Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halfords UK price vs. Irish price: Rip off!

• 23-02-2009 4:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

Hands free kit: Parrot MKi9200

UK price: £176.00 (€196.46 euros at the current exchange rate)
    ROI price: £240.98 (€269 euros)

I wote to them and this is the response:

Dear Mr Power,

Thank you for your recent email.

I appreciate your concerns around the price difference of goods in Ireland.
    As a value retailer we are always looking to ensure our customers receive a
    good overall service and this includes quality, price and service in all
    our stores.

There are certain additional costs involved in shipping to Ireland and some
    products are affected by different VAT rates. This in conjunction with a
    fluctuating exchange rate can cause price differences. We have no intention
    to change any prices at the moment but we are looking very closely ( in
    line with a lot of other UK retailers) at the local market in order to
    remain competitive. As this involves pricing in general, I cannot comment
    further on any particular product. Our Ireland team along with our
    Executive will be made aware of your concerns and the information will be
    useful for our ongoing price reviews.

We are also in the process of developing an Irish website which will
    clearly show the prices in Euro's.

Kind Regards,

Mrs E Valentine
    Halfords Customer Services

So basically they just don't give a toss. Unbelievable!

Won't be buying from them now on principle.

Dave Power

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Um, welcome to the rip off Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If / when the exchange rate drops I assume you'll be ranting on UK sites about the poor oppressed Brits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

reading between the lines: We feel there is still opportunity to milk the rip off Ireland situation more so until we're forced to change by the local market we will continue to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 dpower

Stekelly wrote: »
    If / when the exchange rate drops I assume you'll be ranting on UK sites about the poor oppressed Brits?

Just.. what??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

dpower wrote: »

There are certain additional costs involved in shipping to Ireland

What about shipping to Northern Ireland? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I don't agree with the large price difference, but playing devils advocate here, are Halfords and other UK companies in Ireland expected to change their prices each time the currency fluctuates? Doubtful.

And also, I don't ever think prices in UK stores will be the same as here either as they have to pay for shipping to Ireland, the more expensive insurance prices here, and other higher business costs too. I think a product in an Irish UK business' store should be approx 15% more in price, apart from whatever the currency change is to cover those costs IMHO.

I don't agree with the price difference in case anyone is suggesting I do, but it's too easy to shout rip-off without looking at it from a business perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

Fair play to you for taking the time to write to them. A lot of people would just bitch about it but you took the trouble to let them know that you're aware they're overcharging you compared to UK customers. If enough people do that to all the UK retailers here they might get the message that we're not all ignorant and will start spending our money elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

hobochris wrote: »
    reading between the lines: We feel there is still opportunity to milk the rip off Ireland situation more so until we're forced to change by the local market we will continue to do so.

Reading between the lines. When we bought this product 7-8 months ago it was 2-4% higher then the British product considering the costs involved in selling here. Then their economy tanked, the Euro stayed strong and now in order to compete we would need to sell at a 40% loss which is illegal by EU and Irish law. When we get rid of this crap and buy new stock we can drop the price taking advantage of the current exchange rates.

Grow up, there are larger forces at work then them trying to raise prices to rip off people. Pricing across a large range of items has dropped drasticly for people buying from England. This will not stay like this and will start to really hit England hard as everything they buy from Europe is 30-40% more expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

ned78 wrote: »
    as they have to pay for shipping to Ireland,

They have to "pay" for shipping to Northern Ireland too, yet you don't see the grossly inflated charges in NI shops. :confused:

@Cuddlesworth

2-4% hardly account for an increase of almost 40%. Besides, this was happening long before the pound fell so far.

Here's another letter I wrote in 2006:

"..I walked into PC World in Naas, and to my delight found the same case. Although I expected to pay a little bit more for this case in Ireland, I was astonished to find such a large discrepancy between the UK and Irish prices.

In the UK the case retails for £19.97 Stirling (€29.66 euros) yet your store in Naas was selling these products for far more than twice the price at €80.00. To add insult to injury, this was a special 'clearance sale' price..."

I'm not on any particular crusade- but fair is fair. They can't have it both ways.

ned78 wrote: »
    I don't agree with the large price difference, but playing devils advocate here, are Halfords and other UK companies in Ireland expected to change their prices each time the currency fluctuates? Doubtful. .

If the amount of threads spread across different forums here are to be believed, then yes, thats the kind of thing some people think is actually possible and prsctical.

At the end of the day its a different country (yes even the North before that lot start chiming in. RA Ra 1916 etc etc) and the prices are as relelvant as comparing to any other country ypu want to pick. But people seem to think Ireland should be this special case with prices mirrored with the UK and that we are the only country that has another countyr within 1000 miles of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I got a friend to get me a Garmin Nuvi at Christmas from Halfords in Derry. With the exchange rate at the time it cost me €115. The same unit was €160 in my local branch.

At the end of the day its a different country...

Yes, but it's not a different company, and although I might expect to pay a little more for a product here, 40% is taking the michael. And as I've pointed out above, this has been happening even when sterling was strong. If it quacks like a duck...

I bet if you look elswhere any products can be got cheaper than the uk. Why no outrage about that?

In fact here it is from a UK seller , a few quid cheaper than Halfords again. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Parrot-MKi9200-Car-Bluetooth-Handsfree-Kit-MKi-9200-UK_W0QQitemZ260363076535QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Mobile_Home_Phones_Bluetooth_Acc_ET?hash=item260363076535&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

Heroditas wrote: »
    What about shipping to Northern Ireland? :rolleyes:

Exactly! I saw a radio I liked in Halfords Carrickmines. €280! Price on the website was £173! reserved it online to pick up at Newry and flew up the M1. Job done! Don't blame the companies - look to the fact that the UK won't join the Eurozone and our own government.

I bet if you look elswhere any products can be got cheaper than the uk. Why no outrage about that?

In fact here it is from a UK seller , a few quid cheaper than Halfords again. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Parrot-MKi9200-Car-Bluetooth-Handsfree-Kit-MKi-9200-UK_W0QQitemZ260363076535QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Mobile_Home_Phones_Bluetooth_Acc_ET?hash=item260363076535&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

Indeed it can be found cheaper, but that's hardly the point. Presumably they are purchasing these products from the same source for both countries. I expect some disparity between UK and Irish prices, even for the same product from the same company, but there is simply no good reason for this kind of price difference. It leads one to conclude that they feel that Irish customers should simply pay more for the privilege. I don't agree, and I felt I'd highlight this with the members of this board. I don't think that's unreasonable.

Might save someone some money and with enough pressure they might offer Irish customers a fair price. Until then, people are being ripped off. Simple as that. I don't quite see your argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Why no call to arms on minimum wage Ireland v minimum wage UK, VAT rate Ireland v VAT rate UK, etc.., etc..,

Fact of the matter is your not comparing like with like, product is not the only thing to consider. I would have though that at this stage people understood.

See this

http://graduates.recruiting.ie.aldi.com/the_rewards/index.asp

€60K for starters
    Secure a place on the Aldi Area Manager Graduate Training Programme and you’ll enjoy a remuneration package that is unsurpassed. A €60K starting salary that rises in stages to €84,750 after three years, plus a fully expensed Audi A4. There’s also a pension scheme, private healthcare, life assurance, five weeks holiday, international secondment opportunities plus prospects for a senior management position within five years

http://www.graduates.aldirecruitment.co.uk/the_rewards/index.asp

£40K for starters
    Secure a place on the Aldi Area Manager Graduate Training Programme and you’ll enjoy a remuneration package that is unsurpassed. A £40K starting salary that rises in stages to £60k after three years, plus a fully expensed Audi A4. There’s also a pension scheme, private healthcare, life assurance, five weeks holiday, international secondment opportunities plus prospects for directorship within five years.

Might save someone some money and with enough pressure they might offer Irish customers a fair price. Until then, people are being ripped off. Simple as that. I don't quite see your argument.

Surely the best way to save money is to go to the cheapest source in the first place instead of picking one company and demanding they sell at the price you want?

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Why no call to arms on minimum wage Ireland v minimum wage UK, VAT rate Ireland v VAT rate UK, etc.., etc..,

Fact of the matter is your not comparing like with like, product is not the only thing to consider. I would have though that at this stage people understood.

I agree, but is it enough to account for a 40% difference? Not even Halfords seem convinced of that.

Surely the best way to save money is to go to the cheapest source in the first place instead of picking one company and demanding they sell at the price you want?

I partially agree, but it was such a large discrepency it really annoyed me. Don't you think companies that behave like this should be named and shamed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

Sorry lads but a little bit of clarity ; why in the name of holee bejazus are yiz shopping in halfords?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

I needed one of these. £12.99 on UK site, €23.99 here. Bought it on ebay for around £5 or £6 delivered.

Phototoxin wrote: »
    Sorry lads but a little bit of clarity ; why in the name of holee bejazus are yiz shopping in halfords?

One for all vouchers :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

I agree, but is it enough to account for a 40% difference? Not even Halfords seem convinced of that.
    True.

I've heard a lot of excuses that business units may have bought the stock from their parent distributor whilst rates were less favorable but even this wasn't used as an excuse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

went to halfords today for a ashtray bulb there tiny little bulbs any bought one 3.09 euro ,,
    then went o the garage to get petrol and the same bulbs were there 2 in a pack for 1.30 euro..
    so brought the halfords one back got my money and bought the 1,s in the garage ,
    happy days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

If you buy in northern ireland you get to keep your high wages from the south, best of both worlds :D.

Yes, you take the 3-4% original discrepancy in rip off Ireland prices, the (4 or 5?)% VAT difference, shipping fees and the huge currency drop over the last 6 months from a outlet that was buying its stock from England before the huge drop in the Sterling.

Put that together with Stock that was bought and stocked last summer and yes, you have a massive price difference.

I believe we have very strict laws against selling at below cost price here as well.

So you get this situation.

Come back to me in six months and show me a price difference thats that large from a relatively new product.

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    If you buy in northern ireland you get to keep your high wages from the south, best of both worlds :D.

You are aware of the damage you are doing? But thats for another forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

You are aware of the damage you are doing? But thats for another forum.

Probably no less than when the National Roads Authority awarded the support contract for the M50 tolling system to a company in Northern Ireland :D.

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    Probably no less than when the National Roads Authority awarded the support contract for the M50 tolling system to a company in Northern Ireland :D.

They dont have a choice. EU rules state companies from any EU state can apply for the tender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Jaysus, I didn't know people bought things in Halfords, and with the way the staff are in my local I don't know why anyone even goes in there, lazy bunch of.....

Anywho, last thing i compared from Halfords and a Motor factors were €23.99 and €4.98 respectively for the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Same here. Needed a head unit for a friend's car, Halfords were around 210 Euro, same thing from a local MF's, 149 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

I bought a set of Ripspeed alloys last year from halfords, the irish price was 499 at the time and the Uk price was 299. Even with the exchange rate at the time I saved about 145 euro driving up the north and making a good day out of it with friends and thus getting my alloys on the cheap. Halfords in general are menaces for extreme pricing especially on consumables.
    Car Batterys for example are way over priced compared to most other places, same goes for spark plugs/oil filters/air filters. One lad I know in Tallaght Halfords joked with me and said people have not got a clue they just come in and buy the stuff not relising theres another place up the road giving significant price cuts by comparison.

I get my spark plugs elsewhere for 12.95......Halfords have the same ones for 24.95
    I got my car battery for 60 quid elsewhere......Halfords similar specced battery was 114.95