads just yet - cos Rogie is going to sell it out himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭ah,sure

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/boxing/7951017.stm

Looks like they're coming alright, that was obvious after the Rogie fight when each of them spoke of their Irish links.

Hopefully they'll fight local opposition instead of the usual.

Andy decent potential opposition out there (that Warren would agree to)?