Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

barcelona hotel - las ramblas

• 26-02-2009 9:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭

I have searched the travel forums and read all the the threads on Barcelona already. But I haven't really found an answer.

I'm looking for a really nice hotel (4* or 5*) located on Las Ramblas. It's for a couple heading over in two weeks. The other threads mentioned a few hotels but most were in answer to people looking for budget hotels.

Can someone recommend a really nice hotel or two. If it has a pool that would be great but it's not absolutely necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

We stayed in this one and I would recommend it. Hotel Monte Carlo, Las Ramblas.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g187497-d238594-Reviews-Hotel_Montecarlo-Barcelona_Catalonia.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Stayed in the Hotel Soho last June. Its around a 10-15 minute walk away from the Ramblas I would recommend it. Its a boutique hotel and is very funky. There is a tiny pool on the roof.

http://www.hotelsohobarcelona.com/

Don't expect a lot of socialising activity at the hotel as it is very quiet but its great if its a romantic break your looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭vinylbomb

I was over there a fortnight ago.
    Dude, seriously forget about a hotel.

http://www.booking.com/hotels/hotel/es/feelgood-apartments-bach.en.html

This place is beautiful, just off both Las Ramblas and Placa de Catalyuna, so its up the nice end of things.
    I stayed with a few mates in the 4 bed apartment, €140 a night and honestly worth every penny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

I stayed in Hotel 1898 2 years ago. I recommend it. But been Barcelona, we did not eat here. The roof top pool and the spa in the basement are very impressive, and the hotel has plenty of character.

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Hotel_Review-g187497-d506158-Reviews-Hotel_1898-Barcelona_Catalonia.html

Its right on the Ramblas near the food market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

We stayed in this hotel. It was lovely, right in the Gothic quater and only minutes from las Ramblas. They have their own free tour guide too!

http://www.barcelonacatedral.com/en/

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Am going to Barcelona Next friday and staying here: http://www.hoteles-silken.com/en/barcelona_havana_presentation_2/presentation.php/11/3/1/
    Looks really, really nice! :D not Las Ramblas but not too far from it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭cacio

Thanks for the ideas. I've booked the Soho hotel. Got a package including an upgrade and stuff so hopefully it'll be good.

Now, if someone can tell me the best way to get to the hotel without looking like a lost tourist that's be great!
    We're flying into Girona so prob get the bus to Barcelona but dont know what to do from there.

I'm a bit wary of all the negativity so if I can get to me hotel without get mugged/pickpocketed it'd be really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I think we got a taxi after getting off the Ryanair bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

Id say dont go with worries about been mugged - its no different to any other major city. Just have you wits about you same as you would in Dublin etc

As for pick-pockets - well Barcelona has a well deserved reputation here. Simple solution is dont have much in your pockets. Money belt is a good idea, or failing that just carry what you need and leave the rest in your hotel safe, and if you have a wallet keep YOUR hand on it at all times - especially on the Ramblas. Ive been many times, and have had many friends who didnt follow these simple rules and they paid the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

cacio wrote: »
    Thanks for the ideas. I've booked the Soho hotel. Got a package including an upgrade and stuff so hopefully it'll be good.

Now, if someone can tell me the best way to get to the hotel without looking like a lost tourist that's be great!
    We're flying into Girona so prob get the bus to Barcelona but dont know what to do from there.

I'm a bit wary of all the negativity so if I can get to me hotel without get mugged/pickpocketed it'd be really nice.

Just look at the Barcelona Touristic website it has a really indepth map of all areas and hotels. As for the mugged bit, I've just come back from a 3 day stay and nothing bad happened. As an aside, I'd say though if you're going in a couple or with mates it can make a difference. We met a group of lads who got mugged on the Ramblas outside the bars having a smoke by a group of prostitutes, they were having a boozy stag do, so having a load of pints on you having the craic outside bars and in general hanging around the Ramblas late can get you targeted a little more but that's everywhere.
    Keep moving when you're outdoors, use your eyes a lot, don't get so out of it you're an easy terget, and you should be fine...it's a briliiant city - where you are staying , Hotel Soho....is a better location than on the Ramblas, it's near it but prob a bit more peace at night and should be less loitering madsers. You're staying on Gran Via de la corts catalanes which is parallel to Passeig de Gracia where I stayed...get a cab from place catalunya (main square at start of the ramblas from town) when you get there or walk up Passeig de Gracia off place catalunya square (heading west I think) and take a left onto gran via, it'll cross Passeig de gracia... check the map on trip advisor. And, have a great time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I'm posting from the SOHO hotel (just checked out and heading to the airport).

It's a class hotel, very funky.

You can get shuttle bus from Airport (3rd stop) to University, and it´s a 5 min walk from there.

Barcelona as great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

cacio wrote: »

Get the bus from Girona to Barcelona which will drop you off at Estació del Nord. Then you can either get a taxi (probably cost €5-10) or hop on the metro at Arc de Triomf (red line) and go 4 stops to Urgell. It's only a couple of minutes walk from there.

Btw, I lived around the area where you're staying for a year and never had a problem. Just keep your wits about you when you're around the Ramblas and the streets surrounding it and you'll be grand. Tbh, you're better off just avoiding the Ramblas in general. There are loads of really great (and cheap) restaurants and bars in the city. I'll see if I can dig up some old posts that I made about some of them.:)