Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it wise to go out with a medic??!!

• 25-02-2009 4:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'm going out with an A&E doc now for about one year. However it always seems nurses are coming on to him even though they've met me and know I exist and one even went so far as to try and kiss him. It seems to be the same across the board from people I've spoken to - some nurses will do anything to steal someone's man particularly if he has the added benefit of being a doctor. To be honest I don't think I could be bothered continuing as it's obviously feeding his ego somewhat. And who knows, some drunken night ANYTHING could happen....
    Any thoughts?? Should I become more sexualised like the ones that keep hitting on him??!! Personally I think it's a disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭estar

this is like putting a fence around a bird - ie if you think you can stop a man from flying away by changing your behaviour or worrying about all the sexy nurses, then you are wrong and perhaps a little immature, which isnt your fault.

A&E is a fast paced highly charged busy blood and guts place. it isnt glamour central station.

its the quality of the man you need to worry about not the drunken passes being made at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

Nurses are whores. That doesn't help your position any, but its true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

insecure much?

give the guy a chance..have you talked to him or do you have any reason to doubt him?

as for your title..... if you like someone it shouldnt matter what proffession *they are in.

*disclaimer - within reason (drug dealer etc;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Irish-Princess

Well i have to agree, its an absolute disgrace. I think the best thing to do in an awful situation like this would be to get yourself into a nurses outfit. because we all know what those whorish nurses are like ;)

Good luck:):D;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

And who knows, some drunken night ANYTHING could happen....
    Any thoughts?? Should I become more sexualised like the ones that keep hitting on him??!! Personally I think it's a disgrace!

That could apply to any guy in any job -- 'some drunken night anything could happen'. This is where trust comes in, if you trust him, then don't worry. So what if others flirt a bit with him - everyone likes an ego boost. He's dating you, not them. And they won't be drunk in work so no worries about 'drunken things happening' then.
    Don't change who you are - he's with you for who you are and mightn't like who you change into. If he wanted one of these 'sexualised nurses' then he'd date one. But he's with you hun.
    As for the ones coming onto him - that just shows how low they are, to try and get someone's boyfriend. And as for trying to kiss him? She clearly has no self-respect to try something like that. I know it must be frustrating and worrying to know that girls are going that far to try and get him but he's not responding I assume - and only wants you. So unless they back off (if he had a word) you just have to trust him for now pet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

It sounds like you want out. Every response here could tell you to chill out and keep going with him, but the fact is that you seem to already have lost interest. The fact that this relationship isn't right for you is enough; who cares what anyone else thinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

Em, tbh from my experience, nurses are hoe-bags. There are some nice exceptions but most of the nurses in my college all behave in the same kind of vulgar, slutty manner. And usually it's the one's that aren't that pretty that are like this. It's not unusual to see a few of them actually being physically carried back home by one or two guys after a night out, covered in sick and talking complete crap.

Have you heard of the nurse that had a one night stand after meeting a guy in coppers/quinns/somewhere like that and then had to track him down on the ray darcy show because she didn't know his name and she had to tell him that he was now a daddy....

I'm definitely not tarring all nurses with the same brush, while my dad was sick in hospital, the nurses in there were nothing but amazing with him. They were so kind and considerate to him, but i feel that they are the ones that always belonged to the other end of nursing: the ones who genuinely went into nursing to help someone and care for people.

Edit: I am totally not saying that all nurses are like that, but how many can say that they haven't seen some nurses nights out in town?? Sometimes its actually bloody mental. My parent is in the medical profession and has told me stories of how the nurses behave towards the docs in hospitals = looking for a rich hubby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

LOL @ the nurse bashing

OP, your either losing interest and are trying to find an excuse, or you have real insecurity problems meaning no matter what man you meet your going to be worried about him getting with other women (unless its a priest or a gay or something).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Svalbard if you've nothing useful to add to this thread then don't post again. Thanks.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I could easily see why a Nurse might fantasize over a doctor and why some of them might get into the field underlyingly just to snag a nice easy catch, but does that make every Doctor a polygamist gigolo? Nope. I think its just your worries running wild. And the more you tell him not to think about the readily available nurses the more he is going to naturally think about readily available nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Nitxteha

Infidelities happen anywhere. But yes, there's a lot of affairs and all that kind of things in hospitals because of the shifts, situations etc.

Having said that, he has always the last word. If he's a nice and mature person, he would stay away from that, cutting his social life (drinks after work) with his colleages, and if he does go to any work party (some of them, you can´t avoid) he would act professionally not getting drunk, keeping his distance from those nurses and leaving early.

If he's getting those "classy ladies" throwing themselves at him, he may be flattered, or even have a laugh, but that should be it..

You can´t control him so it's up to you to decide if you trust him or not. Tell him your concerns but don't get jelaous, he is with you because he likes you, and I guess the way you are, so don't change anything about yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

wylo wrote: »
    LOL @ the nurse bashing

Indeed!

OP, if you really do like him, put some trust in him. If you're not into the relationship anymore thenbe proactive, don't use excuses. I'm sure he's a trustworthy guy but if you do have some fears, maybe mention your worries to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭miss_shadow

Svalbard wrote: »
    Nurses are whores. That doesn't help your position any, but its true.

Wow. I guess i'm going to be a whore then. Hahaha this is the typical attitude nurses have to deal with but keep their mouths shut and kindly promote life. Blah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Nurses should only marry doctors... in fact, only men and women who work together should marry..because you spend most time with each other....

I don't think the issue is whether you should go out with a medic, it is more whether you should go out with someone you don't trust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Im sorry but him being a doctor means he is going to get an inordinate amount of female attention no matter where he is,thats how the world works.You obviously dont trust him or you wouldnt be posting here so IMO you need to examine if this is the man for you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Have you seen what the majority of nurses in Irish hospitals look like? I don't think you need to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Irish-Princess

ok seriously with the nurse bashing i was only messing earlier.

I know a lot of nurses and training nurses and not one of them is a whore in fact they are all very respectable people. So less of the nurse bashing, and to yellowcurl about the comment regarding the girl in coppers who had the one night stand: she just happened to be a nurse so what... the amount of one night stands that go on every weekend in this country is disgusting and I for one aint a fan of it and I can guarantee 90% of the girls having these one night stands aint nurses. She just happened to actually want to find the father of her kid whats so wrong with that??? I say fair play to her actually going and finding him.

K so going back to the initial subject cause were all going totally off the point, If he's gonna do the dirt on you it wont matter where he is or whether their a nurse or not. Trust is the most important thing in a relationship and if you dont have that then there is no point,. So what if the nurses flirt with him. You dont have to trust the nurses you have to trust him and if you dont trust him then get out of the relationship cause your wasting his and your time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Agree with an earlier poster.The question is not whether you should go out with a medic,its wether you should go out with someone you dont trust.

Im from a whole family of medics and am a medical student myself so I speak from experience :) My brother is a very good looking doctor, girls are always throwing themselves at him, but he would never ever cheat on his girlfriend.

It seems to be the opposite for female docs,they seem to be man repellants:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

I dont see why Doctors should find nurses attractive - if you read the Medic boards you will see how many doctors find nurses lazy and unhelpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

panda100 wrote: »
    It seems to be the opposite for female docs,they seem to be man repellants:(

speak for yourself ;):D

OP - hospital work environments can be a bit incestuous, mainly due to the insane shifts and high pressure jobs. having said that, the only people who cheat, imo, are those that want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Ah again another helpful blow struck against feminism.

And while we are ignorantly stereotyping - have you considered all the male nurses as well OP. Sure no doubt they all must be gays and you know what the gays are like for trying it on with every man they meet. Imagine what your boyfriend might get up to then on a drunken night out if you are so sure that he clearly can't help himself! In fairness like OP...cop on.

Seriously though, if you are going to blame possible future infidelities on everyone but your boyfriend then you have a serious problem. Nobody accidentally cheats. If your boyfriend wants to he will, regardless of how many nurses are hitting on him. If you don't trust him that is your problem and he is probably better off without you. Do you really think that a nurse is going to drug him against his will and coerce him into being with her if he doesn't want to be?? Come on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Poloman

All men are cheaters.
    All nurses are slappers.

You cant generalise people into a group!! Sure some girl tried to kiss him but what did he do? By the sounds of things nothing and laughed it off.

It sounds like they are young and out for a laugh. I dont think they are trying to deliberatly break ye up. If you have trust in your boyfriend he will reject all advances which it seems he has now. You have to decide how much you trust him!

I'm sure men still eye you up even though you are going out with someone yet you would spur all advances made on you right? It works both ways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

sam34 wrote: »
    speak for yourself ;):D

Sam's a babe:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

CDfm wrote: »
    Sam's a babe:D

what a charmer!