Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some drivers are so stupid

• 26-02-2009 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭

Saw a taxi driver pulled in by motorcycle guard tonight.

Taxi was driving outbound on the left lane of Dublin South City quays. As he passed the James Joyce bridge the guard was hovering behind. Taxi continues on his merry way & drives straight through the next lights still in the left lane - I believe the left is a left only turn even for taxis?

Guard flicks on the siren & pulls him in. Like shooting fish in a barrel. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭FredH3as

Stunning :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Well if he's stupid enough to do it in front of a Garda, then delighted for him. He wont do it again in a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

ha ha ha ha ha.....
    sorry I just really don't like taxi drivers and love it when they are caught doing stupid crap like this....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Wish there was a guard at Scotts roundabout last night to catch the taxi man who was in the left hand lane to go into blanch village but decided he was going straight through the rounadabout instead. Its all ok though because he put his arm out the window after forcing the guy to his right to jam on. Twats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

McSpud wrote: »
    Saw a taxi driver pulled in by motorcycle guard tonight.

Taxi was driving outbound on the left lane of Dublin South City quays. As he passed the James Joyce bridge the guard was hovering behind. Taxi continues on his merry way & drives straight through the next lights still in the left lane - I believe the left is a left only turn even for taxis?

Guard flicks on the siren & pulls him in. Like shooting fish in a barrel. :pac:

Absolutely delighted ! :D

The number of times I've nearly been side-swiped by ignorant self-centred taxi drivers in that very spot...

I'd a thread on exactly this before. Linky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭fonda

Seen a car undertake a garda traffic car yesterday on a 2 lane 60 kmph road.:eek: I was staying back behind the squad car doing about 80 and this car undertook me and then the squad car so he had to be doin near 100!!!!
    And the squad car didnt even pull him:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

fonda wrote: »
    Seen a car undertake a garda traffic car yesterday on a 2 lane 60 kmph road.:eek: I was staying back behind the squad car doing about 80 and this car undertook me and then the squad car so he had to be doin near 100!!!!

So you and the garda traffic car where cruising along in the overtaking lane... :mad:

No I had just pulled into the right hand lane as I was turning right at a roundabout at the end of the road and the left lane is only for turning left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭deceit

overtaking lanes are only for motorways if i'm not mistaken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

deceit wrote: »
    overtaking lanes are only for motorways if i'm not mistaken?

on a dual carriage way, if there's no one around you, you should be in the left hand lane. period

No I had just pulled into the right hand lane as I was turning right at a roundabout at the end of the road and the left lane is only for turning left

Sorry.. Just so many overtaking lane hoggers these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭FredH3as

So hogging the overtake lane AND speeding, then you complain about other drivers. Double standards me thinks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

FredH3as wrote: »
    So hogging the overtake lane AND speeding, then you complain about other drivers. Double standards me thinks :(

What about the gardai though? They were in the wrong three times! Once for being in the RH lane themselves, again for speeding and again for not pulling the speeding undertaking driver!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

McSpud wrote: »

Many (but not most) taxi's do this at that junction. Feckin dangerous as 3 lanes become two.

That's a left turn lane but used to skip traffic by many. The buses don't do it though.

Stick a garda there for a week and start lashing out fines and we'd make an impact on the national debt :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Do you not read other posts in the thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Stark wrote: »
    Do you not read other posts in the thread?

aimed at me? :confused:

FredH3as wrote: »

Its not an overtaking lane and its not a dual carriageway its just a link road that has two lanes and the speed limit is way too low, nobody (not even the guards as you can see from my post) stick to the 60 limit.

andrewh5 wrote: »
    What about the gardai though? They were in the wrong three times! Once for being in the RH lane themselves, again for speeding and again for not pulling the speeding undertaking driver!

4 times actually forgot to say they turned left from the right hand lane!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

mikemac wrote: »
    aimed at me? :confused:

Sorry, you jumped in between me typing my post and hitting reply :) Was referring to the people complaining about overtaking lane hogging.

Stark wrote: »
    Sorry, you jumped in between me typing my post and hitting reply :) Was referring to the people complaining about overtaking lane hogging.

Sorry i started that but then the OP explained the lane situation. Everyone else seemed to ignore his response :confused: