Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford Spin Sat 28th

• 27-02-2009 10:46am
    Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Meeting at the car park of Woodies on the Cork road at 9.15. This is an alternative to the Comeragh spins which I think are carried out at a far quicker pace.

We usually do around the 50 mile spin at a leisurely pace taking in a few climbs along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

Hey,

Just wondering are you meeting this weekend again in the same place?

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Yeah I'd say we will, there was three of us out last Saturday morning. Just done a 45 mile spin as we timed it that we were in Tramore for the beginning of the duathlon. Henboy was suppose to come with us too, but he decided to sell that hybrid of his on Saturday and he has now bought a road bike. They will be no stopping him now;)

I'll post again before Saturday to confirm for sure

We're in trouble now!! :D Let me know when you can. I've been off the bike for 3 weeks, so I want something easy to get back into. I'll leave my Comeragh partners for another week or so. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Pinarello

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Meeting at the car park of Woodies on the Cork road at 9.15. This is an alternative to the Comeragh spins which I think are carried out at a far quicker pace.

We usually do around the 50 mile spin at a leisurely pace taking in a few climbs along the way.

I might tag along if i can go a little bit faster on Friday....;)

No bother Lads, your are all welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

a leisurely 50 spin. Lunatics. So do ye be the lads that cycle around with the shorts and all the gear on ye. Ill give ye a little bip the next time i see one of ye. Used to be a chap passing hillview all the time

seanybiker wrote: »
    a leisurely 50 spin. Lunatics. So do ye be the lads that cycle around with the shorts and all the gear on ye. Ill give ye a little bip the next time i see one of ye. Used to be a chap passing hillview all the time

That would be us alright

ah kewl. Ill be bipping at every cyclist i see from now on. Shouting seanybiker lol.

seanybiker wrote: »
    Used to be a chap passing hillview all the time

There's one of the Comeragh lads from Hillview, can't get him off the bike!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭topazkk

Love to join you guys Saturday but kids have got soccer, any plans for a spin this Sunday.

If my knee is ok after Sat. I'll be out on Sunday morning. You can meet up at the Bank of Ireland in Lisduggan at 9.30am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Pinarello wrote: »

abandoning your brothers already trapper.. tut tut..

shapez wrote: »
    If my knee is ok after Sat. I'll be out on Sunday morning. You can meet up at the Bank of Ireland in Lisduggan at 9.30am.

Same location and time as Comeragh guys, just to go different route than them with whoevers interested?

Not a problem. I'm interested, as I said if my knee injury doesn't flare up after the Sat. spin.

With regards to Saturdays Spin, I see that the forcast is not too good for down around here on Saturday. We will wait and see whats happening and I'll post up here tomorrow night. We are heading out for a spin tomorrow afternoon if anyone is interested.

There's one of the Comeragh lads from Hillview, can't get him off the bike!! :D
    hmm i must know him then if he living in hillview. Time to get nosy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Yeah I'd say we will, there was three of us out last Saturday morning. Just done a 45 mile spin as we timed it that we were in Tramore for the beginning of the duathlon. Henboy was suppose to come with us too, but he decided to sell that hybrid of his on Saturday and he has now bought a road bike. They will be no stopping him now;)

I'll post again before Saturday to confirm for sure

hopefully I will be back this wknd. Can't wait, Good spin last week. Ger (Brother Focus) some man for the route.:) Jez Lenoard looks like we could have an extra few next time i'm out.

Pinarello wrote: »

Hey Ciaran, You were going fast enough when you passed me. :cool:

Folks,

Looks like it's to be a bit showery in the morning and then a bit of rain in the afternoon tomorrow. Are a few of you still coming out? I assume same time, same place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Colmhayden76

HEY Guys,

There is a couple of like minded individuals trying to set up a lesure club for Waterford and the plan is to get as many people out on bikes and actually enjoying it. We will not be a racing club:D

We hope to be up and running by April and would welcome any ideas that experenced heads have . Our goal is to have 3 seperatew groups out a 30 km spin a 60 km spin and a 90km spin .

The main thing is to have membership to cycling Ireland so that we are all covered by their insurance . As C. I. missed the boat on sport riders they are supporting this endavour.

More info either talk to Liam in Spokes or Simone in the Harlaquin Cafe >

HEY Guys,

There is a couple of like minded individuals trying to set up a lesure club for Waterford and the plan is to get as many people out on bikes and actually enjoying it. We will not be a racing club:D

We hope to be up and running by April and would welcome any ideas that experenced heads have . Our goal is to have 3 seperatew groups out a 30 km spin a 60 km spin and a 90km spin .

The main thing is to have membership to cycling Ireland so that we are all covered by their insurance . As C. I. missed the boat on sport riders they are supporting this endavour.

There are a couple of us who head out on the wknds, good craic. I'm sure if we bang our heads together we can come up with something.:)

Folks,

Looks like it's to be a bit showery in the morning and then a bit of rain in the afternoon tomorrow. Are a few of you still coming out? I assume same time, same place?

Shapez, if you want to pm me your number, I can text you in the morning if we are heading out. The weather is not looking good, so we(atleast 2 of us) wont decide until we see what its like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Most of my teamates are racing and I couldn't be bothered to join them ! I might be interested in heading out for a few hours tomorrow with a group so let me know what yer doin !
    (Weather unimportant to me as long as its not ice. Me and ice don't talk anymore, we have a few too many falling outs this winter)

Junior wrote: »
    abandoning your brothers already trapper.. tut tut..

Oh contra brother,this was for the friday spin you saw me on a couple of weeks ago.I could never forget ye....;)

HEY Guys,

quote]

Can make tomorrow morning after all, is it still happening? Very interested in proposed leisure club will talk to Liam soon, collecting "bike to work" bike off him next week.[/

I think the best thing for those interested in going tomorrow is to just turn up at 9.15 on the cork road side of woodies car park and we can take it from there. The forcast on the nine o clock news says that the morning is not too bad with the rain coming in in the afternoon. Winds are suppose to be high enough though.

Decent spin today close to 50 miles in fairly crap conditions, wind and heavy drizzle at times. Shapez hadnt the best of days, 3 punctures. Dont think his other half was too impressed getting a phonecall to come pick him up.

@topazkk, did you get home ok?

Yeah, bit knackered though, only myself to blame should have bowed out sooner, I've got to get the miles up, do it again soon. Thanks.

Lets put it this way, whenever she said jump yesterday, I said how high!! :D

I cycled on a flat to Kill (about 5km) so I could soften the blow. When I got home, I binned both tires and every tube. Buying a decend set online now. Actually, Quigs, what set would you recommend for the wet/winter conditions? And thanks, I owe you one.

Even after 40km my knee started back again. It looks like an MRI at this stage and if required, surgery. What a way to come back after 3 weeks off!!

Nice to meet you both though. Look forward to it again, hopefully soon.

I cycled on a flat to Kill (about 5km) so I could soften the blow. When I got home, I binned both tires and every tube. Buying a decend set online now. Actually, Quigs, what set would you recommend for the wet/winter conditions? And thanks, I owe you one.

Even after 40km my knee started back again. It looks like an MRI at this stage and if required, surgery. What a way to come back after 3 weeks off!!

Yeah it never rains but it pours, nice to meet you all too, please God you'll be back on the bike soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I'd recommend you could try push the pump onto the tube at perfectly straight angle for a start, looking at the last flat, I reckon you bent a couple of valves yesterday and that might have caused you some problems..

Regarding tyres, I am a big fan of the Continental GP4000S. Put 10,000km on a set last year and they are still going great. The Conti Ultra Gatorskins which are allegedly a winter tyre, lasted about 1500km before they fell apart, so if I was looking for a winter tyre I would get the same as the rest of the lads, the Specialized Armadillos. Heavy tires, but good for bad roads. I am going to use the GP4000S all year round from now on however.

Get yourself a pair of Michelin pro race 2's.You don't need to spend mega buck buying the pro race 3's.You'll find them cheap here... http://www.velo-motion.com/product_info.php?info=p61_Michelin-Pro2Race.html Hope this helps you m8...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Got an awful kicking saturday, had to stop and try get sick. Didn't sleep well last night, pain in the lower back and stiff shoulder so walked the dog for a few miles today and I'll do some time on the rollers tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Armadillos are near indestructible (I got around 20,000km out of a pair) but more than the heaviness I find they are very slippy in the wet and don't have a great road feel in general (they are quite "hard".) I wouldn't be happy cornering on them (and indeed came off twice.) Personally I would not recommend them for other than commuting use.

I've had good experiences with Continental Gatorskins myself (have them on my tourer, maybe 2,500km in at this point, used on my commuter before) but I believe the GP4000S is just as puncture resistant while being lighter and a nicer ride (it's just more expensive.)

I'm a great fan of Schwalbe Ultremos which I find hard-wearing, grippy and light. I would get around 5,000km at least out of these. I have GP4000 (not the S) on my good bike at the moment and they are fine but I think I would lean to the Ultremos. One thing I find about my GP4000s - they are hell to get on and off my rims (DT Swiss R1.1, a bit easier but still tough on Mavic R-Sys.) Others may not have this problem. The Ultremos come on and off very easily by contrast.