Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MAPLINS - 1TB hard drive joke

• 27-02-2009 12:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭

I was laughing in the face of Maplins assistants yesterday as I was reading the price of a 1TB SATA hard drive is 280euro there.

MORE THAN TWICE ITS PRICE IN ANY OTHER SHOP IN TOWN, AND ALMOST 3 TIMES COMPARED TO WEB PRICES.

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

nmesisca wrote: »
    I was laughing in the face of Maplins assistants yesterday .

How big of you.

Althogh, as owner of Maplins inc, I'm sure that guy will devote the next few days of his spare time reviewing their whole business model to more tailor it to your needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭nmesisca

Now your post count is higher, your e-penis feels longer and you can go troll somewhere else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

People who actually buy stuff in Maplins dont have an idea about computers. English prices --> euros@ whatever exchange rate they bloody like + a little extra just cos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭jahalpin

If you think that's expensive, check this out (second drive from top);

http://accessories.euro.dell.com/sna/category.aspx?c=ie&l=en&s=dhs&cs=iedhs1&category_id=6210&~ck=anav&p=2

PS: I'm well aware it's a pricing error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Only complete suckers in the UK and Ireland buy any computer-related stuff from Maplin (and a lot of other stuff that I haven't got time to list). I lived a few miles away from one in the UK for years - and only went there a couple of times, thanks to their outlandish prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭radioactiveman

jahalpin wrote: »
    If you think that's expensive, check this out (second drive from top);

http://accessories.euro.dell.com/sna/category.aspx?c=ie&l=en&s=dhs&cs=iedhs1&category_id=6210&~ck=anav&p=2

PS: I'm well aware it's a pricing error

What's the bet Dell would still charge you the 53 grand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

What the fcupk is wrong with some people, this forum is clearly titled "Rip Off Ireland" yet you have people berating others who post something that is a rip off, fcuk off somewhere else if you've nothing constructive to add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

He was giving out about the guys attitude to the staff member who would have no input on prices, not on the price itself.

Was in Maplin myself the other day, needed a 5 meter scart cable and needed it quickly. Was about 30 euro there. Went around the corner to Peats and got it for 15.

Still a bit expensive but 30 was just ridiculous.

Brimmy wrote: »
    He was giving out about the guys attitude to the staff member who would have no input on prices, not on the price itself.

Was in Maplin myself the other day, needed a 5 meter scart cable and needed it quickly. Was about 30 euro there. Went around the corner to Peats and got it for 15.

Still a bit expensive but 30 was just ridiculous.

yeah well maybe he should consider he may not have all the fact before spitting out comments like his post.
    I never said I went to the shop assistant and slapped him in the face.
    Nor I have made a scene of it.
    I did however have a chat with him and explained him that charging 3 times over the standard price will not bring them more customers or revenue.
    I think its important the shops that have these pricing practises are made well aware of the (potential) customer's feedback.
    If the guy that answered my original post wants to bend over to every request, or only complain about prices on this forum only, its his business. However, I dont think any of the offending shops will give a flying .... about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

nmesisca wrote: »
    yeah well maybe he should consider he may not have all the fact before spitting out comments like his post.

"I was laughing in the face of Maplins assistants yesterday "

Dont really need anymore facts than the ones you post yourself.

High prices dond entitle you to be an arse to staff.
    jonny68 wrote: »
    What the fcupk is wrong with some people, this forum is clearly titled "Rip Off Ireland" yet you have people berating others who post something that is a rip off, fcuk off somewhere else if you've nothing constructive to add.

LAughing in peoples faces in their job is constructive now is it?

Stekelly wrote: »
    "I was laughing in the face of Maplins assistants yesterday "

Dont really need anymore facts than the ones you post yourself.

High prices dond entitle you to be an arse to staff.

LAughing in peoples faces in their job is constructive now is it?

So what entitles you to be an arse to me ??

Read my last post (or learn to read) instead of writing your stupid comments please, you're making an ass of yourself.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Lads, this is supposed to be a discussion forum. I'm closing this thread. You can re-open a new one if you feel like discussing rip off prices!!!