Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday World Article

• 01-03-2009 4:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭

Page 14-15 of todays Sunday World has a two page spread with photo's of the Garda's 'War on Gangland'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Page 14-15 of todays Sunday World has a two page spread with photo's of the Garda's 'War on Gangland'.

Any links/pics or can anyone scan the page in?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Yep, noticed that myself. Some very good pictures.
    timmywex wrote: »
    Any links/pics or can anyone scan the page in?

I am guessing there could be a copy right issue there . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Yep, noticed that myself. Some very good pictures.

I am guessing there could be a copy right issue there . . .

They will have it up in their archives by mid week.

I can safely say those pictures brought a rather large smile to my face. I'm glad to see my native city's scum being hit hard, and in such a public manner!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

I've got scans of the photos.. Can I/Can't I post them???... Anyone got a link to their 'Archives'... The Sunday World website seems to be out of date...

(ps I love the top left photo of the 'Method of Entry'... Simple, straightforward and no F***ing around..:D oh and for the weapons enthusiast's, notice anything attached to the Sigs..;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭cpstears

I've got scans of the photos.. Can I/Can't I post them???... Anyone got a link to their 'Archives'... The Sunday World website seems to be out of date...

(ps I love the top left photo of the 'Method of Entry'... Simple, straightforward and no F***ing around..:D oh and for the weapons enthusiast's, notice anything attached to the Sigs..;))

Sigs with torches attached to the pistol grip around the magazine loading port very strange most tactical lights i've seen have been an under barrel attachment on the rail or in a specifically designed holder. You would think the torch below the pistol grip would slow down the ability to draw the weapon. would be more inclined to go for the under barrell attachement myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

post it , the sunday world refuse to get with the web

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I'd be curious to see them too. ;)

I could scan them up too, but I'd be wary due to copyright etc.. but you go ahead Jon!:D

if it's an older version of the 226 (ie not the 226R) then it wont have the frame railled and this method would be easier. Interested how it might affect reloading and weapon handling though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

if it's an older version of the 226 (ie not the 226R) then it wont have the frame railled and this method would be easier. Interested how it might affect reloading and weapon handling though..

Ha... I thought you were tallking about scanning the picture ie. frame railled etc until I notice weapon handling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I just saw them there now when himself brought the paper over. Have to say, some great piece of PR there "Everyone is determined, from the Commissioner down, that their will be no let up in the pressure" :)

donvito99 wrote: »
    Ha... I thought you were tallking about scanning the picture ie. frame railled etc until I notice weapon handling...

+1:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Thought they were all gone actually, they didn't cause any problem when drawing the weapon but when it came to reloading :eek:

The torch was a permanent attachment to the base of the magazine and was activated by a pressure pad. The pressure pad was attached by velcro or similar to the pistol grip. so when it came to reloading and you hit the magazine release you also had to detach the pressure pad from the pistol grip.

Didn't keep that long :rolleyes:

The current attachment is a streamlight LED/Laser which attaches to the frame under the barrel and gives the option of LED or laser or both.

Whats this picture like anyways, collage or something.

Quote:
    (ps I love the top left photo of the 'Method of Entry'... Simple, straightforward and no F***ing around..biggrin.gif oh and for the weapons enthusiast's, notice anything attached to the Sigs..wink.gif) Yesterday 17:40

Method of Entry? I presume this is PJ with his hurley, not one of those fancy battering rams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

cpstears wrote: »
    Sigs with torches attached to the pistol grip around the magazine loading port....

picture.php?albumid=430&pictureid=2468

Limerick search

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

metman wrote: »

Surely there are issues with clearly identifying a garda entering a building in the paper.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

raid2.jpg

thCraneTechnique1.jpg

The "crane" has been honed to perfection by Gardai in covertly entering premises. Subtlety is the only key required by the master.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

raid2.jpg

Have Limerick gardai any leads in who's spray painting SUNDAY WORLD over shop fronts in the city? :D

raid2.jpg

Thats the one... I guess everyone else is at the RVP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭cpstears

image of the sig with the torch attachment under the pistol grip.

raid.jpg Linked from the Sunday World Website, Paul Williams Section. All rights to the owner care of The Sunday World. ©

cpstears wrote: »
    image of the sig with the torch attachment under the pistol grip.

raid.jpg Linked from the Sunday World Website, Paul Williams Section. All rights to the owner care of The Sunday World. ©

And here's the item itself...

Mag plate Torch

(Thanks to PMc for identifying this. All credit, royalties and recognition go to him.. :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

And here's the item itself...

Mag plate Torch

(Thanks to PMc for identifying this. All credit, royalties and recognition go to him.. :D)

Don't see it there lads. :rolleyes:

Did anybody read post #14, the poster goes into detail explaining how this piece of equipment works.

If the post is read in conjunction with the picture in metmans post #16 you will notice the wire from the back of the torch. at the end of that wire is the pressure pad that can be attached to the pistol grip. When the grip is tightened on the weapon the torch is activated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

Seems to be the same three lads in all the pictures. Wonder if they objected to their pictures being used in a national paper for all the world to see?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭mufc4lfe

any more pls:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

Relevant wrote: »
    Surely there are issues with clearly identifying a garda entering a building in the paper.

The same lads are pictured in the Sunday World.

CLADA wrote: »
    Don't see it there lads. :rolleyes:

Did anybody read post #14, the poster goes into detail explaining how this piece of equipment works.

If the post is read in conjunction with the picture in metmans post #16 you will notice the wire from the back of the torch. at the end of that wire is the pressure pad that can be attached to the pistol grip. When the grip is tightened on the weapon the torch is activated.

My appologies. Should have said this isn't the exact setup, but a similar one. The pressure switch could be just a replacment to the tail cap where the normal press on/off button would be, on say a surefire. This is a similar type mount without the wire and pressure pad which would overcome the problem stated previously. Just posted it for a clearer picture of how it can mount...

....and how not to do it!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7jxTkPpbNxA

Mods move to o.t. thread if you like - as if you need to be given permission.

car-search.jpg
    Me likee the unmarked land cruiser.

donvito99 wrote: »
    car-search.jpg
    Me likee the unmarked land cruiser.

Despite the wearing of the pyjama's, I'm accurately guessing that search took place sometime past 6pm!:rolleyes:

deadwood wrote: »
    raid2.jpg

thCraneTechnique1.jpg

The "crane" has been honed to perfection by Gardai in covertly entering premises. Subtlety is the only key required by the master.

Speaking of the crane...

dancing_cop.jpg

KEE-YAH!!!!!!!!!!!

'The Shack Restaurant'? With a name like that it's no wonder traffic is being diverted away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

eroo wrote: »
    'The Shack Restaurant'? With a name like that it's no wonder traffic is being diverted away from it.

Its no apache Eroo is it?

yayamark wrote: »
    Its no apache Eroo is it?

12" Cajun chicken.. Look what you've done.. made me all hungry!!

eroo wrote: »
    12" Cajun chicken.. Look what you've done.. made me all hungry!!

cajun-chicken-nuggets.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

This thread is gone silly, but the last two posts earned infractions, plenty more to come if it keeps up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

civdef wrote: »
    This thread is gone silly, but the last two posts earned infractions, plenty more to come if it keeps up.
    bit harsh no??????

Back on topic - it's the Sunday World - I promise.

2534546426_790545bbf0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Ah FFS