Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People Throwing Stones In Glass Houses...

• 26-02-2009 11:09am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

Seeing as we it appears are quick to knock/belittle/begrudge back-stab other countries lately, I think its only fair that before we continue to behave in this backward, out of date stupid attitude, its only fair that we list our own shortcomings as a nation!

In other words, if we were a foreign national looking inwards across our borders, what would they be saying about us instead! What comes around, goes around!
    If you can't take it, you shouldn't be handing it out either!

I offer the few starting off following suggestions...

• We are a nation of begrugers!
    • We are living in the dark ages still with some backwards ideas!
    • We are a too complacent, lazy arsed nation!
    • Most of us wouldn't know a good thing if it hit us in the face and even if we did, we'd be too busy back biting/begrudging to acknowledge it!
    • The Irish can take trolling to a new level!
    • The Irish get what they voted for and deserve it!
    • We are too worried about our own individual asses to care as a nation about others!
    • A lot of the Irish think life centres around a bar counter and how often they can get "home" there!
    • Our attitude to appreciating those that do life saving work sucks big-time!
    • The Irish love to nit-pick at anything and will if one can't start an argument with another person, will start one with themselves in desperation!
    • Some of the Irish thinks the sun shines out of their arse!
    • Some of the Irish have delusions of grandeur!
    Anyone else sick and tired of our own knocking other nations?
    What the fcuk made us so perfect that we can knock others with such venom filled outpourings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I love you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Some things in life are bad
    They can really make you mad
    Other things just make you swear and curse.
    When you're chewing on life's gristle
    Don't grumble, give a whistle
    And this'll help things turn out for the best...

And...always look on the bright side of life...
    Always look on the light side of life...

If life seems jolly rotten
    There's something you've forgotten
    And that's to laugh and smile and dance and sing.
    When you're feeling in the dumps
    Don't be silly chumps
    Just purse your lips and whistle - that's the thing.

And...always look on the bright side of life...
    Always look on the light side of life...

For life is quite absurd
    And death's the final word
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.
    Forget about your sin - give the audience a grin
    Enjoy it - it's your last chance anyhow.

So always look on the bright side of death
    Just before you draw your terminal breath

Life's a piece of shit
    When you look at it
    Life's a laugh and death's a joke, it's true.
    You'll see it's all a show
    Keep 'em laughing as you go
    Just remember that the last laugh is on you.

And always look on the bright side of life...
    Always look on the right side of life...
    (Come on guys, cheer up!)
    Always look on the bright side of life...
    (Worse things happen at sea, you know.)
    (I mean - what have you got to lose?)
    (You know, you come from nothing - you're going back to nothing.
    What have you lost? Nothing!)
    Always look on the right side of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

The Irish are a bit like a daft farmer that finds a pot of gold, squanders it and the begrudges everyone else for his own shortcomings.
    See "How Harry became a tree" for clarification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Yeah we do give out when we can't really talk.

I hate the newly found arrogance because we were riding the crest of consumer capitalism, which is as much through luck and help from the EU as from the cunning of our leaders... also, we're too up ourselves take any job we'd consider "beneath us" like menial labour. One generation of Economic boom and we've gotten ahead of ourselves.

EDIT: Is some joker using Terry's account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Lirange

Yeah I hate the wimmins, the Poles, the American tourists, the travellers, and the scumbags.

I also hate my dog. Or I would if I had one. He'd get a right kicking from me about now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

But but but.... ....We're Irish. We've had centuries of practice.

From way back hating land lords and hate the blight all the way to hating the rain, come on....we thrive on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Sammag

Could you also add to that fabulous list Biggins:

"The Irish have no comprehension of just how bloody teeny tiny Ireland is in comparison to the rest of the world and that such a miniscule population of just over 4 million people is, in all reality; 'diddly squat' compared to most other significant countries".

Also, "In general, most people in said other 'significant countries' really don't give a flying f*ck if you're from Ireland as 99.9% are wondering where the heck Ireland is actually located on the globe and why the inhabitants of such a small country are so far up their own arses they can't see the wood for the trees.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Fcuk the begrudgers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Biggins wrote: »

Yes I am! I don't however see it as a reason to start knocking ourselves though TBH! That's just the same shit in a different direction and serves just as much purpose as what you are complaining about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Everything you said holds true to every country on the planet.

Welcome to Earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A new word : Biggudgery.

Although I haven't worked out a definition as yet. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

But biggins! Look at how good we are at all the stuff you listed! Irish Pride bud, the best thing since sliced bread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Much better, since we already have people bitching about other countries, and we only have what? 100 threads on how **** Ireland is, and how **** the people are, and how life is crap and The Big R you should start another one that yet again, points out all the flaws in Ireland.

Bravo.

Not all people bitch about other countries, just small minded people up there hole but then again the complete as*holes of this country can shout louder than all the rest of us therefore all of us are assh*les apparently.

Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

think my favourite is..

The Irish are optimists. They do not carry umbrella's and are genuinely surprised when it starts to rain.

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Much better, since we already have people bitching about other countries, and we only have what? 100 threads on how **** Ireland is, and how **** the people are, and how life is crap and The Big R you should start another one that yet again, points out all the flaws in Ireland.

Bravo.

Not all people bitch about other countries, just small minded people up there hole but then again the complete as*holes of this country can shout louder than all the rest of us therefore all of us are assh*les apparently.

Sigh.

Those puddleduckers are all the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's all England's fault. We should have been on a par with China or the US by now, only for those Brits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭alexandros

I'm not feeling you.
    Of course I'm not Irish.. or in Ireland.:o
    But I do read the Irish newspapers everyday and practically live on boards.ie.
    I have many Irish friends and love everything about your country and its people.

Governments suck EVERYWHERE.
    And people will always find reasons to bi*ch.

The difference is that the Irish will go to their local pub and talk about their problems over a pint.

In other parts of the world people just fake happiness or ignorance and bottle up everything inside.. until one day they come home and beat their wives & children to death.. or take guns to their work or schools and massacre their co-workers or classmates.
    Is that really better?

And if that didn't work..
    ..at least you are not French.. hehe

stovelid wrote: »
    It's all England's fault. We should have been on a par with China or the US by now, only for those Brits.

And those feckin Romans! They couldn't be arsed coming over here and giving us some good roads - lazy bastards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

The ironing in this thread is delicious, Biggins is probably the biggest "begrudger" here, from all the anti-FF threads, sig's, to his mother in law, to that priests he hates and I think the whole catholic chruch, even starting fights in cinemas with 'scumbags'. :rolleyes:

Now he even hates the Irish, surprise surprise!

The ironing in this thread is delicious, Biggins is probably the biggest "begrudger" here, from all the anti-FF threads, sig's, to his mother in law, to that priests he hates and I think the whole catholic chruch, even starting fights in cinemas with 'scumbags'. :rolleyes:

I think that those could be just the tip of the iceberg.:D

I'm pretty sure he hates you and me too. but I think he's a great grumpy old man and I enjoy his posts except when he disagrees with me...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Wagon wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure he hates you and me too. but I think he's a great grumpy old man and I enjoy his posts except when he disagrees with me...

LOL Naa, lifes too short to throw "dislike" around too easily.
    I might disagree with a lot of things but I do it hopefully with a side order of pernash!
    ...others will call it something else - and they could be right! :D

For the record - never started a fight in a cinema but I did manage to knock myself out in one. Honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Knock yourself out? How do you mean, did you fall?

How did you knock yourself out?! In a cinema! The brightest place in the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

• A lot of the Irish think life centres around a bar counter and how often they can get "home" there!

As a foreigner living in Ireland for the past 9 years, those are the only ones that really apply, as I have experienced it, and even then, it's a gross generalisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Gross generalisation or not ,Biggin's text in first post is something that could have being said 30 ,40 years ago .It's not like he's saying anything new .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

is it still fashionable to hate ourselves?

Knock yourself out? How do you mean, did you fall?
    Wagon wrote: »
    How did you knock yourself out?! In a cinema! The brightest place in the world!

Knocked myself right out - under my own steam! Stupid me.

Was on a first date some (many) years ago. Was walking down the steps to our seats in a cinema. I taking charge of course of where we were going to it sit (all that manly ego trip thing) and I turned into a row of seats to my left about half way down. At that moment the adverts went off the big screen and there was a long pause of darkness before the main film kicked in.
    Meanwhile I was still walking to what I thought was our seats I'd chosen - in the temp' darkness and not seeing it - I walked into the wall.
    SMACK!!!
    When the place was lit up shortly thereafter by the film exploding on screen, there was I on the ground, literally waking up a minute later with a crowd around me! Heads looking over seats from in front rows and back rows of me, to see what happened!

I felt like a right plonker and had a massive bump to prove it.

...O' and the date didn't work out! lol :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭zzap64

Some things in life are bad
    They can really make you mad....

:-D ALL this recession, country going down the drain etc. talk was getting me down a couple of days ago so I googled the lyrics of the above and was singing it to myself at the desk... x-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Knocked myself right out - under my own steam! Stupid me.

Was on a first date some (many) years ago. Was walking down the steps to our seats in a cinema. I taking charge of course of where we were going to it sit (all that manly ego trip thing) and I turned into a row of seats to my left about half way down. At that moment the adverts went off the big screen and there was a long pause of darkness before the main film kicked in.
    Meanwhile I was still walking to what I thought was our seats I'd chosen - in the temp' darkness and not seeing it - I walked into the wall.
    SMACK!!!
    When the place was lit up shortly thereafter by the film exploding on screen, there was I on the ground, literally waking up a minute later with a crowd around me! Heads looking over seats from in front rows and back rows of me, to see what happened!

I felt like a right plonker and had a massive bump to prove it.

...O' and the date didn't work out! lol :pac:

Thats one to tell the grandkids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Should we all be racist now Father?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

The Irish are definitely begrudgers. If there was a world Championships Ireland would win Gold every year. Then we'd begrudge the winners:).
    I think if you asked foreigners to sum up the Irish in 1 word, the word would be GREEDY!
    Some Irish people would sell their own Mothers into slavery to get their hands on her house, and where do we get the idea from that everybody in the World loves us?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

ejmaztec wrote: »
    And those feckin Romans! They couldn't be arsed coming over here and giving us some good roads - lazy bastards!

they heard there was nothing in Ireland worth bothering with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Alright then let's see...

We are a nation of begrugers!

To be reluctant; to give reluctantly.
    To be envious or covetous.

Pretty sure that number one, it's one hell of a generalisation and number two, such people exist all over the world. You say we take glee at slagging other countries yet we slag ourselves about begrudery all the time.

We are living in the dark ages still with some backwards ideas!

Oh i can think of more backward countries. What is a backward idea that exists in Ireland more than other countries. Hell, what is a backward idea to you that exists and is represented by the majority of Ireland?

We are a too complacent, lazy arsed nation!

Those that do work, work longer than many continental counterparts. I can concede i suppose that we have a bit more of the whole, "ah sure, i'll do it tomorrow" buzz about us.

Most of us wouldn't know a good thing if it hit us in the face and even if we did, we'd be too busy back biting/begrudging to acknowledge it!

I don't understand what your saying here as it applies to Ireland and nowhere else.

The Irish can take trolling to a new level!

Can we? You'll have to prove this one to us compared to foreign messageboards.

The Irish get what they voted for and deserve it!

True of any people's decision on who will be their government. I never understood this concept.

We are too worried about our own individual asses to care as a nation about others!

More recently this is true. A generation who grow up without turmoil will always develop this trait. Does France care more? Does Australia? Brazil?

A lot of the Irish think life centres around a bar counter and how often they can get "home" there!

Thus is the culture. Particularly in country life where the local pub is a great place for the community to come together. Not bad when people drink sensibly.

Our attitude to appreciating those that do life saving work sucks big-time!

Compared to who? Again some of what your saying doesn't make any sense. Are we worse than other countires on this?

The Irish love to nit-pick at anything and will if one can't start an argument with another person, will start one with themselves in desperation!

Questioning supposed universal truths is healthy for a society.

Some of the Irish thinks the sun shines out of their arse!

Some of humanity thinks the sun shines out of their arse!

Some of the Irish have delusions of grandeur!

Some of humanity have delusions of grandeur.

Many things you talk about exist all over the world. Sure we like to backbite the world but there's plenty of people like you who tell us how shhit we are. Do other nationalities not talk about themselves and others in a negative manner?

Your post has described the world and humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

dsmythy wrote: »
    Alright then let's see...
    Your post has described the world and humanity.

great post fully agree

We must not forget that people ,individuals ,familys and not just whole nations, dont like to see or hear home truths. Regardless of weather those truths are justfied .With the Irish , of which I'm one, the defence barriers kick in ,even worse if the criticism is from abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Some of the Irish have delusions of grandeur!

I don't. I'm perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

latchyco wrote: »
    We must not forget that people ,individuals ,familys and not just whole nations, dont like to see or hear home truths. Regardless of weather those truths are justfied .With the Irish , of which I'm one, the defence barriers kick in ,even worse if the criticism is from abroad.

meh i spend time on american forums, one time i said i didn't think NYC is the nicest city in the states (it ain't)......i got flamed from about 50 members

what you describe IS NOT unique to ireland and irish people, in fact if i posted this thread on one of the american forums changing the words ireland to america, this would be 20 pages long at this stage, i would have been told "fcuk off and leave if you don't like it" about 100 times by page 20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

CamperMan wrote: »
    they heard there was nothing in Ireland worth bothering with!

:eek:Wadya mean? We had bogs! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

In fairness, I don't think Biggins meant to suggest that we all sit back & let outsiders tell us what a bunch of c*nts we are.

What I do think he was suggesting is that we're very quick to slag others for doing much the same things as we do ourselves. Hypocrisy, in essence.

I see his point (assuming that was it). Can we really be proud of our own justice system - we seem to revel in the failings of the UK's. How can we justify "day tuk owr jobbs" when we, in our thousands, feck off to other countries at the first sign of trouble here. How can we call ourselves a sport-loving nation when our football teams and their stadia crumble, while we spend vast sums covetting English teams. And so on...

Ireland has much to be happy & proud about. But maybe we should stop & think for a second before we peer over our borders & point fingers.

big b wrote: »
    In fairness, I don't think Biggins meant to suggest that we all sit back & let outsiders tell us what a bunch of c*nts we are.

What I do think he was suggesting is that we're very quick to slag others for doing much the same things as we do ourselves. Hypocrisy, in essence.

I see his point (assuming that was it). Can we really be proud of our own justice system - we seem to revel in the failings of the UK's. How can we justify "day tuk owr jobbs" when we, in our thousands, feck off to other countries at the first sign of trouble here. How can we call ourselves a sport-loving nation when our football teams and their stadia crumble, while we spend vast sums covetting English teams. And so on...

Ireland has much to be happy & proud about. But maybe we should stop & think for a second before we peer over our borders & point fingers.

Thank you. Spot on. Some get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

Seeing as we it appears are quick to knock/belittle/begrudge back-stab other countries lately, I think its only fair that before we continue to behave in this backward, out of date stupid attitude, its only fair that we list our own shortcomings as a nation!

In other words, if we were a foreign national looking inwards across our borders, what would they be saying about us instead! What comes around, goes around!

• Most of us wouldn't know a good thing if it hit us in the face and even if we did, we'd be too busy back biting/begrudging to acknowledge it!
    • We are too worried about our own individual asses to care as a nation about others!
    • The Irish love to nit-pick at anything and will if one can't start an argument with another person, will start one with themselves in desperation!
    What the fcuk made us so perfect that we can knock others with such venom filled outpourings!

here here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Thanks for that.

/jumps off building

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

We are only happy when we are giving out.

We take pride in thieving,useless B@stards,ie Bertie Ahern and Bono.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    meh i spend time on american forums, one time i said i didn't think NYC is the nicest city in the states (it ain't)......i got flamed from about 50 members

what you describe IS NOT unique to ireland and irish people, in fact if i posted this thread on one of the american forums changing the words ireland to america, this would be 20 pages long at this stage, i would have been told "fcuk off and leave if you don't like it" about 100 times by page 20
    The "fcuk off and leave if you don't like it'' reply is usually the quick response to somebody not liking what you say because it is the truth , and truth hurts.

Americans bitch cuz that's what Americans do best on forums like you tube , Bitch .

"'People who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.' OK. How about, 'Nobody should throw stones'? That's crappy behavior. My policy is, 'No stone throwing regardless of housing situation.'"

Very true and if was possible, the world would be a much better place for it.
    We can only hope and dream that some day... *sigh*