Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rounds per year

• 24-02-2009 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

As we look forward to a new golfing year, with the days getting longer and the weather getting warmer, I was wondering how many rounds a year people play.........

I reckon I get in around 130 in a season...

Is that too much or do people do more :confused::confused::confused:

would be interested to hear the numbers from others ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

130 seems huge to me. Even if you played 2 per week every week thats "only" 104. And during the winter thats not possible with closures due to frost etc. I'm not saying it cant be done but that isa serious amount of golf :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Too much if you ask me. I play lots of golf and would be up in the club as much as 4 times a week in the peak season when there's hours of light after work etc. But that might only include one or two "rounds".

The other visits would usually include hitting a few balls on the practice range, chipping and putting for a while and playing 9 or even just 3 or 4 holes with some of the lads. I find this the only way to go because a) it makes you improve more than just playing more golf and b) you can spend just a couple of hours rather than four or five, and you have time to do other things with your evening/day.

I pretty much only tee it up to play 18 holes on a Saturday and the odd Sunday, either in a home club comp like a medal or an away comp like a Junior Scratch Cup. Then there's a few Wednesday afternoon rounds and a couple of midweek corporate or charity days but like I said, two full rounds a week at a max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

For 130 rounds a year, i assume you're either retired, single or unemployed?

That's a round of golf every 2.8 days! I'd have a similar playing pattern to Sheet... a competition pretty much every sunday and then during the summer most likely a saturday too. Through the week it's 4-9 holes if i can squeeze them in after work on sunny nights or the odd hour or so on the putting green / practice green.

I'd say i play possibly 40-50 full rounds (18 holes) a year max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

golf_caddy wrote: »
    As we look forward to a new golfing year, with the days getting longer and the weather getting warmer, I was wondering how many rounds a year people play.........

I reckon I get in around 130 in a season...

Is that too much or do people do more :confused::confused::confused:

would be interested to hear the numbers from others ;)

Only cetain things, or a combination thereof, could account for this...

1.You are a professional golfer
    2.You live on a golf course, on a tee box.
    3.You are single and childless
    4.You don't understand what 'round' means
    5.You are very bad at arithmetic
    6.You don't live in "course closed" Ireland
    7.You mistake imagining playing a round as actually playing a round.
    8. You don't work
    9.You slyly play while caddying for others
    10.Your course is floodlit
    11.You're taking the p**s!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

I play at least once a week in the winter, although usually 16 holes at most, with a possible 12 thrown in of a Wednesday avo if work is quiet (which it is, very!!)

Then summer defo two rounds a week, always Wednesday avo and definitely Sat or Sun or sometimes both depending on what's on.

For those of you mentioning being single, yes I am, and my ex blamed golf as one of the reasons we split up

Ha ha, fool, golf is the reason we stayed together so long:D:D

So can one of you get out the magic round-counting machine (aka Graeme's brain:pac:) and tell me what that is in a year?

JCDUB wrote: »
    I play at least once a week in the winter, although usually 16 holes at most, with a possible 12 thrown in of a Wednesday avo if work is quiet (which it is, very!!)

Then summer defo two rounds a week, always Wednesday avo and definitely Sat or Sun or sometimes both depending on what's on.

For those of you mentioning being single, yes I am, and my ex blamed golf as one of the reasons we split up

Ha ha, fool, golf is the reason we stayed together so long:D:D

So can one of you get out the magic round-counting machine (aka Graeme's brain:pac:) and tell me what that is in a year?

I'd say 85-90 or so max.

That's 6 months winter - 1 round per week
    + 6 months of summer - 2 per week
    + say 10 more on saturdays through the summer

That comes to 88 rounds of golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Myksyk wrote: »
    Only cetain things, or a combination thereof, could account for this...

1.You are a professional golfer
    2.You live on a golf course, on a tee box.
    3.You are single and childless
    4.You don't understand what 'round' means
    5.You are very bad at arithmetic
    6.You don't live in "course closed" Ireland
    7.You mistake imagining playing a round as actually playing a round.
    8. You don't work
    9.You slyly play while caddying for others
    10.Your course is floodlit
    11.You're taking the p**s!!

This guy ticks most of those boxes:

GARYWOLSTENHOLME-733988.jpeg

Welcome Gary! I like your sunglasses. :D

It would be interesting to know how exactly you came up with that figure golf_caddy. Was it a wild guess or had you some basis to say "130 rounds"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭golf_caddy

I play Sat & Sun morning most weeks of the year ( 45 of 52 ) ... 90
    Weds comp from April to Sept ... 20
    Friday mornings before work May-Aug ( takes 1hr 30) ...20

and here's me thinking I don't play enough ;)

Friday mornings before work May-Aug ( takes 1hr 30)

wudja get of the stage!

Not to put too fine a point on it: an hour and a half to play golf ME HOLE!!!

yep 1hr 30 for 18 holes.... on me pat malone ....
    teeing off at 6 am....early start but worth it.... ;)

I agree with sheet. Unless you are calling 9 holes of pitch and putt before work on a friday a "round".

90 mins is 5 mins per hole.........

Unless you're on a buggy and/or playing to a very good standard i doubt very much that you could play 18 holes in 90 minutes.

I'd be a pretty quick player myself, but even playing on an empty course on my own i'm looking at 2-2.5 hours.

Evening playing at that speed i often wonder how much good i'm actually doing my game.

By the way, if i remember rightly, aren't you the same poster who said they lie about their handicap to try and get slots in competitions? Not so much Pat Malone as Billy Bull****ter...

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    By the way, if i remember rightly, aren't you the same poster who said they lie about their handicap to try and get slots in competitions? Not so much Pat Malone as Billy Bull****ter...

Yeah I remember that. Ridiculous statement.

"Sorry, the time sheet has been full for some time now."
    "But I play off 5..."
    "Oh excuse me sir, something just became available!"

yeah right :(

wouldnt use a buggy personally....

i dont play from the tips....

the green stake will do as i got to get into work by 8:30....

cant play after work as wife works friday and I mind the kids.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Much to my annoyance I only get about 30 to 40 rounds per year.......that's why my golf (and short game) is suffering.

However I have other things to do and there's no way that I could play more.

This year I hope to get some more practice during the evenings as that's the best way for me to get back to where I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Wobs

Every year I say Im going to play more! But every year I seem to play less:(

Reckon if Im lucky max about 30.

Not to put too fine a point on it: an hour and a half to play golf ME HOLE!!!

Classic. Love the emphasis. LMAO:D:D

Golf_caddy ... stop winking at us. You're freakin' me out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

90 mins is a bit of a stretch although I did play a round in a competition once, Me off 13 and my playing partner off 15, in 2 and a half hours pulling trollies. Shot 75gross to win the comp with a 62nett! Would have been 5-10mins quicker and at least 2 shots better had I not lost a ball on the 17th!:mad:

OP did well to get 130 rounds in last year especially considering the summer we had! Fair play though if ya did. You're other half must either be very forgiving or only to glad to get shot of ya!!:D

I'd say unfortunately I only get about 30-40 full rounds a year in. The odd evenings during the summer I will get either, out for a few holes or to the range or shortgame area for an hour. That should change this year though as I most likely wont have a job so There will be plenty of time for golf!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

im with op here i definitely average 2-3 games a week at the moment and will probably play more in the summer maybe 4-5 games a week. i know this will leave a few of you scratching your heads but i will probably play in excess of 130 games this year:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Jaysus golf_caddy, you need to be introduced to a new hobby like women or booze, fast!

1 hour, 30 mins? are you playing on the WII?

im with op here i definitely average 2-3 games a week at the moment and will probably play more in the summer maybe 4-5 games a week. i know this will leave a few of you scratching your heads but i will probably play in excess of 130 games this year:)

I'm guessing ... no wife, no children ... or no conscience!!!

Myksyk wrote: »
    I'm guessing ... no wife, no children ... or no conscience!!!
    have wife and child ones at work the others in the childminders but i finish work every day by 12(in early) what else is there to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

I'd say I'll be up in excess of 100rounds by the end of this year, (heck I'm playing 4 times this week). Some things do help:
    1. I'm single
    2. I'm a Student
    3. I'm only in college 3 days a week
    4. There's a Thursday and a Sunday Competition in my club
    5. The Weather's been good recently.

Since last Thursday I have played 64 holes ( 2 x 14 Hole Comp's, 2 x 18hole rounds). I am also playing this Thurs, Fri and in Scotch Foresomes on Sunday. That will be another 54 holes!

I likes me some golf :P

Regards
    Ian

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Just my luck to get drawn against two freaks of nature in the Matchplay... what's wrong with the old way of taking the clubs out of the shed sometime around now and giving them (and yourself) a dusting off for the 1st of March?
    I'd be doing well to get 50 18 hole rounds in a year, mostly between April & October.

Licksy wrote: »
    Just my luck to get drawn against two freaks of nature in the Matchplay... what's wrong with the old way of taking the clubs out of the shed sometime around now and giving them (and yourself) a dusting off for the 1st of March?
    I'd be doing well to get 50 18 hole rounds in a year, mostly between April & October.
    but licksy you were blessed with natural talent i have to work at it:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Wobs

Ahh the Student Life DonkeyPoker, a charmed existance!!

Enjoy it while it last's :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Licksy wrote: »

Your confusing playing a lot with playing well! Best score for 14holes in a comp is 29!
    Wobs wrote: »
    Ahh the Student Life DonkeyPoker, a charmed existance!!

Enjoy it while it last's :D

Only for another 4months :(

Regards
    Ian

have wife and child ones at work the others in the childminders but i finish work every day by 12(in early) what else is there to do

Verily, you are truly KING shankly!:cool:

When I played as much as some guys here, as a school kid/college student in the summer, I found that I actually started to lose a bit of energy and enthusiasm for the game, both physically and mentally. Our old Junior Coordinator had a good phrase for it. When he saw me one particular day he just said "you look absolutely golfed-out".

I remember because it was the week I had made my first ever cut in a boy's championship. It was tough enough going for 72 holes in 3 days but my dad was really proud I made the cut (I was only ever making up the numbers in those comps). Anyway, I got back on the bus from Limerick on Saturday night and my dad asked me to play with him on Sunday morning. I couldn't refuse and he'd told half the club and they were all shaking my hand the next day. I could've been 20 over par that Sunday. Just dehydrated, drained and didn't enjoy it.

I never forgot that and ever since have avoided playing so much. I find I enjoy it more and play better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

denisoc16 wrote: »
    I agree with sheet. Unless you are calling 9 holes of pitch and putt before work on a friday a "round".

90 mins is 5 mins per hole.........

golf_caddy Im still waiting for your comment on this one.

What score do you typically shoot?
    What handicap are you?
    What length is the course?
    Assuming 30 seconds per shot starting from the time you arrive at the ball to the time you move off again thats already 36 minutes if you shoot 72.
    So you only have 54 minutes to walk between each shot, get the flag, tee your ball up, walk between holes. My course is 5.5k, so you are walking at a minimum of 5k an hour between shots.

Do you actually putt out during this 90 minute round?

Maybe we should start a new thread for "quickest round played" ... this was supposed to be about the number of rounds played per year.... Here's me thinking i didnt play enough at 130... ;) (ignore that wink Myksyk :p)

90 mins for a round is definitely on if you put your mind to it....
    summer conditions...course to yourself....etc

Course is fairly tight with tees close to greens and not many long walks between holes...

play off 5 and would go round in 3 - 7 over.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

why is everyone fixated on this 1hr 30min round !! each to their own and I dont see what golf caddy has to gain by lying about it !!

I have over the past 2 years maybe played 30 rounds per year ... at a stretch !!

This year I think I have probably played 20 -25 already ( unemployed and bored ) and can only see me playing more and more as I have set a high target for myself on my handicap but feel its very achieveable plus I really want to give it a proper season this year !!

I do agree with Sheet however and I think I am starting to get a little golfed out and feel like I am going backwards. I will give it another couple of weeks and see how I feel an if it continues will back off for a few weeks and get ready then for the summer !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Maybe we should start a new thread for "quickest round played" ... this was supposed to be about the number of rounds played per year.... Here's me thinking i didnt play enough at 130... ;) (ignore that wink Myksyk :p)

90 mins for a round is definitely on if you put your mind to it....
    summer conditions...course to yourself....etc

Course is fairly tight with tees close to greens and not many long walks between holes...

play off 5 and would go round in 3 - 7 over.......

Have to defend the op here i have a buddy off 4 who can play a round in an hour and a half. He has always been super quick tho. No practice swing and the minute his stance is made he swings. This caused some craic over the years when playing against other clubs:D

GreeBo wrote: »
    golf_caddy Im still waiting for your comment on this one.

What score do you typically shoot?
    What handicap are you?
    What length is the course?
    Assuming 30 seconds per shot starting from the time you arrive at the ball to the time you move off again thats already 36 minutes if you shoot 72.
    So you only have 54 minutes to walk between each shot, get the flag, tee your ball up, walk between holes. My course is 5.5k, so you are walking at a minimum of 5k an hour between shots.

Do you actually putt out during this 90 minute round?
    jasus lad build a bridge:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    I do agree with Sheet however and I think I am starting to get a little golfed out and feel like I am going backwards. I will give it another couple of weeks and see how I feel an if it continues will back off for a few weeks and get ready then for the summer !!

When I was in college I was playing 4-5 rounds a week during the summer...ended up sick of it, felt like a chore so I actually gave it up for a few years. Now that Im working Sun-Fri are just days that get in the way of my Saturday golf. Bring on the evening 9 holes!

If you do have that much free time it might be worthwhile setting up some sort of practice plan so at least you arent doing the same thing each day.
    If you had 3 or 4 days for golf and only actually played holes on the 4th day you would be really looking forward to the actual golf after 3 days of chipping/putting/etc! (at least I know I would :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

have to say i'd be 120ish

play a few times mid week as i'm 5 mins from a course

played 9 holes with 2 balls tues/wed and prob tomorrow fri this week,
    comp on sun

key is short lunch break and home by 4 get the traps and on the tee by 4:15, home at 6 presently.........what a stress buster!!

later in the year on course by 5 play 9 once or twice a week home by 6:40 maybe 18 if its thursday/friday

obviously weather dependant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

GreeBo wrote: »
    When I was in college I was playing 4-5 rounds a week during the summer...ended up sick of it, felt like a chore so I actually gave it up for a few years. Now that Im working Sun-Fri are just days that get in the way of my Saturday golf. Bring on the evening 9 holes!

If you do have that much free time it might be worthwhile setting up some sort of practice plan so at least you arent doing the same thing each day.
    If you had 3 or 4 days for golf and only actually played holes on the 4th day you would be really looking forward to the actual golf after 3 days of chipping/putting/etc! (at least I know I would :))

Sounds like a very good idea and something I think I am gonna try, God knows there is plenty I could be working on. Cant start plan till next week though as I am playing Friday, Saturday and Sunday ha ha:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Last year was by far the most productive in terms of getting out, perhaps 35 rounds, 1 per week from March to end of October (new set of clubs ). For the previous 10 years was an average of 5 round a year (got value out of that starter set).

Prospects for this year are not good, but I should get more than 20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

I played 349 courses in 18 months during 2007-2008, but now I'm back to once a week. Playing huge volumes didn't do my golf much good either. As someone said - it becomes a chore. Now I'm back loving it again. Sometimes less is more.

By the way, the record for the number of holes played in 24 hours is held by a guy in Australia who played 401 holes on his home course - which is 3.6 minutes a hole, so 18 holes in 90 minutes is a walk in the park!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

kermitpwee wrote: »
    Have to defend the op here i have a buddy off 4 who can play a round in an hour and a half. He has always been super quick tho. No practice swing and the minute his stance is made he swings. This caused some craic over the years when playing against other clubs:D

Gotta say, I know how he feels, I don't hang around when I hit it. Take a practice swing maybe four feet behind the ball then up to address and bang she's gone.

All in all around 6-8 seconds I'd say.

I've had lots of people commenting on it over the years, I just laugh..

I'm sure most people would prefer to play with somebody like me rather than somebody who's particularly meticulous and methodical though;)