Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Todays Metro (or Herald)-- Irish Cyclists Destory Hotel

• 24-02-2009 10:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭

Anyone else see the piece about the Irish Cyclists destorying a hotel. more bad press coverage.... I'm beginning to think theat the papers have it out for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

They took stories off it???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

FRom the metro link posted above.

73451.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

we're great craic aren't we? olééééé olé olé olé

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Irish cycling charity ...? Blazing saddles? Surely not ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

€1000 damage = "wreck hotel"

Another great story from the Metrotards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

A door, a chair and a bed? Lads, if you're gonna get in the papers for wrecking a place, do a proper job of it.

lol @ TCD reference.

Joking aside, I'd be disappointed if it was Blazing Saddles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

€1000... must have been some very nice furniture.

And the Metero states they were unavailable for comment, of course they were, they feic'in cycling n&s america!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

http://www.pacycletest.com/2009/02/23/only-ten-cycling-days-left/

February 23rd, 2009
    Earlier in the month we left the fertile agricultural surroundings of the Mendoza province and headed south east towards the Atlantic. We weren’t long on the bikes before we entered the southern regions of the country and Patagonia. Apart from a few areas of intense agriculture Patagonia is the most barren landscape we have cycled through. The challenge out here is the wind. Patagonia is one of the windiest places in the world; in such a barren place there is no where to take shelter from it.

The Argentinian people are amongst the most friendliest we’ve met on the road. It’s with regret that over the last couple of weeks we’ve not got the rub of the green. Our trailer was broken into on the road and all our spare parts were stolen. On two other separate occasions two of our spare bikes have been stolen. With very little Spanish it’s very difficult to deal with the authorities out here. Unfortunately, from speaking to a local French hotelier who speaks perfect english, corruption runs deep particularly as you get further south. He’s upping ship himself and moving to the more picturesque settings of the ski town of Bariloche. We‘ve witnessed it ourselves as the police demanded 4,000 pesos (1000 Euro or three months wages out here) from us when a door of a hostel succumbed to a bit of horseplay. A bit like our experience with the port authorities in Ecuador; your never safe from paying ‘Gringo’ tax out here!

So with only 10 days to go everyone is really excited about the run in to Ushuaia and finishing up. Lets hope the wind dies down and doesn’t blow away the budget tents we’ve had to buy to replace the ones that were pinched! We’re back on the road now and from looking at the map there doesn’t seem to be much between here and the end. Looking forward to seeing everyone on Paddy’s Day when the bikes will be retired for the foreseeable future!

Its isn't blazing saddles it was the lads mentioned above -- sounds like mis reporting somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

oh why do i let it get to me...
    I plan on being the worst cyclist out there so a journalist may be right...

I just feel sorry for them returning to recession ireland :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 adzer086

I was in Comodoro Riveadavia and believe me ... nothing in that place is worth a Grand!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

my GF's brother cycled with them lads from Alaska down to California, apparently they are just really nice guys. remember trust the papers.....
    the meteo its free because thats how much the reporting is much